Call Number

Call Number

by Call Number
A library inspired book subscription box celebrating contemporary Black literature and authors.

Plans as low as

$21.50/ quarter

Buying Options

Reviews (38)

Awesome service/ thoughtfully curated!

Aug 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Meredith F.
1 Review
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Just received my first book! So excited to get started!

Verified Purchase

We love this box!

Feb 27, 2019
Overall
Sara D.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I got my partner a three-month subscription to this Call Number for her birthday and we just decided to renew our subscription indefinitely. We love the thoughtfulness of these boxes, and we love the books in them.
We've recommended this box to many people and have loaned many of the books we've received from Call Number to friends, especially this month as friends ask us for book recommendations to celebrate Black History Month.
I teach English at the university level and, moving forward, I will include a story or two (or three) from Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's *Friday Black* in any course I teach on American Literature. And Call Number introduced me to that stunning collection.
We get excited every time an email notification comes that a box has shipped. Subscribe to this box.

Verified Purchase

Monthly Joy!

Sep 06, 2017
Overall
Marissa R.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I'm an avid book reader and love this subscription. I have the full fiction subscription (book and gifts) and I love it. It's so nice to receive a new book and specially selected gifts each month. I can't imagine ending this box subscription.
Some left low reviews because they "did not receive a book." The Call Number team sent an email to all subscribers informing them that the publisher ran out of books, and due to demand, the book would be delayed. They gave everyone who didn't get a book right away the option to download the e-book (I was also among the group that didn't get the book). They showed excellent customer service by informing us ahead of time that we may not receive the book right away.

Verified Purchase

yasssss.

Jan 23, 2018
Overall
Lauren W.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

i ADORE my Call Number box. the themes are always on point, and the associated items are high-quality. the book selection (fiction box) is excellent; i love getting books from black female authors who i likely wouldn't have heard of otherwise. i highly recommend this box if you're looking for black literature + quality extras!

Verified Purchase

So in love!

Nov 30, 2018
Overall
Ashlee L.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I got my box today and I absolutely love how neat and classy the packaging is! And the book is one on my to be read list so I am super excited about that ❤️ Definitely will be keeping this subscription

Verified Purchase

Classy Box Well Worth the Money

Jun 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Charles C.
6 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

The curation of items for this box is top notch and relevant to the book selection. The insert explaining each item and its relation to the book is the best of the all the book boxes I subscribe to—it is the only one that uses full sentences, proper punctuation and grammar, and an elegant stationary, I couldn’t be more pleased with Call Number.

Verified Purchase
Call Number said...Jul 01, 2020

Thanks so much for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the box.

Coming back...

Nov 16, 2018
Overall
Kristine B.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

I love this box! The book selections are outstanding and the additional book-themed items are all fun and interesting. I really love that each box has a theme and a note from the author. I recently canceled my subscription for a time, because I got behind on my reading and the books were piling up -- adding to my stack of TBR books. But I love the books so much, I'm coming back! Thanks, Call Number!

Verified Purchase
Call Number said...Nov 18, 2018

Thanks for your excellent feedback, Kristine! And for your support of me as a librarian scholar and bookpreneur!

Another great box!

Sep 24, 2017
Overall
Jaye L.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 years

I was, as always, delighted with the newest Call Number box. I am not normally a fan of poetry, but this book looks amazing and I can’t wait to dive into it. And the extra items are as great as ever. That Prince pin is one of the best things I hav ever received in a subscription box! Call Number continues to be one of the classiest and most exciting boxes available.

Verified Purchase

Signed copy!!

Dec 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brianna M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

Really great selection of items! I also got a signed edition of the book in my box!!

Verified Purchase

No book

Jan 20, 2017
Overall
R J.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

First box arrived, no book inside instead a notice from the publisher about access to an ebook. What a disappointment.

Verified Purchase

Great first box!

Dec 16, 2016
Overall
Nicole C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

My box came today and I'm beyond excited! Beautifully thought out and packaged, and I can't wait to read Brit's book.

Verified Purchase

Excellent quality and attention to detai

Sep 05, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stefany H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months

Beautiful box - I highly recommend it!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful

Aug 07, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katherine L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I’m so excited to read my new book, and the extras came lovingly packed and just made my day. Thanks!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!!

May 20, 2018
Overall
Latasha F.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

I’m a very avid book reader so I wanted to try this book subscription box I stumbled upon. I’m soo glad I did. I receive the non fiction box with gifts. When I received my 1st Box this week I was amazed. Ooh the packaging was beautiful. I didn’t want to open the packages. They really take time and care to put this box together you can definitely tell. I’m a subscriber to over 20+ boxes and I’m narrowing my choices down. This one I’ll surely keep.

Verified Purchase

Super Impressed

Mar 21, 2018
Overall
Elizabeth A.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

March was my first Call Number box and I was super impressed! I loved how much time was spent in picking out everything that goes along with the book they picked and the book sounds amazing. I was a little disappointed that I was missing my coaster that was listed as one of the items in the box. Still an amazing box that I would highly recommend!

Verified Purchase
Call Number said...Mar 21, 2018

Thank you for the stellar review, Elizabeth! The coasters are actually being mailed separately and will arrive in your mailbox very soon. ~Jamillah

Amazing

Feb 18, 2018
Overall
Alexandria S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I am so extremely happy to have the opportunity to purchase this subscription box. So much so that I may opt to try the non fiction in addition to my fiction box. The packaging was impeccable. Extremely pleased.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

Jan 22, 2018
Overall
Ariana O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I subscribe to the fiction box with bookish goodies. The book selection is amazing. The goodies fit into a narrative around the book. I also didn't realize how much my nerdy heart would enjoy having the library card and call number.

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!

Dec 21, 2017
Overall
Inge S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I am new to Call Number and I am loving it so far. I subscribed to the nonfiction box for a few months and now I'm switching to the fiction box just for something a little different. I love all of the items that come with each book. And I'm being exposed to new books that I might not have found on my own!

Verified Purchase

September 2017 Box!

Sep 16, 2017
Overall
Linda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I'm new to Call Number and I love it! I waited until Saturday morning to unbox my goodies and I'm so excited now! The book Electric Arches is work from a new author for me which is always exciting but all the surrounding loot is so fun! Prince pin, bookmark, stickers...book nerds rejoice!👏🏽🎊📚🎉🦄🙏🏽

Verified Purchase

Perfect!

Dec 18, 2016
Overall
Tasha M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 months

I love it! A great box that had obviously had a lot of thought put into it. I can't wait to see what comes next month!

Verified Purchase

Thoughtfully crafted

Dec 17, 2016
Overall
Susan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Just received my first box this week and am DELIGHTED. Can't wait to read the book, and love the thoughtfully assembled companion items. Opening this box felt like receiving a gift from a sweet friend.

Verified Purchase

Dec 17, 2016
Overall
Bethany M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Everything in the first box was amazing. The attention to detail was delightful, the packaging lovely, and I can't wait to read the book!

Verified Purchase

great curation & signed bookplates

Aug 10, 2017
Overall
Sara K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months

I have enjoyed all of the boxes I've received - fun to open, lots of cool things inside, & signed bookplates. I love the idea of supporting black authors and business owners.

Verified Purchase

Jun 17, 2017
Overall
Lindsay G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days

I was surprised by how much could fit into what seemed like a tiny box. Well worth the price, this crate was packed with unique gifts along with a book I'm already getting hooked by.

Verified Purchase

Apr 16, 2017
Overall
Jessica W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I subscribed to this service a couple of months ago, and I am elated with these monthly book boxes. The books selected each tell stories about our people that you typically do not see told. Each book box includes the coolest accents that compliment the motif of its novel so well. Expertly curated.

Verified Purchase