Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

This Couldn't Be Better!

Oct 11, 2017
Rachel M.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

My puzzle hunt obsessed 10 year old son enjoyed his first Escape the Crate box more than I could have possibly hoped. He says, "I wish I could hug whoever thought to make these and then did!" The set-up was genius, the materials nicely done, and the website extras and hints just-right. This would be great to do as a family or with friends as a game night. The fact that the creators include instructions to reset the challenge for someone else to try makes this subscription even more lovable. We plan to go back and buy all the retired missions we missed and CANNOT WAIT for our next box to arrive. This is the perfect escape room/puzzle hunt experience.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Customer Service!

Jun 09, 2019
Denise M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

This is a review for outstanding customer service. I made a special request via email and Julianne not only made it happen but made it happen super fast! I’ll come back again to review the game after we play our first box, but that won’t be for a couple of weeks and I wanted to give big kudos to J and the ETC team ASAP!

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jun 09, 2019

Thank you so much for the very kind words. I will be sure to pass this on to Julianne! Have a great weekend and enjoy the crate!

Queen Anne's Revenge & Trials of Houdini

Sep 19, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We're looking forward to the next chapter...we've played all four available and we're definitely interested in continuing our subscription. These last two had some special touches that added to the game. Again, the puzzles were fun and challenging and diverse.

Verified Purchase

Great fun with teenagers!

Mar 21, 2018
Lisa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My husband, 16 year-old, 14 year-old, and I have played two games now and we loved it! It's not easy to find something that we can all do together, so this means a lot to me. The attention to detail is great, there is a real sense of tension and teamwork, and you might even learn something. :)

Verified Purchase

Great for escape game enthusiasts

Feb 12, 2017
Benjamin B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Our family discovered escape games about two months ago and have played around 20. We're addicted. When we saw this available let we subscribed right away.
It really feels like an escape game, without the room.

Verified Purchase

Click Buy!

Dec 16, 2019
Jennifer R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We've tried many of these type of boxes and this is by far the BEST. Exceptionally curated and a ton of fun! HIGHLY recommend.

Verified Purchase

Great Challenge!

Sep 05, 2017
Janine W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

Wow! This was tough for only one person; I think it would be more fun on a team or perhaps allow more time for individual players. There were lots of fun clues, but with enough hints to help me along when I was stuck. I can't wait to try the next one!

Verified Purchase

Such a good date night

Mar 07, 2019
Kaitlyn H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My boyfriend and I went out to dinner and then played the mystery in our crate for Valentine's this year and we loved it! It was challenging but fun and we definitely got a lot of laughs out of it too. I'll definitely keep getting them for date nights.

Verified Purchase

Mar 08, 2018
Dave B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Absolutely loved our experience with the Bonnie and Clyde crate. It was our first one and we did it last night. We would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys escape rooms. Looking forward to purchasing more in the future!

Verified Purchase

Such a great time!

Feb 16, 2018
Brandon E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I have done escape rooms, and several puzzle boxes. This is my favorite. Other boxes have a bit more production value, but this one has just enough to let the puzzles really shine. I have done 2 escapes and each one was unique with interesting puzzles. My only complaint is that it is only every other month. I would pay for every month if the quality stays the same.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Gift for Valentines Day

Feb 21, 2019
Danny E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My boyfriend got me this crate for Valentine's Day and it was an amazing date night idea! We had a little over an hour to escape from the box! We made it out just in time, though we got very nervous at the end with wondering how many more puzzles there were to go! Speaking of that, this box has sooooooooo many puzzles and things to look at. Even the box itself was a puzzle and the props were of good quality. There was a nice necklace that we used during the game and a really creepy bug which sort of scared me at first...but even that had a use! We are about to resubscribe for another few months!

Verified Purchase

We escaped!

Feb 21, 2019
Tony J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We escaped with only 10 minutes left in the beginner mode! So much fun! We play a lot of escape rooms and this box feels just like one!

Verified Purchase

Escape the Confederate Spy Mistress

Aug 25, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This is the second Escape the Crate mission we've played; first was Escape the Colloseum. Although most of the materials are paper, we've been impressed with the variety and creativity of the puzzles. We're going to play Escape the Queen Anne's Revenge this weekend, and are anxiously awaiting the next mission-The Trials of Houdini. Keep up the good work!

Verified Purchase

Our Family's First

May 11, 2017
Aaron C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

It's timed and we definitely ran it out!
1 man, 1 woman, and a 12 year old boy.
Loved the Queen Anne's Revenge and decided to keep playing even after the time ran out.
This was a worthwhile purchase.

Verified Purchase

Feb 21, 2019
Kevin H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I LOVE this company! We tried another mystery box off of Cratejoy because it was cheaper than Escape the Crate and we know why.... The contents were cluttered and didn't tell much of a story. We decided to give Escape the Crate a shot and we loved it! It is paced together quite well and teaches you how to play the game, while you are playing it. After a few rounds with help, you are set loose to solve the puzzles on your own. The one we just received was about an Egyptian tomb and a murder inside it. You had to solve all of the puzzles in the tomb, while collecting evidence about the murder itself. We solved the puzzles in about an hour and a half, but we did stop a few times in there. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this box!

Verified Purchase

AHHHHMAZING!!!

Feb 14, 2018
Amy K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This was so much fun. I got it for my husband for Valentine's Day, and we had a blast. I'm so impressed!!!

Verified Purchase

Have done two of these now

May 07, 2017
Becca N.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

and they are an excellent way to spend an evening. The puzzles are challenging and varied, involving both critical thinking and physical challenges. We found solving everything in the time allotted to be a bit tough, but there are hints if you want them, or are playing with younger crowd. Overall, these are excellent and well worth the cost of admission.

Verified Purchase

Beware!

Feb 18, 2019
Steven P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Based on the way the "subscription terms" are laid out on their page, it may seem like you can purchase just one box for $29.99. What this actually means though is that you are signing up for a regular subscription process, where they bill you every month. If you are only trying to order one box to try it out (or as a present), MAKE SURE TO CANCEL YOUR SUBSCRIPTION IMMEDIATELY AFTERWARDS as they will otherwise bill you/send you a box for the next round.

Verified Purchase

FUN!

Feb 13, 2018
Vanessa R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We had a great time doing the Escape the Crate! The online hints did help for the times we were stuck.

Verified Purchase

Aug 13, 2017
Wagner V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

Challenging and fun! Can't wait for the next crate!

Verified Purchase

So much fun!

May 13, 2019
Chris B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fantastic Box! I love escape rooms and have played over 70 of them across the country. This is the closest thing to the real thing. The box had tons of puzzles, which were very creative, and all of them fit the theme. I also love how the objects we got in the box could actually be used in the puzzles and weren't just there for decoration. If you are on the fence about buying this subscription... just do it.

Verified Purchase

Brilliant box

Feb 18, 2019
Fifa K.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Thank you for great entertainment value in this box !

Verified Purchase

Fun Family Night!

Mar 06, 2019
Alyssa S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I've been through five of these boxes now and love every one of them. Each puzzle is so different. I love the way the stories connect and give you a preview of the next box. It's just challenging enough for me and my siblings (they're teens) and we anxiously anticipate the next adventure!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!

Feb 02, 2019
Maryn T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

A friend just gave us their copy of Escape: Outlaw and we LOVED it. It really feels like a real escape room, but this one doesn’t have to be timed, so we could actually finish everything. The puzzles were great. A good mix of logic and using actual objects. We just signed up for a subscription ourselves. So worth it!

Verified Purchase

Great experience

Feb 10, 2018
Melanie W.
7 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My teenage son and I tried our first Escape the Crate box last night and had a lot of fun. It was challenging and engaging. We love actual escape rooms but don't have any near us, so this is a fun alternative.

Verified Purchase