The ultimate solution to enjoy a Date Night In with your loved one from the comfort of your home!

Plans as low as $38.67 / month

Date Night In Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Two full date nights per box, for us!

Aug 13, 2020
Michele D.
19 Reviews
21 Pictures
37 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Date 3: LOVED the summer camp theme. It took us 2 nights to complete everything. I HIGHLY recommend this subscription. Recipes and playlist were superb.

Date 2: Super happy with this box! Enjoying cooking together, since we normally don't. You have to find value in the included non-tangible aspects like the recipes (dinner, drinks AND desert!!!), custom playlist, conversation starters and ways to continue the date afterwards. I really appreciate these things and getting out of the same-o routine.

DATE 1: What a fabulous Date Night In. I am totally perplexed by the negative reviews. We laughed, we connected, we 100% focused on each other for several hours... perfection!

This is our first time trying this service and we both thought it was fabulous! There is actually more to do than we could finish in one night. Reusable content, so there is extra value there. Customer service has been superb!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an informative review, Michele! We are so glad you were able to enjoy all of your boxes and really soak up the experience. We loved the summer camp theme too! :)

Can I give this zero stars?!

Jan 21, 2017
Jennifer R.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

HORRIBLE! I am so angry. I spent around $42 on this after shipping. As others mentioned below, complete waste of money. This is a joke! We were given envelopes, pens, paper, a tea light candle and 1 and a half ounces of candy to write TWELVE letters to each other. Yes, you read that correctly. This was cheap, not creative and not fun! This company is trying to make a quick buck and take advantage of people. Don't fall for this scam!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Jennifer,

I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and the date you received didn’t meet your expectations.

DOESN'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION

Oct 31, 2019
Dawn F.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEWARE!!

THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION OF ITS CUSTOMERS.

Reiterating the last reviewer, I didn't realize my "3-month subscription" would renew automatically. They say they give you lots of warnings as you are checking out, but three months later I wasn't thinking about it, and there is no reminder before they charge your card (like other subscription services I've used).

My only notice came from PayPal. Of course, it came just *hours* after their cancellation deadline. I contacted customer service right away. The boxes don't ship for at least two more weeks, but they still refuse to cancel and refund. Now I'm being charged $120 for three additional months of a service I didn't like in the first place!!

They've offered to change the content of my boxes (make it a kids box) or delay delivery, so clearly there is still time in the process to make changes, but they still refuse to cancel. They also would not escalate my issue to a manager, despite multiple requests.

I told them I don't like their product, so sending them at a later date does not address my issue. They don't care. They would rather keep my money and have an unhappy customer. And it's $120!! It's not like a $15 magazine subscription. Maybe to a rich corporation like Cratejoy, $120 is meaningless. But we are a one-income family of three, and $120 is a lot of money to us. But they don't care.

THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. We do our best to give as many warnings as possible during the checkout process as well as giving you the option to remove the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription prior to signing up for your subscription as well in our post purchase communications. We will take your thoughts into consideration for further improvements in our communications with customers in the future.

NOT CUSTOMER FRIENDLY

Nov 04, 2019
Rachael S.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If I could give this zero stars I would. I am extremely disappointed in their customer service. I had a poor experience with this company when trying to request a refund for my auto-renew. I asked 6 different times to speak with a supervisor and was denied. I am incredibly disappointed in the fact that they have zero flexibility in their refund policy. I have never dealt with a company who was this unfriendly to their customers. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 04, 2019

We are very sorry about that your experience was less than satisfactory. The automatic renewal feature associated with our subscriptions is clearly noted throughout the shopping experience and post purchase communications. By agreeing to the terms and conditions prior to signing up for your subscription, you were made aware of the cancellation, renewal and refund terms. When reviewing your communications with the Night In Boxes Customer experience team your request was immediately escalated to Night In Boxes Customer Experience team's Assistant Manager. After requesting to talk to the Assistant Manager's supervisor you were provided with a final resolution on your request by the VP - Customer Experience. Please do not mistake our adherence to our policies as unfriendly. We appreciate your feedback and will take...

Terrible Company

Oct 29, 2019
Rachel Y.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They hide in your purchase that it is "auto renew" - with very little warning. After six months, you are charged with little warning for a whopping $250. They refuse to refund your money and their customer service is lacking. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. The warnings regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with subscriptions clearly marked in the checkout screen as well as the ability to remove this feature prior to checkout. We also have included multiple warnings in our post purchase communications regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements in our communications with customers.

Must have with young kids

Aug 03, 2017
Megan P.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

We have young children and these dates have been such a blessing! We move around constantly and dont get a chance to adventure out often. This allows us to reconnect and make "us" a priority.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Megan!

TERRIBLE! Save your money.

Mar 26, 2020
Rachel M.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wish I could give a zero. This company doesn’t care about its customers and doesn’t “curate” unique dates they throw together junk and then provide links that don’t work. This last one was the last straw, it was about sensing more and LITERALLY came with a vile of massage oil, 5 caramels, a wooden knife and 3 wads of wax (still don’t know what it’s for). Then our date instructions were a narration on a website so we would have had some stranger’s voice on our date night. DO NOT waste your money. When I reached out to the company they gave me a link to the review page and it was the wrong link so I searched this place out.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 26, 2020

Hi Rachel,

I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and this date wasn't for you.

To summarize the complete date details...

Couples were audio guided through a taste test, massage experience, scent sampling and visual challenge. Our goal was to have you, as a couple, reflect on how your five senses have contributed to your relationship.

The included items were several activities, a snack for two, something to set the mood for the date (3 wax samples to explore scents as a couple, massage cards to learn various massage techniques and massage oil, a tasting guide, tasting mat, knife and McCreas Gourmet Caramels, a puzzle, a custom Spotify playlist, a suggested custom curated dinner menu with...

A Fun Couples Activity Delivered Monthly

Jul 08, 2020
Jamie L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I have really enjoyed our "Night in Boxes" date nights. The themes are usually unique and a lot of fun! The recipes have consistently been delicious (though I wish there was a variant for seafood recipes - my husband and I both hate fish/shrimp) and we've added many to our regular recipe collection. We enjoy listening to the playlists and watching the recommended movies after. It has been a great way for us to spend quality time when we don't have a ton of extra time due to work/grad school and a necessity during quarantine!

Verified Purchase

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Jan 29, 2020
Olivia C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This company is dishonest! They keep your payment information and will charge you more than you sign up for! Several of the boxes didn’t include all items needed for activities. Some of the boxes were just advertisement items. I am extremely upset I purchased this last year! The creativity is severely lacking. One of the boxes was literally a paper clip, 4inch string, paper streamers, and some chopsticks! Worst purchase I have ever made!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 30, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our product and will take your feedback in to consideration for future improvements in communication.

We provide the option to review previous boxes that have been sent to customers so that new customers get an idea of what is included in our boxes.

When pulling the items together which are included in our Game On box, couples will tap into their competitive spirit, while playing silly games that are intended to fill their evening with laughter while making memories that last a life time.

The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, checkout process along in all post purchase communications. Each customer has the opportunity to access their account details with their...

Date Night Made Easy

Nov 20, 2017
Cassie P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall

I am horrible at planning date night! With small kids and no energy at the end of the day, it's hard to plan something new and exciting. That’s why I absolutely love Date Night In Box…it is so fun to see what exciting things they have packed into our box each month. The best part is, it’s a surprise for both of us and all (or almost all) of the supplies are provided right in the box!

I am surprised to read some of the negative reviews I have seen...you definitely get out of the date what you put in. I have also had great customer service experiences. I once received a broken item in my box and a replacement was in my mailbox the very next day!

I have been a little confused about who gets which box each month, but from my understanding, they rotate boxes (although everyone receives the same box around the holidays). At first, I wasn't sure about this concept, but it makes sense especially considering they offer single boxes or subscriptions...plus, I would have been bummed if I hadn't received their super fun paint night box or their foundation of love box!

We have had great experiences with our boxes! Most of the time, it's not about the physical contents of the box, but more about the connection the activity creates. My husband and I usually wind up laughing a lot during our dates and it is great bonding...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Thanks for your review, Cassie! I'm glad you and your husband get so much out of your dates.

Best Gift Ever!

Dec 29, 2017
Lindsey W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We received one box as a gift for Christmas and we have already signed up for a subscription on our own! My favorite part is it is basically the surprise date your husband would never come up with on his own! Lots of cute little activities and the spotify list made it seem extra special! We just put the kids to bed 30 minutes earlier that night and had alot of fun just the two of us! Thank you Cratejoy!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Lindsey! So glad you enjoyed your date so much!

Wonderful for new parents!

Nov 20, 2017
Alyssa L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I recently became parents, our son is now six months old, date nights are non-existent... or so I thought! Date Night in boxes are amazing!! It has really helped us to enjoy a little more us time without having to leave our little guy. I wish we would have found this sooner. Thanks for making an awesome product, and for being so helpful while ordering.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Alyssa! We are always happy to help new parents get in a good date night from the comfort of their own home!

A Great Experience with the Hubby

Nov 22, 2017
Jennifer O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

We heard about Date Night In from a friend and decided to try it out. We had the best experience! Something that we would have never done or really thought to do were items in the box and it turned out to be great! We don't get many nights away from the kiddos and just being able to do something at home has been a life saver and great for our relationship!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks so much for your kind words, Jennifer! We are glad you enjoyed your date!

Dont do it!

May 27, 2020
Keshav A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

One of the worst thing I have bought online. The items did not even come in a box. It came in a cheap Amazon-like yellow envelope. It completely ruined our date night.

What worse is that you can not cancel future deliveries. Once you opt-in, they already charge you for four boxes. This is just unfair!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Keshav,
I’m so sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with our company and were disappointed by the packaging. Your date was sent out when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date being sent in a padded mailer instead of a box, something that was only done for a month.

The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, during the checkout process, and in all post purchase communications. The customer is required to agree to the terms and conditions of the subscription prior to signing up for the service, along with giving permission for Night In Boxes to continue to charge the payment method associated with the...

Great alternative to traditional dates!

Nov 20, 2017
Leah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

My boyfriend is a major homebody, and getting him to go out and try new things is like pulling teeth. A few months ago, I surprised him with this subscription box. The date we tried was the Foundation of Love Box. He really enjoys puzzles so I knew he would love this. We spent the next few hours drinking wine while building the various things the guide suggested. Also loved the Spotify station! Overall, if you need variety, but your significant other is not up for outside adventures, give this a try!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Leah! So glad this was a good option for you and your boyfriend.

Sahm Mom loving Moms Night In

Nov 21, 2017
Danielle W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I’m a stay at home mom to three under five and run a small daycare! At the end of the day or week I am often desperately in need of some me time but have no energy to “go out”! The Mom’s Night In box was adorable! It contained some fun products like essential oil lip balm and a lip exfoliated! It also contained tea, colored pencils and a fun and extremely humorous adult coloring book! It’s a perfect way to unwind, laugh, and relax!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thank you for your kind words, Danielle! We are so happy you were able to enjoy some time for yourself :)

Love it!

Jun 19, 2017
Megan P.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Great for parents with little kids who can't get out much!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thank you so much for your review, Megan!

Seriously THE perfect Subscription!

Sep 29, 2017
Melissa W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I am a mom of two boys under 5 and a military spouse with zero family around and very little time to put towards planning a date. My husband and I very rarely, like maybe once a year? go on a date. Date Night In takes the thinking and planning aspect away and on top of that, we can do it right from home when our boys are sleeping! I love that each month is a new theme and experience, we have really had fun going out of our comfort zones and creating real memories.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Thanks for your kind words, Melissa!

Such a let-down!

Jan 24, 2017
Colleen P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

For those who want to cancel, you can do so on their website: https://date-night-in.cratejoy.com

I was so excited for our date box, and when it arrived, and I opened it, my husband and I thought it must have been a joke! Sure, the thought of writing love notes is sweet, but at least provide pretty pens and paper. Maybe put in some decent sweets. I completely regret making this purchase. I have cancelled my subscription, and I will use my $35 to purchase some high-quality date night things and plan my own!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Colleen,
I’m sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your date. We take time to carefully curate each date, and provide several activities and a delicious treat. We apologize if our date didn't meet your expectations.

Horrible

Jan 22, 2017
Hollie W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The pictures online are nothing like what you get. My husband thought it was a joke!! $40 on paper and pens. I didn't even get the candle. I'm trying to cancel but can't figure out how to!! I want a refund and I'll send this junk back!!!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Hollie,
I am sorry that your Date Night In Box didn't meet your expectations. We carefully curate each box, and include several activities and tasty treats. I apologize that you didn't enjoy your experience with us.

Give Thanks Date Night In Box

Dec 01, 2017
Melissa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I loved the Give Thanks box! There's ideas in here I never would have thought of before. The candle smelled so good, I really enjoyed thinking of little things I was thankful for with my boyfriend and we created the survival bracelet. I will be making a care package for the foundation, I'm so glad I heard about them now. It's a good cause. Looking forward to the winter themed box for next month!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Thanks for the kind words, Melissa! We're so glad you enjoyed your Give Thanks box!

Fun, but not worth the price

Jul 12, 2020
Anna J.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month