Shannon M.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (17)

Yaaay!!! Back to the beginning...

SCRIBEdelivery on May 2019

I’ve reviewed this box several times, previously being very disappointed in the citations... this month was great!!!! Chad & team definitely did some work on this month’s box! The pen in the box is so cool, & hard to describe: its in 2 pieces, a ‘shell’ I’d call it, & the ink ‘refill’ which goes into the shell (after you separate the 2 parts of shell), easily insert, & screw the 2 pieces back together- what’s so cool/ unique/ original I’d thst the ink stick comes out the end of the shell... & I *think* the ink is glittery (?) black, but am OBSESSED with how it writes!!! This is what I was talking about in previous reviews, ppl who subscribe to this box want unique items we can’t buy at Office Depot! The sticky notes were super cute- 4 diff shapes & colours, & I really like both paper products this month- from same brand but diff sizes! Keep it up. scribe!!!!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great box, just watch the cost!!!!

Magickal Folk on Apr 2019

So, the $4 kid’s rock box? Great idea, $4, awesome, right????? Then I went back & saw that they actually charge box cost x 2.... shipping!!!! Shipping is same $ as subscriptions!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Awesome!!! But...

Awakening in a Box on Mar 2019

Every freakin crystal box sends the same crystals, every freakin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them— is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase

I want to give 5 stars, but...

Crystal Gemstone Shop on Mar 2019

Every friggin crystal box sends the same damn crystals, every friggin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them— is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase

Want to give 5 stars, but...

Crystals & Creations on Mar 2019

Every freakin crystal box sends the same crystals, every freakin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them — is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase

Best craft box EVER!!!!

Kawaii Craft Kits on Mar 2019

This is definitely one of the best craft boxes out there, & for sure the best one I’ve tried!!!! The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is bc the quantity of supplies seems to just fall short of what’s needed- for example, the herbarium kit didn’t come with enough oil to fill both pens & the vase thingy... in fact, it only was enough to fill one pen & was about 2” short of filling the ‘vase’ which I totally overstuffed, so had I been more conservative with the flowers & herbal stuff it would have only filled about 1/2 way. The first box I received was for the open bezel UV resin kit, but I’d LOVE to see an ice resin kit, & fimo clay sculptures (see artist Juno Birch!!!), & in another kit, fimo clay beads... other great kits would be: shrinky dinks, glass fusion, metal stamping, small stained glass pendants, crystal jewelry, super strong smelling candles, blended essential oils in carrier oils, screen printing, clip in dreadlock extensions,... AND, please, NEVER, EVER curate kits to make: slime, bath fizzies, bath salts.... but, especially, SLIME!!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Love love love❤️

Saturated in Ink on Jan 2019

This box is a great way to test out fountain pens & sample diff kind of inks. It’s also of the most affordable ways to do so. These pens are not über high quality (read: expensive), but that’s not the way to learn how to use, store, treat, fountain pens. I love that each month includes *samples* of diff brands & colours of inks, & there’s always another great product- paper, an extra pen (fountain & other)... definitely worth the $15/ month.

Verified Purchase

Bummer this month...

Chasin' Unicorns on Jan 2019

Have to say, I wait in the edge of my mailbox every month for my monthly Chasing Unicorns 🦄 sub box. Usually, I’m pretty happy, but this month...?????... so I got a USPS envelooe with a few paper squigglies & crushed dried flower petals that ended up EVERYWHERE. I’ve never been impressed with the contents list, which is on a teeny piece of paper w/ very little info. But this month, for $32, (btw, they include ‘free’ shipping into the value of the box, @ $7...), I got a pair of socks, a headband, a pack of incense, some tea (which I don’t drink!), some day planner which is really just 6 weeks worth of pages with 3 days per page, a box with the day of the week, & a rock (on product list, this is listed as ‘@chasinunicorns crystal selection set’ for !!!!!$15!!!!!!— it’s a $3 rock! I would normally give 1-2 stars, but I’m usually pretty happy with this box, if only for the normal collection of labeled crystals .... 😤😭. Will have to cancel if next month’s isn’t exponentially better. I’m getting really, really sick of this bait & switch many of these subscriptions seem to be succumbing to... several amazing boxes & then... 💩💩...

Verified Purchase

Bummer

Nova Luna Box on Nov 2018

So much potential! Loved the first month, last month- ugh, this month, bleh. Cheap stuff, NOTHING AT ALL like pics! I wish these subscription boxes would stop setting themselves up to fail & maintain renewing customers by not fudging in the photos! Why show me Gucci but give me H&M?!?!? Is it not obvious that you should want to impress your customers, not disappoint them! It’s like ordering from Amazon & getting a box from Wish or Alibaba. Bummed.

Verified Purchase

Blown away!!!

The Witches Moon® on Nov 2018

I have subscribed to over 100 unique subscription box services, about 20 of them - between boxes tried once or twice & the boxes renewed, focusing on Wicca, paganism, or the metaphysical realm in some way. The Witches Moon is by far one of the absolute best subscriptions out there! I’ve stashed away my spirituality for a couple decades- not that I’ve ever been faithfully or consistently dedicated to, in thought or action. A couple years ago in New Orleans, I had a tarot & a palm reading (same ‘psychic’) where there were 2 major calls to action, 2 things I had to focus on before I could feel complete- writing (never mentioned to him I’m a poet & working on my memoirs & short stories) and spirituality. I’ve never belonged to a coven or any other pagan group & like to keep my spirituality & my metaphysical self to myself. That means a lot of research (much easier now with the internet than 20 years ago with no World Wide Web!) & being able to trust my source, but also hoping that more experienced practitioners will share their knowledge & stories.
This box is over the top a-freakin-mazing!!!! Each month I get a spell of the month thoughtfully printed on old timey paper, as well as the packing list, which is incredibly detailed, thorough info for each item in the box. There’s also a single tarot card from a diff deck each month, claimed to have...

Verified Purchase

Interesting...

Feminist Book Club on Aug 2018

So I just received my first box, & I’m all at once intrigued, curious, a bit confused & slightly disappointed. I love the concept of this box- a feminist book & 2-3 items from female/ feminist indie brands. I receive like 30 sub boxes a month, plus all the ones I’ve tried & cancelled, & I never cancel after the first month- it could be an off month for the box- to give the box the opp to get me hooked or keep me curious or interested. So the items this month are things I’d never buy for myself- the book, Austenistan, is one I’d never pick on my own (that doesn’t mean it’s not a good, interesting, entertaining or well- written book), the candle is really, really high quality & one of the strongest I’ve *EVER* tried (unfortunately, I HATE THE SCENT!!!— lemongrass & eucalyptus, but after an hour the scent of the small travel candle had filled about 2000 sq feet with its scent, & I’m sure aromatherapy wise I’d benefit, so maybe I’ll keep it instead of gifting), & a really cute & almost edgy pair of dangling chain fish hook earrings (unfortunately, I have stretched ears & wear 5/8” plugs or 6-4 gauge weighted earrings). So... I’m curious to see the next box... oh, the slight confusion comes from checking out the photos, they all look like there are several more products than the 2-3 promised in the box description, but maybe I’m wrong? Oh,...

Verified Purchase

From beginner to pro...

Scribbler on Jul 2018

... this box is pretty cool. I’m a poet, but have been wanting to cross genres for years. I like that this box has a focal point with usually inspired direction from the author of the month. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is bc I’d like the option to not receive the book of the month- I think it’s unnecessary to get the focus of the month across, & I’m not excited about (nor have I read) any of the books I’ve received, as my personal taste in novels and reading material is unique, indescribable, and

Verified Purchase

Outstanding customer service!!!!

CHC Vintage Dress Subscription on Jun 2018

I got my first box & was honestly a bit disappointed. It just wasn't what I expected when I selected the grunge box. HOWEVER! When I reread the info about the box I found that they offer a one-time replacement.... you can ship back your dress & they will replace it. I reached out for instructions & received not only quick but A-MA-ZING customer service from Nicole! I mean, the best customer service I've seen in a really long time. After several emails back & forth(& such quick responses we may as well have been texting), she offered a more than acceptable solution... so good in fact that I'm committed to sticking with them into a 2nd 3 month renewal, as not only am I certain the customer service in unparalleled, but she listened to what I expected & took it to heart, offering to steer my curationsvtowards my expectations of the style, & I'd love to stick it out through the beginnings of this subscription while they work out kinks & take customer reviews & suggestions to heart... ive gotten in on the first or second boxes of several subscriptions & most just got better from month to month. A couple suggestions I made for other options with this subscription were well received & I would love to see if they come to use those ideas.... and this is one company that deserves to succeed, I plan to do anything I can to support that success!!! There are...

Verified Purchase

Totally dropped the boomerang this month

Betty Boomerang on Jun 2018

First, the total cost of the products is just around the cost of the box- don’tthink I’ve seen that w/ this box before. It felt very rushed. Even the “pink bathroom time trave” story was rushed and not as well written as in the past. I got a big insulated thermos thing that only made the box bc it has boomerangs all over it, a cute (but *very* small and cheap) alarm clock - I mean, it’s the size of pack of cigarettes plus about a centimeter wider, another bar of soap with a pinup girl on the wrapper but this one doesn’t even smell (even though description of the scent is all over the wrapper), a clean/dirty magnet that’s sort of cute but the quality is literally that of the magnets you pick up at your vet so you always know where to find contact info, & a “reusable washcloth” that has kinda cute- though confusing- art but it’s a very strange... thing that is stiff, like a chap coaster and kind of cardboard-y. I’m so disappointed this month that I think I’m gong to cancel my subscription. In 2 months, after 2 years (ish) - basically from the beginning)- they’ve gone from having amazing, brilliant, clever and good to high quality items (one box included a rad 2 piece vintage blue vase with a giant topper).

Verified Purchase

Best!!!

Betty Boomerang on Jun 2018

This sub box is truly inspired! The monthly stories are great, but the products are the bees knees! Items are thoughtfully curated by people who obviously know what they should be looking for, as opposed to those boxes that are specifically titled & loosely curated. I love this box, my only complaint is that it’s not monthly🤯

Verified Purchase

I *really* wanted to love this box...

Beauteque Monthly on Jun 2018

Like someone else said, the items seem like cheap brands- like the equivolent of the American Dollar Store? I wish I was totally kidding, but I'm only kidding a little bit. Unfortunately, their boxes don't ship with a product list/info/how to use, so like, last month, for example, I got a full size jar of something that has a single word in English anywhere on any of the packaging- "Honey." And it is actually a honey jar... This month, received to many hair products- shampoo, mask, and something with only a couple words in English: shampoo brush. Huh. I definitely prefer a list/description/product info card or even just a very simple single sheet of paper listing the products, what they do, how to use, etc, *in print* in the box (ESP if NOTHING is in English! Please send translated product info sheet!!!!) instead of forcing me to go online to figure out wtf this stuff is... I apparently just renewed so I'll give it a couple months to see what i get.... but I am truly disappointed that there were so many haircare products this month. Makeup. More makeup!

Verified Purchase

Super rad!

Betty Boomerang on Jun 2018

This box is so much fun! Totally bummed it's not monthly, but that's the only complaint I have! The products are well thought out & authentic to the time period. Especially great is the story that comes each month- adorable & inspiring! I was def skeptical that this box could live up to its description, but they do a fabulous job curating ... seriously, please offer a monthly box? I'm obsessed!!!

Verified Purchase
Quick Stats
17 Reviews
26 Helpful Votes