Bubbles & Books

by Bubbles & Books
Reading & Relaxation combined with this ultra-luxurious monthly subscription box!
124 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.25/ month

Buying Options

Bubbles & Books reviewsReviews

Write a Review
124

Not thoughtful; disappointing

Mar 26, 2018
Brook E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall

I'm so disappointed in my subscription. The book they sent was the last book in a 16-book series. Maybe the series is good, but I have to purchase and read 15 more books to catch up! The book itself is an Avon mass market paperback and was marked as a remainder. Generously, I'd put the value at $3. I'd value the bath things they added at $9.

Verified Purchase

Books and bubbles box #1

Oct 13, 2018
Lindi H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I really loved the bath bomb that was in this months box. The size was perfect as was the smell. However, I didnt care for the smell of the goat soap. The fragrance is strong when not used but when put on the body you cant really spell the soap. The book wasn't as bad boy Romance as I originally thought. This book reminds me of a normal harlequin romance book. A little disappointing there. Everything else I enjoyed.

Verified Purchase

Okay

Apr 22, 2017
Chellsey B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The book I received was a nice thick book and fit the bad boy kind of box.
I was a little disappointed with the stuff that was sent with it. All in all not bad
Especially when you don't know what books to buy, this way i get a book every month.
But i could make it for less

Verified Purchase

Love this box!!!

Jul 02, 2019
Lindsay M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I always look forward to receiving this box. Plenty of amazing bath products from small businesses and books are great. It’s hard to find a book subscription for romance. This one never fails!!

Verified Purchase

Not satisfied, kinda scammed

Jun 22, 2020
Killian M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Received my first box and first thing I would say is that I wish the card that is provided had a description of the products in the box. My box came with a random small piece of soap attached to a bath salt container. The container looks like a spice bottle you get from the grocery store. Also all the items looks small and like samples. Definitely not worth $40 and I didn't get $40 worth. The book alone is on $8. So I think they can try a little harder and put a little more products or bigger products into the boxes because I kinda feel scammed. I'll continue for another month but after that if the next month isn up to par I'll be canceling.

Verified Purchase
Bubbles & Books said...Jun 23, 2020

Oh no! First, thank you for your feedback. Second, I am sorry you are disappointed in the box! We try to source products that fit a different theme each month, are different than what you would get at the store, and add a "fun factor" to your bath and relaxation time. When you visit the subscriber-only page (listed on your Staycation card included in the box) you'll see an inventory of items in your box. That cute little lime salt attached to your bath salts? It's to fit the "staycation" theme - so you have a Margarita Lost Shaker of Salt (margarita bath salts) with a mini lime soap.
While we can't provide items that are bulk-sized in our subscriber boxes, you'll find most...

Love The Concept

Mar 22, 2019
Hillary R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Who doesn't love a great book along with a great bath! You receive today's reading along with today's "bubbly relaxation"! WIN WIN for everybody!!

Very amazed!

Dec 04, 2017
Rebecca R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Very good quality book, the hand made soap smells amazing and I can actually see rose petals in it. The bath bomb smelled like a lemon drop and both my kids were fighting over it. I also had to fight my daughter so that I could keep the amazing mermaid metal book mark. Very pleased with all the products and loved the little surprise gift also included

Verified Purchase

Bath ItemsAte Fantastic, Books are meh.

Feb 17, 2019
Jade R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I LOVE the bath items in evety box, the books however are a different story. I'm getting very tired of all the cowboy or western romances. Please bring back the darker romanes, the very first box I received had a dark romance and every book since then has been either a "sweet" or "cowboy" romance. This is main reason why I have not renewed my subscription.

Verified Purchase

First box

Mar 25, 2020
Kathleen M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The book was good, but all of the bath products were not. The bath bombs fell apart in the box and the packing looked very cheap. I’ll try one more box, but would likely cancel based on the one I received.

Verified Purchase

Good idea, but inconsiderate execution

Nov 02, 2019
Kei K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box has one major flaw. I've been subscribed for 3 months, and all books (4 of them) I received were sequels from long-standing series. Series where you either have to read 10+ books to catch up to the book they send you, or you already own it because you've been following them.
I think it is common knowledge that including books other than 1st books of the series or stand-alone novels in book boxes is unacceptable.
Also, chances are one or two products will spill over the box during shipping, if you live overseas.

Verified Purchase
Bubbles & Books said...Nov 02, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback, Kei! We do actually try to include stand-alone or book 1 in a series for every genre, but because we also attempt to include only new releases within the last 60-90 days - there are times when we just don't have a book 1 or stand-alone available from the four publishers we order our books from. We've recently reached out to new authors to try and secure their first-ever books to see how they are received by our subscribers, but the challenge is getting them into the right price point to deliver our boxes without increasing the price for subscribers. As for the shipping... so frustrating. We've been wrapping delicate items in bubble wrap or thick paper,...

Never recieved but now changed for 2!

Dec 16, 2018
Megan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I have now been charged for 2 boxes even though they haven’t even sent the 1st. I emailed the seller today and will update once I hear back. So far I have nothing!

Verified Purchase

not what I expected

May 22, 2017
Inda B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

The book was ok but not very long and I didn't like the scent of the soap I got it made me sick. This box was just not worth it.

Verified Purchase

Sadly Disappointing

Jul 06, 2018
Tamara F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

This company has great customer service and great bath products but flopped with the book. I ordered the bad boy box and got a fun light sexy read. I guess that’s not my definition of a bad boy romance. I won’t go into details to spoil it for everyone else. If you want a light fluffy read with some great soap, this is for you.

Verified Purchase

Extremely Disappointing

Jul 03, 2018
Tasha D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall

The bath bomb and soap were FULL of dyes and who knows what other harmful stuff. The book was a mediocre re-release from 2013. I expected much more and didn't get it. The theme didn't even fit as I expected. If I order a Mystic box, why am I getting wedding themed products?
Save your money. Pick up some Epsom salts and a book from the library.

Verified Purchase

Loved it

Jul 02, 2019
Jessica C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely love the box I recieved as a gift. The books are great and products are amazing. They make it so easy to relax and enjoy your bath.

Soothing

Jan 25, 2019
Jessica H.
1 Review
Overall

Since I started getting this box I take a warm bath ever single Friday to unwind from the work week. I used the bath bombs included with the box and then tried to use another from the store and was so amazed at the difference! The ones from the box always left me feeling moisturized while the one from a high end store left me feeling dried out. The products and the books, and the people have been amazing and worth every single cent!

Love this box!

Apr 25, 2020
Katie B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box! I feel like I love it more and more each month. Well worth the cost, shipping is fast, and the products are great!

Best subscription box

Sep 27, 2018
Ashton C.
1 Review
Overall

I love this box! I look forward to it every month. The products are great, the books are steamy and it's affordable! A great little splurge for yourself to have some "me" time. What's better than a bath and a book?

First Box!

Sep 12, 2019
Savannah M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box and I love it! I used one of the bath bombs right away and can't wait to dive into the books!

Feb 17, 2019
Fleur L.
1 Review
Overall

Received my first box and it was everything I hoped for and more in a book subscription.
Can’t wait to see what next months box brings!

Great boxes!

Aug 14, 2018
Sydney H.
1 Review
Overall

Love these book boxes! They contain much amazing stuff and the books are great too. I've had to hide the bath stuff from my kids who like it as much as me

Oct 04, 2018
Madi M.
1 Review
Overall

I just received my first box the other day & I love it!!! I'm not sure what to do with some items that it came with (rustic burlap flower & wood slice)! I ordered a past box originally and sadly it had just ran out not to long before I ordered it. But Bubbles & Books has great customer service when it came to switching it for a different box!!!

Pretty Good Box

Mar 18, 2017
Myda O.
7 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Overall

I've been subscribed for 7-8 months now. The books and soaps are good products and I enjoy the products for the baths (soaks) when I get them, but most of the time you do not get "bath" products. So the items other than the book and soaps are a hit or miss. Some months I get tealight candles and a packet of tea, others I get a scrubbie, sometimes a face mask, but rarely do I get products to soak in the bath with other than a BAR of soap. Out of the 8 months I've been subscribed, I've gotten 3 bath products other than soap to use.
I'd say it's a good box to get if you want a book and a bar of soap, but the other items are a hit and a miss. Not everyone gets the same stuff in each box (for example, I had a Luxe subscription, so not everyone that gets a Luxe box that month will get the same book or the same products. It will be a hodgepodge mixture of whatever they have in stock for that box that month). So expect a different quality of items each month, the only consistency being your book and soap.

Loved the box I was sent!

Mar 29, 2019
Susan O.
1 Review
Overall

I thought everything in the box was amazing. The only thing I didn't like was the books. I didn't realize that both books were part of a series and neither were the 1st book of their series. The only other thing I really disliked was the books were mass market paperbacks and I really dislike mass market paperbacks so so much. I wanted this box because there was a book by Jennifer L. Armentrout I just didn't know it was the 2nd or 3rd book in a series so I could jump right in to the book. I took a bath using the amazing products AND the candle smelled so good. Even after it was lit the smell was still just as amazing. I loved it all. I will say that my March box came and the paperback books were the ones I like(they are the larger paperback books AND they weren't books that were in the middle of a series), so that box will be 5 stars when I'm asked to review that box