Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Yikes...

Jun 17, 2020
Cortney R.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I think I've been so spoiled with cheaper boxes that had more products and products of much greater quality that as soon as I opened this box my heart fell. I was really rooting for it, but the items are poorly made and it doesn't feel as though the box has any true rhyme or reason to it. The only thing I see myself using is maybe the rituals on the rather silly glossy paper and the tiny soy candle I received.

There is something so rewarding in opening a box that has gathered items either from other artists who are involved in the Craft or respect it versus items I could purchase at a convenience store or a dollar store, which all have their places, for sure! Unfortunately, it would have been nice to see a little more love in the box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jun 17, 2020

Courtney, we're sorry to hear that our June offering did not reach your expectations. As long time members of the pagan community, we are proud to provide tools & community for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have access to metaphysical stores and resources. Our mission is to provide an experience that is both consistent & beneficial for the path of the practitioner regardless of their level of experience. We deeply regret that this mission wasn't reflected for you. We sincerely hope you find a subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be.

Missing items

Jun 20, 2020
Grace W.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve contacted the seller to try to resolve this, and nothing. I was willing to give them a chance to make up for the missing items right before I gave them a negative review and canceling my subscription. Apparently bad reviews and canceled subscriptions still aren’t worth sending missing items. $43 is a lot of money to spend.. Especially when you don’t get all the items you paid for. EDIT: seller finally reached out to me and did not offer to replace missing item, but to give me a lousy discount on another box. Hell no I wouldn’t do that.. I’m not getting scammed again. Avoid this company like the plague.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We are sorry your box arrived with a missing item and have since reached out to you regarding this issue. We appreciate your patience as it may take up to 24 hours to receive a response from us.

Don't waste your money

Apr 06, 2020
Jordan R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I'm pretty disappointed. My favorite part of the box was the Modern Magick candle, but everything else was cheap and I could've purchase it for far less than the box total. I'm supposed to be getting my second box soon but I just received an email saying that my order should never have been gone through because they were already at their capacity for orders, which makes no sense because I already received one of my three boxes. They gave me a 40% coupon for my next renewal, even though I already placed a review saying I wouldn't renew so that was also a slap in the face.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed

Mar 14, 2020
Ashley T.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was very disappointed that's all I can say about this box just absolutely disappointing

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 17, 2020

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your March box. It seems we've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Missing Items, NO RESPONSE

Feb 17, 2020
Arin R.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality
Curation

There were two things missing from this box - rose quartz gemstone, rose quartz necklace - that were the two most expensive items from what the list appears to be. I've tried to contact them through CrateJoy as well as their website, and I've had no response. I've tried contacting them several times, and no response. I was really excited about this subscription and signed up for multi-month. I really wish I could take it back and have it returned. It's been a very disappointing experience.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Arin! We're sorry to hear that your box arrived with missing items. In these cases, we are happy to ship replacement items to make up for the oversight. We have reached out to you directly with the next steps in resolving this matter.

Not worth it...Unresponsive company.

May 26, 2020
Amanda L.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box from Box of Shadows. I would not recommend this box to anyone. I purchased the Initiate Box. The price plus shipping is not worth the value of products. I received a votive holder, votive candle, mini 40 stick incense box, a small piece of selenite and a defective pendant. I emailed the company trying to remedy the defective pendant and my disapproval of the box and I have had no response. I was extremely disappointed and will steer clear of this company and future boxes.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

May 21, 2020
Paige R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The quality of these products was incredibly poor. I was so excited to give this box a try! But it couldn’t have been more disappointing.
The items definitely did not match the cost. And they seemed like cheap dollar store items. I wish I’d read more reviews before giving them a try, as I see many other have mentioned the cheap quality.
The box was also missing an item. A memo was sent saying the moonstone didn’t make it in time for packaging. But they never offered to send it later!!!
There are so many better boxes out there. Witches Moon and Tamed Wild are much more respectable companies.
Unless you like feeling like you got scammed, avoid purchasing this box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 21, 2020

Greetings Paige! We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that we missed the mark with you. Regarding the missing moonstone, our email also explained that the gemstone was replaced with a piece of altar decor from our available backstock. Please reach out to us directly if you did not receive the substitute item. We look forward to offering the moonstone in a future box later in the year.

Beware, difficult to cancel.

May 14, 2020
Robin P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Beware! Cratejoy subscription management portal rarely works and you may not be able to cancel without seller help.
I have contacted this seller six times and Cratejoy itself once with NO response. Am therefore unable to cancel this box. Another payment is due tomorrow and I've been trying to cancel for about two weeks now.
I know how to use the manage subscription portal, but there is a banner that doesn't allow one to click the final cancel button.
Has anyone figured a way around this?

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Please know that we've received numerous complaints about subscription terms not being updated on this platform. Cratejoy has not been very helpful in finding a resolution. Your subscription has since been canceled as requested. We ask our subscribers to give us 24 hours to respond to these types of issues.

Ripped Off

May 03, 2020
Kathy M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Paid upfront. Never received anything. Couldn’t cancel subscription. Have no idea how to stop this woman from taking my money.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 05, 2020

Greetings Kathy! In accordance with our shipping schedule, subscription orders placed after April 5th begin their subscriptions with the May box. The May boxes began the processing and shipping phase on May 1st. All packages are scheduled to ship by the 10th. You will receive a shipping confirmation and tracking number by email once your box ships.

Our shipping schedule can be found on our Cratejoy Marketplace listing and in your order confirmation email.

Box of Shadows ships USPS Priority Mail and typically arrives in our Circle Members' (that's you!) mailboxes within 2-3 business days. Please reach out to us directly if you have any other questions or concerns. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Dec 21, 2018
Tonya D.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

Not satisfied at all

Verified Purchase

Reported to BBB

Nov 20, 2018
Katie J.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

So now this company saying I threatened them. I demanded a refund. Sure their policy states no refunds but I didn’t think I would pay $45 for nothing but cheap stuff. What a joke. It’s funny how all their recent reviews are from unsatisfied customers. Karma will get them. Hope they go out of buisiness. Anyone scamming people like this company should be ashamed of themselves. I will not stop warning others

Verified Purchase

Not Worth The $$$

Jun 15, 2018
Tamsen B.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Unfortunately I did a 6 month subscription to this service which I regretted by the 3rd or 4th box. I was unable to cancel due to Box of Shadows policy so I was stuck with getting two more boxes and April's was just a huge disappointment, the worst of them all and a total rip-off. These boxes really went downhill during the past six months I had the subscription. The Witches Moon Box is a much better value and also totally "out classes" Box of Shadows.

Verified Purchase

Disapointing

Dec 14, 2019
Angelika D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping