Ryan D.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (13)

Disappointed

UPBOX on Jul 2020

I had to change my review unfortunately

Very disappointed. Wasn’t given the option for a refund when the company was in trouble. One vague update and no returned email. I might have decided to given the company a loan bc of how crazy things have been - but they really let their customers down and never even gave them the option. This was especially unfortunate for the ones that paid for 3+ months in advance. Most of us have other things to do with our money and we aren’t banks .

I also noticed there was a change in their products and curation starting a couple months before they stopped shipping in May. It seemed less organized.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

I feel bad

The Time Traveler on Jul 2020

I’m so sorry to do this to any company but this was pretty bad. The article of clothing was small and I don’t understand it in the context of the box- but nothing seemed to fit together. There was a plastic cup with pens to color the paper in between the layers of plastic . A face mask and a dusty Shakespeare.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

One expensive mug

Mug Boxx on Jul 2020

Overall not sure how I feel about this. My first thought when I opened it was oh my gosh I’m embarrassed to tell my roommate how much I spent on this box ( we always share our inboxing experiences) So feeling embarrassed is probably not a good thing. The mug itself is very cute. I’m lucky I got a good mug. My first thought when I opened it was oh my gosh I’m embarrassed to tell my roommate how much I spent on this. ( we do unboxings together) . So being embarrassed Is probably not a good sign. The box itself is 16.99 and I think the shipping is four dollars so it comes to about $20 or $21. So I paid almost $21 for a tiny mug. I really feel silly. I think I let my love of mugs cloud my judgment. The other thing about this is that it claims to come with a little extra goodie or item. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I thought some months maybe they put 2 mugs in the box with other months you might get a mug and maybe a couple coasters or maybe even a box of tea. But no, the extra gift was a couple of individual tea bags. So I don’t know if that was more misleading or disappointing or both. Again, I got really lucky and I liked the mug which softened the disappointment. I...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

$60 Samples and disappointing

Tribe Box Co. on Jul 2020

I am disappointed . I think mine was missing the “ dot”
item that I see pictured

I took pictures - not sure if I can post here.
- gluten cookie I can’t eat
-beard oil I cannot use
- sample size aromatherapy I will probably keep
- small inspirational paper card
- sample size bar of soap - I like
- small 4oz candle in tin- I like
- some kind of lanyard with a clip on it ??
-sample / promotional lint sheets from
botox/filler company.
-mini mini mini peppermint tin
- some oil that smells like tanning oil in a plastic bottle

I’m keeping the 4oz tin candle, the sample aromatherapy and small soap .

That cost me more that $60 dollars

I liked what I saw in a couple of the pictures - took a gamble and I lost .

I think this should be a promotional box to promote businesses and should be maybe $10 . It’s a good way to advertise for small businesses. Maybe I just had bad luck with this season’s .

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Overall great

Bats and Bubbles Box on Jun 2020

I am quite happy with the products and the citation of this box. I just need to figure out the billing cycle. I think it adds a bit of complexity bc I’m in the US. Also the shipping is quite a bit. But if that weren’t a problem - this box would be totally awesome .

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Pros/cons overall good

Hiraeth on May 2020

I just received the box today after ordering it last week so it came here very quickly.
Positives
- arrived quickly
- The book looks interesting and I liked that there was a candle that actually match the book in the box.
- I like the coffee that was included
- there was another candle in the box and I like that one as well.

I’m not sure if every month is going to be similar but I have chemical sensitivities and the first thing I noticed right open the box was an overwhelming smell of smoke. There was a burned letter inside and I could still smell the smokiness on it and I think a couple of the pieces had a smoky sort of scent.

Not so positives ( for me)
- the smokiness ( I had a migraine before opening)
- The feather pen- kind of creeped me out- not in the best way
- the twine detail was over done. It’s not May favorite texture

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Really Good!

Introverts Retreat on Apr 2020

I really liked this one, and I’m picky .

Highlights :
Shipping speed
Good Book
Love the candle scent
Cute tea infuser

Could improve:
While I liked the idea of the bubble salts - not my favorite scent - but husband liked it. Too strong for me

Candle was great and woodwork but I wish it had a different phrase on it. I think it said “if you like me you’d leave me alone”... I’d rather it say- I’d rather be reading or something else. .. are there some good introvert quotes .

Again thank you - it was overall great

Curation
Quality
Verified Purchase

Expensive

The Wordy Traveler on Apr 2020

I am rewriting this review and adding two stars because after my initially review the company provided me with a refund. They got back to me quickly. This was appreciated. I hope in the future they can make this more cost effective.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Made my day !

Coffee and a Classic on Mar 2020

Omg amazing - loved the choices , the editions and the gifts.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Sad business

SinglesSwag on Aug 2019

These boxes are getting to be a total scam .

Curation
Shipping
Quality

Thrilling!

Unplugged Book Box on Aug 2019

I just received the August box and I was very pleasantly surprised to love the type of book. It was a crime thriller. I also liked the products that accompanied it. My only suggestion would be possibly not to put products with a lot of sugar in the boxes as many are cutting down on refined sugars. But the Venetian bird mask book mark and circus /with quite joirnal was awesome! I loved the red and black - loved it was a thriller !

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

I don’t know

A Curated Thrift on May 2019

I don’t have a box that worked out for my first time . I am not sure if I am going to do another month - hoping it gets better

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Smiles in a hope

HopeBox - Care for Your Body, Heart, & Soul on Mar 2019

I am so glad that I got this box. There’s a couple things I’m not sure what I’m gonna do it but they absolutely made me smile. I get so many subscription boxes this one really stood out. It was beautiful happy and hopeful. Thank you

Verified Purchase
Quick Stats
13 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes