Coffee and a Classic Book Box Subscription 1st Renewal is currently sold out!
Coffee and a Classic Book Box Subscription 1st Renewal

Coffee and a Classic Book Box Subscription 1st Renewal

by Coffee and a Classic
Coffee and a Classic is a monthly book box subscription service for those who love the classics!

0Buying Options

Reviews (232)

  1. Reviews for this product (230)
  2. Reviews for this seller (2)

Paid money didn't recieve product

Jul 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Elizabeth N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I purchased the box at the end of May or beginning of June. The money came out, but I never recieved the box. I went to skip the renewal for 7/15, but it seems to have removed me all together and didn't send the first box I purchased. I had no intentions of dropping the box all together just skipping the renewal and not sure if I am going to get my box from June that's already paid for. Hopefully it can be settled, I was so excited about the box. I lowered the star rate because I've now sent three messages to the seller and it's almost the end of July. I am very disappointed in the customer service. I am out $52 with no box and noone who is willing to reach back out and help me . I've never received a box.

Verified Purchase

Feels like a scam

Jul 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brett L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I've paid for 2 months of this box and have yet to receive it. I've emailed Coffee and a Classic but haven't received any kind of response. I'm planning to notify my bank to have the charges refunded. I'm really disappointed because I've been excited about this subscription.

Verified Purchase

What exactly did I pay for?

Feb 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicky K.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I have paid twice for this subscription and have yet to receive anything. I reached out through email to the company twice with no response. Terrible service.

Verified Purchase

Not as see on TV

Jan 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gwen R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 27 days

Very underwhelmed and not what was expected for $50. “Showcased” boxes are not true representation of actual ones.

Verified Purchase

Terrible Customer Service

Jan 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Lisa B.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I can't rate the quality of the products because I haven't received my first box. It shipped on 12/16 and has yet to arrive. I e-mailed customer service 11 days ago and haven't received a response.

Verified Purchase

Missing Gift

Jan 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Lindsey L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Not sure if my gift when though! I have contacted the seller, but I have not hear back.

Verified Purchase

Wrong items

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jesseca H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 22 days

I ordered for my daughter and the sneakpeak was of The Little Mermaid, on Christmas she opened it and I was shocked to see Narnia inside. That is not what I ordered!

Verified Purchase

Where is it?

Dec 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I haven’t received my box yet. I have been waiting for it but nothing has come.

Verified Purchase

second box charge before 1st box comes

Sep 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Eliza K.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Customer service is TERRIBLE. First and foremost you get charged for the second box BEFORE the first box even arrives. My second box said it was delivered, but never came and they were not able to do anything about it. I was never issued a refund, nor was the box resent to my place. Initially someone contacted me to try to resolve the problem and I did everything they asked on my end, but when nothing came of that, they stopped responding and now I'm out over $40. Not worth the price even if it does come.

Verified Purchase

This box was not for me I love the hot c

Jul 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emilie H.
6 Reviews
1 Picture
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This box was not for me I love the hot chocolate though and if we will be interesting to see when I get ready to read Moby Dick if I like it but as far as the whole box overall I didn’t like it I paid for three months so I’ll stick it out but otherwise I would not recommend this box

Verified Purchase

Do NOT order!!! Terrible communication!!

Jun 02, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristina F.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Do NOT order!!!!! I’ve reached out multiple times. Terrible communication. Other box I ordered at the same time came weeks ago and my second boxes have shipped. This is bad business!! Cratejoy site has stated that my box is “being prepared” for over a month now. I subscribed to three months for over $148 at the end of April and it’s June and I have received NOTHING!!! Terrible communication!!! Do not subscribe to this box!! If it doesn’t come soon, I will be reporting it to BBB and social media and elsewhere.

Verified Purchase
Coffee and a Classic said...Jun 02, 2020

Hi Kristina!
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience! We replied to your email back on May 14th. I just sent you a follow up email as well.
The order you placed on May 3rd was for the June, July and August boxes. The June boxes are being shipped around June 10th-11th. I apologize that Cratejoy's site has stated that the box was being prepared for over a month, that's not accurate. I will reach out to them and follow up with them about that.
Thank you, 
Shelby

Beware

Mar 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie S.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

NOT gender neutral! I accidentally got a box for my brother-in-law with women's socks, a pink book, floral mug, etc! Super embarrassing as the gift-giver.

Verified Purchase

Not what I was hoping for

Jan 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marshall L.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I was looking forward to receiving my first box. Unfortunately, the mug was broken into many pieces and the contents were really disappointing. I emailed the seller, but haven't had a response. Way too expensive for just a good quality book. I have cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Coffee and a Classic

Jun 20, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shelley M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

There is no communication. I don't know when or if this boxed shipped or if the recipient received it.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed

Mar 30, 2019
Overall
Katherine G.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

My box ended up costing $37.99, and I purchased the cheaper box. I received a paperback book, with a small package of tea, 2 car air fresheners, an inexpensive eye mask and a book mark. Very disappointed in the quality and the items. I even picked the least expensive box without the coffee mug. I can’t imagine what the box would cost with the mug.

Verified Purchase

Meh

Mar 18, 2019
Overall
Jasen F.
1 Review
1 Helpful

1st box was ok. Call of the Wild. I had a copy unread on my shelf already so it got me to finally read this classic (it was great!). The mug was ok, along with the tea, bookmark, & magnet.
The 2nd box was disappointing. The Jungle Book, which I did not have. The tea was nearly identical to the first. The artwork went to goodwill, as did the mug, the little stuffed animal.
The books are solid editions, but I don't think this subscription box is for me as most of the stuff is just not Marie Kondo approved joyless junk.

Monet biography

Mar 16, 2019
Overall
Sharon C.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I am disappointed in this selection. I never wanted nonfiction and had a very hard Time changing my genre to fiction. The website does not allow you to freely communicate with anyone. I have never seen a phone number. I did reach someone after two days of trying by email and was able to change the genre. My next selection was The Last of the Mohicans. I contacted the seller yesterday but have not heard. The language in this novel is incredibly dense, so much so that it almost seems archaic. It would not be my choice for a novel. I have purchased some classics lately and I know I could’ve gotten this novel for under $10. I have written to ask if I could have access to the sneak and peek but I am told that that is totally random. Why show me selections that I would love and then not allow access?

Eh

Jan 27, 2019
Overall
Amanda D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I got this as a gift for my boyfriend. The first box was too feminine for him.

Verified Purchase

Would give it a zero if I could

May 01, 2018
Overall
Claudia O.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I paid for my April box back in March and never recieved it. No response from company after 8 emails. Should have been here no later than the 26th of April according to their shipping policy Basically I feel like I am out of luck over the $50 they charged me.

Verified Purchase
Coffee and a Classic said...May 01, 2018

Hi Claudia,
I am so sorry to hear about your frustration in not receiving the April book box. I attempted to email you in March regarding your April shipment and the email came back to me with a "Message Not Delivered" error. I then attempted to call you but there is no phone number on file in your account. I reached out to Cratejoy to see if they could assist in contacting you, but as the email was not working there was nothing they could do on their end to reach you. I was contacting you because I was unclear about whether or not you wanted to be refund for your April box, so I chose to refund you and cancel your shipment. The refund...

Sep 25, 2017
Overall
Kyra L.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

They sent me tea when I selected the coffee option I don't like tea it's disgusting and makes me sick I don't really care for the theme but that's a risk you take when ordering it I don't like totes I think they look cheap and tacky but I only ordered the box for the book and coffee not the items the only thing I ended up liking was the candle definitely not worth the about I paid for the box though I don't blame them for the theme it just happens to be the one book I never cared for that's hardly anyone's fault though the tea was upsetting I was really looking forward to the coffee I love coffee and have been craving some coffee (I'm pregnant) I was gonna use the last bit of my money to buy some yesterday but bought something else because i thought I'd be getting some today but sadly not

Verified Purchase