Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not Yet Sure on This One

Feb 15, 2021
Tracy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I am not that impressed with this box compared to other witchy subscription boxes. Unless the contents improve in March, I will probably cancel my subscription. Mislabeled products (January's five finger grass is *not* cinquefoil) and The Seeker's Guide insert misspelled the word "altar" multiple times in February. Meh. I'm hoping for improvement next month.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 15, 2021

Hi Tracy! Thank you for those notes. "Five Finger Grass" is a name that is often used interchangeably with the name Cinquefoil. They are the same herb, and both terms are used in folk magic. We hope that our offerings better meet your expectations going forward. Blessed Be!

Bad service

Dec 21, 2020
Taylor C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly don't buy this, I got the initiate Yule crate and their was hardly anything in it. Not worth it for the price. And then I tried to cancel my subscription and they wouldn't give me a refund because I waited 5 days after receiving the first box to decide I didn't want another one.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 21, 2020

Your Initiate box should have included five items. Please check your items against the contents list to determine whether or not you are missing something. If that is the case, we'd be happy to replace any missing items. Per our policy, all subscription payments are final after 24 hours of subscription renewal or purchase. Subscribers are responsible for keeping track of subscriptions and renewal dates. We make every effort to convey this policy on our listing. Blessed Be!

love the box, just a bit expensive

Dec 15, 2020
Dariela M.
4 Reviews
5 Pictures
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It is very difficult to qualify because I love the things that came in the box, I love the bracelet, the candle is very beautiful and it smells ... I don't want to waste it, but the box is a bit expensive, there are other boxes that give more things and cheaper, I was checking my email and I saw that the membership was renewed and it's fine because I know that the things that you are going to send me, I will love them, but it will be the last box, because it is a little expensive

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 16, 2020

Greetings! We realize that international shipping and VAT fees can be high. As a company, we are always working on ways to lower our shipping costs so that we can pass those savings on to our subscribers. We hope to see you back in our Circle soon.

The seekers guide

Oct 13, 2020
Manuel T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I chose box of shadows because it said for beginners to help collect things for your alter so I was really happy about the tile alter 5 star pentagram but when the email came that there wasn't enough alters to sent me one I was very disappointed and upset..I couldn't believe that there wasn't enough to send me and yes it was replaced by a moonstone by 1 moonstone but it did not feel it was satisfying replaceable

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 16, 2020

We're sorry we disappointed you. We are working very hard to make it up to you next month.

Box Of Shadows.... Supreme

Oct 12, 2020
Haley W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I highly dislike leaving bad reviews... But... after being soooo excited to receive my box, I was extremely bummed when I opened it! The only thing in the box that I am excited about is the Almanac (and maybe the pumpkin spice candle) and I could have bought the Almanac by itself and autographed for a lot less than I paid for the box!! I guess I thought there would be more.... At this point, I dont think I will be ordering again.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 19, 2020

We're sorry to hear that, Haley. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your practice. Blessed Be!

Disappointed

Mar 15, 2019
Kylee F.
2 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I ordered the priestess box. For 35.00 plus shipping I definitely expected more. I got some basil seeds, a small candle, incense, a Jericho flower which I do think is really cool, some tea and a bracelet. I also subscribe to Tamed Wild and I am so much more impressed with them.

Verified Purchase

not satisfied

Jun 12, 2020
Novalee M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

not what I was expecting for the price.

Verified Purchase

Just not impressed. Too much $$

Oct 15, 2019
Christine W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was quite disappointed with this box. I paid $32.99 with tax and shipping, waited for what seemed like over a month to get my box. I guess I subscribed right after last month's window closed. Oh well. After being excited the whole time for this box, I open it and man, the contents of the box really leave something to be desired.
I thought I would be getting a spell candle of some sort, I got wax cubes. Not everyone has a wax warmer. (I do but it broke and I haven't bothered to replace it.) Pretty mundane, your typical sweet pumpkin scent that I hate.
Palo Santo Incense Sticks- I'm sure these are fine.
There was a cinnamon broom which kinda cute.
The crystal that was included doesn't seem to be of very high quality. It looks like its 2 pieces glued together instead of one solid piece.
Then there was a "spell card" to send to someone, thought, I do not know who I would send it to, so this item is kind of lost on me.
All in all, I think I could've found these items myself for less than $20, if I were to have even wanted everything I got in my box. I really thought the items would be more unique or that the box would be everything you need for a ritual that the curators planned.
Oh, and the best part is, I've been waiting for my box to get her so I would know if I wanted to cancel...

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 16, 2019

Greetings Christine! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're sorry we missed the mark with you and hope to make it up to you next month. Typically, boxes arrive a few days before renewal. However, due to the long weekend, some boxes arrived later than normal. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. If your selenite wand arrived damaged, please reach out to us directly via email. We'd be happy to ship you a replacement.

WORST BOX YET

Jul 16, 2019
Robin W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

July 2019 Box
I have been getting this box for 5 months and this was the WORST box of any subscriptions. There were 5 items that I could have purchased for $10 and a bracelet that maybe cost $2.00. I am so disappointed. I will be cancelling!!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 17, 2019

Thanks for reaching out! We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. We work hard to provide a consistent, quality experience each month; from the carefully selected items that go inside to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Please also keep in mind that our offerings are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting these boxes for our Circle Members. Clearly, we've missed the mark with you this time and hope we can make it up to you in the future.

Disappointed

Feb 12, 2019
Paige M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

This box was a hide disappointment for the price. I got a feather with no quill, ink, 4 candles, and a bag of herbs. Not $24 worth.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 13, 2019

Hi! It sounds like some items may be missing from your box. Please check your insert against the items you received.

In the meantime, we will also be reaching out to you personally about this matter.

Disappointed

Oct 15, 2018
Mary S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I was disappointed with this months box. I did not feel it was worth the price. a few candles, a bracelet, a book and a small smudge stick. Did not live up to the price or the 'Supreme' name. The previous two boxes were fantastic.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed by this box.

Jul 19, 2018
Chelsea S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Had 4 items. One a duplicate from last months box. Not very happy this time. Last months was better but still not what I expected. It’s a lot of money for such a small amount of items. I’ll give it another month to see before canceling.

Verified Purchase

Underwhelming

Jul 13, 2018
Shannon P.
11 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

I don't really like to write negative reviews, but I appreciate when people are honest about things so others can take it into account, and also so that maybe the vendors can take it into account. That being said, I subscribed to the highest tier box and just didn't find a connection to anything that was in there. It didn't feel like a cohesive collection; I saw what they were going for, but, for the June box at least, I didn't feel that for the cost that it hit the mark at all as regards the products included.

Verified Purchase

Less than impressed

Jul 12, 2018
Kryslyn K.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Unfortunately, this box is not meeting my expectations. I have received three boxes. None of them were amazing. The most recent was particularly disappointing. It contained tea lights (exact:$4.99 on Etsy), incense (exact:$.63 on Amazon), soap (exact:$3.08 on Amazon), and a keychain (similar:$6.00 on Etsy). At most, the contents of this box cost $15 not $25. Based on the three boxes I have received, I would not recommend this box to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Not worth it

Mar 14, 2018
Tina A.
30 Reviews
27 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

This box was not worth it. It was thrown together. Nothing goes with each other. No info included on any items. Box of shadows , doesnt make sense.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 14, 2018

Greetings Tina, We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your first box. It sounds like you may not have received an insert along with your March box. We are reaching out to you privately with a solution to this issue.

Supreme Tier; Not Worth The Price

May 10, 2018
Allison Z.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I purchased the Supreme tier, being led to think by the pictures that I would receive a large number of full-size items. After all, who wouldn't after spending a whole $45? However, I was pretty disappointed. The box contained only six items! By comparison to other subscription boxes, I find the price to be extreme. I can only imagine what the first tier was like. I received a nice mini chalice in the box, as well as a bottle of bath salts, some incense, a tiny candle, a bloodstone, and an essential oil. I don't feel as though there was much of a theme, or that it was well thought out. And I'm not thrilled about the bath salt (I'd much rather receive a ritual item rather than a cosmetic item). The candle should have been full-size, if anything.
But, bottom line: There should have been a stronger theme, and more items. It was not a cohesive box, and did not deliver for its price point.

Verified Purchase

Not happy or impressed

Jun 11, 2018
Jamie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I’ve never written a review & I’m not one to complain at all but I just received my order & not very happy. First, this month seemed to be geared towards men which is great but I’m not a man. The book is “Sacred Paths for Modern Men” & even in the introduction the author states how frustrated he’s become by constantly being referred to as a woman. It was ironic given my situation w receiving the book for men. I don’t even have anyone I can give the book as a gift. Second, they give 1 small cedar smoke cleansing bundle & 3 different rituals that can be done. At least 1 more bundle might have helped. I will say the bracelet is really nice along w the cedar soap but again it’s very masculine. I loved the Strawberry moon candle but it’s only 2oz. Given it’s the summer solstice I was hoping for things to celebrate that & it’s my birthday. Just not expecting a masculine box & didn’t see it adding up to what’s i paid. Sorry.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jun 12, 2018

Greetings Jamie!

We are sorry to hear that your June Box of Shadows did not live up to your expectations. Our theme this month was "Honoring the Sun Gods". As such, all three box tiers explored the Divine Masculine and its role in pagan paths. This was explained in the June insert that accompanied your box. Please reach out to us with any questions you may have regarding the materials.

Supreme Tier

May 10, 2018
Cindy K.
15 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

This would have been a good box for the first tier. I got bath salts, a votive, incense, roll on oil, HO-HUM. a chalice which was OK & a bloodstone crystal which was cool.
Not worth $45 by any means & nothing different in the first few items that I haven’t gotten in 10 other boxes. I joined the most expensive to make sure I got some of the best stuff that they showed in pictures-sorry to say I got c***.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Mar 10, 2018
Laura L.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall

Paid to try out the priestess subscription. Received a tiny goddess figurine worth maybe a buck. A few little baby candles. Herbal almanac book. Sage smudge stick. Small bunch of lavender incense, dried lavender, a votive and seeds. No way this is worth $45. Also didn't feel it was very creative or with much variety. I tried a few different "witches boxes" so far this is the worst. Wish I had splurged on the higher level of a different box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Extremely disappointed in April Box!

Apr 09, 2018
Jamie O.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days