Amazing, engaging monthly subscription box for the adventurous reader.

Plans as low as $27.08 / month

Bibliophilic Excursions reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Love it!

Apr 27, 2020
Megan L.
5 Reviews
4 Pictures
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first box of the Fiction Journey, and I love it. The theme is Australia, and all of the items are really cool. I especially like the boomerang! The book looks interesting, and I'm looking forward to reading it.

Verified Purchase

A literal treasure chest

Jan 06, 2021
Jen S.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My mothers' two favorite hobbies are traveling and reading a book. Since her Parkinson's diagnosis she can't do much of the former. I bought this for her for Christmas and she was head over heels in love. The theme was Peru. She adored the knick knacks that came with it. I doubt she will eat the bag of quinoa but she turned right around, warmed the Peruvian hot chocolate and shared it with her grandkids. She loved that the books were individually wrapped and dove right into Turn Right at Machu Picchu. This is such a well thought out and cultivated box. I know it seems a bit expensive but it was worth every penny, especially for someone like my mom who misses her traveling days. She liked the box so much I offered her a subscription.

Verified Purchase
Bibliophilic Excursions said...Jan 14, 2021

Hi There! This is so heartwarming for us to hear! We started this business as much more of a passion project. We wanted to connect great people with great books by bringing back the magic and ambiance of reading a physical book over the impersonal experience e-readers can sometimes create. We're so happy to hear that your mom enjoyed the box and shared it with the whole family! How amazingly lovely! Thank you for sharing!

Wonderful box

Sep 20, 2018
Kathy C.
5 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just received my first box and absolutely love it. I've received other subscription boxes and usually like some of the items, but with Bibliophilic Excursions, I loved everything. Customer service is also great, I asked a lot of questions before ordering and was answered quickly .Thank you!!
I recently renewed my subscription and still absolutely love it! Yes, shipping prices are high but it's worth it. Everything is beautiful and a lot of thought goes into the items chosen. I subscribed to the quarterly option but may have to change to the monthly.

Verified Purchase

You will not get your shipments!

May 10, 2019
Melissa A.
1 Review
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I did receive my first box and it was super cool! I had a question about it so I message the seller and did receive a reply. I followed up with another question to which I received no response. I let that go and waited for my second shipment. It never came. I messaged the seller 3 times about my missing shipment and got absolutely no reply. Currently I am working with cratejoy to get a refund. In the meantime, I definitely got charged $136 for three shipments and only received one of them. Fortunately I listened to the advice of another reviewer who also had a bad experience and I put it on my credit card. So if cratejoy doesn't fix the issue next week, I will be getting a refund from my credit card. So while the Box itself was really cool, I strongly encourage everyone to find a different box shipment. Since this seller cannot be bothered to actually ship the boxes after you pay for them. Which kind of makes me question the quality of what was actually in my box. It looked cool, but can you trust it when the seller is obviously deceitful? Which is what I would call taking money for three months of shipments and then refusing to send anything past the first month. Fortunately, my credit card has great customer service.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful Adventure in a Box!!

Feb 15, 2021
Laura M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered the BE Non-Fiction Journey and just received my first box - a trip to Peru!! I could not be more happy with it! It was filled with thoughtfully curated, quality items and I cannot wait to dive into the non-fiction book pick, Turn Right at Machu Picchu, by Mark Adams.
As for customer service, Erika from BE was quick to respond to my inquiries and the box was received in a timely manner, especially considering the strain the pandemic has placed on the mail system.
Thanks so much to the team at BE - I already am looking forward to my next box!!

Verified Purchase
Bibliophilic Excursions said...7 days ago

Hi There! Thank you for the review! As a small company, we sincerely appreciate each customer who takes the time to post their comments.
Turn Right at Machu Picchu is one of our more special inclusions. We really hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Mini Vacation in a Box

Nov 14, 2020
Katrina S.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Wow! This box is like an awesome mini vacation! I can't wait to read the books!
Update: I liked both of the books. I wanted to be surprised by something different than what I would normally choose, and it was great to expand my reading comfort zone. I also learned a lot about a country that I really knew nothing about!
Update: I loved the first box but never got my next box and was never contacted by the seller. I reached out multiple times. Guess I got ripped off.

Verified Purchase
Bibliophilic Excursions said...Nov 16, 2020

Hello! Thank you for your order and for reviewing us! Please do let us know how you like the books.

Thrilled with the content and quality

Feb 06, 2021
Barbara P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son's gift just arrived - circled by two of his children he opened the box and it truly is a gift that keeps on giving. It was just right for a person who loves to travel, read and try new things. The choice in books far exceeded my expectations and apparently his as he retreated with one of them to read it.
I absolutely want to continue with this subscription - each month we have something really exciting coming "full of surprises", how sweet is that?

Verified Purchase

It was a hit as a gift!

Feb 03, 2021
Rebecca K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gifted this to my mother for her birthday, and she loved the gift. So much so that she took a picture of it and sent it to me, along with a nice message about it. I think anyone who likes to read, and travel, would really enjoy it.

Verified Purchase

So worth it!!

Dec 17, 2020
Ashley C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So fantastic! I found this subscription probably 2 years ago and I've been waiting until I could fit this into my budget. You can imagine how I excited I was to finally order this and it was totally worth the wait! The items are high-end, really well thought out, and not just little trinkets that you'll have no use for. The books are great too- they're highly rated, not just random titles, nor from unknown authors. I can't wait to read them, and I may just become hooked on a whole new genre :D I signed up for the quarterly subscription but wish I had done monthly because I don't want to wait that long now. if you need a mental trip and some culture, you need this box!

Verified Purchase
Bibliophilic Excursions said...Jan 14, 2021

Hello! Thanks for stopping by to review our box! We're so happy to hear that it was worth the wait. If you haven't already, please feel free to email us directly about changing up your subscription if you're interested. We try to be as flexible as possible in such circumstances.

Love it!!

Jan 22, 2021
Teri D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first box today (Peru) and it was definitely worth the cost. Most items were handcrafted and well made. Everything in the box added to the cultural experience including the awesome packaging for the quinoa. I'm certain I will enjoy both books also. I signed up for the quarterly subscription because I already have a large to-read list but am very tempted to change it to monthly.

Verified Purchase

Just delightful

Jan 21, 2021
Christine M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just received my first box, and I cannot overstate how much I'm enjoying the entire experience! My first country was Peru, and I'm already loving the nonfiction book (Turn Right at Machu Picchu). The accompanying gifts are thoughtful, well-made, and generous--I couldn't believe how much there was in the box! I'm learning things and satisfying my travel bug (a little) at the same time, and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Happy Adventures!

Dec 31, 2020
Lori A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

2020 was supposed to be a fabulous year for travel: a family cruise to the Caribbean, a trip to Ireland to celebrate my son’s graduation, a road trip to Glacier Park and Yellowstone, and Thanksgiving in Hawaii. Tragically, Covid happened and everything was put on hold. My yearning for travel and my love of reading led me to Bibliophilic Excursions. I joined the Signature Journey and have so far received five terrific boxes. Every time I open the box and unwrap the carefully packaged items, I am transported to another country. I receive one non-fiction and one fiction book set in the destination country of the month. Every book is a literary treasure which satisfies my hunger for words. The gifts that come in every book box are numerous and awesome and completely themed for each specific country. I have a hand-woven trivet from Guatemala that scents my kitchen with the lovely aroma of cinnamon, vibrantly-colored straw baskets and ornaments from Ghana, a delicate glass Egyptian perfume bottle and a hand-painted papyrus scroll, shortbread and tea, a 100% woolen scarf and warm snuggle socks from Ireland, Alpaca gloves, melting chocolate for cocoa, and a pan pipe from Peru...all of these items made in their respective countries and all of the high quality that you see in the market place. The colors, the textures, and the aromas that these items carry, all serve to make your journey complete. At a time when travel is no longer safe, the...

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Dec 29, 2020
Linzie K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 days
Overall