Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

not satisfied

Jun 12, 2020
Novalee M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

not what I was expecting for the price.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

May 14, 2020
Haley G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was fairly disappointed with the items in the box considering how much I paid for it, I wouldn't say it was worth the money. I also tried to get a refund multiple times before my box was shipped and the seller wouldn't respond to me. Boo.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We provide tools for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Disappointed

Mar 15, 2019
Kylee F.
2 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I ordered the priestess box. For 35.00 plus shipping I definitely expected more. I got some basil seeds, a small candle, incense, a Jericho flower which I do think is really cool, some tea and a bracelet. I also subscribe to Tamed Wild and I am so much more impressed with them.

Verified Purchase

Just not impressed. Too much $$

Oct 15, 2019
Christine W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was quite disappointed with this box. I paid $32.99 with tax and shipping, waited for what seemed like over a month to get my box. I guess I subscribed right after last month's window closed. Oh well. After being excited the whole time for this box, I open it and man, the contents of the box really leave something to be desired.

I thought I would be getting a spell candle of some sort, I got wax cubes. Not everyone has a wax warmer. (I do but it broke and I haven't bothered to replace it.) Pretty mundane, your typical sweet pumpkin scent that I hate.

Palo Santo Incense Sticks- I'm sure these are fine.

There was a cinnamon broom which kinda cute.

The crystal that was included doesn't seem to be of very high quality. It looks like its 2 pieces glued together instead of one solid piece.

Then there was a "spell card" to send to someone, thought, I do not know who I would send it to, so this item is kind of lost on me.

All in all, I think I could've found these items myself for less than $20, if I were to have even wanted everything I got in my box. I really thought the items would be more unique or that the box would be everything you need for a ritual that the curators planned.

Oh, and the best part is, I've been waiting for my box to get her so I would know if I wanted to cancel...

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 16, 2019

Greetings Christine! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're sorry we missed the mark with you and hope to make it up to you next month. Typically, boxes arrive a few days before renewal. However, due to the long weekend, some boxes arrived later than normal. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. If your selenite wand arrived damaged, please reach out to us directly via email. We'd be happy to ship you a replacement.

WORST BOX YET

Jul 16, 2019
Robin W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

July 2019 Box
I have been getting this box for 5 months and this was the WORST box of any subscriptions. There were 5 items that I could have purchased for $10 and a bracelet that maybe cost $2.00. I am so disappointed. I will be cancelling!!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 17, 2019

Thanks for reaching out! We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. We work hard to provide a consistent, quality experience each month; from the carefully selected items that go inside to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Please also keep in mind that our offerings are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting these boxes for our Circle Members. Clearly, we've missed the mark with you this time and hope we can make it up to you in the future.

Disappointed

Feb 12, 2019
Paige M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

This box was a hide disappointment for the price. I got a feather with no quill, ink, 4 candles, and a bag of herbs. Not $24 worth.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 13, 2019

Hi! It sounds like some items may be missing from your box. Please check your insert against the items you received.

In the meantime, we will also be reaching out to you personally about this matter.

Disappointed

Oct 15, 2018
Mary S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I was disappointed with this months box. I did not feel it was worth the price. a few candles, a bracelet, a book and a small smudge stick. Did not live up to the price or the 'Supreme' name. The previous two boxes were fantastic.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed by this box.

Jul 19, 2018
Chelsea S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Had 4 items. One a duplicate from last months box. Not very happy this time. Last months was better but still not what I expected. It’s a lot of money for such a small amount of items. I’ll give it another month to see before canceling.

Verified Purchase

Underwhelming

Jul 13, 2018
Shannon P.
11 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

I don't really like to write negative reviews, but I appreciate when people are honest about things so others can take it into account, and also so that maybe the vendors can take it into account. That being said, I subscribed to the highest tier box and just didn't find a connection to anything that was in there. It didn't feel like a cohesive collection; I saw what they were going for, but, for the June box at least, I didn't feel that for the cost that it hit the mark at all as regards the products included.

Verified Purchase

Less than impressed

Jul 12, 2018
Kryslyn K.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Unfortunately, this box is not meeting my expectations. I have received three boxes. None of them were amazing. The most recent was particularly disappointing. It contained tea lights (exact:$4.99 on Etsy), incense (exact:$.63 on Amazon), soap (exact:$3.08 on Amazon), and a keychain (similar:$6.00 on Etsy). At most, the contents of this box cost $15 not $25. Based on the three boxes I have received, I would not recommend this box to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Last straw..

May 08, 2018
Carmen L.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Was not impressed. I have been receiving the Box of Shadows for over a year and though when I first started to receive my boxes I was overly excited, the past five month the excitement has dwindled. Its actually disappointing. I just do not understand why the revamp?

Verified Purchase

Supreme Tier; Not Worth The Price

May 10, 2018
Allison Z.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I purchased the Supreme tier, being led to think by the pictures that I would receive a large number of full-size items. After all, who wouldn't after spending a whole $45? However, I was pretty disappointed. The box contained only six items! By comparison to other subscription boxes, I find the price to be extreme. I can only imagine what the first tier was like. I received a nice mini chalice in the box, as well as a bottle of bath salts, some incense, a tiny candle, a bloodstone, and an essential oil. I don't feel as though there was much of a theme, or that it was well thought out. And I'm not thrilled about the bath salt (I'd much rather receive a ritual item rather than a cosmetic item). The candle should have been full-size, if anything.

But, bottom line: There should have been a stronger theme, and more items. It was not a cohesive box, and did not deliver for its price point.

Verified Purchase

Not happy or impressed

Jun 11, 2018
Jamie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I’ve never written a review & I’m not one to complain at all but I just received my order & not very happy. First, this month seemed to be geared towards men which is great but I’m not a man. The book is “Sacred Paths for Modern Men” & even in the introduction the author states how frustrated he’s become by constantly being referred to as a woman. It was ironic given my situation w receiving the book for men. I don’t even have anyone I can give the book as a gift. Second, they give 1 small cedar smoke cleansing bundle & 3 different rituals that can be done. At least 1 more bundle might have helped. I will say the bracelet is really nice along w the cedar soap but again it’s very masculine. I loved the Strawberry moon candle but it’s only 2oz. Given it’s the summer solstice I was hoping for things to celebrate that & it’s my birthday. Just not expecting a masculine box & didn’t see it adding up to what’s i paid. Sorry.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jun 12, 2018

Greetings Jamie!

We are sorry to hear that your June Box of Shadows did not live up to your expectations. Our theme this month was "Honoring the Sun Gods". As such, all three box tiers explored the Divine Masculine and its role in pagan paths. This was explained in the June insert that accompanied your box. Please reach out to us with any questions you may have regarding the materials.

Supreme Tier

May 10, 2018
Cindy K.
15 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

This would have been a good box for the first tier. I got bath salts, a votive, incense, roll on oil, HO-HUM. a chalice which was OK & a bloodstone crystal which was cool.
Not worth $45 by any means & nothing different in the first few items that I haven’t gotten in 10 other boxes. I joined the most expensive to make sure I got some of the best stuff that they showed in pictures-sorry to say I got c***.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed in April Box!

Apr 09, 2018
Jamie O.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

I received my first box for April. I received what to me looks like only about $20 worth of items. For the $48 price tag I was very disappointed and canceled my subscription immediately.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Always beautiful

Jan 30, 2018
Jennifer R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Iv received my 6th box and each and every month the box is amazing with wonderful items and info

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Mar 14, 2018
Tina A.
28 Reviews
21 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

This box was not worth it. It was thrown together. Nothing goes with each other. No info included on any items. Box of shadows , doesnt make sense.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 14, 2018

Greetings Tina, We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your first box. It sounds like you may not have received an insert along with your March box. We are reaching out to you privately with a solution to this issue.

Box Great, Customer Svc Lacks

Dec 23, 2016
Amanjena G.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

I enjoyed the Yule themed box I received. I ordered the Supreme level. I was shocked to find an entire set of bloodstone runes in there. They were actually something I've been wanting. What is included every month is also great (i.e. candles, smudge stick, incense).

HOWEVER, the customer services was seriously lacking. I emailed them directly and thru cratejoy half a dozen times with questions and NEVER received a response.

One of my questions was on payment and shipping. I paid for in middle of Nov to receive the December box. It charged my account right away. But never got an email or anything saying welcome or when my box would ship. I had to do some serious digging online and finding others who receive the box in order to get some answers. Since my emails weren't answered. Due to that I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Ok

Feb 12, 2017
Kathern N.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Just a few small candles, herb, tiny incense, smudge, and some kind of chap stick. Not something I'll order again. I was disappointed

Verified Purchase

Not well thought out

Aug 08, 2017
Linda S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

The items were not well packaged and were very poor quality. This box is NOT worth the money. Items did not appear to be well thought out, organized, or explained. I do not recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Mar 10, 2018
Laura L.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall

Paid to try out the priestess subscription. Received a tiny goddess figurine worth maybe a buck. A few little baby candles. Herbal almanac book. Sage smudge stick. Small bunch of lavender incense, dried lavender, a votive and seeds. No way this is worth $45. Also didn't feel it was very creative or with much variety. I tried a few different "witches boxes" so far this is the worst. Wish I had splurged on the higher level of a different box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Disappointing.

Dec 13, 2019
Meghan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days