Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

Great!

Dec 24, 2020
Kat M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Lots of fun and varying difficulty of the different puzzles.

Barely solved it in time!

Nov 10, 2017
Johnkerchner
1 Review
Overall

My wife and kids got me the subscription and we just got thru the first crate! It was so much fun. We needed a few of the hints and all but two minutes to solve it. We are already looking forward to the next one! Highly recommend it!

Very Fun

Dec 25, 2020
Lisa O.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Escape on the High Seas was very fun. It is very easy to follow along with what is needed for each chapter. The written and recorded elements are useful. All of the pieces are high quality and well done. We have done in person escape rooms as well as boxed versions and we really enjoyed this one.

Argh! This was fun.

Dec 26, 2020
Jim G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box was fun. Would buy another. The online aspect could be expanded with interactive pages along the lines of a "pick your own adventure" story that leads down many paths. This would add replay ability. Could even compete against other teams in real time. A lot of fun already and you have just scratched the surface of what you can do.

Great job

Dec 26, 2020
Lys F.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Really fun!

Escape the high seas

Dec 26, 2020
Diana K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Received escape the high seas as a gift! I will be ordering more we had a great time playing

Best Subscription I have ever received

Dec 26, 2020
Benjamin K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this game as a gift and it was by far the best subscription I have ever received I just recently played the escape the ripper game and it was so much fun. It kept my family and I guessing and it was so much fun. If you like puzzles or just history in general you would like this. The creators but a lot of thought into the theme and into the research that goes into the time period. I decently will be getting more boxes from them.

Escape the high seas is a fun box

Dec 27, 2020
Keith A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Another fun box from escape the crate. The instructions are very clear and specific and it did take about 40 minutes for each of the 3 parts to this box. We enjoy the challenge and this is the closest you can get to a real escape room during the Covid 19 pandemic.
The pirate theme was fun and interesting. We did have to use a few hints where we got stuck a couple of times, but it is not too hard at all. Give it a try, it is fun!

Great gift, very fun.

Dec 27, 2020
Evan R.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The High Seas box was our first box, my wife, and I received it as a gift. We had so much fun, highly recommended.

Highly recommend

Feb 21, 2021
Marleau B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Hours of fun!! My boyfriend and I (both late twenties) received this subscription as a gift from his mom and we love it. It's a great time to dig into puzzles while in lockdown. The cards are beautiful, great quality and lots of neat pieces. Well done! Can't wait for the next.
Highly recommend!

Such a great experience!

Feb 21, 2021
Krista W.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had so much fun playing! This was far better than another "escape room box" we've tried. We could figure out most of the clues without big guesses, but it took a lot of thought to get to the right answers. Not too easy, and not too hard. Showing us how to repack the game for other players and giving us links to reprint pages we had written on was super classy, as well. We will share this with family members and I wouldn't be surprised if we all become subscribers! We can't wait to try another box! Thank you for a great experience.

Good family fun over Christmas

Dec 28, 2020
Zachary A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We really enjoyed this game. We received it as a Christmas present and haven’t been able to go to Escape Rooms like normal, so we were looking forward to playing. For a home game, it was very well designed, with creative puzzles and the ability for us to go at our own pace.

Fantastic!!! Highly Recommend!!

Feb 21, 2021
Katelyn W.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Escape the Crate is awesome! We got it as a wedding gift and we play it as soon as it arrives!! We look forward to it coming and can't wait to play! We have played escape rooms in 5 countries and over 60 rooms and we really love escape the crate!

Terrific!

May 14, 2017
Ian H.
1 Review
Overall

We are escape room veterans and I was a little skeptical that a box could deliver the goods. While there wasn't anywhere near the level of running around like the proverbial headless chickens, I was VERY impressed by the quality of the materials, the pace of the narrative, and the cleverness of the puzzles. They were varied both in terms of types and difficulty levels, allowing every participant to make valuable contributions and solutions. This is the perfect package for family game night, or for a training run for the usual Escape Room maniacs. Wonderful job, guys! We are already looking forward to the next one...

Great!

Dec 28, 2020
Richard E.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We loved it. It was difficult but we had a great time.

Murder tomb

Jan 19, 2019
Andrea K.
1 Review
Overall

Super fun!! Was impressed with the website and length of the mystery. Took us a little over an hour; had an absolute blast doing a fun challenging escape room from our own home!!

So much fun!

Feb 28, 2021
Diamonds D.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Wow, this was so much fun! Lots of exciting adventures to uncover. The story was tied together very well, and the scattered clues around the pages were very fun to find. This was a perfect game to play with my family, especially during quarantine!

Great experience!

Oct 29, 2017
Jessica F.
1 Review
Overall

I'm an experienced "escaper". I've done many actual escape rooms, board game escape rooms of different brands, paper escape rooms, and more. So, trust me when I say this is great! It has strong theme that you feel the entire time you play. It feels like a real escape room. The quality of the items in the box is outstanding. Only good things to say! The website has nicely recorded parts of the story to listen to while playing. It's definitely worth the money, and P.S. these are CHALLENGING escapes! We always get out of real escape rooms but we cut it close with the crate!

Escape on the High Seas

Jan 01, 2021
Justine P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Received Escape on the High Seas as a gift. Never have done anything like this before. Thoroughly enjoyed the working through the puzzles. Needed some hints at times, and they nudged us along as intended without giving away the answers. Well designed with good quality materials. The internet worked exactly as intended without having to do anything techie to get into the game or to play. Looking forward to the next box to arrive.

Escape the Room

Jan 01, 2021
Brenna K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awesome game! Love the set-up! Clues helped helped without giving away the answer right away. Great way to spend New Years!

So much fun!

Mar 05, 2021
Ally F.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am a puzzle freak even though I suck at them! lol. But my husband and I have a lot of fun solving them on our no tv tuesdays. The highseas was our first box and we look forward to being doing the ice age park next! There are quite a few of them I would love to try so I am looking forward to solving them too!

SO MUCH FUN!!!!

Jan 01, 2021
Michael G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was so much Fun!! We played the 3 chapters over 2 nights. The last 2 on New Years Eve. Three of us played and each brought different skills to the puzzle and everyone was needed to solve. It is so exciting when you finally figure out a hard puzzle to get to the next step. Very well done with all the various cards and clues. Thank you! I can't wait for the next puzzle in two months.

High Seas evenings

Mar 06, 2021
Jaclyn S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I (late twenties) had a blast with the High Seas box. We completed each of the three chapters separately over a few weekends and it was so much fun to finally finish the story! If we were playing less casually, it probably would have taken us about 2 hours for the whole thing at once. Great fun and makes you think! A nice way to spend the evenings. Bravo for all the thought behind this.

If you're into puzzle games

Jul 30, 2017
Blake M.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

This game is someone's well thought out passion project. A really smart and unique puzzle game for the price.

Good Family Fun

Jan 02, 2021
Daniel R.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Received this (Escape from the High Seas) as a Christmas gift. Enjoyed it. It was challenging. Looking forward to receiving the next box.