Culture Cakes Kit

by Culture Cakes Kit
Taste & bake the world! Get exotic ingredients, unique snacks and cultural fusion cupcake recipes!
17 reviews

Plans as low as

$19.00/ month

Buying Options

Culture Cakes Kit reviewsReviews

Write a Review
17

Creative Cakes Kit -INDIA

Oct 15, 2019
Joan C.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I think this is a fun box. This box features a different locale each month - which makes it exciting to receive. I dont usually cook/bake but the direction were easy rnough to follow. Even though my cupcakes did not look like the picture (which is 100% my fault, lol), they were scrumptulious. I had a hilarious time trying the snacks and bakin (in a good way) that i even made a cideo to show my friends. I recommend this box.

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Oct 18, 2019

Awesome! We are so glad you had fun with your kit and got to share the experience with your friends! Be sure to share your creations with everyone else on our private Facebook group 'Culture & Cakes' ! We are excited for you to get your next kit!!

Not the best

May 05, 2021
Stephany A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Got this as a Mother’s Day gift for mom and she just got her 1st (of three) boxes. Here’s how it’s going:
1) order screen seems to auto pop shipping to cardholder address so if this is a gift you will have to go back to your order and change the shipping info. Kinda clunky.
2) box appears to be missing two of the snack items. I’ve contacted the seller and hope to get some clarification or resolution soon.
3) the “unique” cupcake ingredient was a single lemon. Maybe that’s something hard to get in other places but my mom has a lemon tree in her yard so.... and there were no other ingredients or supplies to assist in said recipe.
Hopefully boxes 2-3 will be more interesting.

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...May 06, 2021

HI Stephanie,
Thanks for your business and feedback, we appreciate it. Oh no! Very sorry to hear about this, as we specifically shipped out your mom's gift earlier than scheduled, to ensure that it was received in time for Mother's Day. Very sorry to hear that the kit delivered incomplete, as that is not how it was shipped out. I see that you emailed us about 10 minutes before posting this review, so we are happy to help further through email. But also for reference:
1) It looks like you signed up for our kit through our Cratejoy listing. Very sorry to hear you had trouble with applying the correct shipping address during sign up. We haven't heard about this from anyone else, but we are happy...

Great Collection of Tastes

Mar 14, 2021
Hana B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased a six-month Snacks Only subscription for my parents and they've greatly enjoyed their culinary trip around the world so far, three months in. My mom, in particular, loves to explore different cuisines and cultures, so the curated snacks help scratch her travel itch. And on my end, it was super easy to set up initially, without having to worry each month about arranging shipping. Thanks for the opportunity to give them a memorable gift!

Culture Cakes Kit said...May 06, 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words Hana, we truly appreciate it. We loved bringing the flavors of the world to your family. Thank you!

UPDATE: ISSUE RESOLVED!😊

Dec 11, 2020
Shelly R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping

I barely just purchased this as a gift and Culture cakes keeps sending me emails stating they are mailing the gift out TO ME! I have sent them 3 emails stating the correct address to send it to the recipient. Their reply was that I had MY address listed on the order form.That is NOT correct. I sent another email with a screen shot of the recipients address. I have not had a reply back yet. I hope this works out..so far I am very unsatisfied with this company! Will post a new review based on company's email response & if shipping address is corrected.
UPDATE:
Cust. Svc. was quick to respond for help.They kept in contact w me to make sure problem was resolved.Great Customer Service & very kind! This is a gift so I will update Curation & Quality stars once recipient receives it.Would order from again! Thank you Culture Cakes!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Jan 16, 2021

Hi Shelly!
Very sorry there was such a misunderstanding at sign for your gift recipient. Thank you for updating your review with the correct information, we were happy to help! Enjoy!

Loved it!

Dec 04, 2020
Andy W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We loved this crate every month!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Jan 16, 2021

Thanks Andy! We loved having you in our community!

You can't go wrong with this subscriptio

Apr 10, 2020
Cortney D.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Really really really enjoy this box! I have 6 kids, and we all love food, especially food from different countries with different flavors and style. We all are able to try every piece, and learn about what we are eating and the origin from which country it came. The pamphlet that comes in the box is super informative without overloading you with too much information. My kids really like the part where there is about 7 or 8 different words to learn in that language. And lastly, in the box is always some type of recipe with one of the ingredients in the box. My 2 oldest always love making those unique recipes. This box always leads us into learning more about that country, finding their country anthem, or different animals in that country, ect. It really is one of my top picks for sure, very fun and educational! I would give it 12 stars if I could. Thanks everyone at culture cakes!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...May 25, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words Cortney! We really appreciate it as we work really hard to curate Culture Cakes Kits for this exact reason. So glad your family enjoyed there time with Culture Cakes Kits!

What a fun and interesting box and tasty

Mar 10, 2020
Michelle S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box has been a lot of fun! I enjoy learning about the culture of other countries and what better way to learn than to enjoy their snacks! The company is quick to respond and even shipped our March boxes out a little early because they had to travel and didn't want any boxes to be late! Good job, Culture Cakes!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Mar 12, 2020

Hi Michelle!
Thank you for your loyal business and kind words. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your CCK experience and learned about the world around us!

Loving the unique cupcake combos

Mar 10, 2020
Sara D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been getting this box for about 6 months now and except for a small hiccup with the first box(which was fixed very quickly, responses to emails within a couple hours) the boxes have been great. The few less than stellar reviews on here seem to have a misunderstanding about what to expect in the box. There are snacks from a country and a recipe for cupcakes that uses popular flavors from that country and one or two "exotic" ingredients that might be harder to find locally. So far ingredients I've gotten have included hibiscus flower powder, Vegemite, ube extract, and various other things that would be harder to find locally. This box does not include all of the ingredients for the cupcakes. It's not a cupcake version of HelloFresh.
I just received March's Turkey box, looking forward to my cupcakes topped with Turkish delight!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Mar 12, 2020

Hi Sara!
Thank you for your very loyal business and awesome review. We appreciate your participation on social media, and always look forward to seeing how your cupcakes come out every month! Thank you for understanding exactly what CCK is and appreciating all that comes with it. We hope that we continue to offer an awesome experience every month! Thank you!!

Awesome for tweens!

Dec 29, 2019
Alison M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gifted this box to my 12 y/o niece and 11 y/o nephew and they love it. They have a YouTube channel where they unbox and try the snacks. Next video they are going to make one of the recipes. They are having a great experience with this box and we can’t wait to see what next month brings.

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Dec 30, 2019

Hi Alison,
Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad to hear they're enjoying it! Be sure to tag us on YouTube and we will be happy to share with our followers!

Great service/professionalism

Dec 08, 2019
Kristina S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I sent a gift subscription, so I just have experience with the owner of the company, Tautiauna. I asked her 50 million questions, asked her to make 25 million changes and she responded in stride when she definitely had the right to get impatient. I appreciate her kindness and responsiveness, and I'm sure I'll be buying a subscription for myself soon!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Dec 09, 2019

Wow! Thank you so much Kristina, I appreciate it. So glad I could help!

A mini food vacation

Oct 12, 2019
Ann D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This subscription was a gift to our daughters. Both Ladies have loved each box. The Items included are unique and tasty I am told. I have received a call with each box to say how they love the treats inside. The best comment was, " it is a mini food vacation each month". There were some issues with the first shipments getting lost in transit, ( no fault of Culture Cakes). The service and dedication to ensuring it was corrected was outstanding. Tautiauna stayed in touch, and followed up to ensure the shipping challenge was corrected to everyone's satisfaction. I recommend this company highly, not only for their fun boxes but for the level of service to their customers. Well Done Tautiauna!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Oct 13, 2019

Awesome! I am so glad everything worked out for both of your daughters. Thank you so much for your kind words!!

Great for tweens to learn about the worl

Jul 12, 2019
Courtnei M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Our second box was exactly what I was hoping for! Such a fun and unique way to learn about cultures around the world. It's hard to find projects to do with my tween that she enjoys, but are also educational. This totally fits the bill!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Jul 15, 2019

Wonderful! We are so glad we could create an exciting experience for you and your tween while learning about Colombia!

Wow!!

Jul 16, 2019
Heather H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

SAUDI ARABIA!!! WOW... the snacks were fantastic 💜 I will have to wait to buy cornstarch to make cupcakes... I was surprised that the kit came will expensive ingredients!!! I don't know if I signed up for 1 or 3 months... looking forward to next month!!

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Jul 16, 2019

Wonderful! So glad that you enjoyed! Can't wait for you to see your August box!

Not what I expected

Feb 26, 2020
Jasmine C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My review is based on what I thought this box was vs what it is. It’s in no way meant to shed a negative light. I though the box was based on the cupcake and ingredients used to make it. The jam fulfills that but the other things included was confusing at first until I read the insert. I was wanting to make cupcakes with my girls... which I absolutely still can I just thought there would be the ingredients included. Almost like a home chef box.

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Mar 12, 2020

HI Jasmine,
Thank you for your subscription and review, we appreciate it. Very sorry to hear about the confusion and disappointment of what to expect. You are correct, our full size kits do come with the unique ingredients/ tools to accompany the Culture Cakes recipe each month. However, as described and shown, we do not include all of the ingredients for the recipes, as we expect everyone to have the basics like flour and eggs.
Ultimately, each month we do our best to try and put together packages that we believe most people will enjoy, but because it's a surprise we can't assure that everyone will enjoy every aspect, every month. But that's why we like to change it up and offer different products, baking products/tools...

a bit lackluster

Dec 10, 2019
Rochelle B.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's hard for me to give a rating on all of it because we ordered the small snack box and it just appears to be a mailer filled with random snacks. I'm not sure if the small snack box never comes with a card explaining where the snacks come from or anyting like that? There wasn't even a guide with it. But it's basically just a bunch of tiny snacks put in a bubble mailer. Ordered this for my daughters because subscription boxes are fun for them but regarding snack boxes, this is pretty horribly packaged. From photos it seemed that they come in boxes with tissue or something to make it exciting. We purchased this as a gift and one would think at the very least the subscriptions you send out in December purchased as gifts would be a little more than that. If the snack box comes in a mailer without a card or anything I think you need to let people know that. Because any of us can go to the store and buy a bunch of international snacks the reason we get a subscription is for you to make it slightly special and ours left a lot to be desired. I couldn't even tell you what the theme of this month's boxes because it looks like there's Japanese candy there's stuff from elsewhere in there. don't really have a clue. We get the pinata box which is a comfortable price and it comes packaged nice. It's...

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Jan 15, 2020

Hi Rochelle,
Thank you for your subscription and review, we appreciate it. We do apologize for the delay in a response as it looks like there was a glitch in notifying us that you submitted one. Very sorry to hear about the confusion and disappointment in your order. I see the picture you included and looked into your account and found that you chose to prepay for 3 months of the mini snacks only version of Culture Cakes Kit. We are sorry to hear about the confusion on what to expect as the option you chose is our cheaper, mini version of our kit. As mentioned on our listing and website, the mini kit comes with only 5-8 samples of snacks. This mini version does come...

Should’ve done one month to test out..

Jan 10, 2020
Kylie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was a bit disappointed. Based on the previous reviews, I believed this was going to come with the ingredients to make the cupcakes. It did come with one ingredient and an instrument needed to use it, but I expected more. The other individual items sizes were also small/some of them very small. Still interested to try them all with my nieces and nephews and am hoping for a positive cultural experience with them.

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Jan 15, 2020

Hi Kylie,
Thank you for your subscription and review, we appreciate it. Very sorry to hear about the confusion and disappointment of what to expect. You are correct, our full size kits do come with the unique ingredients/ tools to accompany the Culture Cakes recipe each month. However, as described and shown, we do not include all of the ingredients for the recipes, as we expect everyone to have the basics like flour and eggs.
Ultimately, each month we do our best to try and put together packages that we believe most people will enjoy, but because it's a surprise we can't assure that everyone will enjoy every aspect, every month. But that's why we like to change it up and offer different products, baking products/tools and...

review

Sep 11, 2019
Lori M.
3 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wasn't impressed .

Verified Purchase
Culture Cakes Kit said...Sep 11, 2019

Uh oh! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your first shipment. Hopefully we can bring a much better experience to your next two boxes!