Receive two new books every month!

Plans as low as $14.42 / month

and the Story Begins reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Bad quality and customer services

Dec 07, 2018
Quynh-nhu N.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I subscribed to the 3 months subscription. There is nothing interesting about the books. It was mostly undiscovered books. It wasn't even gems. I didn't enjoyed any of the books. I unsubscribed after the first month. After my 3 months ended, they charged me again. I emailed them and never received a reply. It turned out that my subscription wasn't cancelled properly, so I cancelled again. I asked for a refund, because why pay $50 for useless and uninteresting books. Customer services was very rude and hostile. I absolutely do NOT recommend this subscription. It is not worth it.

Verified Purchase

Great for Classroom Libraries

Jun 15, 2018
Princess J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

So far I have gotten two boxes (below is my review):
Here's the okay part: These are not the MOST popular books. So far all 4 books that I have gotten have been less than 4.0 on the Goodreads rating, and I had only heard of one of the books before receiving it.
Here are the great parts: They're all hardcover (delivered promptly at the beginning of each month) and with interesting titles that fall under my theme (young adult). I've read 3 of the 4 books I've received and then put them on my classroom shelves. My students love new books and totally pick books by their cover. For this reason, I will continue subscribing! (Really happy with my purchase!)

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Ariana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

When I got the box in the mail, I was very excited. I'm excited for the boxes to come, but one thing threw me off: I had the Young Adult Fiction genre, and I was expecting authors like John Green, Jenny Han, etc. Books like that. What I got were more mature books (what I mean by that is books that an older age group would read) The only thing I would change about that is to make the Young Adult Fiction genre Young Adult. Maybe add a Teen Fiction genre, because that's what I was aiming for. I'm planning on switching to Fantasy.

Verified Purchase

Heart Broken!

Jun 15, 2018
Leah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

I ordered this box as a Christmas present for my grandmother who is not always able to get out and pick the books she would like... Received the first month and it was just as perfect as I had hoped it would be! Shortly after I received an email stating they will be closing down and it will not be available any longer. Im very happy to have gotten the chance to try but I hope they come back soon!! My grandmother is in love with her books!!

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Jessica B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I received my first box this afternoon and I was pleasantly surprised. The packaging is wonderful - I love that the entrie package is recyclable materials!! In my box, I received one hardback book and one paperback book . Both books had decent ratings on GoodReads and fit into the mystery/thriller category. My only complaint about my box, and the reason for not giving a full 5-star rating, was that one of the books that I received was the sequel to a previous book. I worry that information provided in the first book will have been crucial to understanding this one. I also think that a good addition to these boxes would be a bookmark of some kind in each subscriber's first box.

Overall, I'm pleased with my first box, with the exception of receiving a book that I may not understand, fully, because I have not read the first.

Verified Purchase
and the Story Begins said...Feb 19, 2018

Hi Jessica! We are happy to know you are excited about the books you received and appreciate our environmentally friendly packaging! Regarding “Bred To Kill”, we wanted to let you know that while some online boards consider this novel a “sequel” it is not as part of a continuation of the preceding book. Much like Dan Brown’s novels, author Franck Sharko uses the same characters in each of his novels, but the stories are completely independent of one another. Each of his books are about different mysterious cases, none of which requiring information from previous novels to understand. “Syndrome E.”, the preceding novel, focuses on the relationship between the main characters and some conspiracy theories, while the crime story in “Bred To Kill”...

Seller

Very unhappy

Oct 23, 2018
Doniqua L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

I'm not happy at all with this subscription and I haven't even received the package yet. It was marked as shipped on the 17th and still has yet to be taken to usps per usps website. I was sent something else Friday from Kentucky and received it today via usps so it makes me wonder. Also it states in the description they ship every week well I signed up on the 4th and they didn't do the postage until the 17th....and I still haven't received any books. That's not shipping every week to me. I even was nice and asked they said oh it'll ship next week...then I asked a question about billing and was never answered. With this being online I am not comfortable with the communication and not standing up to doing what you say you'll do. I'm better off getting a Barnes and noble membership and picking out my own horror novels in person than risking this. I cancelled.

Verified Purchase

Bad Quality

Oct 10, 2018
Jessica M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

The two books came wrapped in cute thread and brown packages and it was definitely a thrill to open them. However, the two books were uninteresting and poor quality. Both have black smudges along edges of the pages. One had a large black dot on the bottom and scratches on the cover. The second book looked like it had been chewed a bit on the bottom of the pages, not sure what happened there.

Fun to open but left disappointed.

Verified Purchase

First month

Sep 05, 2018
Shelby G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

We weren't impressed with the first month, but we're definitely trying again to see if it gets better. Not a fan of young adult. There should be a better way to cater to interests, like picking new books based on reviews of old ones or something.

Verified Purchase

No one is answering my emails

Jun 15, 2018
Patricia P.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I specifically emailed the company before I even made the purchase to tell them that i like q specific type or YA books, fantasy/scifi, but no one ever responded. The books did get here in a timely manner but I also did not like that they put a permanent marker spot on the pages on the bottom of the book, by guess is to know which books are for the boxes and this is a bookstore. Anyway, I dont like Mark's on my books not do I like folded corners on several of the pages which I also recieved in my soft back book. But most important is that they didnt even try to accommodate the readers style or read my emails. I even emailed them again yesterday to see it they could rectify the situation or at least assure that it wouldn't happen again, but they never responded again. I am 29 years old and not interested in a book about some new psychedelic drugs that high schoolers are taking and manufacturing, not am I interested in some book about teenage drama, love, revenge, or any of that. Both of my books where books I hate. I think I am going to have to cancel my subscription if no one reaches out to me soon, which really sucks because I really do love to read and haven't had the chance to since my daughter was born over 2 years ago.

Verified Purchase

Customer service doesn't seem to exist

Jun 15, 2018
Timothy R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Ordered 3 month subscription as a Christmas gift. A few days after receiving a shipping confirmation email, I received a subscription cancelled email followed by a refund email. I replied asking why it was cancelled and never got a response. The first month did arrive, and I was refunded for the balance of the next 2 months, but not getting an answer for why, I went with another subscription site.

Verified Purchase

First box!

Jun 15, 2018
Myda O.
6 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I received my first box today. The books are OKAY. From the synopsis I would only be interested in one out of two books. One is more a histrorocal fantasy and I’m not really into those, so that’s not really the books fault. As for the books, they are older books, one published in 2013 and one in 2014. They have low to medium reviews on Goodreads, a 2.98 and a 3.5. Sadly the one I was interested in is the lower rated book. The books are purchased from an overstock company because they have the black dot/stripe in sharpie on the bottom/top pages of the books. On Amazon, each book is priced around $5 with free shipping for a good used book. As for the packaging, the packaging is nice and thoughtful. I love the individually wrapped books, but I dislike the shredded papper inside. I have pets so they were super interested in the box and the little bits inside. All in all, it’s a decent box if you want older, lower to medium rated overstock books. I would never expect a 4.0 or higher book to come out of this box just for that fact and from what I’ve seen other people unbox on YouTube.

Verified Purchase
and the Story Begins said...Dec 18, 2017

Myda, We would first off like to thank you for your feedback! We were however very disappointed to see the book box you received did not quite meet your expectations, and we would like to make it right. Even though your review was posted less than an hour after your Book Box was delivered, first impressions are still valuable to keep our readers happy and to improve on any areas for which it applies. Goodreads does provide a helpful star rating on each book listed, but it is more helpful to read the reviews which together make the average rating shown. For example, 70% of people who reviewed the 3-star book you received gave the book 3 or more stars (nearly 44% of those people...

Seller

Loved it!

Jun 15, 2018
Kyle J.
5 Reviews
Overall

I went with the FANTASY genre and received 2 books that I didn't have. Books were new and looked like they were never even touched! Each book was individually wrapped with twine, definitely set these guys apart from other sellers. For $7.99 a month you really can't go wrong!

Awesome!

Jun 15, 2018
Kyle J.
5 Reviews
Overall

Love the books!

Books!!

Jun 15, 2018
Amy M.
1 Review
Overall

I always enjoy getting new books and it's even better when they come in the mail and the genre that I like the most!! Can't wait to read the two I got plus I adore the little bookmark!

Love it!

Jun 15, 2018
Kevin M.
1 Review
Overall

I just received my first subscription box and I'm in love! I've never heard of the books but they seem extremely interesting and right in my alley of the books I read!

Jun 15, 2018
Arnas
1 Review
Overall

Just got my books! Super fast shipping.

Jun 15, 2018
Susan
1 Review
Overall

best box ever! love that they individually wrap each box as though it were a gift

Jun 15, 2018
Lauren B.
1 Review
Overall

As an avid book reader I highly recommend this book subscription box. I loved both of the book choices that were picked for me and I will definitely be subscribing again next month.

Meh

Jun 15, 2018
Nicolle C.
1 Review
Overall

Ordered the Sci-fi/fantasy box and was really excited to receive my order. But I got a book that was third in a series which seemed like it was picked at random. The other boook seems a lot better in quality I'm just confused why Id want to receive a hardcover in a series I haven't ever read?? Also both books are fantasy and I was expecting one Sci-fi one fantasy book. I prefer Sci-fi. Idk, not really sure about this one.

What's Going on??

Jun 15, 2018
Jessica H.
1 Review
Overall

So I'm in the mood to try something new and i only want to keep on subscription service open at a time. So I order the new and try to cancel the old. But their main website won't accept my login information and I can't reset the password cause it tells me that it's an expired key. I try to do it through cratejoy and it's telling me I'm not subscribed to it... But it's still billing me... And there's no form of contact on the seller end so I have to try to do it through cratejoy which their only way is to email them... I love this service and I've loved past services... But what is going on?? I'd rather not have to try and refute the payments.

and the Story Begins said...Mar 09, 2018

Hi Jessica, We are very sorry to hear you had trouble logging into your account to cancel your subscription before it renewed. Since you would prefer to cancel, and were charged for March, we will refund your account and you will not be sent a book box. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns, please contact us directly at andthestorybegins@monthlybookbox.com. We’re glad you enjoyed the books you received and hope to see you back soon!

Seller
Buying Options