Box of Shadows

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!
559 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.24/ month

Buying Options

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review
559

Horrible

May 04, 2021
Julie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's horrible they charged me twice and when I canceled they did not want to give me back my money. They never contact you to help u. N if u cancel n don't get refund box or anything, ur money's lost. It's a scam. I still need help n nothing. They take advantage of witches.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 06, 2021

Hi Julie! We are happy to see this matter has been settled. Going forward, we kindly ask for 24 hours to respond to your correspondences. Blessed Be.

Very, very disappointed

May 19, 2021
Tina C.
3 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really don’t think this tiny box with a shipping value of $19.99 is at all worth the money I paid for the subscription. Shipping was slow and products can be bought at any store. I’m extremely disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 20, 2021

Greetings Tina! Thank you for your feedback. International shipments do occasionally take a bit longer to reach their destinations. Until we can "apparate" our packages to their destinations, we must rely on traditional shipping methods, which aren't always so speedy. Our shopping schedule is provided at every stage of the checkout experience to manage our Circle's expectations. In addition, we provide tools for witches of varying paths. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores that others do. Our mission is to be a resource for both tools and guidance; we look forward to having the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Disappointed

May 14, 2021
Joy S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box was 50.00 for a book,waxmelts,bracelet that was broke .I was so disappointed it was for my mom

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 14, 2021

Greetings Joy! We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our May box. Unfortunately, it sounds like you could be missing some items. There should have been five items total. Please check the items you received against your contents list and reach out to us directly with any discrepancies. We'd be happy to ship them, along with a replacement for your broken bracelet.

Not worth it.

Apr 08, 2021
Dianne G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not worth it!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 08, 2021

We're sorry to hear that. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Horrible

Feb 28, 2021
Hoststacey
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Terrible box. Came with nothing it said or showed in the pictures. This is why I purchased the highest tier the supreme. And I received a mouldy plant and a bunch of rose scented items in which I can not stand artificial rose anything. Nothing came as described. Very disappointed and will not recommend this to anyone

Verified Purchase

Don't buy this box! Cheap contents!

Feb 19, 2021
Kris H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Cheap contents, very few contents, not worth the money. The "spell" book is a piece of paper printed out on a computer. They won't work with you on a refund or extra products to make a dissatisfied customer happy. They don't care, very poor customer service. Very Unhappy. Don't bother trying. Cheap $5 contents for $22 payment

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2021

Hi Kris! As stated in our correspondence with you, we do not offer refunds on shipped merchandise but, we are happy to replace any damaged or missing items. Our team works hard to provide an experience that is valuable to our Circle Members. Needless to say, we are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your first box. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be!

The Priestess

Feb 19, 2021
Doreya H.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was very disappointed when I opened this box. The items in this box were small and not packaged well at all, like some of the other boxes I have received were individually wrapped. Not this box. Not worth the price and definitely not worth the wait. I've cancelled my subscription, and will begin making my own items.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2021

Hi Doreya! If any of your items were damaged in transit, we are happy to replace them. We always encourage our subscribers to reach out to us directly when this happens to address the issue in a timely manner. Our team works hard to provide value to our Circle Members' individual practices and is very disappointed to hear that we missed your expectations. We will be following up with you directly.

STAY AWAY!

Jan 13, 2021
Darcy A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box of Shadows is lame. They sent me a box of 4 things I could have bought for under $2 and charged me $33. My daughter was so disappointed!
I cancelled my subscription over 3 weeks in advance of the next shipment and they claim I was too late. Even after that cancellation( (nearly 3 more weeks), I received an email out of the blue with a subscription and shipment confirmation. I never went back onto the website and ordered anything. I see that despite the site saying I have NO saved credit card information, it is listed there for me to see in gray (so I can't click on it). If it is no longer saved in the system why is it showing? Also, there is NO button to click on for cancellation. Lastly, there is NO phone number to call. When I email, they send me a confirmation of the next shipment again. THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 13, 2021

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your first and only shipment from Box of Shadows. As outlined in our refund policy, all payments are final after 24 hours. This subscription was canceled a week after the order was placed, and the box was shipped in accordance with our shipping schedule. All of this information is provided before checkout. If you continue to experience issues managing your account, please reach out to Cratejoy support.

Disgusted.

Feb 06, 2021
Blade M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm overall disgusted with my almost $60 supreme box I purchased for my wife. After some googling less than 26$ is what this box was worth. When purchasing a mystery box you expect to get items worth ATLEAST value. Messaged seller before receiving my box to ask for curation. (Specifically mentioned how much my wife wanted a pendulum) and i got the same trademark "Love" themed Valentine's box everyone else probably got. This was gimmicky, not at all catered to personal preferences. Will never purchase another box from this seller nor will I be purchasing from cratejoy whatsoever. That is how bad my experience was. I ordered the box January 8th and received it today February 6th. I expected to recieve it january, I bought it for mine and my wife's anniversary. I even asked to maybe do a small significant note recognizing our 3 years in the box which was nowhere to be found. Disgusted.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 10, 2021

Greetings Blade! We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by this month's theme. Our themes are selected months in advance. We do not offer personalized boxes in our list of offerings, so yes, you did receive the same February shipment as all our other Circle Members. Your package shipped according to the shipping schedule provided at checkout. The customer must provide gift notes at checkout as we do not offer note writing as a part of our services. Blessed Be!

Not worth it...Unresponsive company.

May 26, 2020
Amanda L.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box from Box of Shadows. I would not recommend this box to anyone. I purchased the Initiate Box. The price plus shipping is not worth the value of products. I received a votive holder, votive candle, mini 40 stick incense box, a small piece of selenite and a defective pendant. I emailed the company trying to remedy the defective pendant and my disapproval of the box and I have had no response. I was extremely disappointed and will steer clear of this company and future boxes.

Verified Purchase

Dec 21, 2018
Tonya D.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

Not satisfied at all

Verified Purchase

Reported to BBB

Nov 20, 2018
Katie J.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

So now this company saying I threatened them. I demanded a refund. Sure their policy states no refunds but I didn’t think I would pay $45 for nothing but cheap stuff. What a joke. It’s funny how all their recent reviews are from unsatisfied customers. Karma will get them. Hope they go out of buisiness. Anyone scamming people like this company should be ashamed of themselves. I will not stop warning others

Verified Purchase

Not Worth The $$$

Apr 09, 2018
Tamsen B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Unfortunately I did a 6 month subscription to this service which I regretted by the 3rd or 4th box. I was unable to cancel due to Box of Shadows policy so I was stuck with getting two more boxes and April's was just a huge disappointment, the worst of them all and a total rip-off. These boxes really went downhill during the past six months I had the subscription. The Witches Moon Box is a much better value and also totally "out classes" Box of Shadows.

Verified Purchase

Yikes...

Jun 17, 2020
Cortney R.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I think I've been so spoiled with cheaper boxes that had more products and products of much greater quality that as soon as I opened this box my heart fell. I was really rooting for it, but the items are poorly made and it doesn't feel as though the box has any true rhyme or reason to it. The only thing I see myself using is maybe the rituals on the rather silly glossy paper and the tiny soy candle I received.
There is something so rewarding in opening a box that has gathered items either from other artists who are involved in the Craft or respect it versus items I could purchase at a convenience store or a dollar store, which all have their places, for sure! Unfortunately, it would have been nice to see a little more love in the box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jun 17, 2020

Courtney, we're sorry to hear that our June offering did not reach your expectations. As long time members of the pagan community, we are proud to provide tools & community for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have access to metaphysical stores and resources. Our mission is to provide an experience that is both consistent & beneficial for the path of the practitioner regardless of their level of experience. We deeply regret that this mission wasn't reflected for you. We sincerely hope you find a subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be.

Don't waste your money

Mar 18, 2020
Jordan R.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I'm pretty disappointed. My favorite part of the box was the Modern Magick candle, but everything else was cheap and I could've purchase it for far less than the box total. I'm supposed to be getting my second box soon but I just received an email saying that my order should never have been gone through because they were already at their capacity for orders, which makes no sense because I already received one of my three boxes. They gave me a 40% coupon for my next renewal, even though I already placed a review saying I wouldn't renew so that was also a slap in the face.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed

Mar 14, 2020
Ashley T.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was very disappointed that's all I can say about this box just absolutely disappointing

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 17, 2020

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your March box. It seems we've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Missing Items, NO RESPONSE

Feb 17, 2020
Arin R.
2 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality
Curation

There were two things missing from this box - rose quartz gemstone, rose quartz necklace - that were the two most expensive items from what the list appears to be. I've tried to contact them through CrateJoy as well as their website, and I've had no response. I've tried contacting them several times, and no response. I was really excited about this subscription and signed up for multi-month. I really wish I could take it back and have it returned. It's been a very disappointing experience.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Arin! We're sorry to hear that your box arrived with missing items. In these cases, we are happy to ship replacement items to make up for the oversight. We have reached out to you directly with the next steps in resolving this matter.

Dissappointed

Nov 19, 2018
Valerie T.
6 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

This month's box was pitiful. All the products were cheap and there were not very many. I will be cancelling my subscription.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your November box. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself. Our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Wasn’t impressed

Nov 18, 2018
Caryn T.
9 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall

I’ve tried more than 10 different boxes and had high hopes for this one. There was hardly anything in it.

Verified Purchase

November’s box

Nov 16, 2018
Jodi W.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I ordered the priestess box and have never felt more ripped off than I do right now. Almost $40 and I got a small 6” journal, cheap dragon’s blood incense, a tiny candle, a small bottle of oil, and a pocket cross? This is the worst subscription box I’ve ever received. ☹️

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your November box.
Our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from
mindfully selected worship tools selected from other small, pagan owned
businesses to the carefully researched resources and materials shared in
our tailored Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this
time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Missing items

May 13, 2020
Grace W.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve contacted the seller to try to resolve this, and nothing. I was willing to give them a chance to make up for the missing items right before I gave them a negative review and canceling my subscription. Apparently bad reviews and canceled subscriptions still aren’t worth sending missing items. $43 is a lot of money to spend.. Especially when you don’t get all the items you paid for. EDIT: seller finally reached out to me and did not offer to replace missing item, but to give me a lousy discount on another box. Hell no I wouldn’t do that.. I’m not getting scammed again. Avoid this company like the plague.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We are sorry your box arrived with a missing item and have since reached out to you regarding this issue. We appreciate your patience as it may take up to 24 hours to receive a response from us.

Disapointing

Dec 14, 2019
Angelika D.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was really looking forward, but was disapointed☹

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 15, 2019

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your December box. As you may know, we provide tools for witches of many paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. We always recommend passing these items along to a fellow witch in need. We've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Unfortunate Disappointment

Nov 20, 2018
Megan A.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

I was excited to get the box, till I opened it. The paper quality of the spell was nice and the candle and essential oil wasn’t bad. The most expensive retail item was the journal, it was cute but the incense was cheap and the cross stone I could get at Walmart. This box was a miss, I don’t know if I’ll try it again.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Nov 16, 2018
Christine S.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I bought this as a year subscription as a gift and this last box was an embarrassment. For $45.00 I expect more. How do I get my money back and out of this really bad subscription?

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your November box. Our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We'll be reaching out to you personally regarding our cancellation policy.

Order was sent to wrong address

Nov 15, 2018
Justice S.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I ordered this for my wife, original receipt has my address and they sent it to some random address in Vancouver WA. As I was trying to make contact with the seller about my problem and the next day I was charged for another subscription for next month!! I have not received any help from the seller and this review is so someone will hopefully make contact with me.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 16, 2018

Greetings Justin. We understand your frustration. Last week, we sent out an email to all our Circle Members regarding the shipping delay and advised that many subscriptions would renew before the November boxes arrived. We also provided instruction on how to put the renewal on hold until the current box arrives. As of yesterday, the November boxes have shipped. We will be reaching out to you personally to resolve the address issue.