The Deadbolt Mystery Society
Solve a new stand-alone mystery each month from The Deadbolt Mystery Society.

Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Subscriber Reviews

Deadbolt Mysteries

by Sloane, yesterday

So, I subscribed to another mystery box for almost two years and, reluctantly, realized I wasn't getting any sort of payoff. It was fun to speculate, but the rabbit holes soon started feeling like an abyss. I read all the reviews and decided to go with Deadbolt Mystery Society. I am so glad I did! These individual boxes are challenging, fun, and there's a huge payoff when you solve the mystery! I've completed six and have three more to go, and I can hardly wait to start the next box. If you've been disappointed in other subscription services, try Deadbolt before you write off the genre for good. You won't be sorry!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

First one done

by Jullie, 2 days ago

The deadbolt mystery Wow I loved it. Problem solving, clues , amazing just ordered the next 6 months worth. I cant wait! 5 stars for me!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

Loved the detective work!

by Lakeida, 6 days ago

This is my first box and I dug in straight away as i wanted to have enough time to cancel my next months subscription if it was not up to par. I am glad to say, I enjoyed this very much and I am looking forward to my next box. The only reason it 4/5 is because of the logic puzzle aspects. Don't get me wrong, they worked them into the story very well, but I am more interested in true detective work and deduction based on motive, means, and opportunity.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

Wow! Just wow!

by Danielle, 7 days ago

TL;DR Received my first box last Saturday and couldn’t wait to start it! I was not disappointed. Definitely felt like I got my monies worth. Now for the full review: Inside the box there were several “clues” and interactive pieces (QR code to be scanned that led to an audio recording, secret emails, etc). I literally had a notebook and pen writing out my theories and I felt like a real detective. There isn’t a guided path so it really is thinking outside of the box, gets you into a detective character, and paying attention to ALL the pieces of information to solve the puzzles.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

Fabulous!

by Keeley, Jan 09, 2019

Got this for my 14 year old for Christmas. We did the seaside strangler together and had a blast! She loved it. Can't wait for next month!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

Good mental exercise!

by Jennifer, Jan 07, 2019

My husband and I play computer adventure/hidden object games, and I was looking for something a little more "hands-on." This was great! I admit it took me a little while to understand how to play the game (what? No step-by-step instructions?), but once I figured it out it was fine. Clues don't necessarily have to be uncovered in order, although some things lead to another thing. So just knowing where to start was my issue. The puzzles were challenging (sometimes I made it harder than it was), but for our first time with this kind of game, it was good. It took me two tries to figure out the killer. After my first wrong answer, I just went back and methodically went over the clues again. So I solved it the 2nd time thru. I love this idea!

|Report abuse

Can wait until the next one!!

by Joy, Jan 07, 2019

I received a one time gift of this mystery box for Christmas. I could not get enough of it. I immediately went online to get my hands on whatever I could. I ordered the other available one time purchases as well as subscribed for future boxes. The detail within this mystery was profound. The puzzles are varied and very creative! It is a mixed media mystery in which you receive paper in the box but also must utilize the internet. But even the paper documents are varied. I did the Cabin and within it were a button, business cards, a pamphlet, newspaper articles and more!! I can’t believe they come up with new ones each month!! Can’t wait for my next box to arrive!!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

So Much Fun!!!

by Brenda, Jan 06, 2019

I received a three month subscription as a birthday gift from my husband. The first mystery I solved was The Toymaker. It was challenging and super fun. I'm impressed with the quality, attention to detail, and variety of puzzles that are included in the box. For anyone who grew up on Scooby Doo, Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, or Encyclopedia Brown, the Deadbolt Mystery Society is a must. I anxiously await my next mystery!

|Report abuse

Great Mystery Box!

by Stephanie, Dec 30, 2018

Just finished my first box, The Toymaker, and already ordered another. The mystery was challenging but not too hard. I love their Facebook hint page. I did have to ask for one hint. They were VERY quick with a response. They gave me a hint, not an answer, which I appreciated. I also enjoyed the extra media steps along the way. Well done!

|Report abuse

So much fun!

by Cheryl, Dec 09, 2018

I Love mysteries, true crime shows and tried a crime box subscription box around 8 months ago and it just frustrated the heck out of me; I cancelled after 5 months and gave up. When I stumbled across Deadbolt I thought I’d give a mystery subscription box another try and I was thrilled. This time I got my husband involved (who also likes puzzles and escape rooms) and we loved it. I really like the fact that you can solve the whole mystery in one box and the story line isn’t all over the place. We were fighting over the clues (in a fun way) and it was so much better than sitting around watching TV. Strongly recommend this box! I can’t wait for the next one!

|Report abuse
View Details