BookVoyage

Receive worldly literature at your doorstep, monthly!


£14.99+ GBP / month

Subscriber Reviews

22
3.4 of 5 stars
Not worth the price
by Airrie written Jun 11, 2018
I liked the few months but I slowly realized its not worth the price tag. You get 1 book, a little bit of something to drink for example 2 packages of hot chocolate and something to eat. Sadly they give you the smallest possible food and drink items. What am I really paying for when they can get the boxes out on time and barley but anything in the box. There are a lot better box clubs to choose from. Unless you are in the UK I don't see this being worth anyone's money.
Verified Purchase
Tragic
by Aleksandra written May 29, 2018
This is simply a scam. DO NOT ORDER THIS! They will not ship out your parcel until you remind them multiple times. I paid for three separate boxes and only ever got one! That means they took £30 from me for nothing in return. Please do not make my mistake and give these people money as it will only stress you out and cost you your hard earned pounds.
Verified Purchase
Gimme a C! Gimme an R! Gimme an A and P!
by Emma written May 19, 2018
I live in the UK (where this company is also based). All I can say is, if you are happy emailing them every other day, and waiting three months for each box to arrive (but still paying for the others in between) then this is the service for you! I received February’s box at some point in April/May. (Again, UK based seller and UK based customer - it would’ve arrived quicker if the postman had decided to take a cardboard box with him around the world and filled it himself). I was contacting the seller frequently, sometimes getting one line emails telling me to just wait a bit longer for it to be delivered, others promising to provide me with tracking codes when it had been dispatched, then providing tracking codes that didn’t exist. Others said there were delays within the postal service, of which Royal Mail had not mentioned anywhere themselves. I then received another email response (after plenty of others) saying it was ACTUALLY their service centre that hadn’t even sent the box out in the first place! If I could’ve rolled my eyes any harder, I would’ve been able to see the back of my skull. Don’t expect to find any information on their website or social media pages to corroborate any “problems” they’re experiencing in getting their boxes shipped/delivered/whatever else they feel like saying on a particular day either. They seem like a shy bunch, unless it comes to online promotion, of course. You must liaise with their world class customer service staff for any shred of information every step of the way. Evidently, this service is fine for some who have found that their expectations have been met. However, a near 50/50 split in good and bad customer reviews isn’t very promising. The boxes are ok, but the hassle it can take to get them is far from. Go to a bookshop instead. Subscribe at your own risk!
Verified Purchase
Books ok. Delivery is not!!
by Kai written Apr 19, 2018
If you are not able to hit your self set deadline of shipping the box out, ammend your Dates. It's now the 3rd week of the month, Money for the next box already booked, but old box not even send out yet. If you do not care that you wait weeks and pay for several boxes before you get one at all, go for it. If you are impatient like me, stay away big time.
Verified Purchase
Silly Americans
by Caitlin written Mar 20, 2018
I live literally across the world, and if you ignore the 'deliver by' date, it's totally fine. No, there's not tracking, and no, the dates don't mean anything. But if you're patient, it is rewarded. Great books, cute treats. It's such a fun, immersive experience. Highly recommend.
Verified Purchase
AVOID
by Emma written Mar 08, 2018
Paid for February’s box, which was supposed to be sent within the first week of the month - still not been received. Been fobbed off in the emails and the seller has now just stopped responding. No information available via website or social media pages regarding any “delays”, won’t provide tracking code to prove box was shipped, no response to request to have another box sent/refund. Cancelled my subscription and removed my card details, because I imagine they’d be more than happy to keep charging and not fulfilling orders. AVOID.
Verified Purchase
Fun box, Poor customer service
by Elizabeth written Feb 19, 2018
I really like the contents of these boxes, and acknowledge that I am receiving the box internationally, so delays are to be expected. However, when I queried bookvoyage as to the status of my box two weeks after I had expected to receive it based on previous months, customer service only responded after the third email, a week after the initial request. Additionally, their response was apologetic, but unhelpful and dismissive telling me to keep waiting and I’ll get it eventually. After an additional unhelpful follow up conversation and another full week (still no box has arrived) I received correspondence that they apologized for the mixup and it had not been sent. I was offered a discount on future purchases, but too little too late. If I can’t get an answer when I have issues or questions, I don’t have any faith that the service that I’m paying for will be delivered.
Verified Purchase
Great Experience
by Penny written Jan 14, 2018
I've been receiving my subscription perfectly on time for nearly a year. The books are always interesting and varied in content. The snack and drink are well suited to the countries theme. I absolutely loved the December box. The book was just beautiful! I always look forward to receiving the next box.
Verified Purchase
Terrible.
by Kaylee written Nov 23, 2017
Will NOT be rdering again and do NOT recommend. I ordered by the 27th was told box wold ship on the 1st. Didn't hear anything until the 18th when it said box had been sent (It hadn't i had to email to ask where the box was) box then didn't arrive until 23rd (because it hadn't been sent until i complained). Finally got here, book is damaged and my "food" is two soft candiesthe size of pennies. Atrocious, the service is ridiculous and I cant beleive after a month of waiting i've recieved a damaged book. Oh and the bookmark ? Paper.
Verified Purchase
What was the point?
by Aleksandra written Oct 31, 2017
BookVoyage was my first subscription box "experience" and because of it I had very high expectations, so you can feel my disappointment when I opened my box and realized that I received my country, Russia. I can`t see the point in sending me a book written in English which I can easily read in Russian. Why do I "need" to read Russian book in English? Why not send me countries from previous months? The sweets are the cheapest, the teabags are all the same and the author is not popular in Russia at all. I don`t think he adequately represents our country. So I after this I immediately canceled my subscription.
Verified Purchase
View Details