Bringing crystals and tools of enlightenment right to your doorstep.

Plans as low as $13.33 / month

Awakening in a Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awakening in a box

Apr 04, 2019
Michelle G.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

This was my first time ordering this box and u currently live in Canada so with the Usd to Cad conversion and the shipping I personally feel like more could be offered. This march box came with 2 small tumble stones, a spray and one small raw stone. Personally 24 usd is not worth it....the stones I got cost in stored tumbled only cost around 1-2 dollars and the spray I've seen similar at metaphysical shops offered for 4-6 dollars. You get exactly what you pay for as its 14 dollars for the box and 10 for shipping but nothing special that you can't just go out and get yourself at a local shop for the same price or less. Items are good quality but again not sure if its worth the 10 dollar shipping and USD to CAD conversion.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Apr 04, 2019

Hello Michelle,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to reach out with your concerns. It seems like your box was missing an item, as you didn’t mention it in your review. There should also have been a beautiful crystal keychain in your box. Please email us at awakeninginabox@gmail.com so that we can remedy the situation and get you that missing item. Below you’ll find a breakdown of retail prices of our items for the March Box. These prices are based on our local crystal shop and Etsy crystal shops online. While there is monetary value there more than what you paid, the value comes from having a box curated specifically around a theme that some would not know...

Awesome!!! But...

Aug 14, 2018
Shannon M.
15 Reviews
42 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

Every freakin crystal box sends the same crystals, every freakin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them— is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Mar 21, 2019

Hi Shannon,
Thank you for your feedback! It looks like, from your previous review, that you were really enjoying your box so we’re a little surprised to be getting this review, although I do understand you wrote this same review on multiple crystal subscription boxes. Just for a little context here, our boxes are on the more inexpensive side so our budget is definitely in consideration when we purchase stones and crystals and sometimes hinders is from sending extremely rare and/or unknown stones. We do try our hardest to find more and more stones that are not readily available/super common to introduce our customers to. We have been in business almost 4 years now and have showcased so many different types of stones, only repeating...

Oracle Box

Jan 31, 2021
Teresa H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m happy

Verified Purchase

It was okay

Jan 04, 2019
Rene D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I'm not thrilled or excited to get this box. I'll be looking into something else. The items were things that I really didn't have use for other than the crystals. I did get one cute necklace but I could have done without the other things and some of the larger crystals were not impressive.

Verified Purchase

My daughter liked it

Dec 26, 2020
Tiffany H.
5 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this for my daughter for Christmas. Unfortunately it came the day after. It's not a big deal I understand there are delays around the holidays. A little disappointed with the amount of products. With the discount I had it was ok. She got a soap, three crystals/rocks, an oil and a lunar calendar. She is happy. Just in some of the pictures the boxes looked like they contained a bit more at times so I was expecting more I guess. Overall a pretty good box with the discount applied.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Dec 27, 2020

Hello Tiffany
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately there’s not much we can do with the delays. USPS has had all of the boxes since December 15th-17th, well before their deadline to get boxes out for Christmas delivery. The pictures you’re referring to I believe are from our different box options. Our Awakening Box has always been 3 crystals and 2 products. With your discount, which was 30% off your 3 month subscription, your box was $9 before shipping. The retail value of this months box was $20 with a beautiful large rare citrine piece. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you love your future boxes!

Sad box

Dec 25, 2020
Londa C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

There was a broken bottle in my box.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Dec 25, 2020

Hello Londa
Thank you for reaching out. We are sorry to hear that the oil broke in your box. We try our best to secure the products in the box but sometimes these things still happen. We had a few different products this month due to lack of availability. Unfortunately, we do not have any oils left, but we can send the beautiful tapestry that most of our customers received this month. Again we apologize for the inconvenience. Let us know if you have any other questions. We appreciate your support.

Shipping disaster and seller laziness.

Dec 24, 2020
Kristal M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So honestly at this point it could be the coolest deck ever and I’d still be disappointed, I do understand shipping delays but let’s be real, the seller waited until the 22nd to ship the package. I ordered this package on the 10th and was told as long as I ordered it before the 15th I would have it in time for Christmas. The label was created on the 13th but the seller did not take the package to the post office till the 22nd. I buy, make and ship homemade goods via various platforms all the time so I’m fully aware of the process. So honestly for whatever reason the seller made the label at home on the 13th but didn’t ship the package till the 22nd. This is reckless because the seller’s page stated if ordered before the 15th, I’d have the package for Christmas. Had they shipped it on the day they printed out the label, it probably would have been. But for whatever reason they decided to wait until 3 days before 🙃 i will not be purchasing again.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Dec 24, 2020

Hi Kristal,
This is Megan, owner of Awakening in a Box. All of our boxes were picked up by the USPS in batches each day from December 15th-17th. By midday on December 17th every single package was in the possession of the USPS. December 18th was the cutoff we were given by the USPS to get packages to their destination by Christmas and we held staunchly to those dates. We also give the USPS scan forms to scan that they’ve received the packages which automatically generates a package acceptance in the tracking information. Because of the delays the USPS is having due to limited staff and increased online shopping, they did not scan our scan forms into their system until 5 days after it was...

First Mystic Tarot Box

Sep 21, 2020
Rebecca P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first month getting the Mystic Tarot box (or any box from Awakening in a Box), and I found it to be alright but a bit disappointing. I will admit that some of my disappointments stem from my personal preferences and not because anything was *wrong* with the box.
The big draw of this particular box is that it contains a deck of tarot cards. There was a spoiler released in advice, but I had somehow missed that the deck would only contain the major arcana and not be 78 card tarot deck. I realize that some people wouldn't mind, but I was a bit disappointed. That said, the cards themselves are beautiful and larger than most tarot cards.
The crystal was a larger piece of petrified wood. I really like it!
Th other two ideas were both Buddha themed. This is where most of my disappointment really lay. I am not a Buddhist, and I think that use of Buddha statues and other paraphernalia by non-Buddhists is a little awkward and edges close to cultural appropriation. I know some people would be pleased with the pin and the candle holder, but I know that I have no use for them and feel a little uncomfortable with them. The candle does smell great though!
All in all, I think the biggest "problems" with this month's box are somewhat down to personal preference. If I had know that the tarot deck would be only major arcana or that the other...

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Sep 21, 2020

Rebecca,
Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to leave us some feedback. Our theme for September was Ancient Wisdom, so we knew we wanted to send out the gorgeous Egyptian Tarot. However, we weren’t able to get the full tarot and opted for the Egyptian Tarot Grand Trumps as shown in our sneak peek for our September box. We knew that it could be a risk, but we’re in love with that deck and thought it was so perfect with the theme and wanted to share its wisdom and beauty with our subscribers. We do not plan on sending only the Major Arcana again and we appreciate your feedback on this matter.
The Buddha items in the box were chosen...

Gross

Apr 30, 2018
Freedom E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

I tried to email but cratejoy won’t send it.... I found 2 hairs in the body butter as soon as I opened it and it looks like it’s been used previously. I have pics if you want to see it. That’s pretty gross to find that and if it’s pet hair I’m allergic to both dogs and cats so I can’t even use it in case it is pet hair. Quite unhappy :(
Please email me about this!!!!
Warmfeather at me dot com

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 01, 2018

Thanks for your review. We are so sorry this happened. We’ll get in contact with the company that sold us the body butter and send over a refund for your purchase for the inconvenience. We would never intentionally send anything that had been used. We’ve emailed you directly as well to follow up. We hope you loved everything else in the box. Namasté.

Not what I was expecting.

May 01, 2018
Amanda B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

So to start I was pretty excited about starting my new monthly subscription box. My previous place quit doing them. I watched multiple unboxings and first I noticed I didn't get the regular box that I have seen in the past. I understand things change. So not a big deal at all. I loved everything that came in the enlightenment box.... Except my candles were melted and the candle holder itself was bent. I loved the art on the curators note. Loved the smell of the meditation mist I got. The bag was a really nice addition. Overall pretty satisfied will continue my subscription. Just hope that a few things change.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 02, 2018

Hello Amanda!
Thank you for your review. We're so sorry to hear about your candles, we're gonna go ahead and send a replacement to you. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We're happy to hear you love your box and we're excited to show you what we have in store for the future. Thank you again for your review
Namaste.

Not bad

Sep 06, 2018
Shannon M.
6 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I liked this box but not totally sold on if it is worth keeping. Going to try one more month I just feel the value was not quite there, but it was a nice box. The creative activity came with only seven cards which left me feeling a little bothered considering this is a month to month subscription. The quality I felt could of been better. Like I said am giving it another shot maybe just not my month.

Verified Purchase

1st box

Jan 26, 2018
Amanda M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

i did a ton of browsing and reading on others who have received this box and i finally decided to actually purchase the enlightened box. this month (january) was representing the throat chakra, which i thought was pretty awesome. for the price i paid, i don't think it's worth it.. i guess this month, to me, didn't feel like it was worth the $47. i got 5 different crystals that.. i could have gotten for less than $10 & all were small in size.. 2 of them i didn't have, but i had the others. doesn't hurt to add to what i already have though.. then i received a chakra pillow which is full of spearmint, lavender, and flax.. herbs i could have bought for under $10, a pack of 10 incense sticks.. i buy in bulk (100 sticks) for $5-7 dollars.. then a cup full of 'things to write about' ... then a throat chakra spray (which was probably the best item in the package) and then a small to medium sized multi-color tote. i paid almost $50 for this? i legit thought i got the normal awakening box, but nope, it was the expensive enlightened box. i'll give it another go for february, but it isn't lookin' too good. :(

Verified Purchase

Sort of Disappointing.

Sep 17, 2018
Tori C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I signed up for the $39/month box and was very excited. My first box was the August box. I got it and was immediately underwhelmed. I felt like the items were disappointing, specifically the cards and the small creativity balm. Also, my pendulum arrived broken at the tip. I am deciding to continue the service for the November box to see if it improves, and maybe August was just not a great month for this service.

Verified Purchase

Try another box instead

Jul 07, 2019
Regina V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve been subscribing on and off for quite a while now. I used to really enjoy the quality of the products but it seems like it’s fallen off considerably. The box I received this month was missing two of the items mentioned on the card.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Jul 07, 2019

Hello Regina
Sorry to hear you were missing products in your box, we will go ahead and send you that right away. We’re sorry you were dissatisfied with your box. We try our hardest to send products that are worth the price and fit perfect with the theme. We’re happy to say that the Enlightened Box has a retail value of $52.50 this month. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and hope you are blown away by our next box! Thank you for your support!

2nd box

Sep 18, 2018
Melissa M.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I recently received my second box (August small one). Personally I didn't like it as much as the first one. The stones were ok, the essential oil solid perfume was ok, but the creativity activity cards were a miss in my opinion. Felt it really lowered the value of the box. Hopefully better this month (September)!

Verified Purchase

Good but to much for what I got.

May 01, 2017
Anna L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

So this comes out to be about 20 per month with shipping and I just expected more. It will be a one time and done deal. Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Nice

Apr 01, 2017
Christy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Nice but way to expensive for what was in the box. I love the idea and they did nothing wrong but the products could be bought for way less.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing

Oct 27, 2019
Joann K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was very underwhelmed. The items seemed like they came from a dollar store. The rocks were nice.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Oct 28, 2019

Hello Joann

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with your box, we specially made the pumpkin growing kit, and thought it would be perfect for the Fire Theme, and go well with Halloween right around the corner. It definitely wasn’t a dollar store item. We hope you can join us again and blow you away with one of our amazing boxes! Thank you so much for your support!

Oct 31, 2017
Tina K.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This was my first month it was ok but i will give it another month to see for sure

Verified Purchase

Apr 07, 2017
Jennywilliams
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

It was fun to try, reliving the childhood "grab bag," but I could have bought these particular crystals much more economically. My first box was evidently lost in the mail and the seller sent out a new one promptly when I messaged her about it. The presentation was very nice. I just expected a little more product.

Verified Purchase

Little Concerned

May 23, 2018
Anna G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year