The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
748 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
748

Started with one...

May 14, 2021
Ren A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

....and now I'm on a monthly subscription! I just finished my second Deadbolt Mystery box and I LOVE them! The attention to detail is amazing. The different types of clues are just great. They even use different types of paper depending on the clues. Old letter? Fragile feeling (but still sturdy, how do they do that?). Pictures of the suspects? Glossy thick professional looking/feel paper. I love that hints AND solutions are offered and they are in different locations so you can't accidently see the solution if you just want a hint on where to look or what to do next. My second one was harder than the first but the challenge was good.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

The Will Street Detective Agency is very thankful for your services! We do try to give each box a little something different and appreciate your thoughts on the different textures and weights we use. How we do it will have to remain a MYSTERY, I'm afraid :-). Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Ren!

Loved it

May 13, 2021
Risa C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was so freaking fun! It probably took me 2-3 hours to solve on and off over the course of the day. I used a few hints, but can imagine myself improving with some practice. The puzzles were hard but solvable, and working with both the documents and the objects in the box was incredibly satisfying. I got back online and ordered some old boxes, because I can’t wait a whole month to do this again!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Risa! Great job solving your first mystery. There is no shame in using the hints. We gladly provide them at no charge just to give you a little push in the right direction should you need it. Looks like you are going to get a lot more practice solving the Copycat Saga mysteries. You've got this, Detective! Thank you for sharing your experience!

So far so great!

May 13, 2021
Bryan T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was our first box and we loved it. We have had other subscriptions in the past and were not very happy. This one was by far the best. As soon as we got done with Scavenger we went and bought another previous box because it will be hard to wait a month for our next one as we are so excited.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

Your enthusiasm delights me, Detective! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed Scavenger and how eager you are to get the next box. The DMS team works hard to create amazing mysteries and it's nice to know their work is being appreciated. Thank you for the 5-star review and for sharing your thoughts with us!

Fantastic experience

May 13, 2021
Christopher H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box was a blast. Took us some time to solve the mystery but we thoroughly enjoyed it once we got it down. We are excited to get our next box.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 17, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Detective! So glad to hear you enjoyed solving your first mystery! Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Fantastic box for puzzle/mystery lovers!

May 05, 2021
Ashley S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been a member of the Deadbolt Mystery Society for over a year and cannot say anything but great things about this company! Their customer service is AMAZING; they go above and beyond to make sure their members are happy. The boxes themselves just keep getting better and better each month. In addition, they run a very active Facebook group for members which makes you feel like you're part of a community of mystery lovers. If you like solving puzzles, do yourself a favor and join DMS!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 10, 2021

Hi Ashley,
Thanks so much for your recommendation and support as a DMS detective! We are thankful to have you on our team and appreciate you mentioning the Facebook group. We love engaging with our customers through social media and enjoy seeing all of the success stories! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and for the 5-star review. We appreciate you!

Quick and Friendly Service

May 05, 2021
Katie P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 day
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I haven't even gotten this box yet but I wanted to rave about this seller! I asked to get my box early for my sister's birthday and they sent it with no hesitation! They really made my day and I think you should definitely subscribe! :)

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 10, 2021

Hello Katie!
I see your box was delivered on May 6th! We do whatever we can to meet customer expectations and I am super excited we were able to deliver for your sister's gift on time. Thank you for the 5 stars ~ We appreciate it!

Sign up, they are great!

Apr 23, 2021
Jesse W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I found these a couple months ago and signed up for a three month subscription. I now have about 16 boxes if that says anything! My family loves these! Great quality stories, components and fast shipping! One great thing is that you can get older boxes from the store so you don't have to miss out! I will definitely be renewing my subscription when it's up. Great family fun! So glad I subscribed!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 30, 2021

We are excited that our mysteries are helping you achieve quality time with the family! Thanks so much for for the 5-star review and for sharing your experience with us, Detective!

Awesome Sauce

Apr 22, 2021
Danielle W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have a subscription and I have purchased many boxes from the one time section I absolutely love them they are super fun and I would definitely recommend these!!!!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 30, 2021

Thank you for your support, Danielle and thank you for the recommendation! We really appreciate it!

My first mystery

Apr 19, 2021
Connie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved it
We did it as a family & with everyone’s input we were able to solve the mystery
It was lots of fun
I’m signing up for the year subscription

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 22, 2021

Welcome Connie! We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed Beneath the Surface! It's always wonderful to hear about family game nights. Thanks so much for your support and for sharing your experience with us. The Will Street Detective Agency sends their regards and thanks you for your service!

Fun for the Whole Family

Apr 19, 2021
Tai W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We got through it all without clues, but it took the five of us about 4 hours over two sessions to solve the mystery.
This kit was split into three parts. The first part was super easy and we let our 8 and 10 year old do most of it (with support). The second bit was harder and one of the puzzles really stumped us - we had to let it sit out on the table for a week so everyone could think about it, but were able to solve it when we came back. The final section was pretty hard as well, and the last clue was hidden in a really crazy spot!
The kids stayed pretty engaged through all of it, although the puzzles in the last section were definitely over my 8-year-old's head. He still enjoyed the creepy story though!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 22, 2021

Congratulations on solving your first mystery without the hints! There is nothing wrong with walking away and returning later with a fresh mind. For this to be your first, I would say you did awesome, Detective! Thanks for hanging in there and helping us get the job done. We appreciate your help and are thrilled the junior sleuths were able to lend a hand. Thank you for the 5-star review and sharing your experience with our mysteries!

First Box Down

Apr 17, 2021
Rachel M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved my first box, going to keep getting them. There was one puzzle that involved moving gears that was impossible for me to do in my mind so I had to get the answer to continue. It would have been better if there were actual gears to turn to get the numbers needed, so I wasn't just spinning my wheels. lol.
There was a bit of a stretch that someone would write such a long help note with a puzzle to do instead of just giving you the answer, but that's fine. It's expected that there are inauthentic set ups at times to get the experience we want from the box.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 22, 2021

Welcome to the Deadbolt Mystery Society, Rachel! We are so proud of you for completing the task and solving the mystery even when you hit a dead end. Way to hang in there, Detective! Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Worth the money

Apr 17, 2021
Brodie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Have absolutely loved seeing these boxes being played. I bought a 3 month pre-pay subscription as a Christmas Gift for some friends of mine, and they have absolutely loved it! Worth every penny :)

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 22, 2021

Hey Brodie - We are happy to hear that your friends are loving solving our mysteries! Thank you for choosing DMS for your gift! We appreciate it.

JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR...

Apr 17, 2021
Kathleen D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've purchased four of the older boxes because I wanted to experience the game without worrying about a subscription renewal. I have thus far played three of the four:
1. The Dark and Stormy Night
2. The Secret of Easthaven Forest
3. The Pretender
I chose these three boxes because they were rated at a 7 or better out of 10. I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED each of them for different reasons, but the unifying factors are: the fact that the stories are well written, the clues and ciphers are well thought out, and they are definitely worth the price I paid.
I was a former subscriber to a certain monthly box series and had numerous problems/complaints with the quality of the story line. I am pleased to say that was NOT a problem with the Deadbolt Mystery series. This is definitely a cut above the others.
I enjoy puzzles and critical thinking and do British Logic Puzzles in ink, so I was looking for a challenge to exercise my mind. I got exactly what I was looking for with this product.
I am especially pleased with the concept that I can purchase a current monthly box as a "gift" and thereby sidestep the subscription process altogether. This allows me to pick and choose the monthly offering as my taste sees fit. What a WONDERFUL idea.
I am looking forward to my first current box in May. I just know I won't be disappointed!!
Thank you for a...

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 21, 2021

Welcome to the Deadbolt Mystery Society, Kathleen! We are so grateful that you decided to give us a try and have enjoyed the mysteries you have received thus far. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company. Our writers work hard to create unique storylines and puzzles so boredom is never an issue. We are happy to have you on our team, Detective!

Great family time!

Apr 16, 2021
Brenda G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The customer service is amazing! I had a problem with an order and it was solved promptly! I subscribe to the monthly box and do them with my teenage grandkids as an alternative to tv, video games and computers. We all look forward to receiving our next box.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

What a great idea, Brenda! Quality time with the grandkids can be challenging but we are so glad to see our mysteries are playing a part in that. Thank you for the review!

Mom gets Brownie Points for gift

Apr 13, 2021
Cassandra K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this for my son and his wife and he told "Cuddos Mom for finding such an unusual and interesting present for my wife and I." They enjoy playing the mystery game together, and also plan on getting together with another couple to play one. I am going to get another subscription to donate to a silent auction.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

We love to hear about couples and families spending time together with our mysteries! Thanks a million for choosing DMS for your gift. We are thrilled to hear how much they are enjoying it and honored to be a part of the silent auction. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us, Cassandra.

Always pleased

Apr 12, 2021
Todd W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are always pleased with the boxes and the mystery

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

That's great news, Todd! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your subscription and appreciate your support. Thank you for being a part of our team, Detective!

The Watcher

Apr 12, 2021
Trish D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love this monthly mystery.... Great idea!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

Thanks so much, Trish! We think it's a great idea too and have so many more mysteries in the works here at the DMS headquarters. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

Fun!!

Apr 11, 2021
Brenda A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The perfect amount of curious frustration to keep you going! Only used the hint option once.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

Way to go, Brenda! The more mysteries you solve, the less likely you are to need the hints, but they will always be there if you need them. Thank you for the review and for helping us restore the peace in Valley Falls.

Great affordable fun.

Apr 11, 2021
Mary F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I have been trying these mystery boxes throughout the pandemic. We love the level and the complexity. At first we see everything and don’t see any clues. It’s really fun when we figure out the puzzles and can move forward. Affordable fun for all. Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

Hi Mary! Thank you for your recommendation and the 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear you and your husband have been solving our mysteries during these trying times.

Fun Gift! Offers a Challenge!

Apr 11, 2021
Amanda M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A great gift for anyone who loves Escape Rooms! There are at least a few clues that provide extra challenge in each box so consider who you are purchasing for! I'd recommend 2-4 people to play.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

Thanks a million for the recommendation, Amanda! Our writers work hard to create challenging but not impossible puzzles for our mysteries. So glad to hear you are enjoying them!

Amazing

Apr 11, 2021
Amy P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My friend and I are obsessed with these and can’t wait til the next one comes!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 19, 2021

Receiving positive feedback from our customers is always a joy! Thank you so much for being part of our team, Detective! We appreciate you.

A New Love

Mar 24, 2021
Rick T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great company with amazing products. DMS is what first got me into mystery box games with their free Ferryman game. I have since ordered all the boxes they have had available and have a subscription. So let’s just say I am a fan. Not sure if I should thank them for the great games or curse them for taking all my money. Lol. No, it is money well spent. DMS is one of the best in the business.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 25, 2021

HAHAHA Thanks a million for your kind words and support of our business, Rick! We are excited to see how much you love our unique mysteries and proud to have you on our team of detectives!

Best Decision for Family Game Night

Mar 24, 2021
Nancy M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My kids are grown and on their own so we all look forward to Mystery Night for food, drink, laughs, and togetherness while figuring out the mystery. It's so enjoyable plus there's the satisfying feeling of solving each clue.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 24, 2021

Awesome! We never tire of hearing about quality family time. Especially when it includes one of our mysteries! We are so happy to have you on our team of detectives! Thank you for sharing your experience!

Love This!

Mar 23, 2021
Marissa M.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Buy this!!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Thanks for the recommendation, Marissa! We appreciate you!

Recommended

Mar 20, 2021
Mark G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Holiday present for my nephew with Autism. He's 22 and loved it.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

We are so glad to hear your nephew enjoyed our mystery! We certainly appreciate his help with closing the case!