Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!

Plans as low as $21.67 / month

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Deadbolt Society Box Subscription

Feb 14, 2021
Kathryn H.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

As I mentioned when asked to review previously, I think that the Deadbolt Society does a GREAT job with the boxes themselves. They’re well put together. They’re interactive. They have great support.
The SOLE reason I subtracted 1 star for the overall rating is because Cratejoy gave it a 13+ for the recommended age range. When we subscribed we took this to understand that younger kids/teens (13-16) could easily enjoy it solo or with adults. Arguably, it’s NOT something that a couple of younger teens would be able to play without needing to use A LOT of hints/clues.
The boxes are challenging and fun. Don’t expect to breeze right through them. It’s a good time with the right group of people/friends.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 15, 2021

Thank you, Kathryn, for sharing your thoughts on the DMS mysteries. We are glad to hear you are enjoying them. We have a 13+ rating on our boxes due to the subject matter contained within the stories. Although there is no nudity or profanity, there are references to murder. The puzzles are designed to be challenging but not impossible. Hopefully, kids ages 13 to 16 will continue working with our boxes and develop an appreciation for the creativity. :-)

it is decent

Dec 27, 2020
Brian G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this box on as when November was transitioning to December. I wouldve liked it if i couldve gotten this box before Christmas but hey, 1 day too late is better than like 1 week too late. This box looks interesting, however I was originally bought this box to get the Framed theme but The Spider def does look interesting to play. Tbh, i dont hate this subscription, Im only going to done one and done as i only got this as a gift for my uncle

Verified Purchase

Great box, fun mystery

2 days ago
William Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box was a lot of fun, the materials inside it were of better quality than the delivery box itself. The only detractor was the extreme shipping time to Canada, but that's probably due to Covid and the horrible state that the USPS is currently in.
In terms of the puzzles, nothing was too hard or weird so you feel nice and clever by the end, unlike some games that require a bit too large a leap of logic.

Verified Purchase

Deadbolt Mystery

Feb 11, 2021
Bonnie F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought the 3 month subscription for a gift, and my niece and nephew are really enjoying it!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 12, 2021

Thank you, Bonnie for choosing DMS for your gift! So glad to have Gabriella and Dave on our team of detectives!

These boxes are for older enthusiasts.

Feb 11, 2021
Janet R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I wanted something for a family with young children. These boxes are for adults and older adolescents. Oh, well.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 11, 2021

Hey Janet, thanks for your feedback. We try to be as clear as possible on our listing about this with "Great gift for friends and family who love mysteries and puzzle-solving (recommended for age 13+). Crack the case alone or with a group of up to 4 people."

Fun stuff

Feb 11, 2021
Meg M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

This was fun. We worked on it as a family and it was a happy evening activity. There were moments where we got a little bogged down in tedious activity but mostly we were entertained and challenged.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 12, 2021

As always, we love hearing about families spending quality time together! Thanks so much for helping us restore the peace, Detectives!

Clever

Oct 23, 2020
Estee E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The concept was clever the clues were hard but not too hard. I felt like a pro when I solved one. It's a nice 'Easter Egg' that the names in the box are actually subscribers. The absolute favorite part for my teenager was opening the box that had a note out of the 'trash,' and it was actually crumpled and balled up. That made the box personal and so very clever.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 23, 2020

We are so glad you and your teenager are enjoying our boxes. Thank you for sharing your experience.

The Old and Hidden Secret

Jan 19, 2021
Katie U.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It should be noted that a smartphone will be necessary throughout the game to participate.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 19, 2021

Hey Katie, thank you for your feedback. We do have this information on our Cratejoy listing:
"Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case!
Enjoy immersive scenarios, intriguing characters, and original compelling stories with your friends and family! Every month subscribers receive a new stand-alone case file with everything needed to close the case & SOLVE THE MYSTERY! Give the gift of quality time!
Stand-alone stories that don't require other boxes to complete. Start and stop each mystery at any point.
Interactive, online components that bring each story to life (Requires a QR code reader on a smartphone, tablet, or laptop and Internet access)
Great gift for friends and family who love mysteries and puzzle-solving (recommended for age 13+)
Crack the case alone or with a group of up...

Wife’s Christmas Gift

Jan 18, 2021
Jeremy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought 6 month subscription for my wife for Christmas, and received it last week. She sat down and solved it in about 3 hours. She loves it she is very interested with crime related stuff. She is already looking forward to her next crate.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 25, 2021

Sounds like you chose the perfect Christmas gift, Jeremy! Thanks so much for introducing our mysteries to your wife! We are always happy to add another detective to our society!

Shipping is the problem

Jan 17, 2021
Kristina J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

When I bought it, I was “guaranteed” that it would arrive by Christmas. Not only did it not, it wasn’t even shipped until after New Years and ended up being 3 weeks late. The person I bought it for enjoyed it, but the shipping was very frustrating.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 17, 2021

Hey Kristina, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry if you were under the impression of a "guaranteed" delivery date. We don't guarantee delivery dates and we never have in the 3 years of our company, for exactly this reason. You are correct that your order shipped out after New Years because that is our subscription and shipping policy. You purchased your subscription on December 16th. Our subscription and shipping policy is clearly stated in "Shipping Details" located directly under the Subscribe Now button and the Give as a Gift button. Here is our policy: "Subscriptions are taken from the first day of the month through the last day of the month at 6PM CST. Boxes ship to subscribers the first week of...

Good but exploring others

Jan 16, 2021
Eric A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping