Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

Escape the Mothman

Oct 22, 2019
Jas M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this crate not because it was an escape room... I actually bought it for the subject matter. I live near the town where the Mothman is said to visit and I have studied this for years. When I saw that someone had created a box about the Mothman, I had to buy it. This little box is amazing! It covered a whole bunch of information but it made it feel like a cohesive game. All of the puzzles fit together and nothing felt out of place. I also love how this game actually had a section at the end the explains fact from fiction. Amazing product and I highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Escape Room in a Box Review

Jun 07, 2019
Joshua L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We just finished playing our first game and this box blew away our expectations! We are huge escape room, puzzle, and mystery fans and we were afraid that putting an experience like this in a box wouldn’t work... boy were we wrong. There were so many puzzles inside and all of them were different and fit the theme.
This box had 2 separate rooms in it because one was scarier with a serial killer theme. Because they realized not everyone was going to like that one, they put one in that was more family friendly, as well, centered around a theme park. They didn’t have to do that, but it was a nice touch. It also gives us 2 games to play!
We escaped from the hotel killer mini game in about 42 minutes out of the 45 minute timeline. It was TOUGH but that is what we wanted! We haven’t played the other yet, but are going to try to set up a game night. I also just ordered one for my brother.
If you are on the line wondering if you want this box or not.... just do it. The sheer amount of creativity blows me away and I am excited for my next box!

Verified Purchase

Great for game night

Apr 23, 2019
Wendy F.
23 Reviews
3 Pictures
33 Helpful Votes
Overall

Our family tried the Queen's Curse and Titanic boxes on Easter. We were very impressed by the details and listening to the story as we went along was very immersive. Several members of our group are hoping to get to play some of the earlier retired boxes so I hope they are available in the future. As far as detective/mystery boxes go this one is one of the best. Plus all the stories are pretty family friendly, which I love for my senior parents as well as my kids. These boxes are made with care, attention to detail, and a passion for history. Plus the hints and solutions are easily accessible if you get stuck and frustrated. Can't wait to see what the creator comes up with in future boxes!

Lots of fun!!!

2 days ago
Elizabeth J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My bestie and I play different games every Friday and today we Escaped from Camelot! This was our first Escape the Crate but it will NOT be our last. Some of the puzzles were much easier than others but overall the experience was fun, we enjoyed ourselves, and managed to complete the game in about two hours. 10/10 would recommend!

Verified Purchase

Escape the Crate games overall

2 days ago
Beverly B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have played more than a dozen games and have found each one fun and challenging. It is a great game to play with other people. The games are well spaced out and even if you do not get to it when it arrives, you can play it at a later time. Some challenges in the game are easily solved; others need some hints. Hints are great as they give you a nudge in the "right direction". Well worth the money. You can save the clues and replay in the future. Highly recommend!!!!

Verified Purchase

Camelot fun!

Jul 18, 2021
Ashley C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fun box! Lots of flipping of papers and a little easy but we had a great time!

Verified Purchase

Mark T

Feb 14, 2021
Barb T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This subscription has been a blast and fun for the whole family. The puzzles are just challenging enough without being impossible and have interesting story lines. Really impressed with how well they have figured out how to simulate the escape room feel in a box. Everything is well constructed, durable, and easy to use.

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Jul 15, 2021
Melanie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This has been our favorite box. Never any issues and always fun to complete.

Verified Purchase

Great crate!

Jul 15, 2021
Dawn M.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My adult children love these games. We get together every Sunday for games, swimming and dinner. It’s an amazing good time.

Verified Purchase

Ideal difficulty level

Jul 14, 2021
Michael D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really enjoy solving Escape the Crate stories with my wife! The puzzles are challenging but with hints available if we get stuck.

Verified Purchase

Fun few evenings

Jul 11, 2021
Laura P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are now on our fourth box from escape the crate and enjoying it very much. We used hints only in the very first box but not after. It is a lovely evening spent together although I would wish the puzzles were a little harder sometimes.
I love the art work and what you find in the box. The video's that go with it are not the greatest quality but they are enough and the price quality ratio of the whole box is very good.
I love the story lines and that each is set in a different time.

Verified Purchase

The standard to which I judge all boxes

Jul 04, 2021
Stacey B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I absolutely love Escape the Crate! I have gotten really into escape/mystery boxes this past year during the pandemic and have done more than 80 different boxes from a variety of companies. These consistently rank at the top for me.
Each box has a well plotted and interesting storyline that fully explores the theme of the box. There is a wide range of puzzles, including visual, audio, logic, math, cryptography, and more. And there is an excellent and extensive hint system. I really enjoy that you can listen to audio of the story instead of reading a lot of stuff. And they recently added videos! While the voice over is fun if a bit amusingly corny, the visual shots are stunning. The shots included in the Camelot videos were so cool!
I have always been fascinated by the Arthurian legends and have been lucky enough to visit places like Tintagel Castle and Glastonbury that are connected with them. I completely geeked out over the Camelot box that I just finished, which prompted me to finally write this review that I have been meaning to do for months. It lived up to my expectations and did justice to the legends!
I cannot recommend these enough!

Verified Purchase

The Absolute Best Date Night Box

Jun 28, 2021
Hannah E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Always a great date night in!

Verified Purchase

awesome fun for the whole family

Jun 26, 2021
Aubrey G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

this is such a fun activity to do on a rainy day or when you are looking to have quality family time! we have had such a good time with these!

Verified Purchase

Super fun!

Apr 17, 2021
Cory C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super fun! Highly recommend. Played by myself first, as I was so excited. Chose to do the untimed version and was able to pause and come back several times. Will definitely continue.

Verified Purchase

Great customer service

Apr 13, 2021
Lyndsay G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased this as a gift and the recipient never received the second box because I got lost in shipping somewhere. However, the company promptly rectified the problem and sent out a new box! Couldn't be happier with the product and the customer service ☺️

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Apr 14, 2021

Hello! Please contact us at "support at escapethecrategame dot com” and we will look into it for you!

New Favorite Date Night

Apr 18, 2021
Alexandra F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm officially obsessed with Escape the Crate! The box and materials are beautiful and well made, the puzzles are challenging but attainable. I really enjoy the website integration, with audio clips, videos, and passwords progressing the puzzles. There are hints each webpage should you need it. This has become a great new date-night activity!

Verified Purchase

Really unique game

Apr 18, 2021
Monica D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It took me about 3 hours by myself to solve and it is so much better than watching TV. I already signed up for the 1 year subsciption.

Verified Purchase

Makes a great gift!

Oct 16, 2020
Madeline C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave this to my gf as a quarantine gift for her and her roommates and they loved it! It was challenging enough but escapable! Initially I had some shipping issues due to my own fault, but the customer service is so fantastic they helped me resolve it quickly, kindly, and without issue. I would 100% recommend!

Verified Purchase

Good time was had by all

Oct 14, 2020
Apryl S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Since we are a competitive family, sometimes we can get frustrated with each other and the game. The timing is difficult to manage because of having to take time to listen to the narrator and/or read the directions multiple times throughout each mission. After attempting to keep track of time on the first two boxes, we gave up the timer and had a much more relaxed experience.
Sometimes it is difficult to share the items with 4 people and that can cause a bit of a log jam in puzzle solving. We've all sort of found our strengths and end up taking turns manning the laptop while the others hunch over the puzzle. My husband is much better at the logic puzzles and word/letter puzzles are my thing. The teen has been a valuable asset across the board.
We gifted this to our teen last Christmas and it's been a gift to all of us. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Perfect Night In

Apr 18, 2021
Kristine B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought a subscription as a Christmas gift for my husband in 2019....we have been renewing and buying old missions ever since! So well thought out, put together game, that never disappoints! I highly recommend this for all puzzle solvers. We never time ourselves and try our best not to use the hints! Escape the Crate is truly a great subscription!!

Verified Purchase

great item

May 12, 2020
Felipe A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

we opened it a few days after it arrived and we are hooked, the puzzles are engaging and they are not that hard but also not too easy to be bored. we are playing at our own time just to get the feel for it but it is definitely something we may be looking to a long-term subscription. So far we are enjoying the crate.

Verified Purchase

You Will Not Be Disappointed

May 12, 2020
Kristina M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality

This is our third box, and we are hooked. Each is carefully crafted, providing hours of fun for our family. Nothing beats the look of determination on my 17-year-old son, as he refuses to accept a hint and wants to solve each puzzle. After an initial trial subscription, I purchased a year subscription. Thank you, thank you, thank you for giving us such a wonderful family game.

Verified Purchase

Best Escape Box - Highly Recommend

May 12, 2020
Keely F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is one of four "escape room" type subscription boxes I ordered and this is by far the best. The web interface (also used by other boxes) is utilized best by this company. The directions are easy to follow, the stories are cohesive and captivating, and we've just loved the experiences we had with the first few boxes. Some companies are very wordy and rely entirely upon the written story to draw you in, or others have too little story and are just a pile of riddles. This is the goldilocks of boxes. I wont go into the actual puzzles because spoiler alert, but the types of puzzles, the way they differ from each other, and their tie in to the story is all expertly handled. I highly recommend this box. :)

Verified Purchase

By far the best puzzle/escape box!

May 01, 2020
Adam K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've subscribed to multiple escape box / puzzle subscriptions. I love going to in-person escape rooms, but they can be costly or difficult to plan with larger groups. Escape the Crate is perfect for having at home and playing on your own time. In terms of having the "at home" escape room feeling, escape the crate is easily the closest thing compared to other options. There are always lots of puzzles that can interact in different ways. The stories are actually interesting and can be a bit silly, but it is fun to feel like you have a mission rather than just solving random puzzles. The art and illustrations are fun too, often adding to the story and puzzles. The escape the crate boxes have a good number of puzzles to solve, especially compared to other options. There is a hint system that can be helpful for newer puzzle enthusiasts or times when you are stuck. Great activity for groups of 1-4. I would highly recommend to anyone who has enjoyed an escape room.

Verified Purchase