Shannon M.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (13)

Awesome!!! But...

Awakening in a Box on Oct 2021

Every freakin crystal box sends the same crystals, every freakin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them— is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase

Ok if you are new to resin....

Craft Kitsune on Jun 2021

2nd edit: so.... IDK... I think this box has amazing potential. If you are just beginning to learn about and use resin, this might be a good option for you. My problem is that the projects seem to be steadily becoming more and more juvenile. I get that this whole "kawaii" thing is kind of juvenile by definition, but really, it should also have an adult or sort of alternative spin. The molds that came this month in the shaker box were truly for 7 year olds-- an ice cream truck, ANOTHER unicorn that isn't even a good design. There is consistently less product that needed to complete all the projects intended- for example, this month, which is themed shakers, there is no shaker oil and the amount of the glitter/rhinestones/etc to put IN the shakers is maybe enough for 3 and there is only one little thing of it, so it's all the same color/type, and there is definitely a missed opportunity to include what would make the specific shakers included anything special.
I really, REALLY wish I could find a craft box that was full of high quality, adult projects- the days of crafting being about making cheap, generic, "pretty"and "cutesy" Suzie Homemaker items is over and has been for a long time!!!!!!)
(early 2019)This is definitely one of the best craft boxes out there, & for sure the best one I’ve tried!!!! The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Interesting...

Feminist Book Club on Jun 2021

So I just received my first box, & I’m all at once intrigued, curious, a bit confused & slightly disappointed. I love the concept of this box- a feminist book & 2-3 items from female/ feminist indie brands. I receive like 30 sub boxes a month, plus all the ones I’ve tried & cancelled, & I never cancel after the first month- it could be an off month for the box- to give the box the opp to get me hooked or keep me curious or interested. So the items this month are things I’d never buy for myself- the book, Austenistan, is one I’d never pick on my own (that doesn’t mean it’s not a good, interesting, entertaining or well- written book), the candle is really, really high quality & one of the strongest I’ve *EVER* tried (unfortunately, I HATE THE SCENT!!!— lemongrass & eucalyptus, but after an hour the scent of the small travel candle had filled about 2000 sq feet with its scent, & I’m sure aromatherapy wise I’d benefit, so maybe I’ll keep it instead of gifting), & a really cute & almost edgy pair of dangling chain fish hook earrings (unfortunately, I have stretched ears & wear 5/8” plugs or 6-4 gauge weighted earrings). So... I’m curious to see the next box... oh, the slight confusion comes from checking out the photos, they all look like there are several more products than the 2-3 promised in the box description, but maybe I’m wrong? Oh,...

Verified Purchase

From beginner to pro...

Scribbler on Jun 2021

... this box is pretty cool. I’m a poet, but have been wanting to cross genres for years. I like that this box has a focal point with usually inspired direction from the author of the month. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is bc I’d like the option to not receive the book of the month- I think it’s unnecessary to get the focus of the month across, & I’m not excited about (nor have I read) any of the books I’ve received, as my personal taste in novels and reading material is unique, indescribable, and

Verified Purchase

Super rad!

Betty Boomerang on Jun 2021

This box is so much fun! Totally bummed it's not monthly, but that's the only complaint I have! The products are well thought out & authentic to the time period. Especially great is the story that comes each month- adorable & inspiring! I was def skeptical that this box could live up to its description, but they do a fabulous job curating ... seriously, please offer a monthly box? I'm obsessed!!!

Verified Purchase

Best!!!

Betty Boomerang on Jun 2021

This sub box is truly inspired! The monthly stories are great, but the products are the bees knees! Items are thoughtfully curated by people who obviously know what they should be looking for, as opposed to those boxes that are specifically titled & loosely curated. I love this box, my only complaint is that it’s not monthly🤯

Verified Purchase

Totally dropped the boomerang this month

Betty Boomerang on Jun 2021

First, the total cost of the products is just around the cost of the box- don’tthink I’ve seen that w/ this box before. It felt very rushed. Even the “pink bathroom time trave” story was rushed and not as well written as in the past. I got a big insulated thermos thing that only made the box bc it has boomerangs all over it, a cute (but *very* small and cheap) alarm clock - I mean, it’s the size of pack of cigarettes plus about a centimeter wider, another bar of soap with a pinup girl on the wrapper but this one doesn’t even smell (even though description of the scent is all over the wrapper), a clean/dirty magnet that’s sort of cute but the quality is literally that of the magnets you pick up at your vet so you always know where to find contact info, & a “reusable washcloth” that has kinda cute- though confusing- art but it’s a very strange... thing that is stiff, like a chap coaster and kind of cardboard-y. I’m so disappointed this month that I think I’m gong to cancel my subscription. In 2 months, after 2 years (ish) - basically from the beginning)- they’ve gone from having amazing, brilliant, clever and good to high quality items (one box included a rad 2 piece vintage blue vase with a giant topper).

Verified Purchase

Blown away!!!

The Witches Moon® on Jun 2021

I have subscribed to over 100 unique subscription box services, about 20 of them - between boxes tried once or twice & the boxes renewed, focusing on Wicca, paganism, or the metaphysical realm in some way. The Witches Moon is by far one of the absolute best subscriptions out there! I’ve stashed away my spirituality for a couple decades- not that I’ve ever been faithfully or consistently dedicated to, in thought or action. A couple years ago in New Orleans, I had a tarot & a palm reading (same ‘psychic’) where there were 2 major calls to action, 2 things I had to focus on before I could feel complete- writing (never mentioned to him I’m a poet & working on my memoirs & short stories) and spirituality. I’ve never belonged to a coven or any other pagan group & like to keep my spirituality & my metaphysical self to myself. That means a lot of research (much easier now with the internet than 20 years ago with no World Wide Web!) & being able to trust my source, but also hoping that more experienced practitioners will share their knowledge & stories.
This box is over the top a-freakin-mazing!!!! Each month I get a spell of the month thoughtfully printed on old timey paper, as well as the packing list, which is incredibly detailed, thorough info for each item in the box. There’s also a single tarot card from a diff deck each month, claimed to have...

Verified Purchase

So inconsistent!

scribedelivery on Jun 2021

Edit: the biggest problem is that this box is so inconsistent. The past few months have been sort of ok, but this month I’m just done for good. For my $29 plus shipping, I got a $9 (price on back) journal (low quality paper that’s not smooth or pleasurable to write on), 5 pens, and 3 notecards on basic matte card stock with a quote printed on them. No way are these pens worth $5/ each- they’re nice, but not $5 each nice! There’s definitely value in curation and packaging, which is why I don’t mind the other stationery box I get, where maybe the items are barely equal in cost to what I’m paying, but everything is wrapped beautifully in paper, I get artist drawn postcards in an envelope addressed to me, and it comes in a nice box packaged orderly. I just look at the pictures in this listing of past boxes and this month just feels like a total rip-off... if the journal had been a Franklin Mills stone ground paper journal or something luxurious like that I wouldn’t be writing this right now, but this is just insulting.
I’ve reviewed this box several times, previously being very disappointed in the citations... this month was great!!!! Chad & team definitely did some work on this month’s box! The pen in the box is so cool, & hard to describe: its in 2 pieces, a ‘shell’ I’d call it, & the ink ‘refill’ which goes into...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great box, just watch the cost!!!!

The Fall Series by Magickal Folk on Mar 2021

So, the $4 kid’s rock box? Great idea, $4, awesome, right????? Then I went back & saw that they actually charge box cost x 2.... shipping!!!! Shipping is same $ as subscriptions!!!!!

Verified Purchase

I want to give 5 stars, but...

Crystal Gemstone Shop on Mar 2019

Every friggin crystal box sends the same damn crystals, every friggin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them— is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase

I *really* wanted to love this box...

Beauteque Monthly on Jun 2018

Like someone else said, the items seem like cheap brands- like the equivolent of the American Dollar Store? I wish I was totally kidding, but I'm only kidding a little bit. Unfortunately, their boxes don't ship with a product list/info/how to use, so like, last month, for example, I got a full size jar of something that has a single word in English anywhere on any of the packaging- "Honey." And it is actually a honey jar... This month, received to many hair products- shampoo, mask, and something with only a couple words in English: shampoo brush. Huh. I definitely prefer a list/description/product info card or even just a very simple single sheet of paper listing the products, what they do, how to use, etc, *in print* in the box (ESP if NOTHING is in English! Please send translated product info sheet!!!!) instead of forcing me to go online to figure out wtf this stuff is... I apparently just renewed so I'll give it a couple months to see what i get.... but I am truly disappointed that there were so many haircare products this month. Makeup. More makeup!

Verified Purchase

Amazing!!! Unique & uber personalized!

Redbird Vintage Box on Jun 2018

I just got my first box & I'm nothing short of being profoundly in love, probably more in love than I've been with any human in, like, maybe ever! I got a lot, I mean, A FRIGGIN' LOT of subscription boxes... tons of beauty ones, who seem to find out what other beauty boxes are curating for the month & sending the and types of things, down to the colors & shades of makeup. This box has me in complete awe!!! They aloe you to make requests from their online store, they offer add-one, $1-$5 items you can have then toss in the box-- I did my add-one the night before they shipped & I got them same time as my main box. The packaging? Holy hell, stunning, & both of my boxes- the main & the add-on, had the a actual items wrapped with a scarf with a brooch pinned on. They ask very, very specific preference questions is email, & I was seriously stunned with the products in my box... I CAN NOT WAIT for next box!!!!!!!😍

Verified Purchase
Quick Stats
13 Reviews
30 Helpful Votes