Monthly clues-and-hints box packed with excitement, great for a games' night or rainy afternoon!

Plans as low as £22.50 GBP / month

Boxed Locks reviewsReviews

Write a Review

We really enjoy it

Apr 14, 2019
Mathieu R.
1 Review
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

We are having fun every month to solve these enigma and discover what is hidden in the chest. The chest is always really pretty, simple but following the theme of the month. Can't wait for the next one every time.
The enigma are challenging but not too difficult. We scratch our heads on some of them but most of the time proudly finish without needing hints even if it means finishing the box in 2 and a half hours...
We love it !

Verified Purchase

Great idea, great fun and so clever!

Jan 02, 2019
Jamie B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

We have done every box that has been released so far. It's a great date night to have at home - there is something for everyone! Certain parts I find difficult (like origami) my partner loves. Each box is so well thought out and every angle is covered with the hint sheet if you get a little stuck. I can't recommend these boxes highly enough! I hope they continue long into the future!

Verified Purchase

Great game

Jan 02, 2019
V T.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Played over Christmas with 4 of us. Really enjoyed, lots of different kinds of puzzles and creative ideas.

Verified Purchase

Box 2 even better than 1

Jul 28, 2018
Craig J.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I always fear when a new product has a great launch, I worry that all their ideas have been front loaded and used up and they have nothing left to offer. Having received box 2 yesterday I’m ecstatic to announce that Boxed Locks 2 takes the concept to another level. There’s an interesting narrative....there’s a vast array of different puzzles, ranging from the simple to the hard as nails (and one of which makes you clap when you realise the trick)...there’s an evolution of the hint system should you need it....and there’s a narrative payoff right at the end that’s a beautiful capstone on the experience. Unreservedly recommended.

Verified Purchase

Amazing quality

Jul 16, 2019
Alistair C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you want an immaculately presented puzzle every month, then this is for you! A lot of thought goes into these boxes, and all the clues and material is of high quality. However, as much as we love these boxes, we do not know exactly how long we will be continuing (mainly due to price). It's a lot cheaper than an actual Escape Room, but I think if it was ever possible and if subscriptions ever built up enough then a £15 price point (plus £3 shipping) would be much better! But hey, the quality is amazing (and in some respects, you get what you pay for). Just hope we are able to continue for a while longer, but it will be fun to return to this if we can't!

Verified Purchase

Aug 29, 2018
Laura S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

Bought a box as my dad's birthday present. Nothing was too much trouble for this company and even personalised it inside for free. This was a lovely extra touch which my dad was really pleased with.
They both thoroughly enjoyed playing the box. All the ideas were well thought out and worked well. Took them about 2 hours to complete. We would all highly recommend these boxes and will be buying more in the future.

Verified Purchase

Lovely well thought through puzzle box

Jul 29, 2020
Sarah R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Oh my goodness so much time goes into this! It’s really well thought through and it keeps us entertained for a couple of hours. We haven’t managed a box yet without having to use a clue - but get very excited when we solve them ourselves! We took a little break from subscription but will be back after we finish our last box!

Verified Purchase

Absolutely brilliant!

May 29, 2018
Casey H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Me and my partner bought the first boxed lock for a date night with a difference; and it certainly delivered! having done many escape rooms before we where initially afraid we would find the game too boring/easy, we where amazed however to find how entertaining this was! It has been so cleverly thought out we where engaged from start to finish (2 1/2 hours!) It even managed to suck my parents in who couldn't help themselves and ended up playing alongside us! Would recommend to anyone to play and we can't wait until our next box arrives! Thank you boxed locks for giving us a new monthly game night that we love!

Verified Purchase

A well rounded escape box game

Aug 02, 2018
Shaundra T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Theme and Appearance:
From the moment I opened locked boxes's first box, I was enamoured by the level of detail and attention given to this box. The theme is Pirates. Who doesn't love pirates? It wasn't even super pirate-y but enough that I enjoyed the theme to make itself unique. The box, the dice, the prize, all fit well into the Theme. I give it a 9/10 on theme. The next one is a dollhouse. I'm in! and thankful that so many of the science fiction escape rooms are not as big of an element here. There's only so many secret labs I can and want to escape from. That's what for me sets Locked Boxed escape rooms apart: Fantasy themes. I hope they continue is this vein of themes.
Game Play
My group of 4 people sat down and it took us about 1.5 hrs to finish the game. We enjoyed how the game started off easy, falsifying our confidence and then hitting us with a hard puzzle or two. Part of the reason it took us so long is that we are a stubborn group who demands exploring all options before accepting we needed a hint. For the most part I enjoyed the game play. The rules were well laid out aside from the "shelter" puzzle of box 1 where we were uncertain how to proceed. Despite that, the rest of box 1 worked for me. 8/10
Difficulty 8/10
This wasn't the easiest escape puzzle nor the hardest. I expect...

Verified Purchase

Great value and fun

Jul 17, 2018
Glyn C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This box is new and exciting. The puzzles were just the right level and the way the set up worked was great. Highly recommended

Verified Purchase

Unique

Jul 29, 2018
Anne R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Very unique and creative. The puzzles are fun and not overly complicated, but not simplistic either.

Verified Purchase

Loved it

Nov 11, 2018
Cathy S.
4 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I confess I had to use the hints a bit, but it was fun overall.
I am looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

Great fun!

May 15, 2019
Craig O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife and I had a wonderful time working through the puzzles and are already looking forward to next month's!

Verified Purchase

I made a mistake but they were great !!!

Jun 19, 2020
Charlotte M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely incredible box, I made a mistake and the customer service was incredible Chloe was really helpful and was able to correct my mistake for me. I’m so grateful that they were able to send the box I wanted (after I ordered the wrong one) with such short notice. Thank you so much I really do recommend this box :)

Verified Purchase

Jan 06, 2019
Rachel S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Played this over Christmas with my husband as an alternative to sitting in front of the TV and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Challenging enough to make it interesting (we had to use a clue a couple of times) and something for everyone to get stuck into. Really looking forward to the next couple of boxes!

Verified Purchase

Ingenious game for everyone

Aug 27, 2018
Natasha S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall

Boxed locks is an innovative and extremely motivational game which has you sucked in from the start. From the moment this box arrived I was excited with my gift wrapped packaged item, which intrigued me immediately.

From the start we were all hooked on working out the ingenious clues. I particularly like that you can enjoy this fun creation within the comfort of your own home. Everything about the game is amazing, from the intricate detail of the items, to the brain challenging cryptic clues whereby the excitement leaves you eager to solve the next clue. This game can be enjoyed in small or large groups of mixed ages.

The hint cards provide you with that additional support when your unable to work out what is right in front of you!! I would certainly recommend this item for families and groups of friends. My 11 year old was able to work out some of the clues when some of the adults in the group became befuddled.

A fun and captivating game, which certainly challenges your thinking! Fantastic.

Verified Purchase

New monthly family ritual...

Jun 23, 2019
Rob W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First box arrived Just blown away with the production quality and clever puzzles. Spent a satisfying afternoon with family searching a castle. We are using the locked boxes as a focus to get together as a family, do a box, have Sunday lunch...nice new ritual. It is like an escape room in a box. Thanks so much. Can’t wait for the next one... too long to wait.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic gift

Apr 25, 2019
Juliet F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I bought a three month subscription for my mum for her birthday. She loves puzzles like Sudoku so thought this would be her kind of thing. She absolutely loved the first box and is now working her way through her second. Definitely recommend.

Verified Purchase

Family fun

Mar 07, 2020
Kate W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Really enjoyed this box, a little advanced for my 8 year old (I didn’t check age range) but we worked together as a family and solved it

Verified Purchase

They Don't respond

Feb 10, 2020
Keith J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I have emailed them on two different occasions after not receiving my box. I have yet to hear back from them at all. It is quite discouraging.

Verified Purchase
Boxed Locks said...Feb 10, 2020

Dear Keith,

Thank you for your feedback. We have sent you an e-mail directly and I do hope this helps to clarify when you should expect to receive your box.
Subscription boxes are automatically set up to ship the month after that in which the order is placed. We ship from the UK and they usually arrive in the US somewhere around the middle of the month, depending on the local delivery service.

Our apologies once again that your e-mail was missed in the beginning. If you would like to discuss anything further, we would be happy to do so.

Thank you,
The Boxed Locks team

Mar 16, 2019
Susan
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Did Box 1, and very much enjoyed it. The puzzles were on the easier side, but still challenging enough. Box 2 looks like quite a step up in difficulty.
Chloe has been fantastic with my multiple questions and delivery issues!

Absolutely Awesome!

Jan 22, 2019
Jo H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote