Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

Fun product

Mar 15, 2019
David P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Great family activity and nice online features!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Customer Service!

Jun 09, 2019
Denise M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

This is a review for outstanding customer service. I made a special request via email and Julianne not only made it happen but made it happen super fast! I’ll come back again to review the game after we play our first box, but that won’t be for a couple of weeks and I wanted to give big kudos to J and the ETC team ASAP!

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jun 09, 2019

Thank you so much for the very kind words. I will be sure to pass this on to Julianne! Have a great weekend and enjoy the crate!

Best escape room "in a box"

Mar 12, 2019
Susan
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I have just about every take-home escape room available outside the US and in English, and this is my favourite. The variety of puzzle types and the physical manipulation is about as close as you can get to a good live escape room (and better than some of the bad ones).

Verified Purchase

Queen Anne's Revenge & Trials of Houdini

Sep 19, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We're looking forward to the next chapter...we've played all four available and we're definitely interested in continuing our subscription. These last two had some special touches that added to the game. Again, the puzzles were fun and challenging and diverse.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Family Fun!

Jun 09, 2018
Samantha M.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My teen girls loved this -- and I did too! Lots of education mixed in with clever puzzles and a fully integrated experience, the box works with the website and mimics a real escape room for sure (we are huge escape room fans). Highly recommend, purchase with confidence, this one is a winner!

Verified Purchase

Entertaining!

May 18, 2020
Rachel T.
2 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very entertaining! Well done and difficult enough to not just be over in 15 minutes! We had a blast working through this - initially bought for a group game night and now thanks to isolating did it with just 2 people and was still great. We plan on passing it along to our friends to do next since we weren't able to do it all together. Can't wait for the next one! :)

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Jun 09, 2018
Samantha M.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We were delighted with this escape room puzzle and it was tough enough to keep us all interested and engaged, highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

FUN!

Feb 13, 2018
Vanessa R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We had a great time doing the Escape the Crate! The online hints did help for the times we were stuck.

Verified Purchase

Tough breakout!

Mar 08, 2019
Thomas K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This game was more of a challenge than some of the escape room we’ve tried. Definitely worth an hour if not more of fun with friends.

Verified Purchase

Such a good date night

Mar 07, 2019
Kaitlyn H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My boyfriend and I went out to dinner and then played the mystery in our crate for Valentine's this year and we loved it! It was challenging but fun and we definitely got a lot of laughs out of it too. I'll definitely keep getting them for date nights.

Verified Purchase

Great experience

Feb 10, 2018
Melanie W.
7 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My teenage son and I tried our first Escape the Crate box last night and had a lot of fun. It was challenging and engaging. We love actual escape rooms but don't have any near us, so this is a fun alternative.

Verified Purchase

Jul 12, 2018
Theresa O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Perfect for mother daughter time!

Verified Purchase

Creative--Well Done!

Aug 09, 2017
Stephanie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

Just finished my 4th Escape the Crate box--each one has been well done with interesting themes and a variety of creative puzzles at just the right difficulty level. I am impressed! Family friendly is appreciated.

Verified Purchase

Jul 31, 2018
Isaac G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The puzzles are clever and utilize different props and goodies. The stories are nice. The kit can be reset so share them with a friend. The game is a good length and I'm very happy with how much value I get for the price.

Verified Purchase

Have done two of these now

May 07, 2017
Becca N.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

and they are an excellent way to spend an evening. The puzzles are challenging and varied, involving both critical thinking and physical challenges. We found solving everything in the time allotted to be a bit tough, but there are hints if you want them, or are playing with younger crowd. Overall, these are excellent and well worth the cost of admission.

Verified Purchase

Fun Family Night!

Mar 06, 2019
Alyssa S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I've been through five of these boxes now and love every one of them. Each puzzle is so different. I love the way the stories connect and give you a preview of the next box. It's just challenging enough for me and my siblings (they're teens) and we anxiously anticipate the next adventure!

Verified Purchase

A blast!!

Oct 18, 2017
Marion L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

My boyfriend and I love getting together with friends to play these boxes. The puzzles are well thought out and super fun!!

Verified Purchase

Great time figuring out the puzzles

Nov 07, 2019
Ann L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I thought they did an excellent jon weaving the story and puzzles together. It was harder than I thought it would be, which was good. My daughter decided to come help and her eye for detail got us back on track and sucked her in. It ended up being a good 1.5 hours for the family.

Verified Purchase

Fun & Challenging

Jan 17, 2018
Shawna G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My husband and I had a lot of fun working through the puzzles. I was impressed that the box came with so many little trinket extras that you use to solve some of the codes, and the storyline was interesting and fun. We avoided using the provided hints as much as we could, but occasionally the puzzle was challenging enough that we had to. We’re really looking forward to our next box!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Gift for Valentines Day

Feb 21, 2019
Danny E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My boyfriend got me this crate for Valentine's Day and it was an amazing date night idea! We had a little over an hour to escape from the box! We made it out just in time, though we got very nervous at the end with wondering how many more puzzles there were to go! Speaking of that, this box has sooooooooo many puzzles and things to look at. Even the box itself was a puzzle and the props were of good quality. There was a nice necklace that we used during the game and a really creepy bug which sort of scared me at first...but even that had a use! We are about to resubscribe for another few months!

Verified Purchase

We escaped!

Feb 21, 2019
Tony J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We escaped with only 10 minutes left in the beginner mode! So much fun! We play a lot of escape rooms and this box feels just like one!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

Jan 10, 2018
Teresa P.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I got my second box today, just in time for boardgame night. My group (we are 4) enjoys puzzle solving and we play a lot of Sherlock mysteries, Unlock, EXIT, Time Stories. This I must say is our favorite of the collection. Honestly, I'm so taken aback by the amount of work and story put into these little boxes that are worth their weight in gold. The second box was anything but a rehash of the first! Never boring and filled with so many "Aha!" moments. That i'll stay subscribed for as long as they have boxes to send!

Verified Purchase

Great fun!

Jul 30, 2017
Esther B.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This is the third "escape crate" I've done. The first one I did with my 11 yo grandson and I couldn't have done it without him. The next two I did by myself with a bit of help from my husband when I got really stuck a few times. Two problems though: (1) the black light didn't work (I had one from another crate so it wasn't a big deal but it could have been a problem for someone if it was their first crate. I even tried changing the batteries...) and (2) two of the three keys included were the same key so I had to use "trial and error" which worked but kind of annoying. Even with these few glitches, I would rate it 5 stars. The crates are so unique and well thought out. I'm looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

Feb 21, 2019
Kevin H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I LOVE this company! We tried another mystery box off of Cratejoy because it was cheaper than Escape the Crate and we know why.... The contents were cluttered and didn't tell much of a story. We decided to give Escape the Crate a shot and we loved it! It is paced together quite well and teaches you how to play the game, while you are playing it. After a few rounds with help, you are set loose to solve the puzzles on your own. The one we just received was about an Egyptian tomb and a murder inside it. You had to solve all of the puzzles in the tomb, while collecting evidence about the murder itself. We solved the puzzles in about an hour and a half, but we did stop a few times in there. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this box!

Verified Purchase

A lot of fun and variety

Feb 10, 2017
Becca N.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

This was a really fun crate, with a variety of puzzles so that many people could participate. You could do it alone, but it was fun with a group. Took less than an hour so it isn't a huge time commitment either. I would definitely subscribe for a monthly if you decide to increase production.

Verified Purchase