Michele D.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (15)

Lovely gift!

mintMONGOOSE Jewelry Subscription on Feb 2020

I got this as a gift from my mom. I think the jewelry is very pretty and a great value!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Easy for a novice!

Bake Eat Love (BEL Box) on Dec 2019

My son, 20, did a great job and loved this kit that my mom got him. They were delicious!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Wonderful collection of gifts!

HopeBox - Care for Your Body, Heart, & Soul on Dec 2019

November update: Box 3 was another winner! I find myself wishing I could get this fabulous box every week...LOL. It really brings me so much joy and it is packed FULL of great gift items. I am a Christian, so I appreciate the HOPE mug this month that had a bible verse on it. If you are not, they don't have that sort of thing often, so it's still 100% worth it for the subscription, these boxes are so full of goodies.

October update: Box 2 was just as lovely as my first box last month. Being an October birthday girl, I love all things pumpkin...This gift is bringing me a great deal of joy!

I just got this September box and subscription from my mom for my upcoming birthday. I can't stop smiling. I love it SO much. I have been eyeing this box for months and could not be happier with the assortment of goodies that I received. The little teacup friend is ADORABLE and perfect for me <3 I even got a special birthday book which was a lovely touch! I am so excited for the upcoming months. This was a wonderful gift :-)

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Superb box, even for a guy!

Fresh Baked Cookie Crate on Dec 2019

OH MY GOSH... what a fantastic box. We got this for our son's 20th birthday and they worked with me to get it here earlier than their normal shipping schedule to allow us to give it to him on time. They even included a gift note AND our birthday note to him beautifully written and decorated :-)

This box is packed full of fun/themed items on top of the tasty recipe and all the dry ingredients needed to make it. They even sent the wearable appropriately sized for a guy, which was AMAZING! I am so glad I chose this bakery box!!! And, most importantly, our son LOVED it. Thank you so much for this awesome box, Fresh Baked Cookie Company <3

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

SO WONDERFUL!!!

Perfume Surprise on Nov 2019

November Update: My third box is wonderful, again. I can't even believe how much I love this subscription. I never would have imagined that I could like every perfume I am receiving, but I am. I don't expect that to always be the case, but so far I have been very lucky. This month I got 4 jewelry items perfect for the Christmas season. This is just a fantastic box!!!

October Update: My second box was just as great as the first. I liked all of the scents, once again. And my surprise was 2 copper bracelets, which I really like, too. I am so happy with this gift :-)

I just got this subscription as a gift from my mom for my birthday. What a fantastic gift! First of all, I was lucky enough to really like all of the scents I got this month. Second, they were kind enough to send me an extra scent as a welcome gift. (THANK YOU) Third, the "surprise" was fabulous...5 coordinating stretchy bracelets and a cute bow ring. I appreciate the enclosure card that tells you what each scent is with a picture of the original bottle (in case I want to buy more, this is very handy) I absolutely LOVE this box and can't wait for next month's!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

SO WONDERFUL!!!

Delightful Life Box on Nov 2019

I absolutely LOVE this box!!! I was gifted a subscription and, after seeing some unboxing videos I just HAD to have past boxes, if possible. So, I reached out and Debbie was a GEM! She was able to put together most of the contents of 3 previous boxes...So I now have 5 boxes in all.

This is a wonderful treat to receive each month and I love how the components are all working so well together. This is perfect for my decorating taste, too! I totally squealed when I opened my October box <3 It was a fabulous gift for my birthday. I can't say enough good things about the Delightful Life box and Debbie!!!

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Great fun for our stay-in date night

Finders Seekers Mysteries on Oct 2019

This box is absolutely fantastic! I love the puzzles, the online content, the flow, the hints if needed, and best of all...I actually get to learn something about a different location each time. So far we have done a London box and a Petra box. Both were a tone of fun for the hubby and myself. We felt they were both challenging enough without making our brain hurt. I highly recommend this for an evening of fun for a couple of people. Oh, and you can save everything and share the fun with a friend! We love this box!!!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Bibliotheca and Chic Boutique are GREAT!

Unboxing the Bizarre on Oct 2019

My mom gifted me a subscription to both the Bibliotheca and the Chic Boutique options. I have also received a few past book boxes and one Chic Boutique box by special request (fabulous customer service). I took the August and September book selections with me on vacation last week and loved them both SO much. I couldn't put them down!

I just got the October subscriptions for both boxes today and I am incredibly happy with them. While the book would not have been anything I would go out and choose on my own...I am still very excited to read it. The gifts that came with it are great, too. This month's book box could easily be gifted to a guy, if you wanted. The Chic Boutique for this month was AMAZING! I got an Alice in Wonderland wallet (my favorite movie EVER), sterling silver earrings, stainless steel necklace, and an anklet. I LOVE all the pieces!!! Thank you guys SO much for your curation of these fun and fabulous boxes <3 I feel like both of these boxes are a great value for what you get.

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Just buy the best...this is it!

Deadbolt Mystery Society on Jun 2019

We've solved 5 out of 6 of these and have Seaside Strangler (past box) in hand and ready to solve. We find these are a great value for money...giving us 2-3 hours of fun on average. I am SOOO addicted to these that I went onto their website and bought ALL of the archive boxes they had available AND renewed our subscription for another 6 months.

I am completely obsessed with subscription boxes and this one is tied with a book club one for my favorite boxes of all time....mystery or otherwise! I have tried ALL but one of the mystery/escape room style subscription boxes I can find and Deadbolt Mystery Society is the absolute BEST by far.

Now, maybe you are WAY smarter than us and will solve faster, but there is so much content and story telling. What seems easy at first, never is. My personal goal is to successfully solve with zero hints...we got REALLY close last time ;-) If you like to read mysteries and you like solving puzzles, you'll LOVE this!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Entertained us for about 3 hours

Escape the Crate on Jun 2019

UPDATE after box #2: Hubby and I ditched the 19 yo and did this one on our own. It was FANTASTIC! It took us almost 3 hours but felt fast. We only used one hint, which made us feel pretty smart...LOL. We get 4 different subscription boxes with puzzles or mysteries to sole and this one is by far our most favorite! Grab one and try it...if you like puzzles, you will love this box. And, we find it to be of good value for the time spent doing it.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: We found this to be challenging but fun. Our 19 yo son lost interest halfway through, but he is all about fast puzzles and immediate gratification. Hubby and myself enjoyed the process and the value of getting almost 3 hours of entertainment out of one box. I thought the online content was very good and adds tremendously to the value and loved that you could get plenty of hints before the final solution was revealed. Forgotten Tomb was our first experience and it taught us that in the future boxes, we need to be more observant and to write things down better because there are a LOT of details that you could easily forget or mix up. We liked this single box purchase so much that I have just signed us up for the year subscription.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Beautiful gift!

Jewlybox on Mar 2019

I was given this as a gift from my mom. It is absolutely fantastic! My first box had a necklace, bracelet, ring and a fancy pen. I just happen to collect cool pens, so that was perfect for me. It was also rose gold, which is my favorite. They even included a hand written note with a gift message from my mom. A very nice touch <3 Everything was beautifully packaged and perfect for a direct-send gift. Oh, and there was a coupon for a future order :-) I would not hesitate to recommend this as a gift or for yourself!

Update: Just got box 2 and it is fabulous! Loving this subscription box <3

The most wonderful gift!

Once Upon a Book Club on Feb 2019

I cannot say enough good things about this. I received the first box of a subscription that was gifted to me by my mother. It was a wonderful surprise... packaged in an adorable box on the outside, with lovely boxed gifts and a book inside. The book I got is SO good I am finding it very hard to put down. And the excited anticipation of opening a gift at a specified time is thrilling. I have opened two of my 4 gifts so far and the immersion in the story makes them that much more of a treasure. This has to be one of the best gifts I have ever received. As if this were not enough, the customer service is FANTASTIC!

The BEST customer service!

EarFleek on Jan 2019

I got a gift subscription from my mom and have received two deliveries so far. I have really liked them both! Not only that, but I needed to contact their customer service and I have to say that they are OUTSTANDING! Not only did I get a super fast response on a Saturday night...but they were very kind and helpful and resolved my issue immediately. My only complaint is that a month is too long to wait because I am so excited to get my next pair :-)

Lots of puzzling fun for a couple

Sleuth Kings on Jan 2019

My husband and I have completed 2 of these and have had a couple of hours of fun with each case. Part of the fun is that you get to email back and forth with the detective Sullivan King. I find that part of it unique and fun. There are plenty of puzzles for the two of us to share in the "work", too. The other thing I like is that each case is complete in one box, although I've read that there is an ongoing side mystery that you get with every 4th case or something, but we have not been a part of that. We have tried one other mystery subscription and my hubby prefers this one because it does not rely on online activity to be able to complete it. The other brand we got was a ton of online searching and puzzling which he hated! It is also easy to get help if you need it, so it really has been a good mystery box, in my opinion.

Fun on my own.

Dispatch on Jan 2019

I got this for myself (47), my husband (64) and our adult son (19). I really like it but my husband and son do not like it. I am still giving them 5 stars, though, because they have EXCELLENT customer service, the materials that come in the box are of very high quality and very immersive, and I since bought this and I, personally liked it. Hubby and son did not like the fact that it can be text heavy and relies on researching stuff online. You have to want the story line that goes along with your puzzles!They wound up waiting for me to look stuff up online and therefore became bored. I happened to like that part of it. They have done an amazing job creating the online components to go along with the box. The really nice thing is that they have one series that is only 2 boxes, so you could try that to see if you like it, and once you are hooked, you can move on to one of the longer series, which is what I've done. Oh, they also have a really great online group for when you get stuck on a puzzle or whatever. The hardest part is waiting a whole month for the next box.

Quick Stats
15 Reviews
5 Pictures
18 Helpful Votes