Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!

Plans as low as $21.67 / month

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Heritage

Feb 13, 2021
Sherri K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Totally not anything I would suggest to anyone else

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 14, 2021

Hi, we're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, we don't have a product named "Heritage."

Subscription as gifts

Feb 11, 2021
Genhaver M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I purchased these boxes for two different friends and family for Christmas and I have never received any confirmation that one family has received my the box and the second one received their first several weeks later. I was very disappointed with the purchase process and the delivery and follow through.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 11, 2021

Hey Genhaver, thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you feel disappointed in the process. You purchased a subscription for Maricel on Dec 12th. Per our subscription and shipping policy located under Shipping Details directly below the "Subscribe Now" button and "Give as a Gift" button, this box was not to ship until the first week of January. We shipped according to that policy and your package was delivered on January 11th, and the second month's package of that 3 month subscription was delivered to the recipient on Feb 6th. The second purchase that you made was for Lori and Joe and was a single one-time box (not a subscription). You made that purchase on Dec 13th and the...

Have not received items after a month!!

Feb 11, 2021
Kristi H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have not received the shipment. Can someone please check into this issue?

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 11, 2021

Hey Kristi, we would have been happy to assist you if you would have contacted us directly. Our subscription and shipping details directly under the "Subscribe Now" button and "Give as a Gift" button on our listing states: "Subscriptions are taken from the first day of the month through the last day of the month at 6PM CST. Boxes ship to subscribers the first week of the following month. (Ex. Subscriptions from Jan 1-Jan 31 ship the first week of Feb). Subscription renewals take place on the 11th of every month. Shipping rates applied when address is added." You subscribed on January 9th and so your package was not supposed to ship until the first week of February. Your package shipped on Feb...

Totally online game

Jan 24, 2021
Maryjane E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered this because they stated everything you need is in the box. It turns out that the box if filled with links that you have to use your phone and computer, and printer to do anything. Totally the opposite of what they sold.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 24, 2021

Hi Mary Jane, we're sorry that you didn't read our listing completely. We have this posted as one of the key points for our product: "Interactive, online components that bring each story to life (Requires a QR code reader on a smartphone, tablet, or laptop and Internet access)"
We very clearly tell you that there are online components so there should be no surprise when those things are part of the box. Also out of the 39 mysteries that we have released in 3 years, none of our mysteries require you to print anything.

Disappointing

Jan 20, 2021
Marie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box did not go to the right address. Take a screenshot of any orders you have with Cratejoy/ Deadbolt so you can show customer service the information you typed for your order.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 20, 2021

Hey Marie, we are sorry that you are disappointed with your experience with us. We ship packages to the preferences that our customers choose when they place their orders. When we check our email, we don't see any correspondence from you about an incorrect address and needing to update it. Our team shipped to the address that you included with the order when you placed it. We are always happy to assist our customers when they contact us directly about their orders.

When is it coming???

Jan 17, 2021
Terri P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It has not been received! Very disappointing

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 17, 2021

Hey Terri, we are sorry that you are very disappointed. We are always willing to assist our customers when they reach out to us. However, we don't see any correspondence from you in our emails. Your order is on the way. It shipped on January 7th per our subscription and shipping policy and is currently in transit to you. USPS is still experiencing some shipping delays, but processing and delivery times are improving.

Owner

Dec 19, 2020
Amanda L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping

still waiting for it to arrive

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 20, 2020

Hey Amanda, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We shipped your package on December 4th (per our shipping policy) with USPS and your package is in transit. We are sorry that the delivery is taking much longer than normal. The world is currently experiencing the holiday season mixed with a pandemic mixed with more online shipping due to the pandemic and we have an overloaded postal service at the moment. Our small business is seeing a lot of packages in the same situation as yours. Also, thousands of other businesses are seeing the same thing. We hope that your package arrives soon.

Melinda

May 19, 2019
Melinda S.
10 Reviews
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

No book included, maybe I misunderstood but thought a book was coming and you used the clues as you played along with the book. Not worth the money for a couple of pieces of paper and peieces of smaller papers with clues on the.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 19, 2019

Hi Melinda, as we informed you in our email reply approximately two weeks ago, there was never supposed to be a book included in the box. We asked for feedback about why you may have had that impression and tried to obtain additional information from you but we never heard a reply back. There is no mention of a book on our website, in our listing, or in any other place where details about our box is found. Additionally, our box is not listed in any book category. We have multiple pictures in our listing of what our boxes contain and none of them feature a book. We are sorry about the misunderstanding of what our product is but we...

Disappointing waste of time and money.

Jul 20, 2019
Andy S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

There weren't nearly enough audio files to keep anything interesting. The very first puzzle I came across was poorly thought out high-school wordplay that requires several assumptions with no way to confirm them. The interviews really need to be either video files or audio files. The one audio file I did come across before losing interest was horribly distorted and triggered my migraine problems. The setup itself was insanely cheesy and just felt like a stretch. The box took way too long to ship and was beat up when it got here. QR codes need to state if they are pw protected on the card to stop wasting peoples time. Explanations/setups were too vague or poorly worded to the point that my partner didn't know how to proceed at several points.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 24, 2019

Hi Andy. I’m sorry the box wasn’t to your liking. Obviously, our boxes aren’t for everyone, and I hate that you fall into that category. However, I would like to address a couple of your points. You mention that we didn’t have nearly enough audio files and go on to comment that the interviews need to be either video or audio files. Then, you go on to mention that the audio file we do have in the box you received triggered a migraine (which we do apologize for). It would seem that no audio files would be better than additional files. So, we aren’t exactly sure what would have made you happy in this case. While we...

Stare at your screens: a box of QR codes

Feb 13, 2020
Anne O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

could not possibly be more disappointed.
i thought i was going to get a game--something that didn't involve looking at a screen, but talking to other people and you know, thinking, crazy of me.
instead i got a sad cardboard box with a bunch of print-outs and QR codes. QR codes? really? is it 2006 already?
i hid it from myself so i don't have to be reminded of how much i was duped by the crate-joy-deadbolt mystery society.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 13, 2020

We're sorry you didn't enjoy the box and found the technical requirements to be too challenging for you. Everything you've mentioned disliking about the box you received are things we openly advertise and things you would have noted up front with a minor amount of investigation about what you were purchasing. We mention the use of a smartphone/QR codes and Internet access in the description of our boxes. We have numerous pictures of the contents of our box featured on both our website and our Cratejoy listing so printed materials shouldn't come as a surprise (most games we've played actually have printed material). Based on your comments it sounds like you didn't even bother to work the box and discover that...

Buying Options