Michele D.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (31)

Fabulous first impression!

Rose Gold Girl Subscription Box on Jul 2021

Oh. My. Gosh...I am SO happy! If you like good quality, pretty things... just get this box. I couldn't have been more pleased.
I got a necklace (which was the perfect length), earrings, a bracelet, sunglasses, a glasses chain, and the most adorable succulent (fake) in a gorgeous container. I'm hooked!
My mom was here when I opened it and she loved it, too. Customer service was top notch, answering all of my pre-purchase questions. This is a great value and would make an amazing gift, too!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

3 months later and no box

Mindful Makes Yarn Box on Jul 2021

Ordered the May box on April 26th. It is now July 26th and I have not received a box. They say they are waiting on yarn but this is ridiculous. I get no updates unless I message them. They are borderline rude in responding. And, when requesting a refund for my 3 month subscription, they refuse. Buyer beware!!! I'm out $180 :-(

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Super happy customer!!!

Good Vibe Scribe on Jul 2021

I've received 2 boxes so far and they were both fantastic!!! Customer service has been wonderful and helped accommodate my needs. I am thrilled with this box. My mom saw me open them loved them, too. Great value and great products.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

So far the best box of it's kind

Booked Traveler Box on Jul 2021

Holy cow, I loved my first box SO much! I've received over 100 (no joke) book subscription boxes. This box is worth every single penny!!! The connection of meaningful gifts to the book was spectacular. And, while I really like a couple other brands as well, the quality of these gifts is so much better than other boxes of this style. Do yourself a favor and grab this subscription. You'd have to be insane not to love it!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Just right! Would make a great gift, too

CrochetOne on Jun 2021

UPDATE: Three boxes in, and I'm super pleased with this purchase. I look forward to every month!
I am so happy with this box! It came with 2 skeins of yarn, stitch marker and hook size marker (brilliant), crochet hook (sadly, not the pretty floral one, darn), scissors, measuring tape, fabulous lip balm, darning needle, pen and notepad, and a pattern for the market bag. I had fun making the bag which I was able to finish in 2 sittings and have more than a skein of yarn leftover to make another one or an additional project of my own. I am a lockdown learner, so maybe an advanced beginner, and this project was just right for me. I feel like the value for cost was good, too. Can't wait for next month's box!!!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Superb... just get it!

50 States Of Mine on Jun 2021

I absolutely LOVE this box!!! I got the one-time Michigan box plus a 3 month subscription, then added a one year subscription. I couldn't be happier with the 3 boxes I've received so far and actually just bought an additional full year for my adult son based on my great experience.
Customer service is superb!!! They caught an error Imade when ordering and fixed it before I even needed to contact them. They did a substitution for me in the Michigan box to accommodate my needs, too. Simply fantastic in every way!!! I am so happy to support this small business <3

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Fun on my own.

Dispatch on Jun 2021

I got this for myself (47), my husband (64) and our adult son (19). I really like it but my husband and son do not like it. I am still giving them 5 stars, though, because they have EXCELLENT customer service, the materials that come in the box are of very high quality and very immersive, and I since bought this and I, personally liked it. Hubby and son did not like the fact that it can be text heavy and relies on researching stuff online. You have to want the story line that goes along with your puzzles!They wound up waiting for me to look stuff up online and therefore became bored. I happened to like that part of it. They have done an amazing job creating the online components to go along with the box. The really nice thing is that they have one series that is only 2 boxes, so you could try that to see if you like it, and once you are hooked, you can move on to one of the longer series, which is what I've done. Oh, they also have a really great online group for when you get stuck on a puzzle or whatever. The hardest part is waiting a whole month for the next box.

Easy enough for a newbie. FUN! PRETTY!!!

BohemStyle DIY Jewelry Box on Jun 2021

This was my first box and I loved it! The tutorial video made it so easy to do even though I've never done this before. You do need to have the right pliers, which are not included. But the paper they send with the kit has links to a few places you can buy them if you don't have them already. I am very excited to get more of this subscrition box!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Wonderful collection of gifts!

HopeBox - Care for Your Body, Heart, & Soul on Jun 2021

November update: Box 3 was another winner! I find myself wishing I could get this fabulous box every week...LOL. It really brings me so much joy and it is packed FULL of great gift items. I am a Christian, so I appreciate the HOPE mug this month that had a bible verse on it. If you are not, they don't have that sort of thing often, so it's still 100% worth it for the subscription, these boxes are so full of goodies.
October update: Box 2 was just as lovely as my first box last month. Being an October birthday girl, I love all things pumpkin...This gift is bringing me a great deal of joy!
I just got this September box and subscription from my mom for my upcoming birthday. I can't stop smiling. I love it SO much. I have been eyeing this box for months and could not be happier with the assortment of goodies that I received. The little teacup friend is ADORABLE and perfect for me <3 I even got a special birthday book which was a lovely touch! I am so excited for the upcoming months. This was a wonderful gift :-)

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Entertained us for about 3 hours

Escape the Crate on Jun 2021

UPDATE after box #2: Hubby and I ditched the 19 yo and did this one on our own. It was FANTASTIC! It took us almost 3 hours but felt fast. We only used one hint, which made us feel pretty smart...LOL. We get 4 different subscription boxes with puzzles or mysteries to sole and this one is by far our most favorite! Grab one and try it...if you like puzzles, you will love this box. And, we find it to be of good value for the time spent doing it.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: We found this to be challenging but fun. Our 19 yo son lost interest halfway through, but he is all about fast puzzles and immediate gratification. Hubby and myself enjoyed the process and the value of getting almost 3 hours of entertainment out of one box. I thought the online content was very good and adds tremendously to the value and loved that you could get plenty of hints before the final solution was revealed. Forgotten Tomb was our first experience and it taught us that in the future boxes, we need to be more observant and to write things down better because there are a LOT of details that you could easily forget or mix up. We liked this single box purchase so much that I have just signed us up for the year subscription.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Lovely gift!

mintMONGOOSE Jewelry Subscription on Jun 2021

I got this as a gift from my mom. I think the jewelry is very pretty and a great value!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Quickly becoming a favorite book box!

Peruse Book Club on Jun 2021

UPDATE: I have now received 3 boxes, one in each genre, and I just re-subscribed for an additional 6 months. They provide kind and prompt customer service if you have a question or want to switch genres from time to time. The quality of gifts and the book choices have been fabulous. HIGHLY recommend this book box for yourself or for a gift.
To say I'm addicted to book subscription boxes would be a huge understatement. I've received HUNDREDS over the past 2 years... no joke. Peruse is quickly turning into my favorite one. I've received 2 boxes from them so far and feel like they hit it out of the park both times. I haven't read my second book yet but, I can say that the first book and companion gifts went together perfectly. It's like they took the essence of the book and pulled the most relevant parts of it out and gifted them to me with fun, usable items and recipes. I loved it so much! I'll definitely be extending this subscrition.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

My most favorite book box

Unboxing the Bizarre on May 2021

I am obsessed with book boxes and this is my favorite. I have been a subscriber to multiple boxes for almost 2 years and have about 40 of their Bibliotheca boxes so far. I get anywhere from 1-3 boxes per month. Adult, YA unisex, and YA girl. Why? because of FOMO...lol. These boxes are so much fun and the books are always highly rated on Goodreads. Customer service is also fantastic. This is one subscription I won't give up!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Like getting presents every month!

Unboxing the Bizarre on May 2021

Tons of fun and so unique. I've purchased several of UB's different subscription boxes over the last 2 years and feel like you can't go wrong with whichever ones you might pick. Fabulous customer service and variety of unique content keeps me coming back for more UB every month.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Highly recommended

Unboxing the Bizarre on May 2021

This is a fun surprise in the mail. I love how each item is themed around a bizarre holiday. I think it's great that they offer so many options for different pet species, too. Sadly, my critters passed right after I subscribed, so I don't get this one any longer. But, I do follow them on FB and the box photos each month look just as good and fun as the box I got. They were so kind when I told them about the loss of my pet and worked with me so I could choose a different box to fulfill the rest of my subscription instead <3

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Bibliotheca and Chic Boutique are GREAT!

Unboxing the Bizarre on May 2021

UPDATE April 2020: These boxes are AMAZINGLY FUN!!! So far, I have received a total of 6 Chic Boutique boxes and 11 Adult Bibliotheca book boxes. I am just now adding the Peculiar Pet and the YA Bibliotheca book box that they added to their lineup. I can't recommend this subscription highly enough :-D
My mom gifted me a subscription to both the Bibliotheca and the Chic Boutique options. I have also received a few past book boxes and one Chic Boutique box by special request (fabulous customer service). I took the August and September book selections with me on vacation last week and loved them both SO much. I couldn't put them down!
I just got the October subscriptions for both boxes today and I am incredibly happy with them. While the book would not have been anything I would go out and choose on my own...I am still very excited to read it. The gifts that came with it are great, too. This month's book box could easily be gifted to a guy, if you wanted. The Chic Boutique for this month was AMAZING! I got an Alice in Wonderland wallet (my favorite movie EVER), sterling silver earrings, stainless steel necklace, and an anklet. I LOVE all the pieces!!! Thank you guys SO much for your curation of these fun and fabulous boxes <3 I feel like both of these boxes are a great value for what you get.

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Very happy book worm!

My Bookie Box on Apr 2021

I was lucky enough to be able to purchase a couple past boxes as well as a subscription. I just got my first box and it is wonderful. The book and swag from the author is lovely, the cookies were delicious, and the additional gifts were right up my alley. Customer service is prompt and top notch, as well. Can't wait to receive more of these boxes :-D

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Not the same old stuff over and over

Everlasting Autumn on Apr 2021

I love the theme and creativity of this box. It's unlike any other subscription box I've tried. I have received 13 boxes so far and find every item cute and/or usable. I really enjoy the products...tasty treats, handmade items, jewelry, home decor, (I use my Bluetooth acorn every day) and the included pamphlet is great. It even includes recipes that sound delicious! I will continue to get this box and actually just renewed for a second year.

Curation
Shipping
Quality

SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

The Conundrum Box on Dec 2020

BEST puzzle box EVER!!! And, I've subscribed to a BUNCH. I was so surprised and delighted to see that it comes with a playlist and recipes for dinner, dessert and drinks. I am having a total blast playing my first box and had to stop and leave a review...it's that good ;-) I am finding it to be a great game on my own but could easily share it with the hubby, too. Now, I am regretting buying it bi-monthly instead of monthly...LOL

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Wonderful boxes, wonderful owner!

Introverts Retreat on Dec 2020

I've subscribed to two of these boxes: Read, and Read & Relax. I really liked both of my first boxes and the owner provided wonderful customer service, quickly answering all of my questions. And, when the Cratejoy system messed up my order selections, the owner immediately provided a replacement of my desired selection even though it wasn't her fault.
The candle and soap both smell fabulous. And, I loved the drink and treat, too.
I get 10 book boxes per month from 5 different companies right now and this is one of my new favorites. I'm very much looking forward to the rest of my subscrition installments!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Made a VERY happy birthday gift!

Marshmallow of the Month Club on Dec 2020

I cannot say enough good things about this box and the customer service. I bought our son a year subscrition to celebrate his 21st birthday. Chef Farrell went above and beyond to make sure this was the perfect gift. Our son is so excited about this first box and can't wait to see what the rest of the year brings. So much fun!!! Thank you, Chef :-)

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

The most wonderful gift!

Once Upon a Book Club on Nov 2020

I cannot say enough good things about this. I received the first box of a subscription that was gifted to me by my mother. It was a wonderful surprise... packaged in an adorable box on the outside, with lovely boxed gifts and a book inside. The book I got is SO good I am finding it very hard to put down. And the excited anticipation of opening a gift at a specified time is thrilling. I have opened two of my 4 gifts so far and the immersion in the story makes them that much more of a treasure. This has to be one of the best gifts I have ever received. As if this were not enough, the customer service is FANTASTIC!

Two full date nights per box, for us!

Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In on Oct 2020

Date 3: LOVED the summer camp theme. It took us 2 nights to complete everything. I HIGHLY recommend this subscription. Recipes and playlist were superb.
Date 2: Super happy with this box! Enjoying cooking together, since we normally don't. You have to find value in the included non-tangible aspects like the recipes (dinner, drinks AND desert!!!), custom playlist, conversation starters and ways to continue the date afterwards. I really appreciate these things and getting out of the same-o routine.
DATE 1: What a fabulous Date Night In. I am totally perplexed by the negative reviews. We laughed, we connected, we 100% focused on each other for several hours... perfection!
This is our first time trying this service and we both thought it was fabulous! There is actually more to do than we could finish in one night. Reusable content, so there is extra value there. Customer service has been superb!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Just buy the best...this is it!

Deadbolt Mystery Society on Jul 2020

We've solved 5 out of 6 of these and have Seaside Strangler (past box) in hand and ready to solve. We find these are a great value for money...giving us 2-3 hours of fun on average. I am SOOO addicted to these that I went onto their website and bought ALL of the archive boxes they had available AND renewed our subscription for another 6 months.
I am completely obsessed with subscription boxes and this one is tied with a book club one for my favorite boxes of all time....mystery or otherwise! I have tried ALL but one of the mystery/escape room style subscription boxes I can find and Deadbolt Mystery Society is the absolute BEST by far.
Now, maybe you are WAY smarter than us and will solve faster, but there is so much content and story telling. What seems easy at first, never is. My personal goal is to successfully solve with zero hints...we got REALLY close last time ;-) If you like to read mysteries and you like solving puzzles, you'll LOVE this!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great fun for our stay-in date night

Finders Seekers Mysteries on Jul 2020

This box is absolutely fantastic! I love the puzzles, the online content, the flow, the hints if needed, and best of all...I actually get to learn something about a different location each time. So far we have done a London box and a Petra box. Both were a tone of fun for the hubby and myself. We felt they were both challenging enough without making our brain hurt. I highly recommend this for an evening of fun for a couple of people. Oh, and you can save everything and share the fun with a friend! We love this box!!!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

The BEST customer service!

EarFleek on Jul 2020

I got a gift subscription from my mom and have received two deliveries so far. I have really liked them both! Not only that, but I needed to contact their customer service and I have to say that they are OUTSTANDING! Not only did I get a super fast response on a Saturday night...but they were very kind and helpful and resolved my issue immediately. My only complaint is that a month is too long to wait because I am so excited to get my next pair :-)

Superb box, even for a guy!

Fresh Baked Cookie Crate on Apr 2020

UPDATE after 6 months: This was the BEST box purchase! They have fantastic customer service. And, the boxes...let me tell you...I can't even imagine how they could get any better. The recipes and ingredients are great and so easy to do with the thorough instructions included. And, if you get stuck, they are so helpful when you message them! AND, the gift items included in each box are simply fabulous! Our son has really enjoyed this so much. So far he has received gifts like socks, a tea towel, a beanie stocking cap, a cheese grater, foaming soap, bar soap, a candle, a t-shirt, and on and on. This is a fantastic value for the money especially if you get the 4 dozen box like we do. That way we get to make a fresh batch of cookies every other week without the hassle of stocking the pantry, trying to find specialty ingredients, and measuring everything. Those are all reasons why I never baked before! You will not regret purchasing this cookie box! I am so glad we have another 6 months to look forward to!!!
Original review: OH MY GOSH... what a fantastic box. We got this for our son's 20th birthday and they worked with me to get it here earlier than their normal shipping schedule to allow us to give it to him on time. They even included a gift note AND our birthday note to him beautifully written and decorated :-)
This box is packed full of fun/themed...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Fun box, friendly customer service!

Oui Macramé on Apr 2020

UPDATE: I have received 5 of my 6 box subscription and they have been a lot of fun. I have not finished all of my projects yet. Each month comes with all the supplies you need and the first 4 boxes have also included a bonus project. Every month also includes a cool custom made wood or plastic accessory to decorate your Macrame, which is very unique and adds value to the box. I am very excited for month 5, which just arrived, and is a much bigger project. I am purposefully being vague in descriptions as to not give away any surprises :-D
My mom got me this subscription for Christmas and I just finished my first project. It was so much fun! And, when I had a question, I got very prompt and friendly customer service when I messaged them on their Facebook page. I am very much looking forward to my future boxes :-)

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Easy for a novice!

Bake Eat Love (BEL Box) on Dec 2019

My son, 20, did a great job and loved this kit that my mom got him. They were delicious!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

SO WONDERFUL!!!

Perfume Surprise on Nov 2019

November Update: My third box is wonderful, again. I can't even believe how much I love this subscription. I never would have imagined that I could like every perfume I am receiving, but I am. I don't expect that to always be the case, but so far I have been very lucky. This month I got 4 jewelry items perfect for the Christmas season. This is just a fantastic box!!!
October Update: My second box was just as great as the first. I liked all of the scents, once again. And my surprise was 2 copper bracelets, which I really like, too. I am so happy with this gift :-)
I just got this subscription as a gift from my mom for my birthday. What a fantastic gift! First of all, I was lucky enough to really like all of the scents I got this month. Second, they were kind enough to send me an extra scent as a welcome gift. (THANK YOU) Third, the "surprise" was fabulous...5 coordinating stretchy bracelets and a cute bow ring. I appreciate the enclosure card that tells you what each scent is with a picture of the original bottle (in case I want to buy more, this is very handy) I absolutely LOVE this box and can't wait for next month's!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Lots of puzzling fun for a couple

Sleuth Kings on Jan 2019

My husband and I have completed 2 of these and have had a couple of hours of fun with each case. Part of the fun is that you get to email back and forth with the detective Sullivan King. I find that part of it unique and fun. There are plenty of puzzles for the two of us to share in the "work", too. The other thing I like is that each case is complete in one box, although I've read that there is an ongoing side mystery that you get with every 4th case or something, but we have not been a part of that. We have tried one other mystery subscription and my hubby prefers this one because it does not rely on online activity to be able to complete it. The other brand we got was a ton of online searching and puzzling which he hated! It is also easy to get help if you need it, so it really has been a good mystery box, in my opinion.

Quick Stats
31 Reviews
39 Pictures
52 Helpful Votes