Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not worth it for the $

Jul 13, 2019
Rebecca F.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
37 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I would not get this box again. I got the Priestess tier, meaning the middle of the 3 options.
- The items themselves were *fine*. Nothing special.
-4 Tea lights candles
- 1 Lammas soy candle (2 oz)
- Yerba Santa bundle
- 1 Citrine bracelet which was kind of nice
- 1 book I've never heard of but will probably read.
- A brief spell outline for Lammas
With a generous estimate on prices, this comes up to WELL below what I paid. The theme was vague but ok.
I'd recommend this if you are a total newbie and have money to burn. I've heard better reviews from the 3rd (top) tier, but that is much too expensive to risk. There are other boxes I LOVE that do not have the same problems.

Verified Purchase

Wasn’t what i expected

7 days ago
Joyce G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

i thought it was a bigger box and from the information i thought there was more items that come in the box. the subscription price is way too high for the small amount of items compared to other boxes

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...4 days ago

The Box of Shadows team works hard to provide a quality experience each month. We are sorry to hear that we missed the mark with you. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs.

Some repeats...

7 days ago
Laura C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It was lovely, however, there were some repeat items due to its proximity to the same curation in a similar box I subscribe to.

Verified Purchase

Giving another chance.

Dec 01, 2020
Lee M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I want to Lille this subscription. Had some issues with getting a response from the seller.. They have responded now. I know it’s a busy season and I can move past my initial negative experience. I really want this subscription to work, giving it a second chance. I’m sure all will be better. 🙏🏻

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 01, 2020

Thanks for reaching out. We apologize for the delayed response. Due to the busyness of the holiday season, we are responding to emails a bit slower than normal. We have since responded to your concerns directly. Please pay close attention to the shipping schedule included in that email. We appreciate your patience and thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Great for a starter

Nov 26, 2020
Amanda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just wish it had more rituals or candles. Things you can actually learn to use. I mainly got decorations and some incense. I’m grateful but I think it could be better.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 03, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Amanda! Multiple rituals and a candle of some type can be found in our offerings almost every month. We try not to overwhelm our Circle Members with items of the same kind so, if you did not receive a candle in November, you are almost certain to receive one in your December offering.

We'll see how the next one is.

Nov 20, 2020
Evelyn S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been unsure of this box. I've received 2 and each time I think "well, we'll see how the next one is, maybe I'll unsubscribe after." I didn't like receiving an item from a closed practice, and I'm still kinda salty about receiving a piece of moonstone instead of an alter tile. I loved the chamomile, and now I'm having a hard time even remembering what else I was sent. We'll see how the next one is.

Verified Purchase

Better in my dreams

Nov 20, 2020
Jacee C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box was nicely packaged. However, the items I received didn't really seem that useful for my altar or supplies. A bracelet of amethyst, an oil burner with oil, and insence. I was hoping with this subscription I would be able to add different items to my sacred spaces and altar. Instead I have a bracelet, an oil burner, and more inscences. Furthermore, my box was dream themed and said it contained a package of chamomile but I actually had a package of raspberry leaf. I actually liked this as I have plenty of chamomile but no raspberry leaf. I only wish I could have had a nice explanation of it like the chamomile. Nice outside of the 7 typos in the letter. I can understand that a dream theme box could be harder to curate, and there's only so many themes to choose from, so I'm waiting for my next box to decide to keep or go. I'm hoping this was a one off and will update either way so you can have an accurate opinion before buying and the seller can have accurate information to grow.

Verified Purchase

Lots of room for improvement

Nov 18, 2020
Ej E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Lots of room for improvement. First box I got was pretty good, save for a last minute substitution due to supply issues, but the second box was really disappointing. Overpriced for what was received, missing items, very cheap quality items.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 18, 2020

We appreciate your feedback and hope that we'll have the chance to make it up to you next month. Blessed be!

Not worth it :(

Nov 18, 2020
Grace A.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribe to a number of witchy boxes (tamed wild, box of shadows, the witches moon) but this box was honestly a huge let down, they’re just not consistent at all, I loved the Samhain box that included some amazing goodies but I just receive my November box and It feels like someone went into a dollar general and threw stuff in a box, 2 packs of incense, a wax warmer, a fragrance oil, and an amethyst bracelet. Not worth the money sadly :(

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 18, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you settle on a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed be!

Ok...

Feb 14, 2019
Ann M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Not worth 53.00. The seller is good to work with. My oil warmer arrived broken and they are replacing it. But as for the other crystals, they are pretty and nice, but I could stop in to the local shop and get them much cheaper. For that price, I was hoping for something more unique & original.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 15, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your February box.

Our team works really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from carefully curated altar tools to all the information and workings included in our monthly Seeker's Guide. In a path as vast as paganism, we are aware that it is not possible to please every Circle Member each month. However, we strive to provide tools that are both high quality and useful to the practitioners we serve.

While we've clearly missed the mark with you this time, we hope the Box of Shadows team has the chance to make it up to you in the future.

Broken items and never got a reply 😢

Feb 14, 2020
Raven R.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was so excited to get this box as I already subscribe to the other 2 they curate. The curation of this box was ok - nowhere near the quality of the other 2. Unfortunately 2 of the items in my box arrived completely damaged- a rose quartz necklace and a Fluorite heart. I messaged several times to try to get a replacement perhaps and never heard back. Unfortunately I had to cancel my subscription 😢

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Raven! Sorry for our delay in responding. We had been away from the office during the holiday weekend but we will be reaching out to you directly regarding this matter.

Not upset I tried but won't order again

Sep 15, 2019
Larissa A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not the best quality of amethyst. It's was cute and I could use the candles but I have enough incense and the bowl is random. Won't be ordering again

Verified Purchase

It’s not for me

Sep 13, 2019
Mary S.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping