Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as $21.24 / month

Box of Shadows reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not worth it for the $

Jul 13, 2019
Rebecca F.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
27 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I would not get this box again. I got the Priestess tier, meaning the middle of the 3 options.
- The items themselves were *fine*. Nothing special.
-4 Tea lights candles
- 1 Lammas soy candle (2 oz)
- Yerba Santa bundle
- 1 Citrine bracelet which was kind of nice
- 1 book I've never heard of but will probably read.
- A brief spell outline for Lammas

With a generous estimate on prices, this comes up to WELL below what I paid. The theme was vague but ok.

I'd recommend this if you are a total newbie and have money to burn. I've heard better reviews from the 3rd (top) tier, but that is much too expensive to risk. There are other boxes I LOVE that do not have the same problems.

Verified Purchase

Broken items and never got a reply 😢

Feb 14, 2020
Raven R.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was so excited to get this box as I already subscribe to the other 2 they curate. The curation of this box was ok - nowhere near the quality of the other 2. Unfortunately 2 of the items in my box arrived completely damaged- a rose quartz necklace and a Fluorite heart. I messaged several times to try to get a replacement perhaps and never heard back. Unfortunately I had to cancel my subscription 😢

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Raven! Sorry for our delay in responding. We had been away from the office during the holiday weekend but we will be reaching out to you directly regarding this matter.

Was Expecting More

May 21, 2020
Rhianna J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered in April and got it mid May. I must say, I was expecting more for the price of the supreme box but nonetheless I enjoyed the products. In my opinion it could contain a few more goodies for the price. I got a small goddess statue, a selenite athame, a book, a roller oil, and some sample incense. The quality of each product was wonderful, except for some chips in the athame, but I'm not complaining, as that is what I was most excited about. Overall it was a nice box but for the small amount for the price I think this will be reserved for an occasional treat for myself, as opposed to subscribing, as much as I would love to. Another note to add, was that I was looking forward to the chime candles and sage, as the website clearly stated that the May box would contain it, but when I reached out saying my box lacked that they said that it was sent in April box. I feel like that should have been stated on the website as I was really looking forward to those...

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 21, 2020

Greetings Rhianna! Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we did put the chime candles and sage in the April boxes, ahead of the posted schedule. This was an oversight on our part and we greatly apologize for the confusion. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

BOX<$

May 16, 2020
Brenna B.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Nice products well but together but not enough product for the price. The items were well under what i invested. And on that note add your $8 shipping. TOO EXPENSIVE

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! As you may know, we provide tools for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. That being said, our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself.  If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Is it worth it?

Mar 16, 2020
Kari S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I like what I got, but could've been better, I dont feel like it was worth the money paid. Items were small in size and dont feel like a complete spell.

Verified Purchase

No satisfied at all

Jan 16, 2020
Angela F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Two boxes now and no stones to speak of or even 1 crystal....paper flower ornaments and a blank journal, cheap candles...no not happy for the $52 I paid for each box, it's getting cancelled!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2020

Greetings Angela! Gemstone sourcing is currently a hot environmental topic right now. While it is challenging to ensure stones are sourced ethically, we do try to offer fairly-traded, semi-precious stones to our subscribers when we can. Due to the nature of the industry, we do not promise a raw or tumbled crystal in every box. As you stated, the December Supreme box did not include gemstones. However, a Sodalite bracelet did appear in our January offering. We've missed the mark with you this time, but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future. If you have any other notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Blessed Be!

Disappointed

May 13, 2020
Emily T.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I waited almost 2 months for my box and when I finally got it today the candle was broken. Beyond disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings Emily! We will be reaching out to you directly regarding the broken item. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Missing Moonstone

May 11, 2020
Bri E.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

While the quality is good, I seem to be missing the moonstone that was promised in this box. I probably won't read the book as it isn't up my alley, but such is the thing with these sorts of things.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greeting Bri! Thank you for your review. A memo regarding the moonstone was sent out early last week. Please reach out to us directly if you have further questions.

Ok...

Feb 14, 2019
Ann M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Not worth 53.00. The seller is good to work with. My oil warmer arrived broken and they are replacing it. But as for the other crystals, they are pretty and nice, but I could stop in to the local shop and get them much cheaper. For that price, I was hoping for something more unique & original.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 15, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your February box.

Our team works really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from carefully curated altar tools to all the information and workings included in our monthly Seeker's Guide. In a path as vast as paganism, we are aware that it is not possible to please every Circle Member each month. However, we strive to provide tools that are both high quality and useful to the practitioners we serve.

While we've clearly missed the mark with you this time, we hope the Box of Shadows team has the chance to make it up to you in the future.

Not upset I tried but won't order again

Sep 15, 2019
Larissa A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not the best quality of amethyst. It's was cute and I could use the candles but I have enough incense and the bowl is random. Won't be ordering again

Verified Purchase

It’s not for me

Sep 13, 2019
Mary S.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The items are very nice. It is packaged carefully. However, for the price I paid I could have gotten the items myself and paid much less than what I paid for the box. I gave this box a try but will not be renewing.

Verified Purchase