A library inspired book subscription box celebrating contemporary Black literature and authors.

Plans as low as $19.00 / 1 box every 3 months

Call Number reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome service/ thoughtfully curated!

3 days ago
Meredith F.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just received my first book! So excited to get started!

Verified Purchase

Classy Box Well Worth the Money

Jun 11, 2020
Charles C.
8 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The curation of items for this box is top notch and relevant to the book selection. The insert explaining each item and its relation to the book is the best of the all the book boxes I subscribe to—it is the only one that uses full sentences, proper punctuation and grammar, and an elegant stationary, I couldn’t be more pleased with Call Number.

Verified Purchase
Call Number said...Jul 01, 2020

Thanks so much for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the box.

Wonderful

2 days ago
Katherine L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m so excited to read my new book, and the extras came lovingly packed and just made my day. Thanks!

Verified Purchase

We love this box!

Feb 27, 2019
Sara D.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I got my partner a three-month subscription to this Call Number for her birthday and we just decided to renew our subscription indefinitely. We love the thoughtfulness of these boxes, and we love the books in them.

We've recommended this box to many people and have loaned many of the books we've received from Call Number to friends, especially this month as friends ask us for book recommendations to celebrate Black History Month.

I teach English at the university level and, moving forward, I will include a story or two (or three) from Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's *Friday Black* in any course I teach on American Literature. And Call Number introduced me to that stunning collection.

We get excited every time an email notification comes that a box has shipped. Subscribe to this box.

Verified Purchase

yasssss.

Jan 23, 2018
Lauren D.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

i ADORE my Call Number box. the themes are always on point, and the associated items are high-quality. the book selection (fiction box) is excellent; i love getting books from black female authors who i likely wouldn't have heard of otherwise. i highly recommend this box if you're looking for black literature + quality extras!

Verified Purchase

Monthly Joy!

Sep 06, 2017
Marissa R.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I'm an avid book reader and love this subscription. I have the full fiction subscription (book and gifts) and I love it. It's so nice to receive a new book and specially selected gifts each month. I can't imagine ending this box subscription.

Some left low reviews because they "did not receive a book." The Call Number team sent an email to all subscribers informing them that the publisher ran out of books, and due to demand, the book would be delayed. They gave everyone who didn't get a book right away the option to download the e-book (I was also among the group that didn't get the book). They showed excellent customer service by informing us ahead of time that we may not receive the book right away.

Verified Purchase

So in love!

Nov 30, 2018
Ashlee L.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I got my box today and I absolutely love how neat and classy the packaging is! And the book is one on my to be read list so I am super excited about that ❤️ Definitely will be keeping this subscription

Verified Purchase

Coming back...

Nov 16, 2018
Kristine B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

I love this box! The book selections are outstanding and the additional book-themed items are all fun and interesting. I really love that each box has a theme and a note from the author. I recently canceled my subscription for a time, because I got behind on my reading and the books were piling up -- adding to my stack of TBR books. But I love the books so much, I'm coming back! Thanks, Call Number!

Verified Purchase
Call Number said...Nov 18, 2018

Thanks for your excellent feedback, Kristine! And for your support of me as a librarian scholar and bookpreneur!

Another great box!

Sep 24, 2017
Jaye L.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I was, as always, delighted with the newest Call Number box. I am not normally a fan of poetry, but this book looks amazing and I can’t wait to dive into it. And the extra items are as great as ever. That Prince pin is one of the best things I hav ever received in a subscription box! Call Number continues to be one of the classiest and most exciting boxes available.

Verified Purchase

No book

Jan 20, 2017
R J.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

First box arrived, no book inside instead a notice from the publisher about access to an ebook. What a disappointment.

Verified Purchase

A Unique, Special Book Box

Jan 20, 2017
Jaye L.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Call Number stands out among the many book boxes. I have now gotten two packages, and have been treated to great books I would never have discovered otherwise. The curated items are a nice assortment of goodies, and I absolutely adore the overall library theme! Plus, the whole thing is packaged with great attention to detail, like a special present. Can't wait to see future boxes!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

Jan 21, 2017
Tasha M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

I love the thought that is put into each item in the box. The best subscription box I've ever bought!

Verified Purchase

Very Happy Thus Far

Jan 24, 2017
Bonnie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I love the books, the creative packaging and I am looking forward to a longstanding relationship.

Verified Purchase

Great Book Box and Good Customer Service

Jan 31, 2017
Dawn F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Two months in and I'm still very happy with my subscription. The most recent box had some delays with the book not arriving from the UK publisher in time for shipping, but this was clearly explained in an email from the box proprietor and download of the ebook (as well as a second ebook from the author of the month) was provided for those who didn't want to wait for the physical copy to arrive. Not ideal, but sometimes delays happen and I was happy with the way it was handled. Looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful book box

Feb 13, 2017
Sara K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I wasn't sure whether one book for at this price was going to feel like a good deal but WOW - all of the extras are amazing. Everything was beautifully themed--nothing random. The extras are packaged so well and so carefully thought out. There was a note and signature plate from the author in this month's box, along with other surprises. I am absolutely charmed by this box (and I haven't even read the book yet!).

One of my resolutions for 2017 was to read more books written by authors of color - this box is one great way to do start doing that. Recommended!

Verified Purchase

Apr 16, 2017
Jessica W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I subscribed to this service a couple of months ago, and I am elated with these monthly book boxes. The books selected each tell stories about our people that you typically do not see told. Each book box includes the coolest accents that compliment the motif of its novel so well. Expertly curated.

Verified Purchase

great curation & signed bookplates

Aug 10, 2017
Sara K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I have enjoyed all of the boxes I've received - fun to open, lots of cool things inside, & signed bookplates. I love the idea of supporting black authors and business owners.

Verified Purchase

September 2017 Box!

Sep 16, 2017
Linda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I'm new to Call Number and I love it! I waited until Saturday morning to unbox my goodies and I'm so excited now! The book Electric Arches is work from a new author for me which is always exciting but all the surrounding loot is so fun! Prince pin, bookmark, stickers...book nerds rejoice!👏🏽🎊📚🎉🦄🙏🏽

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!!

May 20, 2018
Latasha F.
6 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I’m a very avid book reader so I wanted to try this book subscription box I stumbled upon. I’m soo glad I did. I receive the non fiction box with gifts. When I received my 1st Box this week I was amazed. Ooh the packaging was beautiful. I didn’t want to open the packages. They really take time and care to put this box together you can definitely tell. I’m a subscriber to over 20+ boxes and I’m narrowing my choices down. This one I’ll surely keep.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful Subscription

Feb 12, 2017
Alison H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Call Number Box continues to astonish me every month with outstanding book selections and beautiful book-related items. I particularly appreciate the letter from the author in each box that introduces the book as well as the note from Jamillah describing the special items she has included with the book. It's like meeting an author and receiving a gift from a friend (with excellent taste!) all at once. The care that goes into creating each complete box comes through every time and is greatly appreciated!

Verified Purchase

Excellent curation & value

Feb 14, 2017
Carol E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I received my first Call Number Box today and was charmed and impressed by everything inside. As others have said, everything was tied to the theme in a meaningful--and beautiful--way. And all the special library-themed touches tickled my library-worker soul. Library of Congress classification labels and catalog cards! There's even an adhesive spine label protector so that when you use the spine label on your book you'll ensure it stays put. It looks to me that these extras are included each month, which is an amazing extra that is hard to come by unless you're in the library industry and have the know-how to create these extras. And take it from this cataloger: Jamillah knows her stuff!
I just changed my subscription from month-to-month to 6 months prepaid because I have faith that this will continue to be an excellent monthly infusion of great literature in my life. I highly recommend this subscription!

Verified Purchase

Jun 17, 2017
Lindsay G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

I was surprised by how much could fit into what seemed like a tiny box. Well worth the price, this crate was packed with unique gifts along with a book I'm already getting hooked by.

Verified Purchase

Great first box!

Dec 16, 2016
Nicole C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My box came today and I'm beyond excited! Beautifully thought out and packaged, and I can't wait to read Brit's book.

Verified Purchase

Dec 17, 2016
Bethany M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Everything in the first box was amazing. The attention to detail was delightful, the packaging lovely, and I can't wait to read the book!

Verified Purchase

Thoughtfully crafted

Dec 17, 2016
Susan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Just received my first box this week and am DELIGHTED. Can't wait to read the book, and love the thoughtfully assembled companion items. Opening this box felt like receiving a gift from a sweet friend.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options