The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
1116 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (1116)

Horrible shipping sent me destroyed box

Jun 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ken J.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 3 months

Loved the previous boxes but pictures shown is one of the last received.
As you can see the box is damaged and taped up which was inside the delivered bag which leaves me to believe they shipped it to me like this.
It upsets me as I really loved the subscription and loved previous boxes but the shipping is pretty bleak and this one shown arrived at the same time as month preceding this one shown. Terribly disappointed

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jun 17, 2021

Hi Ken,
We are sorry that you are terribly disappointed. Prior to your review, we had already corresponded with you through email and agreed to reship a replacement. We assumed that the issue was resolved to your satisfaction. The box wasn't shipped out in that condition. Once it leaves our hands we can't control how the shipping companies handle the packages. Yet, once you contacted us we promptly responded with a solution to replace the item for you at our expense. If our solution that we discussed via email isn't satisfactory, feel free to contact us again and we will do what we can to fix the issue for you.

Unfortunate

Mar 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I love these games and they are done well , so I decided to order myself. The customer service on the other hand is not good. It may be easier to receive your item if you live in the US. Asking the company for help got me nowhere, just a quick, once they ship there is nothing they can do email came back to me. No offer of talking to the company they picked for shipping. Basically we have your money and you're on your own. I have paid for 2 boxes, both say shipped but I have received nothing. The tracking info brings me to a screen that can only have tracking claims done if you are in the US. In the end, I give them high marks on the game itself that I have played before with friends, but good customer service is lacking in a big way.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 06, 2021

Hey Sarah, thank you for leaving your feedback. We are sorry that you feel frustrated with our customer service. That is definitely not the experience we want you to have and we will look further into your situation. We are a company based in the United States and international shipping does present issues at times. When checking the tracking of your first package via USPS, the tracking update shows that your first package had a delivery attempt on March 3rd. To better serve our international customers, we have recently changed shipping carriers to UPS. The tracking number that you received on your second shipment is a UPS tracking number.

Frustrated

Jan 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bryn Z.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I liked it till the end. The big finale- you have to type in the answer. To not ruin it for everyone I will just say they shortened a word. Wrote it out on the key to help you figure out the answer, but then shortened the word. Pretty unappealing to get all the way there, think you were wrong, look up the cheats- and then find out you were right.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 27, 2021

Hey Bryn, thank you for leaving us your feedback. We see that you left us 5 stars, 4 stars and 5 stars in all categories yet rated us 2 stars overall. We are sorry to hear that. You mentioned that we ruined the finale. We make you type in a password on the solution card to solve the mystery. This is meant to make sure that you are correct in your solution. So, if you are incorrect you can retrace your steps and see where you might have made a mistake. As far as shortening a word, the word that you are to use is clearly presented on a card the way that you are to use it. We did...

Storyline has a HUGE flaw; had to cheat

Jul 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Arcadia M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

Did this with some friends...it was a touch frustrating just because we couldn't figure out where to start. Once we started piecing things together, we felt very accomplished, until that is, we got stumped on one of the final passwords needed to solve the case. We looked through everything over and over until one of my friends got fed up and looked up the answer. We were all furious when we learned the answer was something so far fetched and unrelated to the case. I mean, seriously, unrelated. It was mentioned loosely once by suspects that were innocent and uninvolved and yet somehow it was a direct answer we were supposed to...what, guess? It gave us everything to suggest another answer and HAD to cheat to get to the end. Super poor in my opinion.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 15, 2020

We hate to hear that you weren't satisfied with the box you received from us. The details are important in our boxes (as they are in most mysteries) and scrutinizing everything is essential. We provide information on where to start in the Beginning Brief. You also mentioned having to guess and cheat to unlock one of the passwords, but all of the information needed to solve the box was provided. The box has been completed successfully by other subscribers who had no issues with finding the correct information and using it to solve the case. I'm sorry that was overlooked.

Dishonest company

May 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stacy S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days

My daughter enjoyed the mysteries and it’s great that they give hints without having to give away the answer. However I’m very disappointed in the company. We bought the 10 mystery bundle, figured out pricing compared to a subscription given the bundles do not allow coupons to find out that she only received 9 boxes. When I contacted the company they basically said they purposely say it is a mystery bundle and not a box bundle to trick you into buying it then only sending 9 boxes.....not a company I would want to do business with.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 25, 2020

I'm sorry for your disappointment. The Mega is described as a 10 mystery bundle not a 10 box bundle specifically for this reason. The mini mystery you received is a mystery like the other 9 included in the bundle. As we explained to you via email before you posted your review the discount of what you have received is actually better than what we advertise. If you bought all 10 cases individually with the normal shipping charges you would have been charged $293.80. You paid $220.98 which is a $72.82 difference in price (more than the $50 advertised). There is no trick involved in giving you a better discount. You call us a dishonest company in the title...