Arts in Letters

by Arts in Letters
Hold history in your hands when you receive a weekly letter from Arts in Letters!
8 reviews

Plans as low as

$12.50/ month

Buying Options

Arts in Letters reviewsReviews

Write a Review
8

Not what I expected, but a lot of info

Apr 02, 2021
Mickey C.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not sure what I expected, I was excited about getting snail mail in the mail. I was hoping it would be like a friend once sent me stories that were written. The one I show above I enjoyed more than others. Some were like being in school and trying to read and understand. To much information on where you can find out more about this or that person. I think that should be included, maybe, but as the last page not right in the middle so that you are not sure where to start reading again. Great idea. Note sure if it was worth the price. but that is just me.

Verified Purchase
Arts in Letters said...Apr 16, 2021

Thanks for your review and for your feedback, Mickey! Your pictures are great, too!
Balancing the portrayal of history with personality is a challenge and something I can always improve on. I have the fight the tendency to be a little too wonky, even for me!
Thanks again!

Einstein and Schrodinger are perfect!

Mar 23, 2021
Robin W.
6 Reviews
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Letter #2 - Edith Wharton to Mary Cadwalader Jones. Knowing nothing about Edith Wharton beforehand, I found this letter to be interesting and informative.
Letter #1 - I've received my first shipment today (12 months, mixed) of a letter from A. Einstein to E. Schrodinger and then a 2nd letter back to Einstein from Schrodinger. The writing is impeccable. I bought this subscription to use letters in my junk journals because I wasnt able to recreate them myself. NOW Im wondering how I ever thought I could. I CANT and most other people couldn't either. I wavered over this subscription for a couple months and wishing I had signed up earlier. I'm hoping to get a Mary Shelley letter at some point or maybe James Whale to one of his 'monsters'. Thanks AiL for a fabulous first.

Verified Purchase
Arts in Letters said...Apr 16, 2021

Thank you so much, Robin! Glad you are enjoying reading the letters and backgrounds of different historical figures.
Also thanks for the suggestions! I've been looking for Mary Shelley letters to feature and hope that as I dig deeper I'll find something really good to feature. I'll have to look into James Whale, too. I'm always in need of new directions to explore!

History for Happiness

Apr 15, 2021
Cody W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Curation

I decided to purchase this box while recovering from surgery and I love it!!! Every week I look forward to see which historical figure is chosen and very well researched each week. Would recommend for anyone looking to brush up on or learn about historical figures i previously was ignorant too. Love this crate!!!!

Verified Purchase
Arts in Letters said...Apr 16, 2021

Thanks Cody! Glad you are enjoying Arts in Letters during your recovery and hope you continue to journey through history with us!

A great gift

May 19, 2019
Wendy F.
24 Reviews
3 Pictures
35 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This subscription is a fun little one that is great for fans of history. I receive a letter each week, and my kids and I have enjoyed reading and discussing the correspondences. It is amazing to my kids how much time went into writing letters, and I am hoping to spark a love of writing and/or journaling kids do not have exposure to anymore in our technical age. The letters are great to pass along to others to share as well. A nice touch is the envelopes are hand addressed. The letters are computer printed, but I prefer that as I was worried about trying to read the handwriting of any photocopied letters (although a handwriting sample from the writers would be neat to see too!) All in all, this is a great subscription and you get a lot with a new letter each week versus once a month like most boxes. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase
Arts in Letters said...May 29, 2019

Thanks, Wendy! So glad you and your kids are enjoying Arts in Letters!

Really Clever Idea!

Feb 28, 2020
Juliana J.
104 Reviews
56 Pictures
96 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is really cute! It’s an awesome way to learn bits of history in small doses. Especially neat being able to read in their own words! Really puts a different face on history. And who doesn’t love finding a letter in their mailbox? Would definitely recommend!

Verified Purchase

Sit down and read a story From the past

Aug 17, 2020
Dawn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Lovely product. Educational and fun.

Verified Purchase

Perfect for a busy history buff!

Jun 09, 2020
Cate D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is the perfect gift for my busy dad who always says he wants nothing. All the letters are interesting and printed in the original handwriting. The letters often include extra information about the topic. They are never too long so they're great for busy people and they come weekly which is so unique for a subscription. Overall, such a great service I can not recommend more highly!

Verified Purchase

Makes this history buff smile every week

May 11, 2020
Kat H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you love history or are just intellectually curious, you will love this subscription! I truly look forward to it each and every week (yes, you get something every week!). I chose the “grand slam” subscription that rotated through figures from art, literature, music, and science. I’ve learned a lot from the info provided with each letter, and the letters themselves are fascinating. Since you get 4 packets a month and not just one, it’s also a great value.

Verified Purchase