Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

So far it’s my favorite!

Apr 09, 2020
Adriann E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I honestly love these boxes! I’ve ordered 3 different brands but like these the best. Games are engaging..the “listen button”
rocks so everyone can hear. The puzzles challenge you but are not too crazy difficult. The use of items (I.e double sided, box, every think can have a clue) is smart and practical and the fact that it can be “reset” and played again is awesome! My husband and I played it then I brought it to school and did it with a 5th grade group!
Each crate is it’s own complete puzzle which is what I wanted. Printable extra sheets is also fantastic!

Verified Purchase

Best escape game ever!

Jan 12, 2020
Isabelle G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is totally amazing! The stories are different each time and it is more fun than a real escape game because we are at home and we can take the time that we wants. It is really worth the price!

Verified Purchase

An Amazing Game and Team

Feb 19, 2020
Banu M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It wasn't just the really fun game that sold me on this subscription. It's the people behind it as well. They were so kind and understanding and just wanted to make sure I had a great experience with the game and that is something that I don't see very often. I absolutely love this box and this company, I can't recommend them enough!

Verified Purchase

Best Escape Box - Highly Recommend

May 12, 2020
Keely F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is one of four "escape room" type subscription boxes I ordered and this is by far the best. The web interface (also used by other boxes) is utilized best by this company. The directions are easy to follow, the stories are cohesive and captivating, and we've just loved the experiences we had with the first few boxes. Some companies are very wordy and rely entirely upon the written story to draw you in, or others have too little story and are just a pile of riddles. This is the goldilocks of boxes. I wont go into the actual puzzles because spoiler alert, but the types of puzzles, the way they differ from each other, and their tie in to the story is all expertly handled. I highly recommend this box. :)

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Gift Idea!

Sep 29, 2019
Jonathan C.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Best Gift EVER! Let me start out by saying that I love puzzles and escape rooms. I had no idea that a box like this existed until I got one for my birthday. It is just like having an escape room in your own house. The one that I got was treasure hunt themed. You had an hour to find the "Lost City" and then escape from that city. You had to piece together pieces of a treasure map, use props from the box, and even hidden things hidden on the actual box itself (no spoilers). My friends and I had a blast and my sister just bought a subscription so we can do the Mothman box next. If you are on the fence or if you have a friend who loves puzzles, this is the box for them. Keep up the great work.

I would give it 10 stars if I could...

Oct 12, 2018
Linda D.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

Wow! We just played our 3rd Escape the Crate, which was "Escape the Silver Screen" and it was awesome. I love how each of the boxes has a completely different feel to it.
Basically each box is an escape room that you can play with friends at the kitchen table. We play with a group of 4 of us and each time it took us a little over an hour to finish. We tried a few other boxes from other companies and they all were very individual and required a lot of internet research and dodgy deductions. It took us a long time to finish them. This one is perfect though because everyone got a chance to play at once and there was no internet searching required. We were able to finish all of it in just an hour, which is great too. Also we loved the movie clapper. Great product.

Verified Purchase

Shipped VERY late/Bad Cust Service

Jan 15, 2019
Wendy Q.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

- We ordered a box for a Christmas present on December 4.
- It was supposed to ship the second week of December and Escape the Crate said to expect the tracking number by December 11. They told me to expect 3 days for delivery, so I expected to receive around Dec. 14 give or take a day or two.
- I noticed it was running late and I I emailed Escape the Crate three separate times of the course of the wait period inquiring about my package, and asking to cancel my order if they couldn't ship it in time. No one ever responded to me.
- The box didn't ship until December 18 and was finally delivered to my home on Dec. 21, A FULL WEEK after I was told it would ship and be delivered. We had already left to go out of town at that point for Christmas- meaning I could no longer give it as the Christmas gift I intended. To make matters worse, because we were not home, the package sat out in the rain and was completely ruined and can not be used at all!!
Really disappointed with our experience with this company. I would not recommend and of course we will not use Crate Joy or Escape the Crate again.

Verified Purchase

Entertained us for about 3 hours

Jun 11, 2019
Michele D.
30 Reviews
38 Pictures
52 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

UPDATE after box #2: Hubby and I ditched the 19 yo and did this one on our own. It was FANTASTIC! It took us almost 3 hours but felt fast. We only used one hint, which made us feel pretty smart...LOL. We get 4 different subscription boxes with puzzles or mysteries to sole and this one is by far our most favorite! Grab one and try it...if you like puzzles, you will love this box. And, we find it to be of good value for the time spent doing it.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: We found this to be challenging but fun. Our 19 yo son lost interest halfway through, but he is all about fast puzzles and immediate gratification. Hubby and myself enjoyed the process and the value of getting almost 3 hours of entertainment out of one box. I thought the online content was very good and adds tremendously to the value and loved that you could get plenty of hints before the final solution was revealed. Forgotten Tomb was our first experience and it taught us that in the future boxes, we need to be more observant and to write things down better because there are a LOT of details that you could easily forget or mix up. We liked this single box purchase so much that I have just signed us up for the year subscription.

Verified Purchase

We look forward to every box!

Sep 20, 2020
Jennifer K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are casual ‘escape room’ fans but aren’t able to plan a visit very frequently. (Getting a babysitter, coordinating a group of friends or risk being locked in a room with strangers, not to mention the pandemic!) I gifted my husband an Escape the Crate subscription a couple years ago hoping it would be at least a meager substitute for a real escape room - and we have absolutely loved it!! It’s a different experience, obviously, but on the whole we actually prefer Escape the Crate. Perfect date night at home, and we like being able to enjoy the game with a glass of wine and less hectic pace (it’s our choice to ignore the timer; you don’t have to!) The games are always well designed and even after a couple years, we haven’t grown bored. The continuing story line is fun - but you can jump in at any time, so don’t worry about what you may have missed. Highly recommend this crate for fans of escape rooms and games in general!

Verified Purchase

Great customer service

Apr 13, 2021
Lyndsay G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased this as a gift and the recipient never received the second box because I got lost in shipping somewhere. However, the company promptly rectified the problem and sent out a new box! Couldn't be happier with the product and the customer service ☺️

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Apr 14, 2021

Hello! Please contact us at "support at escapethecrategame dot com” and we will look into it for you!

Edit: Cust service fixed it

Jul 18, 2021
Kim G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Envelope packaging arrived unsealed with nothing in it. Contacted seller twice over last 5 days and no response. Disappointed so far.
Update: I was able to connect with seller and they made it right, reshipping package. Will purchase again.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...7 days ago

Hi Kim,
We keep replying through the Cratejoy CRM but it appears you are not getting our replies. We would really like to make this right for you! Our customer support team will try to reach out using the email you provided during sign up. Please look out for our email!
Kind Regards, ETC Team

We love it!

Jun 26, 2021
Orya D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great game! I'm in the middle of Escape from Camelot and it is so much fun. I'm playing it with my 8 y.o daughter and it's not just another escape game. It takes time to complete, so it's not just one hour and you're done. Well worth it!

Verified Purchase

Amazing and fun!!

Jun 26, 2021
Jodi E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Although we never complete these boxes in less than 2 hours, we enjoy every minute. It is a great excuse to get together with my siblings! We all enjoy trivia and puzzles so this subscription is right up our alley. We are always astonished by the complexity, creativity, and knowledge behind each and every clue and box! The creator is simply brilliant and beyond creative!

Verified Purchase

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Jul 05, 2017
Misty P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Obvisouly, based on my headline, I love this box. I was sceptical of the subscription at first but was very satisfied once I began to play the game. There's multiple puzzles in a single envelope and the game took hours to finish! I just purchased all crates available for future game nights at my house.

Verified Purchase

Jul 31, 2018
Isaac G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The puzzles are clever and utilize different props and goodies. The stories are nice. The kit can be reset so share them with a friend. The game is a good length and I'm very happy with how much value I get for the price.

Verified Purchase

Feb 21, 2019
Kevin H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I LOVE this company! We tried another mystery box off of Cratejoy because it was cheaper than Escape the Crate and we know why.... The contents were cluttered and didn't tell much of a story. We decided to give Escape the Crate a shot and we loved it! It is paced together quite well and teaches you how to play the game, while you are playing it. After a few rounds with help, you are set loose to solve the puzzles on your own. The one we just received was about an Egyptian tomb and a murder inside it. You had to solve all of the puzzles in the tomb, while collecting evidence about the murder itself. We solved the puzzles in about an hour and a half, but we did stop a few times in there. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this box!

Verified Purchase

Jul 12, 2018
Theresa O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Perfect for mother daughter time!

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jun 19, 2018
Bronwyn S.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I thought this was a wonderful concept and so much fun. Unfortunately, it's a bit over the head of my 9-year-old. Will restart when he's older.

Verified Purchase

Fun!

Oct 26, 2017
Sherri G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We enjoyed the game and will purchase again. It was challenging but not impossible and well thought out.

Verified Purchase

We escaped!

Feb 21, 2019
Tony J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We escaped with only 10 minutes left in the beginner mode! So much fun! We play a lot of escape rooms and this box feels just like one!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Jun 09, 2018
Samantha M.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We were delighted with this escape room puzzle and it was tough enough to keep us all interested and engaged, highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

A blast!!

Oct 18, 2017
Marion L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

My boyfriend and I love getting together with friends to play these boxes. The puzzles are well thought out and super fun!!

Verified Purchase

Beware!

Feb 18, 2019
Steven P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Based on the way the "subscription terms" are laid out on their page, it may seem like you can purchase just one box for $29.99. What this actually means though is that you are signing up for a regular subscription process, where they bill you every month. If you are only trying to order one box to try it out (or as a present), MAKE SURE TO CANCEL YOUR SUBSCRIPTION IMMEDIATELY AFTERWARDS as they will otherwise bill you/send you a box for the next round.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Family Fun!

Jun 09, 2018
Samantha M.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My teen girls loved this -- and I did too! Lots of education mixed in with clever puzzles and a fully integrated experience, the box works with the website and mimics a real escape room for sure (we are huge escape room fans). Highly recommend, purchase with confidence, this one is a winner!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Oct 15, 2017
Richard F.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

We love escape rooms. We always look forward to getting this box in the mail!

Verified Purchase