Backpacker One Book

Backpacker One Book

by The Wordy Traveler
The Word Traveler Book Club Backpacker Subscription - One Book Per Quarter

Plans as low as

$51.25/ quarter

Buying Options

Reviews (38)

Wonderful boxes-books and gifts

Sep 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angel S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

I have got 2 boxes and loved them both. Books were great as were the gifts. I got the full suitcase. Loved the most recent with the hat

Verified Purchase

Just do it!

May 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laurie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I had been thinking about signing up for a bit and finally decided, why not, just give it a try. Egypt has always been an intriguing place so I just couldn't resist. I also challenged myself by signing up for the nonfiction full suitcase to expand my horizons. I have always been an avid fiction reader but never nonfiction. I was so excited to get my first box and was not disappointed. I am delighted to let the journey continue and look forward to "going" places in the future with the wordy traveler community.
Laurie

Verified Purchase

Great gift

Mar 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenda S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

This is a gift I got for my daughter and she has loved both boxes she has received. They really are filled with cool stuff.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful

Mar 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Diane G.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

My first box and I am thoroughly pleased with it. The books were excellent, they allowed me to select two fiction and one nonfiction by simply notifying them by email. All the extra little items are just perfect I am so pleased with his box.

Verified Purchase

Not recommended

May 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Holly J.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

This was an extremely disappointing box. It had a mediocre book in it, that wasn't even historically accurate, and a bunch of little tchotchkes to just collect dust. Part of what the subscriber received in the box was a donation made to an organization. No problems with donating to charity, but not as part of the subscription box. This was supposed to be a Mother's Day gift, but overall was just an embarrassment. She has one more coming, since we did a six month subscription, but I'll be doing something else for her this week instead.

Verified Purchase
The Wordy Traveler said...May 11, 2021

Holly,
Thank you for your review and your thoughts. We appreciate that you gifted the Backpacker Fiction selection. We apologize you thought the book was not historically accurate. In our experience fiction books even historical fictions books are not 100% historically accurate. If you prefer to switch your second shipment to the non-fiction selection please contact us and we will be happy to do so. We do try to fully describe what is included in our box and why each item is chosen to help people understand what they are receiving. We also try to make clear that donating to charity and sourcing items from businesses that donate to charity is the foundation of our company. We are thankful that the box you chose to gift...

Fantastic!

Feb 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patricia R.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

This is my favorite book box yet! Great assortment of items, great quality. I really enjoyed getting a feel for a country through the items, and the movie suggestions made it even better.

Verified Purchase

Wordy Traveler

Mar 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terry B.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

My wife loved her present from cratejoy.

Verified Purchase

Best Ever Travel/Book Box!!!

Feb 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

The Wordy Traveler combines travel and books in a delightful and wonderful way! The box came beautifully wrapped with books, tea, and fun country-related items. I brewed some of the delicious tea and sat down with a book and truly felt like I was being transported to another land! I even purchased a limited edition box - to quench my craving for more Wordy Traveler between subscriptions! This box is a must-have and you won't be disappointed. What are you waiting for - subscribe today!!! :-)
Thank you Wordy Traveler for a super awesome subscription box!

Verified Purchase

The Wordy Traveler

Jan 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary H.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

Let’s start by saying I got the deluxe filled box. It did not disappoint other than I expected a suitcase, really! Everything is beautiful! Tea for two with cups! Three lovely books and many other niceties!
🌟📚🏮

Verified Purchase

Staycation to Japan

Jan 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shauna S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This is my first box and I just received it last night, so I haven’t had a chance to read any of the book yet. I really enjoyed looking through all of the different things included in my box, the cherry blossom charm was super cute, small art print, fan, and bookmark are very vibrant, andI love the tea cup! The list of things to help you discover more of Japan is a really cool touch also. I look forward to reading the book and enjoying a little “staycation” to Japan!

Verified Purchase

Excellent box!

Jun 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Danielle I.
11 Reviews
9 Pictures
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Just received my The Wordy Traveler box and couldn’t be more happy! I received three non-fiction books themed around the U.S. National parks, a wild mountain berry tea blend I cannot wait to try, and various other useful items for the outdoors such as a compass! I can tell a lot of thought was put into the curation of this box and am pleased with the customer service. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Traveler’s Dream Box

Jul 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison B.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

This is our first box from the Wordy Traveler. We are avid travelers and since we cannot travel now decided to make this our date night treat! We are avid hikers and outdoorsy kind of people, right down to the tea loved every item!!!! Thank you! Oh and btw, the next day after ordering a box was shipped. Three days after ordering we had a box filled with goodies!!! Now I call that stellar customer service!!!

Verified Purchase

Great Box!

May 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Charles C.
6 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I love this box. I wanted to expand my non-fiction reading (I mostly read fiction), and thought this box would fit the bill—I was right. Great books (that I would never have picked out on my own) and great extras (including the teas). The photos and artwork included are top notch. I wish the boxes came out more frequently, but I can get my fix in the between months with the limited issues available on the Wordy Traveler website.

Verified Purchase

For the world or armchair traveler!

May 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jenny T.
1 Review

From the moment that I first saw this box, I knew that my brother needed it! I told him to expect a package and when it arrived, he responded "My present was full of presents!" He also had already started brewing the tea and have put the art in a place of honor before we even talked. It was even more of a hit that I had hoped.
Cindy personally curated the box with various extra pieces and she is very responsive to emails.
- Jenny

Expensive

Apr 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Meredith D.
12 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I am rewriting this review and adding two stars because after my initially review the company provided me with a refund. They got back to me quickly. This was appreciated. I hope in the future they can make this more cost effective.

Verified Purchase
The Wordy Traveler said...Apr 18, 2020

Thank you for giving your honest opinion. We are sorry you were disappointed with your subscription. Our customers’ satisfaction is our top priority and we appreciate all thoughts good or bad so we can create a better experience.
We understand that not every bookclub is a right fit for every reader. With that in mind, we endeavor to be as transparent as possible by describing in detail what each box includes through detailed descriptions and imagery.
We are first and foremost a bookclub community that gives back to others. A Wordy Traveler subscription is primarily centered around the books, tea, art print and especially funding charitable endeavors. The other goodies are just for fun. What makes The Wordy Traveler unique is that we are founded in...

Great books in one box!!!

Jan 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jana C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months

Great box — I love non-fiction travel books and finding really good ones all in one box is great! Plus the extras for a fun box!

Verified Purchase

Getaway from the mind

Sep 17, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexis W.
1 Review

This box is like a little getaway for the mind. I absolutely loved the handcrafted items from places I may never get to see. The customer service is also top notch. I will be looking forward to my monthly boxes. I highly recommend you subscribe ; because the powerful tea and crafty gifts will sweep you away to a world you can't imagine.

Amazing!

Aug 18, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shauna B.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I loved this box! I treated myself to a subscription for a few months as I love travelling and learning about new places, so I thought this would be a great idea for when I'm at home. The books were always really interesting and the little gifts you got along with them were brilliant and linked in so well with that month's theme.

Verified Purchase

Love these boxes!

Jul 16, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Kerry W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

The Wordy Traveler box is a great idea for people who love tea and travel. The tea is delicious. The books are interesting. The other goodies included are always varied yet useful and fun. The postcard explaining the ideas that brought the box contents together shows that a lot of thought is put into the curation of the boxes. I love it!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Jun 14, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Just received my first box and I love it! I can’t wait to start reading all about the walking in Paris! My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a trip to Paris and traveled all over Italy, I wish I would have had this book before then.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful Worldy Box!!

May 15, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Monika W.
15 Reviews
4 Pictures
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I absolutely love the suitcase box:)
The books are fantastic as are the items included in the box.
This is a must box for all book lovers!!
I am always looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

Jun 01, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Linda A.
1 Review

What a fun box! I can’t wait to see what’s in the next one.

The perfect gift for book lovers

Mar 17, 2019
Overall
Sheree C.
1 Review

I loved receiving this package. The thought put into coordinating the book and other items is a brilliant idea!

More please!

Oct 10, 2018
Overall
Destrey R.
2 Reviews
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

I got my first box and I'm definitely not disappointed. Great value, and good reads!!! Can't wait for my next one!!!!

Verified Purchase

Jun 22, 2018
Overall
Meaghan P.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

I love this box. I'm currently subscribed to the Full Suitcase. I don't read non-fiction very often, so this box helps me break out of my comfort zone a bit. So far every book I've read has been interesting and informative, and has definitely made me want to travel and learn more about the regions they're set in. I do wish that more of the books were written by the people of that region as opposed to outsiders. I really enjoy the art prints and the teas, and the miscellaneous gifts are cute and useful. The price is a little high, but a lot of the cost is going toward helping those in need, which in my mind is definitely worth the price

Verified Purchase