The BlackLIT Box

The BlackLIT Box

by BLACKLIT
USING THE POWER OF LITERACY TO EMPOWER OUR COMMUNITY, ONE BLACKLIT BOX AT A TIME.πŸ–€

Plans as low as

$32.50/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (31)

Always look forward to this!

Jul 13, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Kelsea J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months

I love whenever I get my BlackLit box! I do fiction option and so far, they’re books that weren’t on my radar. The other items are also great and I love discovering new Black-owned businesses. Highly recommend getting this box.

Verified Purchase

Not a happy… payment made no delivery!

Jun 28, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
Skye G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

This is the second month I have been charged and no box shipped to me!!! I am super disappointed with this company now. The idea was fantastic and the whole reason I signed up, but 2 months now being charged, no product and no answers to emails, not impressed!! I can’t even sign into their site anymore!!

Verified Purchase

Black Lit box review

Jun 05, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Beverly C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

I would like newer books by black authors for this year in the box. There are some great for out there for 2022. Color purple is a good book but I already have it and have for years.

Verified Purchase

Terrible Customer Service and Shipping

Mar 09, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Brenna R.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

If you can actually get the boxes, the products are cool. However, I don’t know if I ever would have received any of them had I not contacted the seller MULTIPLE times asking for updates. It took two weeks for the first box to go out, the second box took a month and half, and I still haven’t had any updates about the third box, which should have gone out three weeks ago. The seller does not respond to emails, Cratejoy inquiries, or Instagram posts, which I resorted to when I couldn’t get any other answers. I’m all about supporting small businesses, but this one has terrible customer service.

Verified Purchase

Good box but….

Mar 07, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Latricia J.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Good box, but too many issues with shipping. It became frustrating and the seller does not respond.

Verified Purchase

Either lack of communication or I’m lost

Nov 30, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Victoria B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

The concept is AMAZING! I’m an off and on avid reader and I’m always looking for ways to change up routine. This company advocates for literacy and most importantly it promotes black authors. It’s extremely critical to show the younger generation the importance in reading and supporting our own, hence why I subscribed. Either I’m missing the emails or the concept of this particular subscription. I assumed if I renewed towards the beginning of the month by mid to late in that same month I would receive my box. In August, after a few emails the owner advised there wasn’t a box for that month, yet my account was charged and apparently that was for the September’s box. Evidently I was supposed to be notified via email and I never was. This made me skip October all together (which I regret because a crew sweatshirt was in that box πŸ˜‘). Here we are in November, my subscription renewed on the 11th and today is the 30th. I guess I’m confused on how this really works. I’m use to paying for a subscription and receiving the item the same month. I can’t afford to pay in advance for items I may or may not get depending on the month. Great box, great concept but the consistency is lacking. However the skip option is easily available so I’ll stick with it.

Verified Purchase

Our favorite subscription box!

Oct 12, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Nicole H.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Not only do you get a great book but you get a box full of amazing products from Black-owned businesses. My daughter and I both get this box, one of us fiction and the other non-fiction. Love it!

Verified Purchase

Love the book but delivery...not so much

Oct 10, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Deborah C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I understand with covid and postal issues, shipping has been and will continue to be an issue, however waiting to receive subscription boxes until almost time for next month’s billing is making me want to cancel my subscription. I’m also thinking with covid box items are starting to repeat. I have only been a subscriber for less than a year and already have received repeated items.

Verified Purchase

Great box

Apr 29, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Betina T.
5 Reviews
10 Pictures
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I just got my first box and I love everything in it! I thought the food items were an unusual but nice touch. I love the shirt <3! I can't wait to read this new book.

Verified Purchase

I Love it

Mar 10, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Carol F.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 11 months

This is my first box with Black Lit and I’m totally pleased so much so that I shared my newfound love with my friends.

Verified Purchase

Do It!!!!

May 20, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Timothy J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

We were so happy to get our package. It was filled with beautiful, life enriching surprises. I honestly cannot say enough about how grateful we are to have this. We went with a one time delivery but will be signing up for more. If you are considering this, go for it.

Verified Purchase

Best kept secret

Mar 12, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Curation
Kristen N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I absolutely love this box! I am pleasantly surprised each month with the curation of items and new companies I can spend with that look like me and have my interest. I wish there was a mom/son box. Budgeting now to get the fiction and kids book!

Verified Purchase

Support black owned Businesses!!!

Mar 07, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Terria D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The presentation of this box is nice and the items included are useful and the items are from black owned businesses which is grade A!

Verified Purchase

Everything Black and Bookish

Mar 24, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Kristen H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I received my first box from Black Lit. I was just super excited to receive a book I’ve been wanting. However I got the book and soo much more. A great T-shirt supporting Black excellence, a face masks that reads β€œread books by Black Women”, stickers, a coffee mug with prominent Black Females (this was special for March Women’s Month), a cool laminated bookmark that features Solange, So freakin CUTE! And a few wellness products (body wipes, lavender wipes and this cool tea bag bath salts). If you’re a bookworm and looking for a fun subscription box that highlights Black authors, Black excellence with fun tees and other cute items that you will definitely use in your everyday life. Get Black Lit, you won’t be disappointed! Also follow them on social media sometimes they give sneak peeks of the monthly Tshirt or book you will receive.

Verified Purchase

Love It! Well Done

Mar 03, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Corey A.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 10 months

The products were high quality, the two books were thematically connected but very different and I appreciated having options, and it was all packaged carefully and beautifully. I also found the discussion questions thought provoking and was grateful for the additional information about the products.

Verified Purchase

Love this box and subscription service

Mar 23, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Kamaria L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This box is just awesome. It features good quality, amazing books by incredibly intelligent and talented black authors. It highlights black talent and black authors and helps them to get more recognition, more readers, more attention, more appreciation, and more praise. I absolutely love what this subscription service stands for--literature, learning, and representation. I love seeing a black owned business that is so wonderful. I really admire its creator for what she's done. It is so well done in every area from the products included, like the shirts, to the books to the prompt and quick shipping and customer service, I genuinely believe that it adds something to and enriches people's lives. It's something that helps make us better and the world a better place. They just include so much stuff to enjoy. So fun. High quality, and would recommend.

Verified Purchase

Lit for real

Feb 06, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Kandace W.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

I love my box and I’ve told all my friends! It’s such a treat and above expectations. This is one of those subscriptions that feels like Christmas ever time it comes. I absolutely love the variety of items and shipping was quick. I look forward to seeing what’s next.

Verified Purchase

Plain and simple

Feb 02, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Coleen R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

I love this box! Plain and simple...it made me smile, feel proud, and get reading again. Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

First Box.

Mar 27, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
Tracy S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I enjoyed my first bix. Looking forward to my next one.

Verified Purchase

Best gift!

Jan 25, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Jodie D.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

Purchased the Blacklit - men box for my partner and he loved it!! 😊 great selection of products and great book pick! Thank you

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Dec 30, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Beka M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

This is a great box with an eclectic mix of products to go with quality literature.

Verified Purchase

Blacklit January

Feb 02, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Cheryll S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Will give more time. The best product was the full size soap but not equal to the price of subscription. The pancake mix was not full size. I liked the t-shirt. I was disappointed in the paperback book choice which was a classic If Beale Street Could Talk which I already read. I was expecting new literature or something less well known.

Verified Purchase

This Box was Everything!!!!

May 23, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Paris B.
1 Review
2 Pictures
2 Helpful

Someone gifted me a Black Lit box and I LOVED it! It was well packaged and everything included was great quality. I’m so looking forward to using everything in my box! Also, the box was identity affirming, and served as a gentle reminder to celebrate myself and other women of color in my village. I would highly recommend this box as a gift to yourself or a special person in your life!

First Box

Nov 05, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Dana B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I just received my first BlackLit box and I love it. It came one day before it was supposed to. I can definitely use all the additional items that came with it as well. I will continue to order monthly.

Verified Purchase

Winderful

Sep 30, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Chandra S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

My mom lives this so much! Each week she is so excited to show me what was in her box. Could not be happier with this purchase for her!

Verified Purchase