Matthew W.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (13)

Such a fun and thoughtfully curated box

The Introverted Chick on Jul 2020

I really enjoy this box. I love how the owner does the write up and tells us why she chooses the items for the boxes each month, I also think it’s curated perfectly, and you can tell a lot of thought goes in to this box. It’s also fun with a sense of humor. If you are an introvert, but also don’t take yourself too seriously, I think you will really enjoy this subscription.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Beautiful Lifestyle Box

Life's a Wave BEACH box on Jul 2020

I absolutely love this subscription! Every month I am so excited to unbox this. It always arrives beautifully packaged and curated. This would also make an amazing gift for someone. The items in the box are always useful and gorgeous. If you like lifestyle type subscription boxes, this is a great one to try!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Pretty good, but could be better

Slay Glam Box on Dec 2019

The retail value of this is always pretty good, but there are usually brands in it that I think way over inflate their retail values. Shipping is odd and I never know when to expect it. You usually get to customize one product. However, you have to watch social media because you never know when those options will pop up. Not everyone is active on social media, so I’d love to see an email go out to let people know it’s time and then you can respond to that email. The packaging is something that has been discussed a lot. My box comes crushed every single month. Some people don’t mind it and some do. The owner says it’s because it’s light and shipping will increase if it’s changed. Why not use a light bubble mailer? I have seen this suggested more than once, I could see if it were for environmental reasons, but bubble wrap is always used inside, so it’s not that. I have had several months to get an opinion of the box, and my ratings are mostly based on shipping and curation. I mention the other things just to give a full review of what to expect. I get a lot of subscription boxes, and many of them are beauty. This one is decent and worth a try if you have been thinking about subscribing but are on the fence, but I also think there could be improvements that would make it better.
...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Happy with this

Box of Maine on Dec 2019

All of the products were nice and the food was tasty. This would make a great gift or a nice treat for yourself.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Misleading box description, but why?

HopeBox - Care for Your Body, Heart, & Soul on Nov 2019

They are not upfront about the religious themed products. So I get a lovely box, but with things that don’t apply to me. Had I known this I would not have ordered it. It’s not an issue that the box has religious themes, it’s an issue that they don’t put that in the description. Now I have items that I’ve paid for that are of no use to me. I let them know this in an email exchange, but there was no offer to allow me to return the box, or even to refund me partially for the items I would not use. I see they still have not added it to the description, and that’s what prompted me to leave this review for others. I get a lot of subscription boxes, and there are often things I don’t like in them. However, if the description is accurate that’s the chance you take. When it’s misleading, that’s not on me, that’s on the seller who purposely leaves out pertinent information. I see several people commenting on this, so why are you being intentionally deceitful??? PUT IT IN YOUR DESCRIPTION ALREADY. This is just wrong.
Edit on 11/28/2019: I wanted to add that is this actually a wonderfully curated box. It’s beautifully put together and thoughtful. If you are a Christian or have a loved one who is Christian, this is one of the best boxes with Christian themes out there, I just can’t recommend a box that is not up front...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great Bath Box!

Bath Bevy on Nov 2019

Amazing bath box. Love the quality of the bath items in this box!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Revised Review

Sundae Home on Nov 2019

Edit July 3, 2019 The company seemed to have been having issues getting messages through CrateJoy. Once they got back to me, from then on they were very good about responding. I received my box a couple of days ago. I ordered back in April, so I’m not sure why the May/June box did not ship until the end of a June. I like most if the items, though there was one item that was a variant and I would have liked the baskets much more. Overall, I’m pretty happy with the box curation, and after the initial issues with contact got cleared up, they were very good about responding to my emails. I like it enough to try out another box.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

This was such a fun and interesting box!

MATTER on Nov 2019

I really loved this box! What an amazing assortment of items that are interesting and fun to learn about, I do think the price is a little high, and would be much more likely to keep getting this if were a little bit lower, but it’s a fun box to get every now and then. If you have children or grandchildren, I can’t think of a much better box to get to be educational and fun.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Loved this first month

Simple Statement Jewelry Co. on Jul 2019

I really loved the pieces this first month, especially the necklace and the bracelet. I prefer simple jewelry, so I was excited to see a subscription that caters to that aesthetic. Everything looks to be made well, and all the pieces were pretty. I’m looking forward to my next box. The handwritten card was a nice touch. I always appreciate personal gestures like that in a sub box.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great Items, poor customer service

GeekGear on Jul 2019

Customer service is terrible. The ladies shirts run small, and do not line up with the sizes they say they are on their website, at least the one I got did not. Although they don’t ask for measurements, pictures, nothing at all, they won’t even consider that maybe just maybe, the shirt actually is smaller than it should be. The person I dealt with would contradict herself, and actually took a tone like she was talking to a child. Take a look at some of the responses to people’s complaints on here. To lose a subscriber of two boxes because you aren’t willing to even try to work something out over a shirt just makes no sense. It’s too bad too, because the actual items in the boxes are pretty great.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Lovely and Thoughtful Subscription Box

Kizuna Box from Japan on Jun 2019

I really love this box. It has a theme based on a Japanese celebration or tradition every month, and the items are always beautiful. This box seems very thoughtfully curated, and I look forward to getting it every month.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Such a fun box!

Fruit For Thought Subscription Box on Jun 2019

So far I’m loving this box. I’ve only gotten one month, but I liked almost every item and I am excited to get the next one. I don’t know of any other boxes like this, but I really like that they are themed and that you can get a wide variety of items. One star off because the meringues in the May box reminded both my boyfriend and I of the flavor of cough syrup. We love sweets, but it just didn’t taste good to us. Everything else I adored!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Pretty and Affordable Jewelry

mintMONGOOSE Jewelry Subscription on May 2019

I have a YouTube unboxing channel and realized I didn’t have any jewelry subscriptions. I didn’t want to spend too much, so I did some research and found MintMONGOOSE. I was concerned that the quality might not be good because of the low price, but figured I’d give it a try for a month, I was so pleasantly surprised! The items are made well and so pretty. They were pieces that could really be worn by anyone.

In addition, the customer service is responsive and polite I sent a message inquiring about what the options are regarding the types of jewelry pieces from month to month, and got a detailed response immediately.

The jewelry looks even better in person. If you’re on the fence about this box, but want more affordable jewelry pieces that are made well and also pretty, I totally recommend giving this subscription a try.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase
Quick Stats
13 Reviews
42 Helpful Votes