Ⓥ🌱Vegan & Cruelty-Free Lifestyle, Beauty, Aromatherapy & Wellness Delivered Monthly.

Plans as low as $28.45 / month

Bombay & Cedar reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Bad Experience. Would Not Recommend.

Dec 02, 2019
Rachel M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This has been the worst subscription box experience I have ever had. I literally had to email Bombay & Cedar customer service people EVERY SINGLE MONTH to follow-up on my box because shipping information, nor the box was ever delivered on time. I would even wait until the last possible day of the month to see if the box shipped or was received, but nothing. I have emailed the customer service people twice now for my November 2019 box and it is now December 2019. I am thankful that I only paid for a 3 month subscription because it is seriously a waste of money to pay for a box that you are never certain will be delivered. I think that they need to re-think the way that they process orders and get boxes out to people. Have a system and stick to it like Ipsy or Boxy Charm. Don't set up deadlines for boxes to be shipped, etc. if you are unable to meet them.

Verified Purchase
Bombay & Cedar said...Dec 02, 2019

Thank you for your feedback and please note, we are working on the delays. Our boxes shipping late is not up to B&C standards. We have finally found a new company to ship our boxes and we're confident they will ship on time starting in December. In the interest of transparency, our current center has continuously let us down and we are no longer willing to give them our business. Fingers crossed our new center is aligned with our standards. Thank you sooooo much to those who have been so kind and understanding during these delays. You have NO idea how much that means to us!

Seller

Box returned to shipper. Twice.

Apr 30, 2019
Savannah P.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My last review mentioned how unwilling they are to work with me, and their response proves it. They actually went into the back end and updated my box to premium for me and this is when my address was changed. No matter who’s fault it is, i have sent screenshots of the fedex shipping showing first that it was on the way back and then that it was delivered to them last Tuesday. Both facts they could have checked on their own and did not need me to show them. They should have sent another box as soon as the old one was on it’s way back to them, but as Dee stated in her response, for some unknown reason their staff has not processed the return or sent me a new box. Still. And they want to defend themselves instead of making it right by sending a box that I paid for.

Also, they never “confirmed with me.” I have been asking for weeks for them to send a new box and Dee has been putting it off the whole time. Confirmed with me would be more like a joint effort of both of us coming together to work something out. I am leaving this review out of absolute frustration hoping this will help keep them responsible for the customer service they are providing but also really hoping they actually ship the box. I will update this review with the date it is finally shipped.

Update: they sent the...

Verified Purchase
Bombay & Cedar said...Apr 08, 2019

Savannah, we are sorry that you are not happy with the way we process returns. As we discussed last week, because you entered your address incorrectly, your March box was in the process of being returned by the carrier. We told you that it would be reshipped once the return was processed. We confirmed with you just this past Friday that the box had been returned and a new box would be shipped. We also covered the additional shipping fees for you even though the incorrect address that was entered was not our error. We will follow up you via email. Thank you.

Dee Broughton

Seller

Damaged 1st box... dissatisfied/Cancelle

Jun 10, 2019
Rashonda D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Unfortunately, this box is very disappointing.... my first box didn't even ship until after I was charged for my 2nd box. Then when I recieved it, one of the essential oils had leaked all over the box (not sure if it was because of improper handling or a faulty oil) and a few of the other products were damaged from the oil. I contacted Bombay & Cedar the day I received the box (May 23rd) via email and they said the would replace the damaged items. I have yet to receive a tracking email for my replacements or the replacements themselves. So basically 5 out of the 8 products I received are not usable and I am no longer in contact with them. My subscription is cancelled. I do not recommend this box.

Verified Purchase
Bombay & Cedar said...Jun 10, 2019

Rahsonda, our apologies for the leaked oil that caused damage to your sun hat visor, flat iron pouch and exfoliating bath pouch package. Please see our message sent on May 28th about the next steps. We require photos of the damaged items before we can resend them but we have not yet heard back from you. Please check your spam in case the message ended up there and we'll also send another separate email. And thanks so much for your feedback.

Seller

underwhelming experience and box

Dec 03, 2018
Erica E.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

I like the idea of these subscription services, and this is the first time I tried one. I ordered a one time gift for a friend. The box claims to ship on the 17th, and I received notice that it had. Then it just sort of hung in a post office in Atlanta for ten days. I finally contacted the company about it not moving. They got back to me right away and were friendly (apparently a few other people complained their boxes were just hanging as well). The box just arrived at my friend's home today. Ships November 17th and arrives December 3rd is just too long. I guess Amazon Prime and Target's 2-day shipping have me spoiled. Also, I didn't feel that the items my friend received in the mini-box were worth what I paid. Others might have a better experience with these mystery boxes. Guess they're just not for me.

Verified Purchase

No shipping confirmation

Dec 20, 2018
Tyen H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall

I placed an order dec 13th which the cratejoy website showed it would arrive by Christmas. My card was quickly billed, and now it is dec 20 and I still have not heard a word from them or received shipping confirmation.

Verified Purchase
Bombay & Cedar said...Dec 21, 2018

Tyen,

There have been three messages sent to you since you placed your order. I'm listing detailed information here because it seems you are not getting our emails.

Thu, Dec 13, 4:03 PM - Our deadline for delivery by Christams was 12/12. As a courtesy we asked if you wanted to start with our December box instead of January. We received no response.

Wed, Dec 19, 8:53 PM - We responded to your inquiry that was sent Wed, Dec 19, 12:51 AM. We received no response.

Today 2:57 PM - We responded to your inquiry that was sent Today at 2:52 PM. A few minutes later we received notification of this 1 star review.

Please also check your spam folder for our responses.

Seller

I want to be able to give a good rating

Jan 16, 2019
Lauren C.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Overall

I purchased a 3 month subscription to this box as a christmas gift for someone. They never received the first or second box. I have contacted outside of this review twice to cancel the subscription and have not heard back, nor have I received any e-mails within my junk inbox.

Bombay & Cedar said...Jan 20, 2019

Laura We've sent you an email asking when and where you sent your previous correspondence. Our apologies, but we do not have any messages from you. Your first box will be shipped between January 15th and 20th per our normal monthly schedule. Please email hello@bombayandcedar.com if you have further questions.

Seller

No response.

Dec 08, 2018
Lea D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

Bought 3 month subscription and was emailed bogus link to a website that wasnt set up. No response. Lots of emails. Reached out thru social media. Number listed is 123.456.7890

Verified Purchase
Bombay & Cedar said...Jan 20, 2019

Lea, We're sorry you're having trouble accessing the correct links to our website. We're not sure what link you were emailed from the Cratejoy Marketplace but our site is fully live and has been so since July of 2017 at www.bombayandcedar.com. We also do not offer phone support at this time but we are available via email at hello@bombayandcedar.com.

Seller

Terrible, overpriced, sketchy

Jun 15, 2018
Heather D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I was really disappointed in my box. A gag gift and some crappy vegan stuff. And then I went to the website and noticed that none of the social media links work and the phone number is 12-456-7890. No way to contact on site. Something is definitely wrong here. I got ripped off---buyer beware.

Verified Purchase
Bombay & Cedar said...Dec 08, 2017

We apologize that you are not happy with our box. You received the November box which had a retail value of over $175 so curation and value are very important to us. We're not sure what links you were given by the Cratejoy Marketplace but our website address is www.bombayandcedar.com. You will find our social media links as well as contact info. Thanks for your feedback as this helps us to curate better boxes in the future.

Seller
Buying Options