Read It and Eat || Bookish Foodie Box

by Bookmarks & Breadsticks
Great quarterly foodish and bookish boxes supporting small businesses and non-profits

Plans as low as

$50.00/ quarter

Buying Options

Reviews (30)

  1. Reviews for this product (27)
  2. Reviews for this seller (3)

. . .

Dec 05, 2020
Overall
Glam'ma ..
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 6 months

. . . . .

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Dec 08, 2020

Thank you so much for the kind review! We're impressed by your boldness to experiment! We hope you enjoy some of the other bread recipes hidden in the book!
-B&B

Such A Treat and A Lovely Tribute

Mar 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon D.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Books, food and bookish items. YES PLEASE. Kim from Bookmarks and Breadsticks has a subscription box that combines all these things. The most recent box is a special edition Persian themed dad dedicated to her dad. She takes such great care in selecting each of the items in the boxes and I love getting them! She hand wraps each of the books and the food items are always in support of a small, family-owned, or BIPOC business. She also provides a donation to a local Chicago non-profit for every box she sells. She is a small business owner with the BIGGEST heart. I really enjoyed the trail mix while reading Persepolis... who doesn't like a good snack while reading. I can't wait to see what boxes she comes up with next!

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Mar 01, 2021

Thank you for an honest review in exchange for a free box! I am so glad you enjoyed a look into my Persian world!

Best Subscription Box

Sep 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sadhana S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

I am not a huge fan of subscription boxes as I often worry I won't find use for everything in the box. That is not the case with Bookmarks and Breadsticks. The carefully curated box is a perfect combination of books, food, and something special. The first box I received was a special edition Persian themed box dedicated to her father. You could feel the love that was in the box, Kim handwraps each book and packs each box with care. Reading the Persepolis with the accompanying trail mix was perfect and I framed the beautiful print in there. The food items are always in support of a small, family-owned, or BIPOC business and she also provides a donation to a local Chicago non-profit for every box she sells. She is a small business owner with the BIGGEST heart and is an example of what we need. I am so excited for the upcoming Fall and Winter boxes.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Sep 05, 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review! I cannot wait until you see the winter box!

A happy box full of love and joy

Feb 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Crys M.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months

Not pictured is the cute 3D printed yellow juicer, because it is already living in my fruit bowl 😄
This is a great box for a lot of reasons, but getting a beautifully curated variety of very useful and lovely things in a box that also donates to food banks is nothing but win/win. Every item in here is something I enjoy. My book-reading, tea-drinking, always-snacking, sticker-collecting self was all smiles opening this box, and I would call that money well spent.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Feb 09, 2021

Thank you so much for a lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the lemon box. I love my juicer too, I use it all the time now!

Fantastic Box!

Mar 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Krista R.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful

What a fantastic book box! I love the creativity in how it was all put together around a theme. I love the combination of food and books. I thought the items included were a perfect blend of useful and beautiful! I was surprised by the bookmarks. I already used the 3d printed lemon juicer. I love the tea cozy rug thing (forget what it's called). And the jam was delicious! The stickers are adorable. I was thrilled with this box and think it would make a fun and creative gift for yourself or others.

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Mar 19, 2021

Thank you for reviewing the box, Krista! Tea Cozy is the right word, some people call it a Mug Rug hehe.
Thanks!

I second “Worth the Dough”

Apr 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen T.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful

Such a nice curated collection of foodie items. I love books, I love food- how can you go wrong? I wasn’t in need of a lemon juicer per se, but I didn’t have a 3D printed one!

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Apr 20, 2021

Thank you so much for the review!

More, please!

Oct 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Erin C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

The subscription box is exactly what I expected and more! The book included in the box was very entertaining to read, even though food books are not typically my go-to genre. The quality of the flour was great and I loved the bread kit.
The hand-written note and the little food things were a great personal touch that I very much appreciated. I will definitely be ordering more of these boxes in the future!

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Oct 21, 2020

Thank you for such a lovely review. Look forward to the lemon box in the spring!
-B&B

Great idea!

Oct 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Frank L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

Box arrived quick, made the loaf with my niece, and look forward to reading the book!

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Oct 21, 2020

We're so glad you enjoyed the box! Bread baking with loved ones is always a lovely memory. Enjoy the book!
-B&B

must buy

Apr 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stacy F.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Everything was so nice!! Thank you

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Jun 09, 2021

Thank you so much!

Loved this box!

Nov 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marques Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I loved this box and everything that came with it. I'm a terrible baker so having everything pre measured and laid out for me made making the bread a breeze. I also loved how personable the box was. Having the hand written note inside and the way everything was packaged made me feel like they really cared about the product and made me more excited to get started.
I have yet to dive into the book but just thumbing through it looked interesting. This has for sure gotten me motivated to start making more homemade bread.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Nov 11, 2020

I was so nervous when I tried to make my first loaf of bread and it was an utter failure! Having this kit really inspired me and I'm so so glad you're enjoying the kit too!
B&B

An Inventive Food Crate

Nov 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
James P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I absolutely loved this collection. The selection of ingredients combined with a thoughtful book selection that tells the real stories behind the everyday food we eat made for a great buy. I know that when I get the next shipment, it'll be both surprising and help me learn how to improve my culinary skills with the right ingredients.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Nov 25, 2020

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Keep an eye out for our Lemon box that ships in the spring!
-B&B

10 Out Of 10!

Dec 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

This is the most fun subscription box I have ever subscribed to! The "Bread Box" I received in the fall was a great experience. The bread baked was super yummy and the flour sourced was a really cool business. I am working my way through the book and it is great so far.
I cannot wait to receive the lemon box!
Thanks Bookmarks & Breadsticks!

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Dec 23, 2020

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! Happy Holidays!

Lovely curation, impressive value

Nov 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chelsea M.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months

A wonderful selection! Beautifully and thoughtfully packed, but not at all wasteful in its packaging, this gorgeous box is full of little touches that make it feel like a gorgeous gift. Excellent value for the money, especially when you consider that it comes with a donation!

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Nov 21, 2020

Thank you so much for such a kind review!
- B&B

Worth the Dough!

Dec 17, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stacey H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I’ve gotten a quick response to my questions and the box itself was well packed with a great book choice and baking supplies. I love that this box also helps support small businesses and nonprofit groups.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Dec 18, 2020

Hi Stacey! Thank you so much for a kind review!
-B&B

Something new for a book box

Oct 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pamela B.
41 Reviews
1 Picture
33 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I saw a review of this box on Instagram and had to get it. I knew exactly what I was getting but still excited to get a food book and bread baking ingredients. There was a handwritten note which was a nice touch and a little bag with two adorable pieces of toast. I don't know that they are useful but they are such a cute touch and I had to save them on my desk.
I've always loved food books and I've already bought a few that the curater posted on her Facebook page that she has read. There are so many book boxes out there but this one is really different. I'm excited to read the book, make some bread and look forward to the next box. I wish it was monthly instead of quarterly.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Oct 18, 2020

Thank you so much for such a kind review! I am working on increasing the number of boxes available in the spring! Monthly is the goal :)

Fun and Worth Price

Nov 09, 2020
Overall
Quality
Curation
Sarah A.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

My box never got delivered, but when I contacted them they sent me a new one and it got here fast! The bread was fun to make and the book was real nice.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Nov 09, 2020

Thank you for giving us the chance to correct the situation! We're glad the bread was fun and delicious!
-B&B

A Disappointment

Oct 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kyle
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The box was disappointing for the price. The book is not helpful as it’s a story of someone getting into baking as opposed to being anything actually helpful. The box did not include all of the promised items. When I asked I was told that they ran out of one of the items. They did not replace it with anything similar or even useful. The only good thing was the high quality flour. Unfortunately this means I spent about 10x the amount for the flour than if I ordered directly from the mill.

Verified Purchase
Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Oct 21, 2020

Hi There,
We're so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the box. We recognize that the Janie's Mill personal bread kit, to your point, did not have its normal mason jar used for measuring water. We should have done a better job of communicating that to everyone and for that we apologize. Was there anything else missing from the order we are unaware of?
Per your feedback on the book - Were you hoping more for a bread baking book or "cookbook" if you will? We understand that sometimes readers might not vibe with a specific book or author but we do want to understand if the distinction between food writing versus a cookbook was not clear enough.
We appreciate your time and feedback.
Thanks,
B&B

Best Kind of Subscription Box

Jun 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rosie C.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I received the Ice Cream themed Summer box, and it was fantastic! The Food items were delicious and the perfect size for sampling, and I as someone who tends towards minimalism I love having the option of a subscription box that's mostly consumables. All the fun, none of the long term clutter of knick knacks I didn't really want in the first place.
I was not a huge fan of the book that was included in this box, but I honestly can't hold that against Bookmarks and Breadsticks over all as no book is going to be universally loved.
I'm looking forward to ordering the fall edition, and I'm sure it will be loads of fun!
Thanks to Kim for sending me this box in exchange for a fair and honest review <3

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Jun 13, 2021

Thank you so much for the review!

Great bread, great book, great box!

Sep 24, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rampant G.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Loved it! Is a very cute box. The bread kit was extremely simple to make but made an awesome loaf that even Paul Hollywood would approve of. It was hot and soft and absorbs butter like crazy!
I can't wait to dive into the book more, I think I'm hooked on baking bread now! I love how the book provides insight into a part of life that is everywhere but I never really think about. Then, having the bread kit, I get to get involved in the world of said book.
5/5 for sure, I can't wait for the next box!

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Sep 25, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review! No soggy bottoms for Paul Hollywood, that's for sure!

You need this subscription box!!!

Feb 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Holly S.
1 Review

So far I have gotten the lemon box & the Persian box and I absolutely loved both of those! The food was great & I really enjoyed the books that were selected for these as well! It feels good to know every box bought contributes to a greater cause as well whether it be the food pantry or The Love Fridge, etc! There are so many book subscriptions out there, but I specifically love this one because there aren't any others like it that I have seen! Food & books really are the best kind of combination!

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Feb 23, 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review, Holly! Thank you for being a great collaborator and receiving product in exchange for an honest review!

Awesome Box!

Mar 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather S.
1 Review

I loved the Persian-themed box and am so happy I ordered it! The trail mix was delicious and loved expanding my knowledge reading a book I likely wouldn't have picked on my own. Everything was put together with such care and I love that it helps support a great cause. I would happily order again!

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Mar 13, 2021

Thanks so much for your review, Heather!

Feeds the Mind (and the belly!)

Feb 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lezlie S.
1 Review

What a wonderful subscription box for hungry bookworms! I received the Persian themed box and was so impressed - from the quality of the box and packing materials to the items curated for the box itself.
I've tried so many subscription boxes, from books to makeup - meals to exercise - and this one beats them all in every area. Most of the time you get several items that you won't ever use or need, but that is not the case with this one. In this particular box, the food item was a bag of delicious trail mix and I'm very lucky that trail mix is healthy because I ate the whole bag that day!
I also am a huge supporter of the fact the curator searches out non profits to donate to and utilizes small, family owned, female owned or BIPOC owned businesses to put together these boxes.
I think this is a fantastic venture that feeds your mind with a good book, as well as your belly. ;)

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Feb 24, 2021

Thank you so much for receiving a free box in exchange for an honest review! I'm so grateful to you! Thanks for unboxing and reviewing :)

The perfect gift

Mar 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shouka R.
1 Review

What a gorgeous box! I love reading, and I especially love snacking while reading so this subscription box was a no-brainer for me. Wow, what a treat! The box I received was the Persian-themed box. So you're telling me I get a book, a snack, and a bit of culture introduced to me? You could tell this box was curated with love, for it was a personal box and a tribute to Kim's father. Lets start with the packaging. From a design standpoint it's cute, instagramable, and designed incredibly well with the cutest logo/mascot I have ever seen. Now for the goods inside the box! Everything in there supports a small business usually run by BIPOCs. So not only are you getting treats, you're supporting many people AND ontop of that, you are helping donate to food based non profits. The snacks inside were scrumptious, the little goodies inside are adorable and even educational. And the book was an absolute perfect pick! This makes a great gift for anyone, or a nice 'treat yo self.'. I highly recommend this product.

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Mar 04, 2021

Thank you for accepting a free box in exchange for an honest review! I'm so so glad you like it :) :)

Gorgeous Boxes+Thoughtful Themed Content

Mar 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Denecah N.
1 Review

I purchased the Bread and Persian-themed boxes! The packaging is stunning, and inside of the box, the books were wrapped! Perfect themed boxes for book enthusiasts and foodies alike.

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Mar 04, 2021

Thank you so much for such a kind review! <3

Great box with unique products

Jun 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie D.
1 Review

I received my initial box as a giveaway and then proceeded to buy two more because I was so impressed with the item quality and curation. I also adore the owner’s passion for making the box as sustainable as possible by using recycled materials. I also love that most of the items are from small businesses and that a part of the proceeds from each box goes to a nonprofit organization. I’ve been using my bookmark from the ice cream box nonstop and have ordered more of the trail mix that was included in the Persian box for both myself and family members. Truly great experience overall.

Bookmarks & Breadsticks said...Jun 09, 2021

I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your boxes!