Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!

Plans as low as $21.67 / month

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Jul 02, 2018
Bernadette C.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am an inveterate puzzle solver, and a huge fan of break-out-of-the-room puzzles, scavenger hunts, and paper puzzles of all kind. This is the fourth puzzle-box subscription that I've tried.

The box has a few very positive features compared to the others I've tried.

First, there's no need for an internet connection, which allows the family to unplug from electronic gadgets while solving the puzzles. It also allows the box to be played if you're out on vacation or in a place with spotty Wi-fi.

Second, there were a lot of independent pieces to the puzzle and all of them were available from the beginning of the game. Other puzzle boxes we've played in the past were much more linear, forcing us to work on just a few puzzles at once. This one gave us all the puzzles in one shot, so we could all grab papers and work on puzzles simultaneously without having to fight to read the two or three clues available. There were four of us working the puzzles, and the first 20 minutes of solving were really fun, as we poured over clues and swapped suggestions.

The big problem with this box for us were the poorly-clued puzzles. We did the Nero box, and found several alternative solutions to the puzzles that seemed equally valid. With no real clues to help us determine which solution was correct, we ultimately turned to the online hints and solution, only to discover that even after...

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience, Bernadette. We appreciate it!

Terminal, Little too Escape roomy...

Feb 10, 2019
Lakeida S.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Just finished Terminal and I was a little disappointed. It felt too much like an escape room game, than a murder mystery. It was all puzzles, and many made no sense as far as detective work goes. I mean having to solve a logic puzzle to determine where passengers were seated, doesn't make since, because the information was provided by the airline, in which case they could have just told you were everyone was seated. Or why would an airline have a secret coded napkin?

So far this is my second box, hopefully future boxes will have real detective work involved, such as working through timelines, motives, and opportunities, not just anagrams and ciphers.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and share your thoughts, Lakeida. We appreciate it.

Gave away the gift before he could open

Dec 06, 2019
Hannah S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping

I haven't seen the box, it was a Christmas present for my brother and I think he'll like it, but on the "give as a gift" option there is a suggestion to include the email of the person you're sending it to. I was afraid that if I didn't it would be something they'd need to send him clues as he worked the puzzle or something like that, so I put my brother's email, and they immediately started emailing him so now he knows what his gift is. Not a huge deal, but I'm a little disappointed that I specified it was a gift and they gave it away before he got to open it, so just be aware that if you're sending it as a gift DO NOT put the recipient's email address.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 06, 2019

Hi Hannah, we're sorry that the gift email didn't work as you'd hoped. The gift email goes out when the package is shipped. We post in every place our box is sold what our shipping schedule is. That shipping schedule is plainly shown on our Cratejoy listing, and the email you received when signing up also tells you this. We shipped according to the schedule we have posted. The gift email is sent at the time the box is shipped to let the recipient know what is coming and who it's coming from. I apologize if this was unclear to you.

too tricky for me

Nov 12, 2019
Jill N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've only done one box so far, so maybe the next will go differently. I was able to complete only part of the box without going to the help file. Three of us were working on it, and we were completely stumped. After reading the hints, there was no way any of us was making the connections we needed to. Without the help file we never would have figured it out. I'm OK with a little struggle, but this puzzle was impossible.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 12, 2019

Hi Jill, thanks for giving our boxes a try. We're sorry you found the box you did to be so difficult. What seems hard and unmanageable for some clicks more easily for others. All of our boxes are different so maybe you will find the next one easier and more to your liking.

Buying Options