Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | Canadian Subscription Box Of The Year Winner

Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Wasted our money and time.

Oct 23, 2019
Jennifer V.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Sadly we bought a 6 month subscription to this box. We were very excited to work on the projects, however the instructions to download a driver to our Mac Computer did not work. Our computer went black and we had to restore it to factory settings. I reached out to the seller, they did not feel bad and told us to try a different driver to install. We were very reluctant. We did and that one didn't work either. The company is basically asking you to hack your own computer to make this work. We never did get any of the 6 boxes to work. Waste of money for us. 2 of the 6 boxes were over a month late. The seller does not communicate when there is any issue with backups on their end. Beware

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Jennifer, this is David, one of the founders of Creation Crate and responsible for project and curriculum development. First and foremost, I am so sorry about the issues that you have had with your subscription. Please allow me address each of them:
- There is a known issue with Macs that requires a driver to be installed. After one of the Mac OS updates, the driver we provided was not working. Once we were made aware of this I immediately updated the instructions. Also, I have since created a new course called "Getting Started" which includes introductory videos, new, more detailed instructions for installing the Mac driver, and short explainer videos for all of the components. We definitely don't want anyone...

Seller

No text lessons, just videos

Jul 25, 2019
Betsy L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Thought there were only video instructions, but found the instructions in text, which is much better. Looks great, the arduino included is really good. Looking forward to building this!

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Jul 25, 2019

Hi Betsy, glad I was able to talk with you today. The first lesson has a number of background videos about the components in the box to help provide a foundation. You can skip those if you want to start building right away. The rest of the build instructions in the Online Classroom are set up to cater to multiple learning styles. Every lesson has step-by-step instructions with text, pictures, graphics, and web links.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you are having any trouble at all. We want to make sure that this is as fun and interesting as it is educational.

Sincerely,
David
Co-Founder, Project & Curriculum Development

Seller

Crates Rule!

Sep 17, 2019
Dj S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Good Stuff. :)

Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

DJ, thanks for the up vote! Looks like your moniker is appropriate based on your location! A couple of my partners are in Canada where it gets cold like New Hampshire. I'm down South in GA, so I feel for you guys this time of year.

Seller

Awesome Concept

Feb 20, 2019
James H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall

Back in the 80s, when I was in High School, I was very adept at programming in BASIC, and was able to work with a couple of other languages of that era as well. Needless to say I had a strong interest in engineering and programming. Life took me in a different direction though. Lately I've been interested in getting back into programming, but was kind of at a loss of where to start, not being familiar with the languages in use today. I've read a few books, and have worked a bit on simple coding but I really wanted something more hands on to get me launched.

When I came across Creation Crate I was ecstatic - it is just the thing I have been looking for - hands on projects and coding using C! I've just finished the first project - a Mood Lamp and I am overjoyed, The project is not overly complicated, but it is challenging enough to keep you on your toes! As I read, the crates become progressively more challenging, so I'm looking forward to the coming months! In the meantime I am very motivated to work with C and the Arduino independently until the next crate arrives! I've even ordered a second Arduino unit to use so that the one I received from CC is dedicated to Creation Crate.

In short, I am very pleased with both the crate and the company - their communication with clients and documentation included with the crate...

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. We are so glad that you are enjoying the projects and learning along the way.

P.S. - I remember the 80's and trying to learn BASIC on the computer at the library. That was fun, but I am ready to GOTO the future and not RETURN to the 80's.

Seller

Loved the first project...can't wait for

Jan 02, 2019
Claudia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I really enjoyed putting the Mood Lamp project together. I only had minor glitches with my programming, total learning curve things, and a few of the wires easily pulling out of their slots. Once I got those kinks worked out, the Mood Lamp worked perfectly every time it was used!!

Verified Purchase

Kept thinking of the Breakfast Club

Dec 26, 2018
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Fortunately, we got the lamp to work! Great father-son project with intuitive instructions and lots of support, excited for next month!

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Dec 18, 2018
Parth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

I love how the kit comes with things like a breadboard to give kids a challenge that they will feel good about when surpassing.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Mood Lamp

Oct 31, 2018
Kathy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Purchased for my 9-year-old son. He was very excited to receive the first project and enjoyed building and programming the lamp. The only problem we had was that all three colors for the light would not stay on together, red and yellow worked and then blue separately of the other two. Our Son figured it was a glitch of some sort and didn't mind this at all. He is excited to see what will arrive next month.

Verified Purchase

LOVE it so far!

Oct 28, 2018
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

First project was a success, pretty sure I'm a wizard now. Instructions good for someone with NO experience. Looking forward to next crate!

Verified Purchase

Creation crate 9708

Sep 18, 2018
Jeffrey M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Je trouve cela formidable cars sa permet lapprentissage de bcp de chose en un mots sest malade

Verified Purchase

Something North America desperately need

Aug 23, 2018
Roman
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

I've first discovered this through sweatcoins app, made a purchase, and oh boy, you guys have a bright future. The idea of bringing computer engineering to children for only 29-ish bucks is an incredibly honorable goal. Just received my first package today. I myself am majoring in STEM (physics and computer science double-major), and I ordered this mainly for the purpose of tinkering and expanding my computer engineering knowledge thru independent projects, and even for me, this bundle ended up being incredibly handy and interesting. Thank you guys, and good luck in the future!

Verified Purchase

Great starting point for Arduino!

Aug 23, 2018
Nicholas M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

The kit provides step by step instructions and is very clear in not only how to build the project, but how to program it as well. Great for beginners who want to get into making and programming, but do not know where to start. This provides a solid foundation for them to build on, and will encourage them to build bigger and better things in the future. Brilliant product!

Verified Purchase

Aug 11, 2018
Bryan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Creation Crate did a great job of explaining how the mood lamp worked. I'm excited to see what comes next!

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate!

Jun 15, 2018
Anne D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

My first Creation Crate came earlier this month, the directions and application of the project were very clear and straightforward. I am also so happy about the custom service of Creation Crate, as they provided a lot of clarity about payments when I first subscribed.
I have always wanted to learn coding and building electronics. It is a great way to dive into that!!

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Review

Jun 15, 2018
Kris H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I subscribed to creation crate for my 6th grade Science class and it did not disappoint! Several of my students loved the fact that they were going to get more hands on experience with coding. It was an awesome sight seeing student's manipulate coding on the mood lamp to alter different settings. Can't wait for the 2nd box!!!

Verified Purchase

Mood lamp

Jun 15, 2018
Daniel D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Very interesting first month project. It was nice to start off with something complex and interesting yet the instructions guided us right through the whole project. This was a great father son project.

Verified Purchase

I'm Addicted!

Jun 15, 2018
Allen P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've been wanting to learn about electronics and coding and I couldn't be happier with my first project with Creation Crate! I'm 48 years old and this is an absolute joy but in all seriousness it's also the future. Talk about having fun!

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!

Jun 15, 2018
Dominique G.
3 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I heard about this subscription last year on YouTube and decided to subscribe I am a women and absolutely love how clear the instructions are so anyone can learn about technology and programming at any age and the finished product makes me happy it shows what I have learned and accomplished!

Verified Purchase

Mood Lamp

Jun 15, 2018
Alan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

Got our Mood Lamp Kit to start our subscription. It was really fun working on this with my eight-year-old. I helped with some of the cutting of the box, and he pretty much wired it up himself. I had to fiddle with some connections and bend the LEDs just right to make them fit under the lampshade, but that's normal when you're building stuff. I let him type in the important parts of the code, and then I went back and added the comments and indenting to make it more readable and fix some of the typos/errors. Worked right away, which wasn't great, since it wasn't dark, but that's why you tweak the code. Upped the ambient light value, and it turned on and off as expected. I may fiddle with the code a little more to see if I can get a more gradual and noticeable fade effect. Can not wait for next month!

Verified Purchase

Intelligent and well-done

Jun 15, 2018
Tina C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I am happy to have finally found a STEM kit for kids that doesn’t simplify the project for kids. Creation Crate gives clear directions that leave a little bit of room for the user to “figure it out” just enough. The programming isn’t pre typed or block based and you learn first-hand how to troubleshoot and problem solve. The review questions at the end are great for figuring out why the code works and how to change it.

Verified Purchase

Cratejoy

Jun 15, 2018
Aida S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

It was cool. But the package is super small for the price. But it has awesome things. Too bad I got to create a mood lamp, a small mood lamp. But my husband liked it. I think I would pay like $25 for the subscription because is small.

Verified Purchase

AWESOME

Jun 15, 2018
Jade C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I just finished my first project and I really loved this product. It was full of challenges and it taught me lots of cool new things. I think this is a great option for kids who are interested in tech. I can't wait for my project!

-Jade, 11 yrs old

Verified Purchase

Love it Thank you so much

Jun 15, 2018
Richard H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This has been a great bonding tool with my son and I. But more importantly it has sparked his love of science and electronics and programming specifically. It has taken the controller out of his hands and put the control in his hands. The control of his future so thanks again

Verified Purchase

Fun, well designed, thoughtful product!

Jun 15, 2018
Ashley S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We heard of this from a friend and subscribed as a gift for our elementary aged son who loves electronics and DIY projects. He was very excited to receive a surprise electronics project in a box and equally enthused after opening it! He was able to set up/troubleshoot on his own (outside of software download) and has enjoyed experimenting with it. There are variables to play with and exercises provided if one would like to play with modifying the program and hardware.

This product is well designed, communicated, and a good value with helpful customer support. We're looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

Even great for adults

Jun 15, 2018
Kristen M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months