Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!
123 reviews

Plans as low as

$32.50/ month

Buying Options

Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition) reviewsReviews

Write a Review
123

Extremely disappointed

Jan 06, 2021
Evanie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered the box as a gift for a family member and it still hasn’t arrived. I ordered it in early November (it is now January). I have contacted Customer Service several times and they still haven’t gotten back to me. They also do not provide any way to contact them other than email. It’s extremely frustrating. It seemed like such a cool idea, it’s too bad they have such awful customer service and cannot deliver the product as advertised.

Verified Purchase

Will not ship

Dec 22, 2020
Joel I.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered on November 9th... label created early December... now it's December 22nd and have yet to receive anything. It hasn't even shipped yet.

Verified Purchase

We have not received!

Dec 21, 2020
Carrie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Unfortunately, our November box still has not arrived. It was to be our first box and we are still owed the December box. I have reached out to the company twice and they say November's box shipped weeks ago. We wish it would arrive so we could give a good review. It looks like an excellent product.

Verified Purchase

Haven’t received it...

Dec 20, 2020
Lindsay N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’d love to review this box but it never came. I tracked it and it still says it’s on its way to a USPS facility.
What I can say is that customer service has been excellent to deal with. I understand their are some shipping issues but it was ordered on November 7 and it is December 20...
I will be happy to revise my review when the package arrives.

Verified Purchase

Book club box

Dec 19, 2020
Myanna K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I have yet to receive the November shipment, it was meant as a gift for my daughter. Very disappointed in the timeline. I wish I could tell you she loves it but we have not seen it.

Verified Purchase

Box hasn't arrived

Dec 19, 2020
Mark K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wish I could give this a review. I placed my initial order on October 10th as part of a Christmas gift for my wife. After receiving no notification and finally me having to contact support I was told the November box had sold out. I was then charged for a second box and told that I would get the November box. I got a shipping notification on 12/9, saw that it was shipped on 12/12 and the last notification I have received was on 12/16 that the shipment was now "in transit and scheduled to arrive late". I am so disheartened that I put in this order well in advance for what I feel my wife would greatly enjoy as an avid reader, and now will probably not have this arrive in time for the holiday.

Verified Purchase

Is it worth the wait?

Jun 19, 2020
Cheryl K.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping

Sadly, I cannot rate the content of this subscription. I purchase the box on April 18 th, it is now June 19th and the subscription still has not arrived. When I emailed them and asked about the delay, I was told it had been shipped to Canada and would now be another 6-8 weeks before I could expect to receive the box. I know that we are in challenging times right now, but they need to be more honest with the time it will take for delivery. Four to five months is a long time to wait for a subscription box, especially when you order it as a gift. I would not order this simply due to the outrageous wait time.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jun 19, 2020

Hi Cheryl! We apologize for any confusion with our shipping. Our boxes always ship at the end of the month. Orders for our April box closed on April 14th so your order on April 18th was for our May box, shipping at the end of May. This box did depart our warehouse on May 29th, however due to the current global pandemic, Canada Post has made it clear on their website that international boxes are taking 6-8 weeks to arrive from the time they've shipped. This is something completely out of our control and we apologize for that. We hope you enjoy your box upon its arrival.

Not worth it

May 26, 2020
Raychel K.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have had this subscription for almost a year. Debating to cancel all the time. Shipping is horrible to Canada, shipping delays, errors and missing gifts. A lot of gifts are cheep and break if you use them, customer service gives you general answers and they give back no discounts for their mistakes. Some staff steal spots in contests and take away from subscribers.

Verified Purchase

Stellar Concept that lacks delivery!

Nov 12, 2020
Destiny S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The idea of this box is exceptional! Most boxes send bookish gifts. This box sends gifts tailored specifically to the book. The problem lies in the customer service and shipping. twice (i have only used the service 3 times this year) has it took out payment for the next month's box before the first box was received. The customer service never can track the packages when USPS doesn't update. They do not give percentages off toward the next purchase to make up for severe delays. They could care less. HOWEVER, they have changed to a new shipping service where the shipping is suppose to start coming on the ACTUAL month you ordered it for. That will be great if it works. Hopefully it will, because it is a great concept if they could nail the follow through.

Verified Purchase