The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
748 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
748

Fantastic customer service!

Dec 21, 2020
Andrew C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered two different crates for family members this year for Christmas. The first was delivered within a few days, but the second crate had no updates for tracking and still hadn’t arrived almost two weeks later. So I sent an email to The Deadbolt Mystery Society. I received a prompt reply that they were aware of many shipping issues and would look into mine for me. A couple days went past (with a couple of check in emails) and they let me know that they weren’t getting anywhere with USPS so they were reshipping my order. My gift arrived five days later. I’m very happy, and will be purchasing more gifts in the future. They have fantastic customer service!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience with DMS, Andrew! We are so happy that you chose us for your gifts and thrilled that we were able to get the mysteries to you in time. We do have fantastic customer service and will always be here if you need us in the future!

DBMS - Best subscription boxes ever!

Dec 21, 2020
Katie S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love Deadbolt Mystery Society boxes! They have been a huge bright spot over the last few months for me and my husband. We have 3 kids and really needed new at-home date night ideas. We haven't been able to get out this year because of Covid, and I honestly can't express how much we are grateful to have found these boxes! We got a box to try and loved it! We've since purchased around a dozen single boxes, as well as a 6 month subscription. They are super high quality boxes. The contents are always a little different from box to box, and the storylines are really engaging. The puzzles are challenging but fun, and they aren't repetitive. Shipping has always been prompt, any shipping issues around the 2020 holiday are issues that just about every company is having. Don't let that deter you, I'm sure shipping will return to normal soon, and these boxes are definitely worth it.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you for the kind words, Katie! I am so glad we have been able to offer a little distraction from what is going on in the world. We appreciate your thoughts on the shipping issues that were beyond our control and hopefully, there will be no more delays going forward. On behalf of the Will Street Detective Agency, thank you for helping to restore justice to Valley Falls!

Awesome product

Dec 20, 2020
Danielle K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First time trying a box was July 2020 as a pandemic date night alternative (we were escape room regulars) and have been hooked! I’ve done about 10 boxes so far and have loved each and every one. The stories are great and there are so many unique puzzles. The customer service is great too with super quick response time. Looking forward to working on my next boxes.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

DMS mysteries are the perfect date night activity! We are so glad you joined our Society and love the stories and puzzles as much as we do!

Great product put out by a great company

Dec 20, 2020
Sarah G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first three boxes just over 4 months ago as a gift. In the last 4 months I have done 9 boxes and have 5 more waiting to be done. The biggest problem I have with The Deadbolt Mystery Society puzzle boxes is that I am having a hard time with self control. I would love to just zip right through all of them but I know I have a long winter ahead and should show some form of restraint.
The website is easy to navigate and order from. Shipping is quick, usually within the week.
Each box has been completely different, not just the stories but the puzzles as well.
First thing I do when I get a batch of boxes is open each one up and make sure everything is there. So far the only thing I've been missing was a little trinket that didn't have anything to do with solving the puzzle. I emailed the company to see if the trinket was vital and they got back to me within minutes to let me know it wasn't.
Many people post on facebook about being stuck on a puzzle, the other detectives are great at gentle nudges and if a bigger push is needed the company is always on top of it.
These puzzles are certainly worth every penny.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star review, Sarah! We are so happy to have you on board with us and love seeing how eager you are to solve all of the mysteries at once! Awesome job making sure you have all of the box contents before getting started. Our customer service team is always on standby ready to help if the need arises. If your self control gets out of hand, we have plenty more boxes to help you feel better :-)

Deadbolt Mysteries are Awesome!

Dec 20, 2020
Deb F.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My daughter gave me a 3 month subscription for Mother's Day. The boxes are well-done; they are organized and the puzzles are tricky enough for an adult or teen-ager but accessible to a tween with some help. There is a variety of puzzles--some decoding, some seeing a pattern, even a sudoku. I actually asked her to renew the subscription as a birthday gift. I haven't had any real problems (one time I misplaced a card) but the company has been very responsive. There is also a facebook community which is a nice little bonus. I certainly recommend them.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words, Deb. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Shout out to your daughter who gave you one of the best gifts ever! The Will Street Detective Agency thanks you for your assistance with closing the cases that arise in Valley Falls!

Deadbolt mystery society is the BEST

Dec 20, 2020
Beth C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Hands down they are the best mystery box company around. They are always there to help and very accommodating. It is obvious how much they care about their subscribers. Sadly they are getting dinged with the pandemic and the postal service having shipping problems. They can not be blamed for problems out of their control. Thank you Deadbolt Mystery Society for all you do for. your subscribers. Love you guys!!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

We can't thank you enough for your understanding that shipping times are out of our control once the order leaves our facility. Thank you so much, Beth, for believing in DMS and being a part of our detective team! We love and appreciate you too!

Fun activity, worth it!

Dec 20, 2020
Hannah J.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I look forward to our mystery game every month. It is a fun diversion from the "real world." Something fun to do in the evenings. The stories are entertaining, puzzles just hard enough to feel some success at solving them.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Hannah! I am so glad to hear you are enjoying our mystery boxes and able to get a break from the "real world" for a few hours.

Best subscription box out there

Dec 20, 2020
Dalanna B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is honestly the best subscription box I’ve ever used. I have been a member for over a year and have purchased every box they have. The customer service is amazing and they go above and beyond to help their customers. The mysteries keep me on my toes and getting my monthly box is truly a highlight of my month.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

It's nice to hear that you are as excited about receiving your next box as much as we are about creating it! Thanks a million for your support, Detective Delanna! We appreciate you taking the time leave us a review and share your thoughts :-)

Fun Puzzles - Great Customer Service

Dec 15, 2020
Matt P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First - the mysteries are fun, well thought out, challenging, and engaging. Highly recommend.
But even further, this company is great. As a fun pandemic night with friends, I distributed packages of clues to five other couples and we took on the mystery over Zoom.
Bad news, when we sat down to solve things, one of the couples did not receive their package of clues. Now, these mysteries are tricky enough as is but they are downright impossible without all of the clues!
We took inventory of what we were missing and figured we would just use the online hints where we got stuck. As a Hail Mary, my wife thought of emailing DMS to see if they would send us the lost clues. This was at 10pm on a Saturday night, so I figured there was ZERO chance it would work.
Was I wrong!
Within a minute and a half, DMS responded and provided us with digital copies of the missing clues! I was stunned and my wife got to say "I told you so".
So, to DMS, thanks for the fun puzzles and the excellent customer service! You have made a fan out of me!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

We do our best to create challenging, but not impossible, puzzles with all of our subscription boxes. I am thankful that we were able to get what you needed right when you needed it and love hearing how friends and families are able to solve our mysteries long distance! We are glad you are enjoying them and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review!

Keep up the good work!

Dec 15, 2020
Cathy M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the products that this company produces. The stories are entertaining and well thought out. The customer service is wonderful. Recently, a shortage forced a replacement in the first subscription offering for new subscribers, and I had also ordered a bunle package that contained that item. They had the foresight to have held a few copies back of the box they had originally offered, and they made sure I didn't get a duplicate. I have had only one shipping issue after having ordered quite a few products over Black Friday-Cyber Monday weekend. It turned out to be an issue with the post office not having updated the tracking on my package. It was no reflection on the company. For a very reasonable cost, The Deadbolt Mystery Society offers a top-notch product, and they consistently make it clear exactly how much they value their customer base. Great job, DMS!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words, Cathy! We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and others that are considering our products. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you and really appreciate your patience and understanding with the recent USPS shipping delays. Thank you for helping us keep the peace in Valley Falls, Detective!

Can’t wait for the next!

Dec 09, 2020
Jessica M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just finished the circle and it was hands down the best mystery box we have played. So glad Jonathan introduced us to this company!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 15, 2020

Hey Jessica, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed solving The Circle! Thank you for being a part of DMS.

The Circle

Dec 09, 2020
Tasha B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the circle!!!! It is my favorite. Thank you Johnathan for introducing me to deadbolt mystery society.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 15, 2020

We love hearing this! Thanks for letting us know that you had a great time with The Circle. That's definitely what we want.

Sweet Tooth Fun

Dec 05, 2020
Kayla K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We played Sweet Tooth and it was so much fun! It kept us guessing and I loved that we could all play it as a family. Would definitely recommend for family game night.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 15, 2020

Thank you Kayla for your recommendation! Sweet Tooth was a fun mystery to put together and we are happy to hear that you had a lot of fun with it!

Loved the Sweet Tooth Box

Dec 05, 2020
Kara M.
1 Review
Overall

We had the best time playing the Sweet Tooth box at our family Thanksgiving! It was challenging & fun!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 15, 2020

There's not much better than a mystery about cooking during Thanksgiving! So glad that you enjoyed Sweet Tooth!!

Super fun!

Dec 01, 2020
Skylar J.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I can not get enough of this company. The Deadbolt Mystery Society delivers and I can not wait for my next mystery to get here. Me and my husband solved the case and stopped the Hacker in HACKED!! Thanks to Brayden for the recommendation!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 01, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Awesome family time for a great value.

Nov 29, 2020
Edward S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife Michele and I have enjoyed several of the mystery boxes. Super for date night or even a night with the family.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 01, 2020

Thank you for sharing with us! Date nights are so fun!

A Cure for Covid Quarantine

Nov 26, 2020
James U.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife, my thirteen-year-old son, and I have now completed 4 of Deadbolt'd mystery boxes. Especially in the midst of Covid-19, these boxes have each given us an evening of family fun, usually taking a couple hours to compete. I mentioned my son's age because one of the strengths of the boxes is that they have a nice specimen of difficulty levels for various elements of the mystery. Therefore, it has been really helpful to know that each box will have some things that he can work on at his own level, while my wife and I work on the parts of the mystery that may require a little more thinking. I have not been disappointed by any of the mystery boxes so far. They offer a great balance of challenge without being frustrating or overly simplistic. I would highly recommend these boxes.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 01, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience!!

I feel like a detective!

Nov 22, 2020
Nerd P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Tried out a couple boxes (Secret of Easthaven Forest, The Dark and Stormy Night) with my family and we all loved them! Perfect for rainy days. Big shout out to Adam for recommending them to me!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 12, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star review! Secret of Easthaven Forest and The Dark and Stormy Night are two of my favorites! So glad to see you loved them and appreciate the recommendation!

Family Fun Night

Nov 21, 2020
Jessie L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My family loves a good mystery and we also adore family game night. Our friend, Jonathan, recommended the Deadbolt Mystery Society to us after hearing my kids complain about the typical board games we play. At Jonathan’s recommendation, we solved The Circle. Every member of our family was hooked to the story line the box laid before us. My 12 year old even played without having to be bribed. She was our puzzle master. 10/10 recommend for the mystery enthusiasts.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 01, 2020

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed the box!

Worth Every Penny

Nov 20, 2020
Sue E.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I I love the Deadbolt Mystery Society! I just solved the Secret of Easthaven Forest and wow what an ending. This mystery box is worth every penny. I will definitely be solving more Deadbolt mysteries in the future. Thanks to Brayden for the recommendation”

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 20, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Fun puzzles

Nov 18, 2020
Shelia M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really enjoyed playing the Lair box with my daughter Elizabeth. The puzzles can be difficult but they are fun.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 18, 2020

We are so happy you and you daughter enjoyed Lair,

Reinvent Game Night

Nov 16, 2020
Michele F.
1 Review
Overall
Quality

Absolutely love these boxes! The subscription and one time boxes are both incredible. Perfect for reinventing game night. Get your friends together and solve a murder mystery, you don’t be disappointed! I am completely OBSESSED!!!!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 17, 2020

We are so happy you love our boxes!

Deadbolt Mystery Society fan for life!!

Nov 17, 2020
Michele S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love that all boxes have a unique storyline that will keep you guessing 'til the end! The quality of items in the box is top notch! Solving puzzles to open the QR codes is fun and exciting because that usually leads me to more details about the case! I am definitely a Deadbolt Mystery Society fan for life!!!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 17, 2020

Thanks, Michele! Happy to have you!

Best company ever

Nov 16, 2020
Tracy H.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My mystery solving group and I absolutely love The Deadbolt Mystery Society. The boxes are amazing. They also have the absolute best customer service. We highly recommend everyone try this company out.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 17, 2020

Thank you for sharing with us, Tracy!

Great Customer service Excellent product

Nov 14, 2020
Celeste G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was unsure of where to start out. I got customer support from Brayden who recommended Dark and Stormy night. It arrived timely and is of high quality. Very engrossing and engaging fun! I loved it ♥️. I'll be continuing to use this company for my mini-adventures that are truly an escape. Deadbolt Mystery Society is a solid choice and I am very happy with their product 😊

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 16, 2020

Thank you for sharing you experience with us