The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
777 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
777

Circus of Chaos--such a let down

Aug 17, 2020
Rochelle N.
1 Review
Overall
Quality
Curation

We recently played the game Circus of Chaos. We had so much fun, and the clues were challenging but not impossible. When we got to the end however, we had 3 suspects left. We went back over the clues and still didn't think we could eliminate any of the remaining suspects. Based on circumstantial evidence, we picked one of the suspects remaining...and we were wrong. When we read the conclusion, of who the actual murderer was, all 6 of us playing were extremely disappointed. We KNEW what the motive was, but we had no reason to think that the actual murderer had this motive. In fact, the suspect we picked fit the story so much better. I should point out that all of us have done at least 6 different murder mysteries prior to this.
It made for a bitter end to an otherwise enjoyable game.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 17, 2020

Hi Rochelle, we're sorry you feel the box was such a let down. We don't actually have a box named Circus of Chaos. If you're referring to Carnival of Chaos, however, we actually have explanations for how and why each suspect was eliminated on our hint page. Most of these are straightforward eliminations based on puzzle solutions. We're sorry you were displeased with the outcome and the overall ending. If you have any questions about the story itself, feel free to email us and we'd be happy to discuss further.

In for a penny, in for a pound

Aug 02, 2020
Anjali V.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave a one time box (The Dark and Stormy Night) as a gift for a friend's birthday, and we solved it together with a couple other friends. It was so much fun! The story was interesting (it gave me Clue and Knives Out vibes), and the puzzles challenging especially cause we had never done one of these boxes before. There were moments of frustration, but we refused to use the hint files and when the pieces started to fit together it was all the more exciting.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 03, 2020

Thank you for sharing! We are so glad to hear you are enjoying our mysteries!

Mystery Boxes

Jul 19, 2020
Summer L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love there mystery boxes and I love the cases!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 29, 2020

We are glad to hear that you love our mysteries. Thank you for sharing!

Good mental exercise!

Jan 07, 2019
Jennifer F.
1 Review
Overall

My husband and I play computer adventure/hidden object games, and I was looking for something a little more "hands-on." This was great! I admit it took me a little while to understand how to play the game (what? No step-by-step instructions?), but once I figured it out it was fine. Clues don't necessarily have to be uncovered in order, although some things lead to another thing. So just knowing where to start was my issue. The puzzles were challenging (sometimes I made it harder than it was), but for our first time with this kind of game, it was good. It took me two tries to figure out the killer. After my first wrong answer, I just went back and methodically went over the clues again. So I solved it the 2nd time thru. I love this idea!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thanks Jennifer! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for the recommendation!

Super fun!

May 12, 2019
Jennifer G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just finished the Toymaker Box. The puzzles were really great and the story as well. I loved the need to use multiple sources for clues. I am fairly new to the mystery box games and have looked for one that can be done for a few hours each week while awaiting the next box. In that respect this fit the bill pretty well. I have only one issue, there doesn't seem to be a linear path from start to finish. All the puzzles are just there, I solved some right away but then solved others later that would have made the previous puzzles easier to solve. simply knowing which puzzle to start with and a clear path would have made the whole experience. That said I have 6 more boxes to work with. Thank you for making an awesome weekend!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

You are most welcome Jennifer! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!