Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

not worth the price

Sep 10, 2020
Dorothy D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super over priced box for a few candles, tiny tiny Itty bitty smug stick, a book, a beaded bracelet and fragrance oil (oil website takes you to a dead page so you know this a super cheap discounted oil). Supreme box, over 40 dollars for maybe 15 dollars worth of items. Please do yourself a favor and pick up a different box. You'll be disappointed w this box's items. Tiny tiny, discounted items. Super disappointed i wasted my birthday money on this box. Live and learn I suppose. Learn from my mistake and pick a different box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Sep 11, 2020

We're sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with us. Please feel free to send any notes you have for improving our way. We hope you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your practice. Blessed Be!

Don't buy this box! Cheap contents!

6 days ago
Kris H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Cheap contents, very few contents, not worth the money. The "spell" book is a piece of paper printed out on a computer. They won't work with you on a refund or extra products to make a dissatisfied customer happy. They don't care, very poor customer service. Very Unhappy. Don't bother trying. Cheap $5 contents for $22 payment

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...6 days ago

Hi Kris! As stated in our correspondence with you, we do not offer refunds on shipped merchandise but, we are happy to replace any damaged or missing items. Our team works hard to provide an experience that is valuable to our Circle Members. Needless to say, we are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your first box. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be!

The Priestess

7 days ago
Doreya H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was very disappointed when I opened this box. The items in this box were small and not packaged well at all, like some of the other boxes I have received were individually wrapped. Not this box. Not worth the price and definitely not worth the wait. I've cancelled my subscription, and will begin making my own items.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...6 days ago

Hi Doreya! If any of your items were damaged in transit, we are happy to replace them. We always encourage our subscribers to reach out to us directly when this happens to address the issue in a timely manner. Our team works hard to provide value to our Circle Members' individual practices and is very disappointed to hear that we missed your expectations. We will be following up with you directly.

Disappointing

Nov 17, 2020
Shaneca E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Unfortunately this box was very disappointing for $31.50. I own 4/5 of the products already. All of these items can be purchased for $10-15 total. I feel like I wasted my money.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 17, 2020

Greetings Shaneca! We're sorry to hear you feel that way. We provide tools for witches of varying paths. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. If you find an item doesn't resonate with you, we recommend passing it on to a fellow witch in need. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out directly. May we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. Blessed Be!

Disgusted.

Feb 06, 2021
Blade M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm overall disgusted with my almost $60 supreme box I purchased for my wife. After some googling less than 26$ is what this box was worth. When purchasing a mystery box you expect to get items worth ATLEAST value. Messaged seller before receiving my box to ask for curation. (Specifically mentioned how much my wife wanted a pendulum) and i got the same trademark "Love" themed Valentine's box everyone else probably got. This was gimmicky, not at all catered to personal preferences. Will never purchase another box from this seller nor will I be purchasing from cratejoy whatsoever. That is how bad my experience was. I ordered the box January 8th and received it today February 6th. I expected to recieve it january, I bought it for mine and my wife's anniversary. I even asked to maybe do a small significant note recognizing our 3 years in the box which was nowhere to be found. Disgusted.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 10, 2021

Greetings Blade! We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by this month's theme. Our themes are selected months in advance. We do not offer personalized boxes in our list of offerings, so yes, you did receive the same February shipment as all our other Circle Members. Your package shipped according to the shipping schedule provided at checkout. The customer must provide gift notes at checkout as we do not offer note writing as a part of our services. Blessed Be!

STAY AWAY!

Jan 13, 2021
Darcy A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box of Shadows is lame. They sent me a box of 4 things I could have bought for under $2 and charged me $33. My daughter was so disappointed!
I cancelled my subscription over 3 weeks in advance of the next shipment and they claim I was too late. Even after that cancellation( (nearly 3 more weeks), I received an email out of the blue with a subscription and shipment confirmation. I never went back onto the website and ordered anything. I see that despite the site saying I have NO saved credit card information, it is listed there for me to see in gray (so I can't click on it). If it is no longer saved in the system why is it showing? Also, there is NO button to click on for cancellation. Lastly, there is NO phone number to call. When I email, they send me a confirmation of the next shipment again. THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 13, 2021

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your first and only shipment from Box of Shadows. As outlined in our refund policy, all payments are final after 24 hours. This subscription was canceled a week after the order was placed, and the box was shipped in accordance with our shipping schedule. All of this information is provided before checkout. If you continue to experience issues managing your account, please reach out to Cratejoy support.

Never arrived

Oct 23, 2020
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My box never arrived and I emailed the sellers twice and they never responded. Love a scam

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 26, 2020

Greetings Sarah. We're very sorry that your box never arrived. We did respond to your email explaining that the box is being returned to us because the address you provided was incorrect. Currently, the box is still making its way through the mail system. Once the box is back in our hands, we will be happy to re-ship it to the correct address.

Nope.

Oct 20, 2020
Kayla B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box was upsetting for me. An October box that didnt have anything in it that excite me. 20$ would have been too
Much in my opinion. Maybe i will try again but probably not.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we'd love the opportunity to make it up to next month. Blessed Be!

Haven't received it

Sep 16, 2020
Amber K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I haven't received it as of yet

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Sep 16, 2020

Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do regarding delivery once a package is in the hands of USPS. Due to the current health crisis, many shipping platforms are experiencing delays. Your local post office may be able to provide more information regarding delivery but please reach out to us directly if it does not arrive.

Not worth it...Unresponsive company.

May 26, 2020
Amanda L.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box from Box of Shadows. I would not recommend this box to anyone. I purchased the Initiate Box. The price plus shipping is not worth the value of products. I received a votive holder, votive candle, mini 40 stick incense box, a small piece of selenite and a defective pendant. I emailed the company trying to remedy the defective pendant and my disapproval of the box and I have had no response. I was extremely disappointed and will steer clear of this company and future boxes.

Verified Purchase

Dec 21, 2018
Tonya D.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

Not satisfied at all

Verified Purchase

Reported to BBB

Nov 20, 2018
Katie J.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

So now this company saying I threatened them. I demanded a refund. Sure their policy states no refunds but I didn’t think I would pay $45 for nothing but cheap stuff. What a joke. It’s funny how all their recent reviews are from unsatisfied customers. Karma will get them. Hope they go out of buisiness. Anyone scamming people like this company should be ashamed of themselves. I will not stop warning others

Verified Purchase

Not Worth The $$$

Apr 09, 2018
Tamsen B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Unfortunately I did a 6 month subscription to this service which I regretted by the 3rd or 4th box. I was unable to cancel due to Box of Shadows policy so I was stuck with getting two more boxes and April's was just a huge disappointment, the worst of them all and a total rip-off. These boxes really went downhill during the past six months I had the subscription. The Witches Moon Box is a much better value and also totally "out classes" Box of Shadows.

Verified Purchase

Yikes...

Jun 17, 2020
Cortney R.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality