Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not worth it...Unresponsive company.

May 26, 2020
Amanda L.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box from Box of Shadows. I would not recommend this box to anyone. I purchased the Initiate Box. The price plus shipping is not worth the value of products. I received a votive holder, votive candle, mini 40 stick incense box, a small piece of selenite and a defective pendant. I emailed the company trying to remedy the defective pendant and my disapproval of the box and I have had no response. I was extremely disappointed and will steer clear of this company and future boxes.

Verified Purchase

Yikes...

Jun 17, 2020
Cortney R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I think I've been so spoiled with cheaper boxes that had more products and products of much greater quality that as soon as I opened this box my heart fell. I was really rooting for it, but the items are poorly made and it doesn't feel as though the box has any true rhyme or reason to it. The only thing I see myself using is maybe the rituals on the rather silly glossy paper and the tiny soy candle I received.

There is something so rewarding in opening a box that has gathered items either from other artists who are involved in the Craft or respect it versus items I could purchase at a convenience store or a dollar store, which all have their places, for sure! Unfortunately, it would have been nice to see a little more love in the box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jun 17, 2020

Courtney, we're sorry to hear that our June offering did not reach your expectations. As long time members of the pagan community, we are proud to provide tools & community for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have access to metaphysical stores and resources. Our mission is to provide an experience that is both consistent & beneficial for the path of the practitioner regardless of their level of experience. We deeply regret that this mission wasn't reflected for you. We sincerely hope you find a subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be.

Don't waste your money

Mar 18, 2020
Jordan R.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I'm pretty disappointed. My favorite part of the box was the Modern Magick candle, but everything else was cheap and I could've purchase it for far less than the box total. I'm supposed to be getting my second box soon but I just received an email saying that my order should never have been gone through because they were already at their capacity for orders, which makes no sense because I already received one of my three boxes. They gave me a 40% coupon for my next renewal, even though I already placed a review saying I wouldn't renew so that was also a slap in the face.

Verified Purchase

Missing items

May 13, 2020
Grace W.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve contacted the seller to try to resolve this, and nothing. I was willing to give them a chance to make up for the missing items right before I gave them a negative review and canceling my subscription. Apparently bad reviews and canceled subscriptions still aren’t worth sending missing items. $43 is a lot of money to spend.. Especially when you don’t get all the items you paid for. EDIT: seller finally reached out to me and did not offer to replace missing item, but to give me a lousy discount on another box. Hell no I wouldn’t do that.. I’m not getting scammed again. Avoid this company like the plague.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We are sorry your box arrived with a missing item and have since reached out to you regarding this issue. We appreciate your patience as it may take up to 24 hours to receive a response from us.

not worth the price

Sep 10, 2020
Dorothy D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super over priced box for a few candles, tiny tiny Itty bitty smug stick, a book, a beaded bracelet and fragrance oil (oil website takes you to a dead page so you know this a super cheap discounted oil). Supreme box, over 40 dollars for maybe 15 dollars worth of items. Please do yourself a favor and pick up a different box. You'll be disappointed w this box's items. Tiny tiny, discounted items. Super disappointed i wasted my birthday money on this box. Live and learn I suppose. Learn from my mistake and pick a different box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Sep 11, 2020

We're sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with us. Please feel free to send any notes you have for improving our way. We hope you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your practice. Blessed Be!

Not Worth It

May 21, 2020
Paige R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The quality of these products was incredibly poor. I was so excited to give this box a try! But it couldn’t have been more disappointing.
The items definitely did not match the cost. And they seemed like cheap dollar store items. I wish I’d read more reviews before giving them a try, as I see many other have mentioned the cheap quality.
The box was also missing an item. A memo was sent saying the moonstone didn’t make it in time for packaging. But they never offered to send it later!!!
There are so many better boxes out there. Witches Moon and Tamed Wild are much more respectable companies.
Unless you like feeling like you got scammed, avoid purchasing this box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 21, 2020

Greetings Paige! We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that we missed the mark with you. Regarding the missing moonstone, our email also explained that the gemstone was replaced with a piece of altar decor from our available backstock. Please reach out to us directly if you did not receive the substitute item. We look forward to offering the moonstone in a future box later in the year.

Beware, difficult to cancel.

May 14, 2020
Robin P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Beware! Cratejoy subscription management portal rarely works and you may not be able to cancel without seller help.
I have contacted this seller six times and Cratejoy itself once with NO response. Am therefore unable to cancel this box. Another payment is due tomorrow and I've been trying to cancel for about two weeks now.
I know how to use the manage subscription portal, but there is a banner that doesn't allow one to click the final cancel button.
Has anyone figured a way around this?

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Please know that we've received numerous complaints about subscription terms not being updated on this platform. Cratejoy has not been very helpful in finding a resolution. Your subscription has since been canceled as requested. We ask our subscribers to give us 24 hours to respond to these types of issues.

Ripped Off

May 03, 2020
Kathy M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Paid upfront. Never received anything. Couldn’t cancel subscription. Have no idea how to stop this woman from taking my money.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 05, 2020

Greetings Kathy! In accordance with our shipping schedule, subscription orders placed after April 5th begin their subscriptions with the May box. The May boxes began the processing and shipping phase on May 1st. All packages are scheduled to ship by the 10th. You will receive a shipping confirmation and tracking number by email once your box ships.

Our shipping schedule can be found on our Cratejoy Marketplace listing and in your order confirmation email.

Box of Shadows ships USPS Priority Mail and typically arrives in our Circle Members' (that's you!) mailboxes within 2-3 business days. Please reach out to us directly if you have any other questions or concerns. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Box of the year for 2019?! Why???

Jul 28, 2020
Desi H.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been getting pagan/witch/goddess boxes for over a year now. I have gotten Inked Goddess Creations, Goddess Provisions, The Witches' Moon (Roots), Sacred Space, Sugar Muses just to name a few that I have tried out. This box is by far the WORST box I have ever paid for. The items don't add up to the amount I spent, I got The Supreme Box and it was a huge let down. Came with 5 items that would work better for a beginner, not a well seasoned witch on her path. Please save your money and get one of the other boxes mentented here. It is not worth the $53.00 spent. I have no idea how they got Cratejoy's box of the year for 2019.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 29, 2020

We're sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with us. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your practice. Blessed Be!

Haven't received it

7 days ago
Amber K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I haven't received it as of yet

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...7 days ago

Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do regarding delivery once a package is in the hands of USPS. Due to the current health crisis, many shipping platforms are experiencing delays. Your local post office may be able to provide more information regarding delivery but please reach out to us directly if it does not arrive.