Date Night In Box

by Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In
The ultimate solution to enjoy a Date Night In with your loved one from the comfort of your home!

Plans as low as

$38.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (89)

  1. Reviews for this product (87)
  2. Reviews for this seller (2)

Two full date nights per box, for us!

Aug 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michele D.
33 Reviews
50 Pictures
58 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Date 3: LOVED the summer camp theme. It took us 2 nights to complete everything. I HIGHLY recommend this subscription. Recipes and playlist were superb.
Date 2: Super happy with this box! Enjoying cooking together, since we normally don't. You have to find value in the included non-tangible aspects like the recipes (dinner, drinks AND desert!!!), custom playlist, conversation starters and ways to continue the date afterwards. I really appreciate these things and getting out of the same-o routine.
DATE 1: What a fabulous Date Night In. I am totally perplexed by the negative reviews. We laughed, we connected, we 100% focused on each other for several hours... perfection!
This is our first time trying this service and we both thought it was fabulous! There is actually more to do than we could finish in one night. Reusable content, so there is extra value there. Customer service has been superb!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an informative review, Michele! We are so glad you were able to enjoy all of your boxes and really soak up the experience. We loved the summer camp theme too! :)

Can I give this zero stars?!

Jan 21, 2017
Overall
Jennifer R.
1 Review
22 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

HORRIBLE! I am so angry. I spent around $42 on this after shipping. As others mentioned below, complete waste of money. This is a joke! We were given envelopes, pens, paper, a tea light candle and 1 and a half ounces of candy to write TWELVE letters to each other. Yes, you read that correctly. This was cheap, not creative and not fun! This company is trying to make a quick buck and take advantage of people. Don't fall for this scam!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Jennifer,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and the date you received didn’t meet your expectations.

NOT CUSTOMER FRIENDLY

Nov 04, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachael S.
1 Review
16 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

If I could give this zero stars I would. I am extremely disappointed in their customer service. I had a poor experience with this company when trying to request a refund for my auto-renew. I asked 6 different times to speak with a supervisor and was denied. I am incredibly disappointed in the fact that they have zero flexibility in their refund policy. I have never dealt with a company who was this unfriendly to their customers. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 04, 2019

We are very sorry about that your experience was less than satisfactory. The automatic renewal feature associated with our subscriptions is clearly noted throughout the shopping experience and post purchase communications. By agreeing to the terms and conditions prior to signing up for your subscription, you were made aware of the cancellation, renewal and refund terms. When reviewing your communications with the Night In Boxes Customer experience team your request was immediately escalated to Night In Boxes Customer Experience team's Assistant Manager. After requesting to talk to the Assistant Manager's supervisor you were provided with a final resolution on your request by the VP - Customer Experience. Please do not mistake our adherence to our policies as unfriendly. We appreciate your feedback and will take...

DOESN'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION

Oct 31, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dawn F.
1 Review
13 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

BEWARE!!
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION OF ITS CUSTOMERS.
Reiterating the last reviewer, I didn't realize my "3-month subscription" would renew automatically. They say they give you lots of warnings as you are checking out, but three months later I wasn't thinking about it, and there is no reminder before they charge your card (like other subscription services I've used).
My only notice came from PayPal. Of course, it came just *hours* after their cancellation deadline. I contacted customer service right away. The boxes don't ship for at least two more weeks, but they still refuse to cancel and refund. Now I'm being charged $120 for three additional months of a service I didn't like in the first place!!
They've offered to change the content of my boxes (make it a kids box) or delay delivery, so clearly there is still time in the process to make changes, but they still refuse to cancel. They also would not escalate my issue to a manager, despite multiple requests.
I told them I don't like their product, so sending them at a later date does not address my issue. They don't care. They would rather keep my money and have an unhappy customer. And it's $120!! It's not like a $15 magazine subscription. Maybe to a rich corporation like Cratejoy, $120 is meaningless. But we are a one-income family of three, and $120 is a lot of money to us. But they don't care.
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. We do our best to give as many warnings as possible during the checkout process as well as giving you the option to remove the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription prior to signing up for your subscription as well in our post purchase communications. We will take your thoughts into consideration for further improvements in our communications with customers in the future.

Date box

Dec 28, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alyssa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

Was very basic nothing exciting , I can’t validate how it cost $40!!! Will not order again.

Verified Purchase

Isn’t worth it.

Aug 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jen M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Pretty boring and pretty pricey for what you get.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Aug 31, 2021

Hi Jen, Thank you for your review! We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your Date Night In Boxes! While we do our best to provide a unique and fun opportunity for you and your special someone to connect, we understand that our dates will not always be loved by everyone. Please feel free to email us with any specific feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve.

Terrible Company

Oct 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel Y.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

They hide in your purchase that it is "auto renew" - with very little warning. After six months, you are charged with little warning for a whopping $250. They refuse to refund your money and their customer service is lacking. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. The warnings regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with subscriptions clearly marked in the checkout screen as well as the ability to remove this feature prior to checkout. We also have included multiple warnings in our post purchase communications regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements in our communications with customers.

TERRIBLE! Save your money.

Mar 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel M.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I wish I could give a zero. This company doesn’t care about its customers and doesn’t “curate” unique dates they throw together junk and then provide links that don’t work. This last one was the last straw, it was about sensing more and LITERALLY came with a vile of massage oil, 5 caramels, a wooden knife and 3 wads of wax (still don’t know what it’s for). Then our date instructions were a narration on a website so we would have had some stranger’s voice on our date night. DO NOT waste your money. When I reached out to the company they gave me a link to the review page and it was the wrong link so I searched this place out.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 26, 2020

Hi Rachel,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and this date wasn't for you.
To summarize the complete date details...
Couples were audio guided through a taste test, massage experience, scent sampling and visual challenge. Our goal was to have you, as a couple, reflect on how your five senses have contributed to your relationship.
The included items were several activities, a snack for two, something to set the mood for the date (3 wax samples to explore scents as a couple, massage cards to learn various massage techniques and massage oil, a tasting guide, tasting mat, knife and McCreas Gourmet Caramels, a puzzle, a custom Spotify playlist, a suggested custom curated dinner menu with...

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Jan 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Olivia C.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

This company is dishonest! They keep your payment information and will charge you more than you sign up for! Several of the boxes didn’t include all items needed for activities. Some of the boxes were just advertisement items. I am extremely upset I purchased this last year! The creativity is severely lacking. One of the boxes was literally a paper clip, 4inch string, paper streamers, and some chopsticks! Worst purchase I have ever made!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 30, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our product and will take your feedback in to consideration for future improvements in communication.
We provide the option to review previous boxes that have been sent to customers so that new customers get an idea of what is included in our boxes.
When pulling the items together which are included in our Game On box, couples will tap into their competitive spirit, while playing silly games that are intended to fill their evening with laughter while making memories that last a life time.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, checkout process along in all post purchase communications. Each customer has the opportunity to access their account details with their...

Dont do it!

May 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Keshav A.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

One of the worst thing I have bought online. The items did not even come in a box. It came in a cheap Amazon-like yellow envelope. It completely ruined our date night.
What worse is that you can not cancel future deliveries. Once you opt-in, they already charge you for four boxes. This is just unfair!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Keshav,
I’m so sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with our company and were disappointed by the packaging. Your date was sent out when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date being sent in a padded mailer instead of a box, something that was only done for a month.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, during the checkout process, and in all post purchase communications. The customer is required to agree to the terms and conditions of the subscription prior to signing up for the service, along with giving permission for Night In Boxes to continue to charge the payment method associated with the...

Buyer Beware.

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jorina E.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

My experience with Night in Boxes and their customer service was terrible. I bought 3 boxes, which were mediocre at best. The recipes were terrible, and the included items were cheap. When I purchased the box in December, I ensured that I was not signing an automatically-renewing service (that's where these companies get you!!). This was clear on my invoice, and the emails I received. Without any notification, they charged my credit card again and my order was suddenly on "auto-renew". When I contacted customer service and asked them to provide me with any evidence that I had purchased an automatically renewing service (I had an invoice that clearly stated I only bought 3 boxes, with no mention of an auto-renew), they weren't able to, and refused to refund the unauthorized transaction. This company is a total scam and a money grab. Stay away.

Verified Purchase

Don't Buy From This Company

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cheryl J.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I signed up for one time, 3 boxes through this service via a web deal they had going on. They "renewed my subscription" without notifying me. In January of 2021, I signed up for one time, 3 boxes through this service via a web deal they had going on. In late March of 2021, they "renewed my subscription" without notifying me. They billed me again for 3 more months of service before I even received my final box, and they did so without notifying me that they would do so. It seems like this is the business model that they use to make money - enter people unknowingly into a subscription service, and then secretly bill them without notification.

Verified Purchase

Not impressed with my first box

Apr 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristi K.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

I thought the overall activities provided were low quality and not very interesting.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointing - poor quality

Dec 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeanine S.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I really wanted to love this box. I subscribed because I thought we needed a bit of fun during pandemic times, but I was sorely disappointed. The products are so cheap and totally not worth even close to the money I paid for the box. Unfortunately, I paid for a 3-month subscription up front. The products were dollar store quality at best. While I do understand and appreciate the time it takes to curate content for a sub box (as a former sub-box owner), the cost of this sub cannot be justified based on the quality of its contents. Very, very disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Jeanine, thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your box. We focus on providing a complete Date Night at home with unique themes every month.
The value of the experience we provide is not associated with the value of the products you receive, but in the overall experience, connection, and memories made between you and your sweetie in a unique and fun way.

Sahm Mom loving Moms Night In

Nov 21, 2017
Overall
Danielle W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I’m a stay at home mom to three under five and run a small daycare! At the end of the day or week I am often desperately in need of some me time but have no energy to “go out”! The Mom’s Night In box was adorable! It contained some fun products like essential oil lip balm and a lip exfoliated! It also contained tea, colored pencils and a fun and extremely humorous adult coloring book! It’s a perfect way to unwind, laugh, and relax!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thank you for your kind words, Danielle! We are so happy you were able to enjoy some time for yourself :)

Must have with young kids

Aug 03, 2017
Overall
Megan P.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

We have young children and these dates have been such a blessing! We move around constantly and dont get a chance to adventure out often. This allows us to reconnect and make "us" a priority.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Megan!

A Fun Couples Activity Delivered Monthly

Jul 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

My husband and I have really enjoyed our "Night in Boxes" date nights. The themes are usually unique and a lot of fun! The recipes have consistently been delicious (though I wish there was a variant for seafood recipes - my husband and I both hate fish/shrimp) and we've added many to our regular recipe collection. We enjoy listening to the playlists and watching the recommended movies after. It has been a great way for us to spend quality time when we don't have a ton of extra time due to work/grad school and a necessity during quarantine!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Thanks so much for your kind and thorough review, Jamie! We are so glad you enjoyed your boxes!

Not worth the money.

Mar 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johanna F.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Honestly, I’m super disappointed.... for almost 40$ a month, March 2021 is a box of things from the dollar store and called a Magicians Night??? Im super super disappointed that I wasted my money on this box. And EVEN worse?? I bought it as a present for my boss, and I’m embarrassed. .

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 04, 2021

Hi Johanna, I am so sorry to hear you are disappointed with your box! The main activity for our Something Magical box is actually an interactive magic show that will be held via Zoom just for our customers in March. We have three different shows in March and truly hope your gift recipient can join one of them so they can enjoy their Date Night In experience! All of the items in the box will be used during the magic show. You can find more information on showtimes and links to the show on our Something Magical web page.

Lots of fun...

Apr 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jodi B.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

We love our boxes. The dinner menus are amazing, the play lists are well-curated, the activities are thoughtful.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...May 03, 2021

Hi Jodi, Thanks so much for your review and we are so glad you are enjoying your boxes!

Complete waste of your money

Mar 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tom R.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

If I could give zero stars, I absolutely would. This company provides cheap and uncreative products, is extremely sneaky about its automatic renewal policy, and is clearly just out to take every dime they possibly can from you. You are much better off spending $10 at Walmart to buy the items your spending $40 on to get shipped late. Please be aware that you are going to have to search for the automatic renewal option to disable it as it is automatically checked and hidden as well as possible in order to continue to leech from your bank account, and when to your surprise your bank account is drained of $100, the company's response is essentially "LOL Gotcha!". Personally, I would not recommend that anyone do business with these people.

Verified Purchase

SNEAKY SUBSCRIPTION RENEWALS

Mar 29, 2021
Overall
Candice H.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

DO NOT RECCOMMEND. As others have said, your purchase is a subscription whether you realize it or not. They DO NOT send REMINDER emails. Oh, and they will NOT refund you! They do not care. This is my story.
I ordered ONE box Feb. 2021 which arrived the beginning of March. The theme was Magic. It was cute enough, but definitely not worth $40+. I would have given 3 Stars for the experience. Fast forward to now. I received an email saying another box shipped. WHAT?! First of all I did not realize I had signed up for a MONTHLY SUBSCRIPTION. I specifically purchased ONE BOX/ ONE MONTH. I do not overlook details especially when it comes to a purchase like this, so I was completely astonished that it was somehow a MONTHLY SUBSCRIPTION. Again, WHAT?! I went into the account and canceled the subscription. Then I emailed them asking how we can cancel the box that has apparently shipped. They said there is nothing they can do. That is absolutely ridiculous. Not happy at all with this company's customer service. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM.

Verified Purchase

A Great Experience with the Hubby

Nov 22, 2017
Overall
Jennifer O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

We heard about Date Night In from a friend and decided to try it out. We had the best experience! Something that we would have never done or really thought to do were items in the box and it turned out to be great! We don't get many nights away from the kiddos and just being able to do something at home has been a life saver and great for our relationship!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks so much for your kind words, Jennifer! We are glad you enjoyed your date!

Date Night Made Easy

Nov 20, 2017
Overall
Cassie P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days

I am horrible at planning date night! With small kids and no energy at the end of the day, it's hard to plan something new and exciting. That’s why I absolutely love Date Night In Box…it is so fun to see what exciting things they have packed into our box each month. The best part is, it’s a surprise for both of us and all (or almost all) of the supplies are provided right in the box!
I am surprised to read some of the negative reviews I have seen...you definitely get out of the date what you put in. I have also had great customer service experiences. I once received a broken item in my box and a replacement was in my mailbox the very next day!
I have been a little confused about who gets which box each month, but from my understanding, they rotate boxes (although everyone receives the same box around the holidays). At first, I wasn't sure about this concept, but it makes sense especially considering they offer single boxes or subscriptions...plus, I would have been bummed if I hadn't received their super fun paint night box or their foundation of love box!
We have had great experiences with our boxes! Most of the time, it's not about the physical contents of the box, but more about the connection the activity creates. My husband and I usually wind up laughing a lot during our dates and it is great bonding...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Thanks for your review, Cassie! I'm glad you and your husband get so much out of your dates.

Love it!

Jun 19, 2017
Overall
Megan P.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Great for parents with little kids who can't get out much!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thank you so much for your review, Megan!

Seriously THE perfect Subscription!

Sep 29, 2017
Overall
Melissa W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

I am a mom of two boys under 5 and a military spouse with zero family around and very little time to put towards planning a date. My husband and I very rarely, like maybe once a year? go on a date. Date Night In takes the thinking and planning aspect away and on top of that, we can do it right from home when our boys are sleeping! I love that each month is a new theme and experience, we have really had fun going out of our comfort zones and creating real memories.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Melissa!