Charles C.

Reviewer on Cratejoy


Reviews (7)

Great New YA Box!

I Smell Books Subscription Box on Oct 2020

This is a nice, elegant YA book box. Unlike the other YA boxes, this one is tightly themed. Instead of receiving swag loosely related to the book you get (usually related to other YA books or series), this one seems to try to use swag related to the book itself. I am impressed with their first offering—can’t wait to get my next box.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Classy Box Well Worth the Money

Call Number on Jun 2020

The curation of items for this box is top notch and relevant to the book selection. The insert explaining each item and its relation to the book is the best of the all the book boxes I subscribe to—it is the only one that uses full sentences, proper punctuation and grammar, and an elegant stationary, I couldn’t be more pleased with Call Number.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great Box!

The Wordy Traveler on May 2020

I love this box. I wanted to expand my non-fiction reading (I mostly read fiction), and thought this box would fit the bill—I was right. Great books (that I would never have picked out on my own) and great extras (including the teas). The photos and artwork included are top notch. I wish the boxes came out more frequently, but I can get my fix in the between months with the limited issues available on the Wordy Traveler website.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great First Month

Fresh Baked Cookie Crate on May 2020

This is a great box. Our first month was the ruby chocolate chip macadamia nut cookie. Incredible taste—a little bit like a raspberry jelly-flavored cookie, but with ruby chocolate (instead of raspberries) and macadamia nuts. All of the extras (silicone cookie mat, whisk, soap, and Cookie Monster book) were right in line with the theme.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Wonderful Cake

Mix Box by Homemade Bakers on Apr 2020

My first box was the Strawberry Tea Cake. Simple, clear instructions. Amazing flavor!

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great Box!

My Thrill Club! on Jan 2020

I chose the surprise me option, not knowing what to expect given that the crate generally caters to horror, crime, and suspense. I thoroughly enjoyed both selections for my January 20 box (No. 11 by Jonathan Coe and the Epiphany Machine by David Burr Gerrard). The curator knows what shes’s doing. I would never have found these books on my own.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase

Great First Box

Southern Scholar Socks on Jan 2020

Got my first sock (January 2020–black with blue polka dots with the Southern Scholar logo at top). Great design. Perfect fit for my size 14 foot. Wore it all day and it was comfortable and didn’t droop down to my ankle like other dress socks.

Curation
Shipping
Quality
Verified Purchase
Quick Stats
7 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes