The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
591 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
591

Awesome date night

Jun 11, 2019
Alexandra M.
1 Review
1 Picture
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WOW! Simply wow! We LOVED this. What an awesome date night game! Perfectly put together, lasted a couple of hours. We were NEVER bored and guessing until the very end. We ordered Sanitarium as a trial and we are for sure going to be monthly subscribers! Thanks for the fun!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 30, 2019

That's awesome! We love hearing about quality date night time. Thank you for the review and for being a subscriber! I am sure Nurse Edgarton would be appreciative of your efforts :-)

Fantastic Experience!

Jul 20, 2020
Perry I.
1 Review
2 Pictures
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

After completing my first box (the 2020 June box “Behind the Wall“) I became an instant fan of the Deadbolt Mystery Society. I went on to learn more about the company and their previous boxes and I just continued to fall in love. I began my quest to solve all of their boxes! Rich story and smart intuitive puzzles make for such a fun and unique experience. The quality of the box and its content is top notch. From the moment you start reading the brief you are woven into an experience, not just a game. It was easily one of the coolest things I have done this year. Definitely worth a try! They sell single boxes as well if you want to try it all out before subscribing.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 29, 2020

We are so happy you are enjoying our boxes... subscriptions and one time boxes! Thank you for sharing you experience with us!

Exactly what I was looking for

May 11, 2019
Clark P.
1 Review
48 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you're here reading this then you, like I was, are probably trying to sort out which subscription mystery box to sign up for among the many ones out there. I did the research you are most likely doing now and I settled on Deadbolt Mystery and I am glad I did. Deadbolt was everything I was looking for. Hopefully, my comments here will help you with your decision.
I've done three of their boxes so far (WANTED, COPYCAT, and INFECTED), so I thought I have seen enough of their content to have an informed review. I am doing their monthly subscription box. I have not ordered any of the one-off specialty boxes.
It's not that helpful to just say I love the box. Because you need to know what I was looking for. Let me explain that a bit.
I wanted something cooperative, of moderate difficulty (not too hard, not too easy), self-contained, professionally done with quality components, good writing, not a lot of hand-holding, and I wanted a mystery more than an escape room vibe. DMS delivered on all of those. And on top of that they are really professional, have a great online community and their shipping is timely and like clockwork. No waiting for boxes, they run like a well-oiled machine.
My brother and I are older now and live in different states. We both love puzzles and we wanted a fun way to keep in touch each month. We had tried Mysterious Package Company and...

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thanks a million for your detailed review of The Deadbolt Mystery Society! We do our best to create intriguing stories and challenging puzzles with each of our subscription boxes. We are glad you are enjoying them and appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences!

Love Deadbolt Mysteries!

Jan 15, 2020
Candi C.
1 Review
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I can’t say enough about how much I love the deadbolt mystery boxes! My sister bought me 3 of them for my birthday last year. I ended up buying myself three more boxes as well as a subscription. Fun for the family, with friends, or even to do on your own. No regrets with these at all!! Looking forward to more boxes in the future.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 31, 2020

Thank your sister for us for getting you hooked on our mystery boxes! So glad to hear you are enjoying them. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on The Deadbolt Mystery Society. We really appreciate it!

Deadbolt Society Box Subscription

Feb 14, 2021
Kathryn H.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

As I mentioned when asked to review previously, I think that the Deadbolt Society does a GREAT job with the boxes themselves. They’re well put together. They’re interactive. They have great support.
The SOLE reason I subtracted 1 star for the overall rating is because Cratejoy gave it a 13+ for the recommended age range. When we subscribed we took this to understand that younger kids/teens (13-16) could easily enjoy it solo or with adults. Arguably, it’s NOT something that a couple of younger teens would be able to play without needing to use A LOT of hints/clues.
The boxes are challenging and fun. Don’t expect to breeze right through them. It’s a good time with the right group of people/friends.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 15, 2021

Thank you, Kathryn, for sharing your thoughts on the DMS mysteries. We are glad to hear you are enjoying them. We have a 13+ rating on our boxes due to the subject matter contained within the stories. Although there is no nudity or profanity, there are references to murder. The puzzles are designed to be challenging but not impossible. Hopefully, kids ages 13 to 16 will continue working with our boxes and develop an appreciation for the creativity. :-)

Subscribe now!

Apr 13, 2021
Zak K.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you can see the image I've uploaded, then you can tell how much we love Deadbolt Mystery Society! The most recent box we did (Beneath The Surface) was by far the best and we can't wait for what they have in store for us next month!
The boxes have so many layers, in box and online, with reasonable but tricky puzzles! Typically a box will take my wife and I 2-3 hours to complete without hints. This last box took us a few days, spending a couple hours each day (hey, we have kids, and they like to interrupt), and that was a good thing! We definitely get lots of value from our subscription.
I cannot recommend this subscription enough! Why are you still reading this?? Go start your subscription!!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

Wow! That is quite a collection! Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation, Zak! We really appreciate you taking time to share the experience you and your wife have had solving the DMS mysteries! Love your sense of humor, Detective!

I ❤ DMS

Feb 10, 2021
Lynn H.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

After receiving a similar type mystery box as a Christmas present, I started looking for more and came across an ad for DMS. I bought a few boxes, then a few more, then a lot more, and then finally gave in and bought a subscription! Whenever my daughter is home from college we have so much fun working on these! Some are very challenging, but always so much fun! Lots of variety, good quality! I highly recommend these!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 12, 2021

We are so grateful that you chose to give DMS mysteries a try....and then another try....and another! We love hearing that so much and are happy to know we have a tiny part in the memories you are making with your daughter! Thank you for sharing your experience and for the 5-star review, Lynn!

it is decent

Dec 27, 2020
Brian G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this box on as when November was transitioning to December. I wouldve liked it if i couldve gotten this box before Christmas but hey, 1 day too late is better than like 1 week too late. This box looks interesting, however I was originally bought this box to get the Framed theme but The Spider def does look interesting to play. Tbh, i dont hate this subscription, Im only going to done one and done as i only got this as a gift for my uncle

Verified Purchase

I love everything about their games

May 16, 2021
Clarisse J.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am a reader, so for me it’s all about the story. I also love puzzles and connecting the dots. DMS gives me both in each game. As I solve the ciphers and puzzles, I unlock more story, and by the time I’m done, I feel like I know each character personally. Well done! I love everything about their games.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

Thank you so much for the glowing recommendation, Clarisse! The DMS writers are awesome at creating intriguing stories that keep you guessing until the very end! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about our mysteries, Detective!

Great Customer Service!!

Dec 24, 2020
Erin P.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am only able to really rate customer service and shipping - as I have not received this! I purchased this on 11/18 for a Christmas gift. It shipped on 12/4. On 12/14 I got a request to review it which prompted me to check the tracking. It seemed the package was stuck somewhere since 12/7. Now it is 12/24 and no box, so no Christmas gift for my sister. This company's customer service is quite disappointing as they have not responded to any of my requests for help. A company with good customer service would have re shipped the box so that I had it for Christmas. Very disappointed. I hope that this box arrives and that we do not have issue with the next two boxes. I do not recommend- the other three crates I ordered on crate joy have excellent customer service. Fast shipping and quick response to questions and issues. Go with one of those escape room crates.

Verified Purchase

A solidly good time

Yesterday
Dan H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Extremely fun

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Today

Thanks for the recommendation, Dan! We appreciate it.

Creative, challenging and affordable!

Yesterday
Kelley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love these boxes! They are much more affordable than other similar subscription services, and the cases are great quality and just as creative. I look forward to my next box every month! :)

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Today

Hello Kelley! We are thrilled to hear you look forward to the next mystery just as much as we do! Thank you for the 5-star review and your recommendation!

Fun mystery box!

2 days ago
Caroline R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Great box every time. Company is easy to reach out to and very helpful. 10/10 would recommend.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Today

10 out of 10.....we are so happy to see that! Thank you for the 5-star review and your recommendation, Caroline. We appreciate it!

Highly HIGHLY recommend these games!

4 days ago
Johannah D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely LOVE their games! I look forward to opening every single box - and I've tried lots of other similar mail-order mystery games (some cheaper, some more expensive) and these are simply the best - story lines are interesting and entertaining, the puzzles and codes to crack are very challenging (usually too hard for me - but their hint system is just enough to help out without taking away the fun of cracking the code) I highly HIGHLY recommend these games to anyone who loves mysteries, escape-rooms and interactive and immersive games!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Today

Thank you so much for the kind words, Detective! We appreciate your support and are happy to hear you are enjoying our mysteries!

Best Mysteries Out There!

May 26, 2021
Sommer P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love these boxes. We used to do Hunt A Killer but I feel the mysteries here are much more enjoyable. We love the story lines and have fun blindly picking who we think the killer is first thing. Somehow my husband is always lucky. Such a fun game!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 28, 2021

We count ourselves lucky to have detectives on our team with such keen senses! Thank you for the recommendation and for helping us restore the peace in Valley Falls, one case at a time!

You need this!!

May 23, 2021
Melody W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved it would recommend!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 24, 2021

Thank you for the recommendation, Melody! We agree.....everyone needs to try our mysteries at least once! :-)

Love you guys

May 20, 2021
Patricia W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love these! I’m totally addicted! I’m collecting them all and one of my boxes came crushed and deadbolt sent me a new one the same week! I love them!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 20, 2021

We love you too, Patricia! I am so thankful we were able to get your replacement box out quickly. Thank you for the recommendation and for sharing your thoughts regarding The Deadbolt Mystery Society.

The Deadbolt Mystery Society

May 19, 2021
Esther B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Out of all the mystery subscription boxes out there, The Deadbolt Mystery Society is the best. There boxes are just right, not too hard, not too easy and the items you get in the box that you use for clues are really cool. Also, their Facebook community makes you feel very welcomed and help if you get stuck without giving away the answer. I've bought many stand alone mysteries and recently subscribed for their monthly subscription. I can't wait till the first box gets here. Thanks crate-joy for making it easy to navigate thru your site and offering the best range of subscription boxes.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 20, 2021

We are thrilled to have you on our team of detectives, Esther! Thank you so much for the kind words and for giving a shout out to our fabulous fellow sleuths in the Facebook group. We appreciate your support and look forward to sharing many more mysteries with you!

VALLEY FALLS WHERE IT ALL HAPPENS

May 16, 2021
Jana H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

"Scavenger" was my 3rd mystery to solve. I had 3 additional brand new detectives join me. We had a great time and it took us 5 hours to figure it out using the hint files. We all loved it! It would be nice to include the rope in 2nd envelope. Luckily we used dental floss instead. Great Job and looking forward to my next 5 subscription boxes!!!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

We are so excited to see The Howlee Detective Agency growing and thankful to have your help solving all these mysteries! The rope is really small and may have been overlooked in the envelope but no worries. I am sending you one today for future use. I am quite amazed at your ingenuity of using the dental floss ~ Great idea! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and for the review, Detective!

Highly Recommend

Nov 06, 2020
Katherine C.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A friend sent me Framed as a first box. My partner and I did it to get some time off-screen, and it was a great adventure. Now we are subscribers and are working on another box with our friend. We Zoom, spend a couple of hours figuring things out (mostly together, but also separately and then share), and have some laughs. We take our time, so the box is a really good value (each box takes us about 4 hours, spread out over a week or two). The materials are high-quality, from the plot to the props. We did our first box twice! Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 10, 2020

We are so happy you are enjoying your mysteries!

Best in house Date night

Dec 07, 2019
Erin G.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We absolutely love being a part of the Deadbolt Mystery Society! The puzzles are challenging but solve able, the story lines are great and so much fun! This is the perfect stay-in date night for parents or anyone who isn’t into the bar scene. We have almost all of the individual purchase ones that you can possibly buy and I have signed up for a subscription because I just can’t get enough.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 30, 2020

Erin, we are thrilled to hear how much you are enjoying the mysteries! Thank you for your support and awesome review :-)

Amazing fun, enjoyment and satisfaction.

May 18, 2020
Clifford B.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just figured I would drop by and give my praise (Easthaven Forest Box). My wife and I cracked into our first box of many last night and were both glad we did. With four kids and busy work schedules date nights are impossible, so this was our way of having one. Upon opening the box and laying out the contents we thought it would be to challenging but after beginning and finding our first clues and linking together puzzles we were both smiling big and high fiving. We were not able to complete it in one sitting of course but we had a blast and can not wait to figure out who is the murderer. So thank you for taking my wife and I on a much needed date. I personally can not wait for more now that we have a date night activity!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jun 05, 2020

We are so happy you chose to spend date night with the Deadbolt Mystery Society! Sending smiles and high fives back at you helping the Will Street Detective Agency bring justice to Valley Falls! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Clifford!

Not the best but not terrible

Yesterday
Kathryne A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The Blast from the Past box was fun and had a lot of great 80s pop culture references that made it extra enjoyable. That being said, I think a few of the puzzles seemed great on paper but where very confusing in terms of reality. Overall not bad and looking forward to next months mystery!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Today

Hi Kathryne! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Blast from the Past with us. We are sorry to hear that some of the puzzles were confusing to you but are so grateful that you pressed on, figured them out and closed the case, Detective! Well done!

Well crafted and fun!

May 14, 2021
Jennifer K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My small gaming group has really enjoyed these boxes! The use of a mixture of manipulatives and digital files has been especially excellent during COVID times. With a bit of forethought and preparation, we can play these mystery boxes through video chat and text message (to send pictures and QR codes). We will continue to play these boxes with our long-distance friends even when COVID restrictions ease!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

We love that you have a regular gaming group and everyone is able to participate long distance! Thank you so much for not allowing COVID to interfere with restoring justice to Valley Falls! Thank you for the 5-star review, Detective. We appreciate it!

Started with one...

May 14, 2021
Ren A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

....and now I'm on a monthly subscription! I just finished my second Deadbolt Mystery box and I LOVE them! The attention to detail is amazing. The different types of clues are just great. They even use different types of paper depending on the clues. Old letter? Fragile feeling (but still sturdy, how do they do that?). Pictures of the suspects? Glossy thick professional looking/feel paper. I love that hints AND solutions are offered and they are in different locations so you can't accidently see the solution if you just want a hint on where to look or what to do next. My second one was harder than the first but the challenge was good.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

The Will Street Detective Agency is very thankful for your services! We do try to give each box a little something different and appreciate your thoughts on the different textures and weights we use. How we do it will have to remain a MYSTERY, I'm afraid :-). Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Ren!