A monthly well-being subscription box for any book lover needing a little more me time!

Plans as low as £16.67 GBP / month

Bookfulness reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Boxes never received/do not order.

Aug 21, 2019
Lauren B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered a gift subscription for my friend for her birthday last year. I had exchanged emails to and from for 3 weeks in order to get the first subscription box delivered. It was eventually delivered 3 weeks late. I'd subscribed to 3 months worth of boxes, she then received another 2 months later. We have just been having a conversation and shes told me she never received the last box and presumed I'd only bought 2 months. It had cost me £43 and the service has been absolutely appalling.

Verified Purchase
Bookfulness said...7 days ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately, as we hadn’t heard from you since October last year and we hadn’t received any boxes back from our couriers, we were completely unaware that your friends box hadn’t arrived. Had we been informed, the issue would have been quickly rectified with a replacement box sent out immediately.

The issue has now been rectified and a replacement box sent.

Also, with regards to the shipment of the box; as is advised on our website, all orders close on the 1st of the month with any subsequent orders being shipped the following month. As you ordered on the 29th of September, your first box would not be shipped until the week of the 14th of October.
Many thanks. .

Seller

Loved this subscription!

Jun 06, 2019
Elizabeth H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've only bought one box so far but it was amazing! Just wish I could remember the chocolate that was sent, best chocolate in the world! Clearly a very expensive brand too!

Verified Purchase

So excited every month.

Dec 09, 2018
Caroline H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I look forward to my box every month! Ive never been disapointed!

Verified Purchase

Amazing!!!

Oct 21, 2018
Tanya D.
1 Review
Overall

I ordered my first box and Was really pleased when it came. I have the larger £24 pound box which is amazing value for all the goodies included. I gave my specific genre and was over the moon with the book chosen especially for me by the team. It was also a brand new release! I had a lovely bath bomb, delicious popcorn, hot chocolates, a lovely candle and very pretty bookmark. I’m going to spoil myself with these wonderful boxes every month. I also love that it’s a small family business, and all goodies supplied are from Wales, and are from companies local to the business owners. Well done guys! Il have my subscription for life! X

Jun 15, 2018
Valentina D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Amazing box!! Only had 2 so far, but I am loving them both. Currently still reading the book from the first box and it's totally my style!
Really impressed with the quality of little extras they put in as well.

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Jun 15, 2018
Isi R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

I love this box! It came with various good quality items and a book (You can mention genres you like and they will choose the book to your liking!) I wish I could afford this every month, but I will definitely subscribe to this again!

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Nazia R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

I loved my first and second subscription box love it when they wrap the book it's really a mystery what book u got ☺ I got amazing bar of soap it reminded me of lush soaps and hopefully next month might get coffee or hot chocolate as fall is coming and maybe get a romantic comedy novel 😊😊😗but I can't wait for my next box 😭

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Nathalie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

Perfect boxes !! i love to receive it every month. the customer service is also awesome !

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Kimberly-ann W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I absolutely loved my first box from bookfulness. I received a personalized hand written card, tea, cookie, candy cane and my book was wrapped made it even more of a surprise. The book was one that i would have purchased on my own. Looking forward to my next box. Very pleased as this was my first experience with a subscription box.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Nicky L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I look forward to this book box every month, the books are always awesome and the goodies that come with it blow me away! Candles, hats, soap, it's just perfect. Really good value for money and great customer service. Emailed monthly to remind me my payment is going out which is useful too!

Verified Purchase

A sweet crate

Aug 06, 2018
Natasha M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really liked this crate. It was presented beautifully. It was so pretty, plus there was a handwritten, personal note card . This is the most affordable crate that I have found and the contents are lovely. The book was a recent release. If it had another bookish type item apart from the book then it would have got 5 stars.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Chloe M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

was my first ever prescription box, i did like what was in the box . the book was actually on my to buy list which was great. only problems were:i wish the wax melts were candles so i could use them and i wish the box was all one theme. would happily get this box again.

Verified Purchase

Customer Service is not replying

Apr 12, 2019
Kerstin B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

My March box has not arrived. Although I have written to the Bookfulness Team three times, I did not get an answer nor a refund. The content of the February box was good and it can happen that there are problems with shipping. But I at least expect an answer from customer service. I have now cancelled my subscription and hope that I will be refunded my money.

Verified Purchase
Bookfulness said...7 days ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Firstly, I would like to apologise that your first emails were missed. To advise, we are a very small family run business with just one of us handling the emails; we take on all feedback and are now ensuring all emails are dealt with within 48 hours at a maximum. The situation was resolved; the box was in transit and tracking information was given to follow the remained of its journey. Unfortunately, when shipping overseas, boxes can take weeks to arrive at their destination. Many thanks.

Seller

Prepaid for 3 months & never received it

Apr 08, 2019
Robyn D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I prepaid for a 3 month subscription as a gift for a friend in February.
It's now almost the middle of April and she still hasn't received anything. Not even an initial email.

I love the idea of this service and if it improved in future I would reconsider, but for now it is too unprofessional. No communication or updates.

Waiting to hear back on my refund.

Verified Purchase
Bookfulness said...7 days ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Our initial email is sent to the person that orders the gift as opposed to the person receiving; this is to avoid any surprises being ruined. With regards to this order, there was a problem with the courier, however this was rectified and the boxes re-sent.
As a very small family run business, there is just one of us manning the emails and being a mum of 3 and also having another job, responses aren’t always immediate but I am really grateful for your patience and your feedback. We’re always trying to improve and we are now ensuring emails are responded to within 48 hours at a maximum. Many thanks.

Seller

Very disappointing

Nov 18, 2018
Annie M.
1 Review
Overall

My son and daughter-in-law gifted me a subscription for 3 months in August asking for the first delivery to be in early. September -my birthday month. The first delivery came towards the end of September. I have received nothing since. Maybe they have gone out of business? Avoid this site like the plague

Bookfulness said...Nov 19, 2018

Thank you for your feedback - as we advised when responding to your message, your son purchased 1 month's subscription only which was shipped in September. Our apologies for any confusion.

Seller

Absolute rubbish

Oct 20, 2018
Sabrina S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Very disappointed with Bookfulness. I sent two emails directly to the team explaining that my friend has had cancer and for her 40th birthday I thought a Bookfulness box would be a lovely treat. I requested a box to be sent in the October shipment and described the sort of books my friends like. She received the box a month early and opened it today to find the most ridiculous book which is nothing like the books of greater depth that she likes to read. She also received a packet of popcorn and something which looks like a cupcake but she described as a hard ball of sugar. Also my card should have said ‘hygge’ and not huge! Clearly, whoever packed this has zero literary knowledge. If you are looking for something tasteful - please look elsewhere. This gift is embarrassing.

Verified Purchase
Bookfulness said...Nov 19, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment, as advised previously we were more than willing to rectify this in some way as soon as we realised the shipping error however we did not receive any further correspondence.

With regards to the book choice, I’m so sorry it wasn’t to your friends taste. The more information we are provided with, the more chance there is that it will suit your needs and as the request made was ‘strong, female leads’ we can only follow our interpretation of this.

Please be advised, the hard ball of sugar is a bath bomb - our apologies if this was not more clear.

The message provided by yourself stated ‘huge’ as opposed to ‘hygge’ - The notes...

Seller

Terrible communication

Oct 07, 2018
Leonna B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

My box still hasn't arrived and I've tried contacting the team multiple times through multiple ways but no reply I hope at some point my book will eventually show up but overall disappointing

Verified Purchase
Bookfulness said...Oct 10, 2018

Hi Leonna,

So sorry to hear this and our apologies for not being more clear. As you subscribed after September’s shipping date, unfortunately you missed the cutoff and will be receiving October’s box. With it being just the two of us, both working full time and having two little boys, it can take a little bit longer to communicate, but we are working on it we promise!

Seller

Disappointed.....

Sep 01, 2018
Clare L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

This taster box took a long time to arrive and when it finally arrived, I was disappointed with it. The book choice seems ok, but the book itself had some scuff damage on the back cover. The other items were a tiny slice of soap, a few bite-size pieces of rock and some coffees. The theme was ‘fairground’ - which consisted of the rock plus some pieces of assorted confetti stuff. I bought a 3 month subscription, so have 2 more boxes to come. I hope they will be better!

Verified Purchase
<