Solve a new stand-alone mystery each month from The Deadbolt Mystery Society.

Plans as low as $21.67 / month

Deadbolt Mystery Society reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome date night

Jun 11, 2019
Alexandra M.
1 Review
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WOW! Simply wow! We LOVED this. What an awesome date night game! Perfectly put together, lasted a couple of hours. We were NEVER bored and guessing until the very end. We ordered Sanitarium as a trial and we are for sure going to be monthly subscribers! Thanks for the fun!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 30, 2019

That's awesome! We love hearing about quality date night time. Thank you for the review and for being a subscriber! I am sure Nurse Edgarton would be appreciative of your efforts :-)

Seller

Love Deadbolt Mysteries!

Jan 16, 2020
Candi C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I can’t say enough about how much I love the deadbolt mystery boxes! My sister bought me 3 of them for my birthday last year. I ended up buying myself three more boxes as well as a subscription. Fun for the family, with friends, or even to do on your own. No regrets with these at all!! Looking forward to more boxes in the future.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 31, 2020

Thank your sister for us for getting you hooked on our mystery boxes! So glad to hear you are enjoying them. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on The Deadbolt Mystery Society. We really appreciate it!

Seller

Best in house Date night

Dec 09, 2019
Erin G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We absolutely love being a part of the Deadbolt Mystery Society! The puzzles are challenging but solve able, the story lines are great and so much fun! This is the perfect stay-in date night for parents or anyone who isn’t into the bar scene. We have almost all of the individual purchase ones that you can possibly buy and I have signed up for a subscription because I just can’t get enough.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 30, 2020

Erin, we are thrilled to hear how much you are enjoying the mysteries! Thank you for your support and awesome review :-)

Seller

Exactly what I was looking for

May 11, 2019
Clark P.
1 Review
19 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you're here reading this then you, like I was, are probably trying to sort out which subscription mystery box to sign up for among the many ones out there. I did the research you are most likely doing now and I settled on Deadbolt Mystery and I am glad I did. Deadbolt was everything I was looking for. Hopefully, my comments here will help you with your decision.

I've done three of their boxes so far (WANTED, COPYCAT, and INFECTED), so I thought I have seen enough of their content to have an informed review. I am doing their monthly subscription box. I have not ordered any of the one-off specialty boxes.

It's not that helpful to just say I love the box. Because you need to know what I was looking for. Let me explain that a bit.

I wanted something cooperative, of moderate difficulty (not too hard, not too easy), self-contained, professionally done with quality components, good writing, not a lot of hand-holding, and I wanted a mystery more than an escape room vibe. DMS delivered on all of those. And on top of that they are really professional, have a great online community and their shipping is timely and like clockwork. No waiting for boxes, they run like a well-oiled machine.

My brother and I are older now and live in different states. We both love puzzles and we wanted a fun way to keep in touch each month. We had tried Mysterious Package Company and...

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thanks a million for your detailed review of The Deadbolt Mystery Society! We do our best to create intriguing stories and challenging puzzles with each of our subscription boxes. We are glad you are enjoying them and appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences!

Seller

Absolutely The BEST!

Aug 24, 2019
Irene H.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

DMS ROCKS! I wanted a box that would provide me with a good mix of puzzles to solve, a great story to read and an immersive experience-they do it BEST! Their boxes have nicely detailed, high-quality items. There aren't spelling, grammatical or logic errors in their materials. The clues and puzzles are clever and challenging. Making you think, but not so difficult you want to quit. If you do get stuck, they provide a variety of ways to get help. DMS boxes are interesting, fun and engaging. Puzzle solutions and story conclusions all make sense. And, unlike another company, they do NOT repeat stories or props. I love that DMS mysteries vary and they have elements of adventure, suspense, horror and the supernatural. Plus, customer service is outstanding - very responsive, friendly and helpful. DMS truly appreciates their customers and are genuinely interested in what their customers think.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 30, 2019

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to detail what The Deadbolt Mystery Society is all about! We work hard behind the scenes making sure we bring only the best to each and every box we create.

Seller

Best. Box. Ever.

Today
Jacki N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I can’t believe it has taken me so long to review this box. This is by far the best mystery box I’ve tried and while I’ll still “try” others, Deadbolt will be my main subscription. The puzzles are perfect. Some are tricky and some are easy. If they were all easy then this would be no fun. Usually when it’s hard there’s something that I’m missing. I’m either thinking too much into it or I missed another clue. There’s more then enough puzzles to keep us entertained for a few hours. There’s also a perfect mix of brain teasing puzzles and actual detective work. Of course it can’t be all detective work considering there’s no DNA and fingerprints and what not. For the price, 4-6 people can have a night of fun as opposed to going out and paying that price per person. I love that there’s minimal use of my phone and electronics. It gives me a break from all that and allows me to enjoy my friends and family. I love that when there is an audio file, it sounds real and “distorted” as if a suspect was using a voice changer. It’s all part of the experience. I love all the attention to detail. The box comes with basic instructions. The rest is up to you. Like real detective work. You just pick where to start. There’s no right or wrong way to do it. Nothing is in order. It’s fairly easy to set up a...

Verified Purchase

FABULOUS

Yesterday
Hilde J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wrote a previous 5-star review after doing my first box. I have to give an even more glowing review after having done over half a dozen.

Deadbolt Mystery Society is by far my husband and my favorite boxes (and we open 3-4 different mystery boxes each month). They are challenging and fun providing us lots of laughter and thought. We toss around what methodology is best to solve the case and we use logic to move from one puzzle to the next. It challenges our ability to decipher clues and codes.

I have cancer so going to actual escape rooms has become an impossibility, but these boxes allow me to have even more fun comfortably sitting at home by the computer with my husband. It usually takes us 2-3 hours to complete each one while in an actual escape room you only have one hour. Also, with Deadbolt Mystery boxes we don't have to compete with other people for the hands on experience to solve puzzles.

I would give them a 10 star review if I could. Don't hesitate to try one!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 30, 2020

Hello Hilde! Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed information about your experience with DMS. If you haven't already, please join us in The Deadbolt Mystery Society Hint Group on Facebook where you can meet other investigators and share experiences.

Seller

LOVE this!

Jan 24, 2020
Paige P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased a 3-month subscription for my partner, and he was a little unsure of what I got him into when we got our first box. However, we had so much fun with our first box! It was surprisingly challenging and caused us to have quite a few discussions and debates about the meaning of the clues. It was perfect for an unusual date night; we loved it so much we even ordered some additional standalone boxes.

If you're considering purchasing, you should, you won't regret it!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 31, 2020

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society! Thank you so much for your kind words, Paige. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. If you haven't already, join us in The Deadbolt Mystery Society Hint Group on Facebook. Our members are great at offering hints if you get stuck on a puzzle and may give you insight as to which box to choose next!

Seller