Box of Shadows

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!
559 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.24/ month

Buying Options

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review
559

Synthetic is not the way to go

Apr 21, 2021
Jennifer T.
8 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The synthetic crystal bracelet was why I canceled the box, seriously I get these boxes to grow my crystal collection and I am sure that I have received synthetic crystals before (to save money) but to leave the sticker on it and have that be the calling card for the box was not worth the cost of the box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 22, 2021

Greetings Jennifer! Synthetic gemstones share all chemical, optical, and physical characteristics of their natural counterparts. These stones are formed under the same or similar conditions that produce natural gemstones and are often used to replicate rare or otherwise prohibitively expensive gems. In order to expose our Circle to a wider variety of gemstones, we sometimes choose the most cost-effective option. We appreciate your understanding.

Not worth the price

Apr 12, 2021
Forest J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Just not worth the price :(

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 15, 2021

We're sorry to hear that you feel this way. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve our Circle Members' experience, please reach out to us directly. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be!

Meh. No thanks.

Apr 01, 2021
Amanda M.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I did not feel like the quality of products was worth the price. I could go to the dollar store and find a plastic bottle of hot pink rose water. The incense powder does smell nice so that one is a plus.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 05, 2021

Hi Amanda! We're sorry to hear that Box of Shadows wasn't a good fit for your practice. If you have any notes about how we can improve our curation in the future, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Not Yet Sure on This One

Feb 15, 2021
Tracy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I am not that impressed with this box compared to other witchy subscription boxes. Unless the contents improve in March, I will probably cancel my subscription. Mislabeled products (January's five finger grass is *not* cinquefoil) and The Seeker's Guide insert misspelled the word "altar" multiple times in February. Meh. I'm hoping for improvement next month.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 15, 2021

Hi Tracy! Thank you for those notes. "Five Finger Grass" is a name that is often used interchangeably with the name Cinquefoil. They are the same herb, and both terms are used in folk magic. We hope that our offerings better meet your expectations going forward. Blessed Be!

Bad service

Dec 21, 2020
Taylor C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly don't buy this, I got the initiate Yule crate and their was hardly anything in it. Not worth it for the price. And then I tried to cancel my subscription and they wouldn't give me a refund because I waited 5 days after receiving the first box to decide I didn't want another one.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 21, 2020

Your Initiate box should have included five items. Please check your items against the contents list to determine whether or not you are missing something. If that is the case, we'd be happy to replace any missing items. Per our policy, all subscription payments are final after 24 hours of subscription renewal or purchase. Subscribers are responsible for keeping track of subscriptions and renewal dates. We make every effort to convey this policy on our listing. Blessed Be!

Disappointed

Mar 15, 2019
Kylee F.
2 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I ordered the priestess box. For 35.00 plus shipping I definitely expected more. I got some basil seeds, a small candle, incense, a Jericho flower which I do think is really cool, some tea and a bracelet. I also subscribe to Tamed Wild and I am so much more impressed with them.

Verified Purchase

not satisfied

Jun 12, 2020
Novalee M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

not what I was expecting for the price.

Verified Purchase

Just not impressed. Too much $$

Oct 15, 2019
Christine W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was quite disappointed with this box. I paid $32.99 with tax and shipping, waited for what seemed like over a month to get my box. I guess I subscribed right after last month's window closed. Oh well. After being excited the whole time for this box, I open it and man, the contents of the box really leave something to be desired.
I thought I would be getting a spell candle of some sort, I got wax cubes. Not everyone has a wax warmer. (I do but it broke and I haven't bothered to replace it.) Pretty mundane, your typical sweet pumpkin scent that I hate.
Palo Santo Incense Sticks- I'm sure these are fine.
There was a cinnamon broom which kinda cute.
The crystal that was included doesn't seem to be of very high quality. It looks like its 2 pieces glued together instead of one solid piece.
Then there was a "spell card" to send to someone, thought, I do not know who I would send it to, so this item is kind of lost on me.
All in all, I think I could've found these items myself for less than $20, if I were to have even wanted everything I got in my box. I really thought the items would be more unique or that the box would be everything you need for a ritual that the curators planned.
Oh, and the best part is, I've been waiting for my box to get her so I would know if I wanted to cancel...

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 16, 2019

Greetings Christine! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're sorry we missed the mark with you and hope to make it up to you next month. Typically, boxes arrive a few days before renewal. However, due to the long weekend, some boxes arrived later than normal. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. If your selenite wand arrived damaged, please reach out to us directly via email. We'd be happy to ship you a replacement.

WORST BOX YET

Jul 16, 2019
Robin W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

July 2019 Box
I have been getting this box for 5 months and this was the WORST box of any subscriptions. There were 5 items that I could have purchased for $10 and a bracelet that maybe cost $2.00. I am so disappointed. I will be cancelling!!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 17, 2019

Thanks for reaching out! We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. We work hard to provide a consistent, quality experience each month; from the carefully selected items that go inside to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Please also keep in mind that our offerings are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting these boxes for our Circle Members. Clearly, we've missed the mark with you this time and hope we can make it up to you in the future.

Disappointed

Feb 12, 2019
Paige M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

This box was a hide disappointment for the price. I got a feather with no quill, ink, 4 candles, and a bag of herbs. Not $24 worth.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 13, 2019

Hi! It sounds like some items may be missing from your box. Please check your insert against the items you received.

In the meantime, we will also be reaching out to you personally about this matter.

Disappointed

Oct 15, 2018
Mary S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I was disappointed with this months box. I did not feel it was worth the price. a few candles, a bracelet, a book and a small smudge stick. Did not live up to the price or the 'Supreme' name. The previous two boxes were fantastic.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed by this box.

Jul 19, 2018
Chelsea S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Had 4 items. One a duplicate from last months box. Not very happy this time. Last months was better but still not what I expected. It’s a lot of money for such a small amount of items. I’ll give it another month to see before canceling.

Verified Purchase

Underwhelming

Jul 13, 2018
Shannon P.
11 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

I don't really like to write negative reviews, but I appreciate when people are honest about things so others can take it into account, and also so that maybe the vendors can take it into account. That being said, I subscribed to the highest tier box and just didn't find a connection to anything that was in there. It didn't feel like a cohesive collection; I saw what they were going for, but, for the June box at least, I didn't feel that for the cost that it hit the mark at all as regards the products included.

Verified Purchase

Less than impressed

Jul 12, 2018
Kryslyn K.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Unfortunately, this box is not meeting my expectations. I have received three boxes. None of them were amazing. The most recent was particularly disappointing. It contained tea lights (exact:$4.99 on Etsy), incense (exact:$.63 on Amazon), soap (exact:$3.08 on Amazon), and a keychain (similar:$6.00 on Etsy). At most, the contents of this box cost $15 not $25. Based on the three boxes I have received, I would not recommend this box to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Not worth it

Mar 14, 2018
Tina A.
29 Reviews
35 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

This box was not worth it. It was thrown together. Nothing goes with each other. No info included on any items. Box of shadows , doesnt make sense.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 14, 2018

Greetings Tina, We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your first box. It sounds like you may not have received an insert along with your March box. We are reaching out to you privately with a solution to this issue.

Supreme Tier; Not Worth The Price

May 10, 2018
Allison Z.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I purchased the Supreme tier, being led to think by the pictures that I would receive a large number of full-size items. After all, who wouldn't after spending a whole $45? However, I was pretty disappointed. The box contained only six items! By comparison to other subscription boxes, I find the price to be extreme. I can only imagine what the first tier was like. I received a nice mini chalice in the box, as well as a bottle of bath salts, some incense, a tiny candle, a bloodstone, and an essential oil. I don't feel as though there was much of a theme, or that it was well thought out. And I'm not thrilled about the bath salt (I'd much rather receive a ritual item rather than a cosmetic item). The candle should have been full-size, if anything.
But, bottom line: There should have been a stronger theme, and more items. It was not a cohesive box, and did not deliver for its price point.

Verified Purchase

Not happy or impressed

Jun 11, 2018
Jamie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I’ve never written a review & I’m not one to complain at all but I just received my order & not very happy. First, this month seemed to be geared towards men which is great but I’m not a man. The book is “Sacred Paths for Modern Men” & even in the introduction the author states how frustrated he’s become by constantly being referred to as a woman. It was ironic given my situation w receiving the book for men. I don’t even have anyone I can give the book as a gift. Second, they give 1 small cedar smoke cleansing bundle & 3 different rituals that can be done. At least 1 more bundle might have helped. I will say the bracelet is really nice along w the cedar soap but again it’s very masculine. I loved the Strawberry moon candle but it’s only 2oz. Given it’s the summer solstice I was hoping for things to celebrate that & it’s my birthday. Just not expecting a masculine box & didn’t see it adding up to what’s i paid. Sorry.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jun 12, 2018

Greetings Jamie!

We are sorry to hear that your June Box of Shadows did not live up to your expectations. Our theme this month was "Honoring the Sun Gods". As such, all three box tiers explored the Divine Masculine and its role in pagan paths. This was explained in the June insert that accompanied your box. Please reach out to us with any questions you may have regarding the materials.

Supreme Tier

May 10, 2018
Cindy K.
12 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

This would have been a good box for the first tier. I got bath salts, a votive, incense, roll on oil, HO-HUM. a chalice which was OK & a bloodstone crystal which was cool.
Not worth $45 by any means & nothing different in the first few items that I haven’t gotten in 10 other boxes. I joined the most expensive to make sure I got some of the best stuff that they showed in pictures-sorry to say I got c***.

Verified Purchase

Box Great, Customer Svc Lacks

Dec 23, 2016
Amanjena G.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

I enjoyed the Yule themed box I received. I ordered the Supreme level. I was shocked to find an entire set of bloodstone runes in there. They were actually something I've been wanting. What is included every month is also great (i.e. candles, smudge stick, incense).
HOWEVER, the customer services was seriously lacking. I emailed them directly and thru cratejoy half a dozen times with questions and NEVER received a response.
One of my questions was on payment and shipping. I paid for in middle of Nov to receive the December box. It charged my account right away. But never got an email or anything saying welcome or when my box would ship. I had to do some serious digging online and finding others who receive the box in order to get some answers. Since my emails weren't answered. Due to that I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Ok

Feb 12, 2017
Kathern N.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Just a few small candles, herb, tiny incense, smudge, and some kind of chap stick. Not something I'll order again. I was disappointed

Verified Purchase

Not well thought out

Aug 08, 2017
Linda S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

The items were not well packaged and were very poor quality. This box is NOT worth the money. Items did not appear to be well thought out, organized, or explained. I do not recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Mar 10, 2018
Laura L.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall

Paid to try out the priestess subscription. Received a tiny goddess figurine worth maybe a buck. A few little baby candles. Herbal almanac book. Sage smudge stick. Small bunch of lavender incense, dried lavender, a votive and seeds. No way this is worth $45. Also didn't feel it was very creative or with much variety. I tried a few different "witches boxes" so far this is the worst. Wish I had splurged on the higher level of a different box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Extremely disappointed in April Box!

Apr 09, 2018
Jamie O.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

I received my first box for April. I received what to me looks like only about $20 worth of items. For the $48 price tag I was very disappointed and canceled my subscription immediately.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Always beautiful

Jan 30, 2018
Jennifer R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Iv received my 6th box and each and every month the box is amazing with wonderful items and info

Verified Purchase

Last straw..

May 08, 2018
Carmen L.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Was not impressed. I have been receiving the Box of Shadows for over a year and though when I first started to receive my boxes I was overly excited, the past five month the excitement has dwindled. Its actually disappointing. I just do not understand why the revamp?

Verified Purchase