and the Story Begins

by and the Story Begins
An experience unlike any other!
51 reviews

Plans as low as

$15.95/ month

Buying Options

and the Story Begins reviewsReviews

Write a Review
51

Aug 05, 2016
Shelley D.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Received my first box and was very pleased. Two interesting hardbound books, fast shipping. Just what I am looking for in a book only subscription. Am thinking of adding another catagory to my subscriptions.

Verified Purchase

Oct 08, 2016
Kyle J.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

fun box, great books

Verified Purchase

Aug 02, 2016
Polly L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I love my books! Shipping took a little longer than I expected but that's fine! I may switch over to fantasy or thrillers just to see what I'll get but I am extremely excited about my new books!

Verified Purchase

Love it

Nov 26, 2017
Sarah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I enjoy reading and I have been looking for a subscription box that I will enjoy month to month. I have try several but canceled after the month because they weren't that good. But I just received my first box and enjoyed it so much that I'm going to keep this box. I also ordered the mystery box as well. So now I'm getting the surprise box and the mystery box. Love your boxes can't wait to get the next one!!

Verified Purchase

Jan 10, 2018
Diana M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Both books I received last month were great! I am waiting for this month!!!!

Verified Purchase

Excellent customer service

Jan 03, 2021
Arianna U.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

Haven’t received it but I emailed and they said not to worry customer service is great. :)

Verified Purchase

Bad Quality

Oct 10, 2018
Jessica M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

The two books came wrapped in cute thread and brown packages and it was definitely a thrill to open them. However, the two books were uninteresting and poor quality. Both have black smudges along edges of the pages. One had a large black dot on the bottom and scratches on the cover. The second book looked like it had been chewed a bit on the bottom of the pages, not sure what happened there.
Fun to open but left disappointed.

Verified Purchase

First month

Sep 05, 2018
Shelby G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

We weren't impressed with the first month, but we're definitely trying again to see if it gets better. Not a fan of young adult. There should be a better way to cater to interests, like picking new books based on reviews of old ones or something.

Verified Purchase

First box!

Dec 02, 2017
Myda O.
7 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I received my first box today. The books are OKAY. From the synopsis I would only be interested in one out of two books. One is more a histrorocal fantasy and I’m not really into those, so that’s not really the books fault. As for the books, they are older books, one published in 2013 and one in 2014. They have low to medium reviews on Goodreads, a 2.98 and a 3.5. Sadly the one I was interested in is the lower rated book. The books are purchased from an overstock company because they have the black dot/stripe in sharpie on the bottom/top pages of the books. On Amazon, each book is priced around $5 with free shipping for a good used book. As for the packaging, the packaging is nice and thoughtful. I love the individually wrapped books, but I dislike the shredded papper inside. I have pets so they were super interested in the box and the little bits inside. All in all, it’s a decent box if you want older, lower to medium rated overstock books. I would never expect a 4.0 or higher book to come out of this box just for that fact and from what I’ve seen other people unbox on YouTube.

Verified Purchase
and the Story Begins said...Dec 18, 2017

Myda, We would first off like to thank you for your feedback! We were however very disappointed to see the book box you received did not quite meet your expectations, and we would like to make it right. Even though your review was posted less than an hour after your Book Box was delivered, first impressions are still valuable to keep our readers happy and to improve on any areas for which it applies. Goodreads does provide a helpful star rating on each book listed, but it is more helpful to read the reviews which together make the average rating shown. For example, 70% of people who reviewed the 3-star book you received gave the book 3 or more stars (nearly 44% of those people...

Jul 30, 2016
Ariana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

When I got the box in the mail, I was very excited. I'm excited for the boxes to come, but one thing threw me off: I had the Young Adult Fiction genre, and I was expecting authors like John Green, Jenny Han, etc. Books like that. What I got were more mature books (what I mean by that is books that an older age group would read) The only thing I would change about that is to make the Young Adult Fiction genre Young Adult. Maybe add a Teen Fiction genre, because that's what I was aiming for. I'm planning on switching to Fantasy.

Verified Purchase

Feb 17, 2018
Jessica B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I received my first box this afternoon and I was pleasantly surprised. The packaging is wonderful - I love that the entrie package is recyclable materials!! In my box, I received one hardback book and one paperback book . Both books had decent ratings on GoodReads and fit into the mystery/thriller category. My only complaint about my box, and the reason for not giving a full 5-star rating, was that one of the books that I received was the sequel to a previous book. I worry that information provided in the first book will have been crucial to understanding this one. I also think that a good addition to these boxes would be a bookmark of some kind in each subscriber's first box.
Overall, I'm pleased with my first box, with the exception of receiving a book that I may not understand, fully, because I have not read the first.

Verified Purchase
and the Story Begins said...Feb 19, 2018

Hi Jessica! We are happy to know you are excited about the books you received and appreciate our environmentally friendly packaging! Regarding “Bred To Kill”, we wanted to let you know that while some online boards consider this novel a “sequel” it is not as part of a continuation of the preceding book. Much like Dan Brown’s novels, author Franck Sharko uses the same characters in each of his novels, but the stories are completely independent of one another. Each of his books are about different mysterious cases, none of which requiring information from previous novels to understand. “Syndrome E.”, the preceding novel, focuses on the relationship between the main characters and some conspiracy theories, while the crime story in “Bred To Kill”...

Heart Broken!

Dec 25, 2016
Leah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

I ordered this box as a Christmas present for my grandmother who is not always able to get out and pick the books she would like... Received the first month and it was just as perfect as I had hoped it would be! Shortly after I received an email stating they will be closing down and it will not be available any longer. Im very happy to have gotten the chance to try but I hope they come back soon!! My grandmother is in love with her books!!

Verified Purchase

Great for Classroom Libraries

Sep 07, 2016
Princess J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

So far I have gotten two boxes (below is my review):
Here's the okay part: These are not the MOST popular books. So far all 4 books that I have gotten have been less than 4.0 on the Goodreads rating, and I had only heard of one of the books before receiving it.
Here are the great parts: They're all hardcover (delivered promptly at the beginning of each month) and with interesting titles that fall under my theme (young adult). I've read 3 of the 4 books I've received and then put them on my classroom shelves. My students love new books and totally pick books by their cover. For this reason, I will continue subscribing! (Really happy with my purchase!)

Verified Purchase

Don't like book selection

Jan 29, 2020
Angela L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've read three books so far and I enjoyed only one. I also wanted to change my subscription to YA every month but it was only changed for last month for some reason. Don't want to keep receiving books I'm not interested in.

Verified Purchase

Very unhappy

Oct 23, 2018
Doniqua L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

I'm not happy at all with this subscription and I haven't even received the package yet. It was marked as shipped on the 17th and still has yet to be taken to usps per usps website. I was sent something else Friday from Kentucky and received it today via usps so it makes me wonder. Also it states in the description they ship every week well I signed up on the 4th and they didn't do the postage until the 17th....and I still haven't received any books. That's not shipping every week to me. I even was nice and asked they said oh it'll ship next week...then I asked a question about billing and was never answered. With this being online I am not comfortable with the communication and not standing up to doing what you say you'll do. I'm better off getting a Barnes and noble membership and picking out my own horror novels in person than risking this. I cancelled.

Verified Purchase

No one is answering my emails

May 08, 2018
Patricia P.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I specifically emailed the company before I even made the purchase to tell them that i like q specific type or YA books, fantasy/scifi, but no one ever responded. The books did get here in a timely manner but I also did not like that they put a permanent marker spot on the pages on the bottom of the book, by guess is to know which books are for the boxes and this is a bookstore. Anyway, I dont like Mark's on my books not do I like folded corners on several of the pages which I also recieved in my soft back book. But most important is that they didnt even try to accommodate the readers style or read my emails. I even emailed them again yesterday to see it they could rectify the situation or at least assure that it wouldn't happen again, but they never responded again. I am 29 years old and not interested in a book about some new psychedelic drugs that high schoolers are taking and manufacturing, not am I interested in some book about teenage drama, love, revenge, or any of that. Both of my books where books I hate. I think I am going to have to cancel my subscription if no one reaches out to me soon, which really sucks because I really do love to read and haven't had the chance to since my daughter was born over 2 years ago.

Verified Purchase

Customer service doesn't seem to exist

Dec 23, 2016
Timothy R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Ordered 3 month subscription as a Christmas gift. A few days after receiving a shipping confirmation email, I received a subscription cancelled email followed by a refund email. I replied asking why it was cancelled and never got a response. The first month did arrive, and I was refunded for the balance of the next 2 months, but not getting an answer for why, I went with another subscription site.

Verified Purchase

Jul 06, 2016
Lauren B.
1 Review
Overall

As an avid book reader I highly recommend this book subscription box. I loved both of the book choices that were picked for me and I will definitely be subscribing again next month.

Awesome!

Jul 07, 2016
Kyle J.
5 Reviews
Overall

Love the books!

Loved it!

Jul 06, 2016
Kyle J.
5 Reviews
Overall

I went with the FANTASY genre and received 2 books that I didn't have. Books were new and looked like they were never even touched! Each book was individually wrapped with twine, definitely set these guys apart from other sellers. For $7.99 a month you really can't go wrong!

Jul 06, 2016
Arnas
1 Review
Overall

Just got my books! Super fast shipping.

Love it!

Sep 06, 2016
Kevin M.
1 Review
Overall

I just received my first subscription box and I'm in love! I've never heard of the books but they seem extremely interesting and right in my alley of the books I read!

Sep 14, 2016
Susan
1 Review
Overall

best box ever! love that they individually wrap each box as though it were a gift

Books!!

Dec 21, 2017
Amy M.
1 Review
Overall

I always enjoy getting new books and it's even better when they come in the mail and the genre that I like the most!! Can't wait to read the two I got plus I adore the little bookmark!

Meh

Feb 13, 2018
Nicolle C.
1 Review
Overall

Ordered the Sci-fi/fantasy box and was really excited to receive my order. But I got a book that was third in a series which seemed like it was picked at random. The other boook seems a lot better in quality I'm just confused why Id want to receive a hardcover in a series I haven't ever read?? Also both books are fantasy and I was expecting one Sci-fi one fantasy book. I prefer Sci-fi. Idk, not really sure about this one.