Kim C.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (4)

Fun jewelry, deals...very poor service!

mintMONGOOSE Jewelry Subscription on Oct 2020

I subscribed to mintMongoose (mM) in September 2019. While I enjoyed the jewelry and the insight into the design process, the customer service left me extremely disappointed with this subscription. This subscription box would be near perfect, if communication and follow-through were improved.

My first time attempting to contact mM was in December 2019 to confirm that I was supposed to receive 2 pieces of jewelry instead of the usual 3. I never heard back from mM.

Then in May, I placed a large order during a sale. One of the pieces was missing and another was not as pictured. I reached out to mM once, twice, three times to have my order fixed. I never heard back.

Then, while viewing my account info to double-check my order, I noticed it had the wrong subscription renewal date posted - I subscribed in early September, yet somehow, my subscription was set to renew in July. Never mind that my original subscription confirmation email said it would renew in August 2020. And never mind that subscribers receive a month free with jewelry orders of $40 or more. So I emailed mM again to get it cleared up before the charge went through…

I finally got a hold of Brenna and after SEVERAL emails back and forth (none of which directly answered my questions…it honestly seemed like mM didn’t even READ my emails), I thought we had it all worked out for my subscription to renew in September 2020. Guess what? My subscription renewed in July!

Needless to...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

A lovely way to do good for others...

International Blessings on Oct 2020

I really enjoy this subscription box - I have the Favorite of the Month and it's just enough to keep things fresh and exciting. Sarah usually sends a piece of jewelry and a trinket - a hand-carved gourd animal, a tagua nut keychain, or (the latest) a precious stone turtle. Once, I even received a large, sturdy cloth messenger bag. But my favorites are the jewelry pieces. They have all been high quality: sometimes silver pieces, sometimes hand-rolled paper beads. Plus, you're helping others help themselves with your purchase.

At some point (and this isn't Sarah's fault), the pieces start to feel like they repeat (I have sooooo many nut/paper bead bracelets and necklaces, lol), but I think that is the nature of fair trade jewelry. The pieces are quality, so I can easily gift them. To that end, it would be nice if the info card that came with the box didn't have the name of the subscription box on it; I always want to include the card, but I don't necessarily want anyone to know I am gifting something I am not keeping. Maybe make it a half fold card?

I've been introduced to several fair trade jewelry sources thanks to this box.

Don't forget to follow International Blessings on Facebook...Sarah hosted a moving sale this summer and I picked up a ton of fantastic pieces that I'd missed from previous boxes, including two pairs of colorful thread woven earrings, three pairs of silver/gemstone earrings, and a beautiful silver woven braid...

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Creative box! FYI: no print magazine

The Mass Box on Oct 2020

We had a short subscription to this box (we got the Lite version) and really enjoyed the craft projects that arrived. The kids still talk about rolling their own Advent candle; we will likely do that every year from now on!

We ended up cancelling our subscription because the Mass Box transitioned from print magazines to digital magazines shortly after we subscribed. Call me old-fashioned, but I like paper; my kids and I just can't get into digital books/magazines. Because the magazine was my primary reason for purchasing the subscription (while my kids enjoy crafts, they are beyond the age range for this box), we chose not to continue. I mention this because it looks like the description still has "print magazine" listed, but it actually is digital.

All in all, it's a great subscription to help your child get "hands-on" with Mass, especially at that age where they aren't ready for Communion, but they need to start sitting through Mass.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Easy way to try new teas!

Simple Loose Leaf Tea on Oct 2020

I gave an every-other-month subscription as a gift to a tea-loving friend. It was well-received. The teas arrived on time and the selection was varied. Enough tea to enjoy over two months (because he already keeps a large stash of exotic teas on hand). It's a pleasant way to try new teas. If you're a tea aficionado, this might not be the box for you, but if you're open to trying a unique tea every now and then, it's a fun diversion. I might have to get myself a subscription!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase
Quick Stats
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote