Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as $32.50 / month

Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition) reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not for Me

Sep 19, 2018
Jena B.
9 Reviews
19 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I was very excited to try out Once Upon a Book Club because the packaging and items seemed so whimsical. Unfortunately, I accidentally ordered the YA box. While I found some items to be useful and cute, others were simply novelty as related to the book. So, I ultimately only found one viable item to my liking. I didn’t feel it was worth the price. I respect the effort and thought put into the box but it wasn’t for me. Worst of all, and this is no fault of Once Upon a Book Club, I’m just not patient enough to wait to open each item when the time comes in the book. That’s my own issue though.

Verified Purchase

awesome gifts

Aug 24, 2017
Brianna B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

i was very pleased with the condition of the book and the gifts themselves... but the door hanger looked like it had been cut open with a knife and it was scored all the way down the sign and the box with the pocket watch was crushed so i kind of took away all of the surprise since i could see 2 of the 4 gifts... the shipping was very quick and i was pleased with the look of the package. it made me really excited to unbox it and see what my book was... i have actually already read the book for august but the thought of the gifts really brings it to life and makes me excited to re-read the story.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed Daughter

Feb 09, 2020
Cailey M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The book that was delivered in February for my daughter was definitely not a book that she would read. It was magic and ghosts and she is not comfortable reading those types of books. We ended up just getting rid of the book. To us it felt like a waste of the $45 that was spent for that month. Is there a way that we can choose from a selection of books for the next month? Maybe not the titles because I know you want the book to be surprise along with the gifts, but maybe we could choose from a couple of different themes? I am aware that I have no idea how a business like this is funded or organized but I would like to make a suggestion that there be a choice between two or three books themes each month that the parents can choose from that will fit their child's reading interests. It was a disappointment to her that she did not get something that she would enjoy.
Thank you,

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Feb 09, 2020

Hi Cailey! Thank you so much for your feedback! We offer monthly hints every month for a full month prior to our boxes shipping. We always include details about the novel including any trigger warnings (subjects that may be unsuitable for children under the age of 14 which is our recommended age for our Young Adult box). Our January Young Adult hint included that it was a world of magic and spirits and that the main character would need the help of her ancestors and her people to save the world as she knew it. We also invite all parents to always email us or message us privately to find out the book titles prior to purchasing from us so...

Book excellent; trinkets, ehhh

Feb 05, 2021
Julita L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I liked the box but it could be better. The book was riveting-- Sadeqa Johnson is a supreme storyteller. Her writing was descriptive of the historical setting and as indicated in the author's note, is a result of much research and emotional investment. I felt the desperation and indignation of the characters and it broke my heart. The story unfolds at a good pace and the author wraps it up with a hopeful conclusion. While the book was excellent, the gifts, on the other hand, while representative of objects in the story, are not worth the price of the box.

Verified Purchase

Jul-Dec book box

Jan 15, 2021
Brook P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It is now 1/15/21 and Nov and Dec 2020 boxes have yet to arrive. My daughter has enjoyed her other boxes so far.

Verified Purchase

So So

May 31, 2020
Sara S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered both the adult box and YA box for my daughter and I because we were stuck in the house for COVID-19. No major issues with shipping--the boxes were late due to the pandemic but the company was really good about communicating delays. For the YA box, the book was good but the gifts were so junky and didn't really match what was in the book --nothing a teenage girl would want. For the adult book, the gifts were a lot better quality. If you like historical romances and chick lit, you would probably enjoy the adult box.

Verified Purchase

Great Idea...Slight Fail on Delivery

Aug 24, 2020
Allison B.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was SO thrilled with the concept as I LOVE surprises and books! I ordered my first box in July 1st for the adult box to be received in July. I got a shipment delivery notice and then after that date it took 2.5 weeks to get the item. The shipping label was created generating me a shipping link BUT it was not actually shipped from the location. Purchase 7/1/20, received 8/8/20.
I am thinking this genre of book was just not my thing. I am going to try the subscription one more time (one more book). The positives--the box it comes in is beautiful and the items were packaged pretty. Thoughtful choices of items...the story just was not a hit with me.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options