Craftsman Crate

Craftsman Crate

by Craftsman Crate
The subscription box that builds your skills. Real Tools. Real Skills. Complete Kits.

Plans as low as

$30.77/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (90)

Pyrography!

Apr 18, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Audania T.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

I've received only one box so far, and it was interesting. I recieved items and instructions for wood burning (pyrography), and I think I have a new passion!

Verified Purchase

Great subscription box!

Jun 09, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cidney S.
4 Reviews
5 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I really love art and crafts and wanted to explore different art and crafts and this box is great for learning new, fun and creativity. I definitely recommend this subscription box. It comes with everything you need to craft projects it comes with and beyond.

Verified Purchase

Looking for a hobbie?

Jul 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joshua H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

At first had a hiccup with package but after contacting company they were very helpful and made things right. I love the personal feel. The crates have really got me looking into different hobbies and I love it. I have been trying to pick up a Hobbie and this gives me a little sample so that I can pick one up that I enjoy. Great box, great idea, great company. 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Verified Purchase

Pete and Gladys

Jul 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paul S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Doing is the best way to learn

Verified Purchase

Totally enjoying it!

Apr 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda G.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

As someone who has crafted and built things for years, I was hopeful this subscription would have things I had not previously tried or even new ways to tackle things I had tried. It has definitely exceeded my expectations. The technique instructions are easy enough to understand, and the projects themselves also leave room for personal creativity within the technique, which makes it even more fun. Only a few of the projects have been things I have tried before, and they even offered new methods to try, which resulted in a better finished project than my previous attempts, so it is safe to say I am enjoying this subscription!

Verified Purchase

Right to the junk pile...

Jul 22, 2022
Overall
Quality
Curation
Travis B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

My first box was a huge disappointment. they sent out a wood burning kit it's the same one you get when you're in Middle School, creativity and quality looks like something you would put out for a 12-year-old. Definitely not looking forward to the next box if there's going to be one at all...

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Jul 23, 2022

Hello Travis,
The woodburning kit is one of our most popular and we've had lots of orders for that kit individually. We're wondering whether you received the full set of patterns which were included - the songbird designs, the geometric patterns for borders, the winter cabin, and all. We have heard from other users these are quite challenging, and we know one user won first prize in a state fair art competition with the "dancing tree" design in the kit. Still, we know every craft is not an immediate hit with every person - Craftsman Crate is meant to be an introduction to a wide range of skills, and we're sorry you were disappointed!

Great service and caring company!

Jul 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
C M.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 17 days

I contacted Craftsman Crate after ordering to let them know of a special situation with my husband who the crate was for. They contacted me with a couple questions to make sure we all were on the same page. They sent out the perfect crate and quickly! My husband absolutely enjoyed doing this project and has enough left to do a second and maybe a third batch as well. Highly recommend!! Thank you Craftsman Crate!

Verified Purchase

Greatly Exceeded Expectations

Mar 14, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paula B.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 25 days

I am over the moon!!! I just got my first Craftsman box. It was everything I hoped for and more. This was clearly curated by an artisan who wants to share his/her craft. I am delighted and already looking forward to my next box! My daughter was so impressed that she is now going to start ordering this crate as well. Thank you so much!

Verified Purchase

So sad that...

May 30, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Eileen M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Very disappointed. I had a similar subscription back in the 70s...this is 2022, 52 years later and the crafts are almost identical! Sad that the box is the same and sadder that we haven't evolved.

Verified Purchase

Poor

May 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chris W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days

Never received so terrible

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...May 17, 2022

Hi Chris,
I have to apologize. We normally ship around the 9th each month, but we had a death in the family this month and had to delay shipping until after the funeral. We are a small family business so things have been disrupted but we are shipping as fast as we can.
Your subscription cleared payment on April 14th, which covers the May box. I am sorry for the confusion, your first box is currently in the mail to you.
Apologetically,
The Craftsman Crate Team

Poor customer service, do not recommend

Apr 19, 2022
Overall
Mary W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Final shipment of three never arrived, despite email saying it was delivered. No one followed up. Canceled subscription.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Apr 20, 2022

Hello Mary,
I'm sorry this has been confusing. If you ask your gift recipient, I think you'll find she did receive three boxes - according to the Postal Service, delivered on December 20, January 18, and February 12. You canceled five days before the renewal date so there was never an order for a March box.
What happened is, when I went to close out your subscription, I noticed the tracking number for the January shipment had not been entered into your Cratejoy account. That left Cratejoy thinking there was a box still to come, so to straighten things out, I added the missing number and marked that shipment complete.
Unfortunately, you received an automated email from Cratejoy that said a shipment had occurred on...

Not worth it.

Apr 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Andrea C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

They keep sending boxes beyond your subscription term and they make it annoying to cancel.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Apr 04, 2022

Hi Andrea,
I am very sorry that you are unhappy with your subscription. I just checked our records and we have never received any contact from you through Cratejoy or any other medium until this review.
According to Cratejoy your subscription renewed on February 15. Your subscription is currently active and is prepaid for a 3 month term. The second box in that term was scheduled to go out today but is being held pending resolution of your complaint. We are happy to refund any unshipped boxes from a subscription cancellation.
In order to cancel your subscription, you can either reach out to us via the Cratejoy messaging system, or even more simply you can just cancel your subscription through your account page on Cratejoyimmediately without waiting for...

Wood burning craft kit.

Apr 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Todd B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Wood burning pen gets very hot on the handle making it difficult to use. Otherwise, the kit was great.

Verified Purchase

DONT RECOMMEND

Mar 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Not even close to worth the money spent on it.

Verified Purchase

Awesome box

Dec 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lybia R.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 days

I love this box! Very nice tools!

Verified Purchase

Great box

Jul 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deana L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I love all the boxes. Different thing some I’ve never done. It’s been fun.

Verified Purchase

Gift for Husband

May 31, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie E.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The box was a gift to my husband. We have both retired and I took up quilting and he was trying to find something to do on his own out in the garage. He has plenty to do, but he wanted to try different things out, so this seemed like a good answer and a way to get to try out many different crafts and skills. He is happy, but he has also decided to go back to work. These projects should be good weekend projects, so all is good and he likes them, We are happy with this purchase.

Verified Purchase

Something fun every month

May 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carrie
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This box is amazing. I bought it for my husband but I ended up doing them myself. I like that there is a new project each month. I have learned I like some and found new hobbies.

Verified Purchase

Good Clean Fun

May 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
K B.
1 Review

My 11 year old son got a subscription to Craftmans Crate for Christmas and he really enjoys it. They have unique projects to do every month. Sometimes the crates are late and sometimes the instructions are not well written (Bass relief was one that I thought could have been a bit better). He's been introduced to basketweaving, leatherworking, glass etching, globe creation, and more. It was a great gift that was a little outside the box for him.

Quality Crate, Great Customer Service

May 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Benjamin M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Craftsman Crate puts a lot of thought and time into each of their boxes. They are well put together. I've been a little disappointed with the actual crafts so far, they haven't really been my cup of tea. But I'm hoping that something more interesting will come soon.
As far as customer service goes, they've been very responsive to my questions and concerns via email. They definitely care about each of us as their customers.

Verified Purchase

Excellent kits for gifting...

Mar 28, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rm F.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I purschased a three month subscription as a Chrisrmas gift. The recipient could not say enough positives about the kits.

Verified Purchase

jamson4947

Apr 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johnchicoine
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I just retired last may . i love working out in shop so many of these will be winter projects.. i have looked them over and like what i see. keep them coming.

Verified Purchase

Like a little kid at Christmas time!

Mar 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tracy R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I love these boxes! These boxes come with everything you need including tools, I get excited like a little kid at Christmas time, each month when it is time for my box to show up! The best thing you can buy to sample different kinds of projects and hobbies!

Verified Purchase

Misleading Box Name

May 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebekah F.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Wish I could return the first 2 of my 3 boxes my wife bought for me as an anniversary gift. I haven’t got the third so no telling if it will be just as far from expected as the first two. The “Craftsman” box has been a huge disappointment. Instead of cool tools, like the outside packaging image shows it was a paper machete box then a globe making box. You need to rename box to “Artisan” box. Pretty much a waste of money for what my wife thought she would be getting me.

Verified Purchase

Subscription

Apr 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jo-anne M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

My daughter has really enjoyed the subscription boxes. A new way to learn other crafts. I would have kept the subscription going yet the shipping fees were way to expensive. Also I tried 3 times to cancel my subscription and still am nervous because of the lack of response whether it truly is cancelled.
Thanks Jo-Anne McElroy

Verified Purchase