Bringing crystals and tools of enlightenment right to your doorstep.

Plans as low as $13.33 / month

Awakening in a Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Thanks but no thanks

May 02, 2020
Jennifer C.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave this box 3 stars because the overall quality of the box (once it finally arrived) was good for the price. I would have stayed subscribed if it were not for the shipping issues. I did NOT give this box 5 stars, and I cancelled my subscription after one month because it was not shipped out when stated (there seems to be a pattern here). Given the Covid-19 situation, a delay would be understandable. BUT, I was told the box was shipped, via email by the seller, when in all actuality, it had not been - this created the lack of trust which lead me to cancel my subscription. In a day and age where we have electronics and ways of tracking things, please do not state something has been mailed when it actually hasn't. I had to contact both the seller and Cratejoy; my box finally arrived.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 02, 2020

Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you liked the contents of the box. We appreciate your feedback. Because of your review we will be changing the wording in our tracking emails. The email you are referring to is an automatic email that goes out when we print our shipping labels in preparation for fulfillment. Because my husband and I are filling boxes alone this month as stated in the email we sent to all of our subscribers, we wanted to be as prepared as possible and printed all of the labels early. Because of that, the tracking emails got sent out before we had started shipping our boxes. It does state in...

Not what I was expecting

May 01, 2020
Latonua B.
4 Reviews
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really thought this box was gonna have a lot of items in this box for the price that it is..I just got my april box today and when I open the box I was not pleased at all..you have more tore up paper in the box and less items very disappointed in this..I'm gonna give it one more month and if it is the same as the April box I will be canceling this box..😖

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 01, 2020

Hello LaTonua
Thank you for your review. Most of our budget goes into sourcing different crystal specimens, which leaves less of a budget for extra products. We always do guarantee the boxes retail value will be more than what you paid. We have an item that is going in the May Box that retails for $20, so we are sure you will love it. The Awakening Box is always 3 crystals and 2 Products. Since you used the 50% off coupon(which is a coupon we don’t have available often) your box was $7.00 before shipping. We unfortunately only had myself and my husband filling boxes this month due to Covid-19, which is why shipping took a little longer than normal. We use a lot of crinkles...

Value

May 04, 2020
Jessica A.
4 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was so excited to receive my tarot box, finally got it in and all I have is a deck, a pen, a sticker and a stone. Just thought it would have something more valuable than a $5 pen and a $1 sticker as helping my “spirituality”

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 05, 2020

Hey Jessica,
We’re so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your box. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We do guarantee the retail value of the box to be more than what you pay. The retail value of the box you received is $44. The stone you received is a Double Terminated Tibetan Quartz which retails for about $8 for the size you received. The sticker you are referring to is actually a Moon Child Woven Iron-On Patch which retails for $6, not $1. The pen is a wooden branch carved with the word CONNECT and holding earth energy and is supposed to be used as a grounding tool while writing rituals, Tarot journaling, writing in...

Awakening in a box

Apr 04, 2019
Michelle G.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

This was my first time ordering this box and u currently live in Canada so with the Usd to Cad conversion and the shipping I personally feel like more could be offered. This march box came with 2 small tumble stones, a spray and one small raw stone. Personally 24 usd is not worth it....the stones I got cost in stored tumbled only cost around 1-2 dollars and the spray I've seen similar at metaphysical shops offered for 4-6 dollars. You get exactly what you pay for as its 14 dollars for the box and 10 for shipping but nothing special that you can't just go out and get yourself at a local shop for the same price or less. Items are good quality but again not sure if its worth the 10 dollar shipping and USD to CAD conversion.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Apr 04, 2019

Hello Michelle,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to reach out with your concerns. It seems like your box was missing an item, as you didn’t mention it in your review. There should also have been a beautiful crystal keychain in your box. Please email us at awakeninginabox@gmail.com so that we can remedy the situation and get you that missing item. Below you’ll find a breakdown of retail prices of our items for the March Box. These prices are based on our local crystal shop and Etsy crystal shops online. While there is monetary value there more than what you paid, the value comes from having a box curated specifically around a theme that some would not know...

Awesome!!! But...

Aug 14, 2018
Shannon M.
15 Reviews
45 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Every freakin crystal box sends the same crystals, every freakin month!!!! Thank you, I’ve got PLENTY rose quartz, amethyst, pyrite, labradorite, jasper, onyx, clear quartz, citrine, selenite.... & I’m guessing just about ANYONE interested in crystals — collecting them & learning about them— is familiar with these & the other basic, boring, everyday, easily identified & found crystals & gems in this & every other crystal box out there. Seriously, I mean, that’s pretty obvious & logical, right???? I don’t want the stones & crystals I can buy at truck stops & tourist shops... intro me to something I didn’t discover by the age of 10!!!! ESPECIALLY in these more expensive, higher end boxes!!! I’d gladly take fewer obscure pieces over getting 10 rose quartz & amethysts EVERY MONTH!!! (This review is also posted for all those other boxes, too).

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Mar 21, 2019

Hi Shannon,
Thank you for your feedback! It looks like, from your previous review, that you were really enjoying your box so we’re a little surprised to be getting this review, although I do understand you wrote this same review on multiple crystal subscription boxes. Just for a little context here, our boxes are on the more inexpensive side so our budget is definitely in consideration when we purchase stones and crystals and sometimes hinders is from sending extremely rare and/or unknown stones. We do try our hardest to find more and more stones that are not readily available/super common to introduce our customers to. We have been in business almost 4 years now and have showcased so many different types of stones, only repeating...

It was okay

Jan 04, 2019
Rene D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I'm not thrilled or excited to get this box. I'll be looking into something else. The items were things that I really didn't have use for other than the crystals. I did get one cute necklace but I could have done without the other things and some of the larger crystals were not impressive.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing

Oct 27, 2019
Joann K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was very underwhelmed. The items seemed like they came from a dollar store. The rocks were nice.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Oct 28, 2019

Hello Joann

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with your box, we specially made the pumpkin growing kit, and thought it would be perfect for the Fire Theme, and go well with Halloween right around the corner. It definitely wasn’t a dollar store item. We hope you can join us again and blow you away with one of our amazing boxes! Thank you so much for your support!

Try another box instead

Jul 07, 2019
Regina V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve been subscribing on and off for quite a while now. I used to really enjoy the quality of the products but it seems like it’s fallen off considerably. The box I received this month was missing two of the items mentioned on the card.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Jul 07, 2019

Hello Regina
Sorry to hear you were missing products in your box, we will go ahead and send you that right away. We’re sorry you were dissatisfied with your box. We try our hardest to send products that are worth the price and fit perfect with the theme. We’re happy to say that the Enlightened Box has a retail value of $52.50 this month. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and hope you are blown away by our next box! Thank you for your support!

2nd box

Sep 18, 2018
Melissa M.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I recently received my second box (August small one). Personally I didn't like it as much as the first one. The stones were ok, the essential oil solid perfume was ok, but the creativity activity cards were a miss in my opinion. Felt it really lowered the value of the box. Hopefully better this month (September)!

Verified Purchase

Sort of Disappointing.

Sep 17, 2018
Tori C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I signed up for the $39/month box and was very excited. My first box was the August box. I got it and was immediately underwhelmed. I felt like the items were disappointing, specifically the cards and the small creativity balm. Also, my pendulum arrived broken at the tip. I am deciding to continue the service for the November box to see if it improves, and maybe August was just not a great month for this service.

Verified Purchase

Not bad

Sep 06, 2018
Shannon M.
6 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall

I liked this box but not totally sold on if it is worth keeping. Going to try one more month I just feel the value was not quite there, but it was a nice box. The creative activity came with only seven cards which left me feeling a little bothered considering this is a month to month subscription. The quality I felt could of been better. Like I said am giving it another shot maybe just not my month.

Verified Purchase

Apr 07, 2017
Jennywilliams
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

It was fun to try, reliving the childhood "grab bag," but I could have bought these particular crystals much more economically. My first box was evidently lost in the mail and the seller sent out a new one promptly when I messaged her about it. The presentation was very nice. I just expected a little more product.

Verified Purchase

Not all that I expected

Mar 23, 2018
Jordan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

For the price range, I decided I'd be far more content browsing Etsy and rock shops for the exact pieces I want. I thought this would be a fun way to expand an early collection, and discover new ones, but when I priced everything, the value of the box just didn't seem worth it. I understand shipping cost, but I was just expecting the stones to have more diversity. Instead they were just three tumbled stones, worth no more than $1 -$2 a piece. The bracelet was fine to admire for a minute, but I wont wear it. Some broken thing spilled onto my floor, I'm not sure what it was. All in all, I'll take my $14 and hunt down the ones I want.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...Mar 23, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We will definitely use it to better our future boxes. I just wanted to clarify a few things. There should have been two tumbled stones and one pyrite cube. Pyrite grows naturally in cubes so those are raw stones and since they were left in their raw cube state they’re worth more. The sizes we sent out are worth $2.5-$5+. We’re sorry you won’t wear the bracelet, that’s kind of a downfall of getting a box in the mail that has surprise items. A lot of people will love their jewelry and include it in their crystal collection as a wearable crystal, and some won’t. As for the broken item, I can only assume that would be the lip balm?...

Not what I was expecting.

May 01, 2018
Amanda B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

So to start I was pretty excited about starting my new monthly subscription box. My previous place quit doing them. I watched multiple unboxings and first I noticed I didn't get the regular box that I have seen in the past. I understand things change. So not a big deal at all. I loved everything that came in the enlightenment box.... Except my candles were melted and the candle holder itself was bent. I loved the art on the curators note. Loved the smell of the meditation mist I got. The bag was a really nice addition. Overall pretty satisfied will continue my subscription. Just hope that a few things change.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 02, 2018

Hello Amanda!
Thank you for your review. We're so sorry to hear about your candles, we're gonna go ahead and send a replacement to you. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We're happy to hear you love your box and we're excited to show you what we have in store for the future. Thank you again for your review
Namaste.

Little Concerned

May 23, 2018
Anna G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Haven't gotten my first box yet but already concerned by this email: "PLEASE NOTE: USPS may not scan your package for tracking when it ships. Your tracking may not update until it arrives in your destination city."

I order a LOT of packages and have NEVER once experienced USPS not scanning packages. Never.

I'm waiting to get my first box to update this review and decide if I'll renew or not. But this feels a bit shady already to me... If the boxes can't be sent out when they said, then I'm certain most people would appreciate honesty over preemptively assigning blame to USPS.

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 23, 2018

Hello Anna!
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to the size of the shipments we send, USPS does not scan every package when they go out. We have asked Cratejoy to create a scan page, like most other companies have, that will print a barcode for the USPS to scan that encompasses all of our barcodes and when it gets scanned all of the packages get scanned as received all at once. We have contacted USPS and Cratejoy about this problem in the past and they have told us there is nothing we can do about it. This is why we put that message in our email. We absolutely send all of our packages out on time every month between the 20th and 25th....

Oct 31, 2017
Tina K.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This was my first month it was ok but i will give it another month to see for sure

Verified Purchase

Dissatisfied (edit)

May 21, 2018
Heidi B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Again I was underwhelmed but the day after I posted my review and stated my missing item didn't arrive it came. I'm still hoping for something like the pagan parcel stateside but at least this is affordable enough to try it's just not a fit for me.

Verified Purchase

Gross

Apr 30, 2018
Freedom E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I tried to email but cratejoy won’t send it.... I found 2 hairs in the body butter as soon as I opened it and it looks like it’s been used previously. I have pics if you want to see it. That’s pretty gross to find that and if it’s pet hair I’m allergic to both dogs and cats so I can’t even use it in case it is pet hair. Quite unhappy :(

Please email me about this!!!!

Warmfeather at me dot com

Verified Purchase
Awakening in a Box said...May 01, 2018

Thanks for your review. We are so sorry this happened. We’ll get in contact with the company that sold us the body butter and send over a refund for your purchase for the inconvenience. We would never intentionally send anything that had been used. We’ve emailed you directly as well to follow up. We hope you loved everything else in the box. Namasté.

1st box

Jan 26, 2018
Amanda M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

i did a ton of browsing and reading on others who have received this box and i finally decided to actually purchase the enlightened box. this month (january) was representing the throat chakra, which i thought was pretty awesome. for the price i paid, i don't think it's worth it.. i guess this month, to me, didn't feel like it was worth the $47. i got 5 different crystals that.. i could have gotten for less than $10 & all were small in size.. 2 of them i didn't have, but i had the others. doesn't hurt to add to what i already have though.. then i received a chakra pillow which is full of spearmint, lavender, and flax.. herbs i could have bought for under $10, a pack of 10 incense sticks.. i buy in bulk (100 sticks) for $5-7 dollars.. then a cup full of 'things to write about' ... then a throat chakra spray (which was probably the best item in the package) and then a small to medium sized multi-color tote. i paid almost $50 for this? i legit thought i got the normal awakening box, but nope, it was the expensive enlightened box. i'll give it another go for february, but it isn't lookin' too good. :(

Verified Purchase

May 11, 2018
Jennifer K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Awaking in a box was nice. My rough stone was crumbling, so that was disappointing though.

Verified Purchase

Nice

Apr 01, 2017