Call Number
A library-inspired book subscription box celebrating contemporary Black literature and authors.

$20.00+ $18.00+ / month

Subscriber Reviews

21
4.4 of 5 stars
Another great box!
by Jaye written 2 months ago
I was, as always, delighted with the newest Call Number box. I am not normally a fan of poetry, but this book looks amazing and I can’t wait to dive into it. And the extra items are as great as ever. That Prince pin is one of the best things I hav ever received in a subscription box! Call Number continues to be one of the classiest and most exciting boxes available.
September 2017 Box!
by Linda written 2 months ago
I'm new to Call Number and I love it! I waited until Saturday morning to unbox my goodies and I'm so excited now! The book Electric Arches is work from a new author for me which is always exciting but all the surrounding loot is so fun! Prince pin, bookmark, stickers...book nerds rejoice!πŸ‘πŸ½πŸŽŠπŸ“šπŸŽ‰πŸ¦„πŸ™πŸ½
Monthly Joy!
by Marissa written 2 months ago
I'm an avid book reader and love this subscription. I have the full fiction subscription (book and gifts) and I love it. It's so nice to receive a new book and specially selected gifts each month. I can't imagine ending this box subscription. Some left low reviews because they "did not receive a book." The Call Number team sent an email to all subscribers informing them that the publisher ran out of books, and due to demand, the book would be delayed. They gave everyone who didn't get a book right away the option to download the e-book (I was also among the group that didn't get the book). They showed excellent customer service by informing us ahead of time that we may not receive the book right away.
great curation & signed bookplates
by Sara written 3 months ago
I have enjoyed all of the boxes I've received - fun to open, lots of cool things inside, & signed bookplates. I love the idea of supporting black authors and business owners.
by Lindsay written 5 months ago
I was surprised by how much could fit into what seemed like a tiny box. Well worth the price, this crate was packed with unique gifts along with a book I'm already getting hooked by.
by Jessica written 7 months ago
I subscribed to this service a couple of months ago, and I am elated with these monthly book boxes. The books selected each tell stories about our people that you typically do not see told. Each book box includes the coolest accents that compliment the motif of its novel so well. Expertly curated.
Excellent curation & value
by Carol written 9 months ago
I received my first Call Number Box today and was charmed and impressed by everything inside. As others have said, everything was tied to the theme in a meaningful--and beautiful--way. And all the special library-themed touches tickled my library-worker soul. Library of Congress classification labels and catalog cards! There's even an adhesive spine label protector so that when you use the spine label on your book you'll ensure it stays put. It looks to me that these extras are included each month, which is an amazing extra that is hard to come by unless you're in the library industry and have the know-how to create these extras. And take it from this cataloger: Jamillah knows her stuff! I just changed my subscription from month-to-month to 6 months prepaid because I have faith that this will continue to be an excellent monthly infusion of great literature in my life. I highly recommend this subscription!
Wonderful book box
by Sara written 9 months ago
I wasn't sure whether one book for at this price was going to feel like a good deal but WOW - all of the extras are amazing. Everything was beautifully themed--nothing random. The extras are packaged so well and so carefully thought out. There was a note and signature plate from the author in this month's box, along with other surprises. I am absolutely charmed by this box (and I haven't even read the book yet!). One of my resolutions for 2017 was to read more books written by authors of color - this box is one great way to do start doing that. Recommended!
Wonderful Subscription
by Alison written 9 months ago
Call Number Box continues to astonish me every month with outstanding book selections and beautiful book-related items. I particularly appreciate the letter from the author in each box that introduces the book as well as the note from Jamillah describing the special items she has included with the book. It's like meeting an author and receiving a gift from a friend (with excellent taste!) all at once. The care that goes into creating each complete box comes through every time and is greatly appreciated!
Great Book Box and Good Customer Service
by Dawn written 10 months ago
Two months in and I'm still very happy with my subscription. The most recent box had some delays with the book not arriving from the UK publisher in time for shipping, but this was clearly explained in an email from the box proprietor and download of the ebook (as well as a second ebook from the author of the month) was provided for those who didn't want to wait for the physical copy to arrive. Not ideal, but sometimes delays happen and I was happy with the way it was handled. Looking forward to the next box!