Explore Local Box Monthly

Explore Local Box Monthly

by Explore Local Box
Explore a new US city’s culture through premium, locally made, artisan products, and food.

Plans as low as

$45.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (72)

Great Fathers Day Gift

Jul 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Greg K.
1 Review
1 Picture
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

We gave this to my dad for Father's Day. He loves it. It is nice because it is hard to travel right now and it is nice for him to get mail/something to look forward too. He waited to open the first box until we were there to see it. I thought the items were really nice quality. My mom liked the information about the products and kept reading it while we took the items out of the box

Verified Purchase

Travel at home

Mar 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pollie B.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 4 months

We got our first box. Austin texas. Loved the information cards. And variety of items. I love to travel so for pandemic great to "travel" across the country and support local businesses
Plus I have stocking stuffers and gifts being delivered monthly.

Verified Purchase

Interesting

Feb 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Barbara S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I ordered one for myself and one for a gift. My friend got a different state/contents than I did in Jan. I felt mine was worth the money and great selection. Hers seemed a little cheap or really tiny servings of everything 🤷🏻‍♀️

Verified Purchase

Little Rock

Jan 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Linda R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I really enjoyed everything in this box.

Verified Purchase

Shop

Dec 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alicia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days

The box is great and is a great gift for someone. The only problem I had was that this gift was sent to the wrong address and the wrong person. I am giving it another shot though because the person who received it love it.

Verified Purchase

Skip it

May 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer P.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I got the Oregon box and it was just so so for me.
I can tell a lot of thought went into the curation but I didn't find it was enough of a value for what I spent.
One thing that I didn't like at all is that they sent me in a separate regular mail envelope a granola bar that wasn't even in the package. It was just crumbling inside a standard white mail envelope

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...May 27, 2020

We are so disappointed you wrote this review without allowing us the opportunity to fix the problem. You emailed us at 9 pm your package was damaged and we immediately wrote back at 8 am that we were sorry it happened and we could send out a replacement bar asap in better packaging with a little something else to help make up for the inconvenience. You wrote back "no need but thank you."
We do not usually send out individual items, but we had a slight delay in receiving all of the granola bars. The folks at LivBars were just great and nextday shipped them, but given the delays in postal delivery during this COVID challenge, we made the decision to ship...

Not worth the price

Nov 12, 2017
Overall
Amy D.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 22 days

It's a good thing I got my first box at a discounted price, I would have been mad if I had paid the full price for what I received. It was 2 small packets of seasonings, 2 cards that I don't have a use for, a lip balm, a kitchen towel, and a small jar of rosemary simple syrup. Not at all worth $35 dollars in my opinion. I am cancelling after this first box.

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Nov 13, 2017

We are very sorry your gift box did not meet your expectations. We want our customers to be happy! The cost of the items in the gift box for New Orleans, if you were to buy them individually, is actually more than the cost of the box. All items are handmade by local artisans in New Orleans and were chosen because they are unique and have a high degree of craftsmanship. Mass produced products are cheaper, but they would not be unique to the city and support the local artisans which is our passion at Explore Local Box. We strive hard to bring our customers locally made products that will give them a good feel for the city.

Your Mileage May Vary

Oct 03, 2018
Overall
Debbie F.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I was really happy with my box last month until I saw someone's beautiful picture of their box with Mexican chocolate. I got oatcakes instead. Hahahaha! In all seriousness, it's a great box, but maybe more chocolate and less oat. ;-)

Verified Purchase

Great customer service, great product

May 05, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael K.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

I had so many questions about giving this as a wedding present that I must have sent them 10 emails. The responded quickly and answered all my questions and my friends loved their gift.

Verified Purchase

We Love this box!

Nov 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
June R.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

Such a great gift. I love that this company supports small business and the way the box is packed looks so special - it really make a nice present.

Verified Purchase

Fun monthly box

Aug 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
George D.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

My wife and I love getting this box in the mail. The items are well thought out. It is fun to look forward to. And I think a great value - the items are high quality and made from small business. I have even purchased more candy and salt directly from the manufacturers after getting in our monthly box

Verified Purchase

Very Fun Monthly Escape!

Apr 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Victoriascearcy
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I love this box! I was bored at home and decided to try this box because I miss traveling! My first shipment was Boston which is a favorite city of mine. I loved all the sweet treats and the lobster towel. My favorite was reading the little bios about the local companies/artisans who created the items in the box. I will be a long term subscriber! I cannot wait to see what next month brings!

Verified Purchase

Great experience!

Apr 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carol P.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

Just want to write to say how much I have been enjoying the boxes! I've subscribed for a couple years now and have always looked forward to checking out a new city, but even more so now with real travel on hold. I especially appreciate the info on the makers of the products. Their stories are inspiring. We're looking forward to visiting some of these cities for real in the future.
Thank you.
Carol P.

Verified Purchase

Great

Jul 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Molly H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Really great gift! I gave this to my brother and my sister in law and they were very excited. They try to support local business and can’t travel now so I thought it would be perfect but it was better than I expected. Lots of items and a good selection of food verses products. I saw it when I went over to visit and tried some of the popcorn

Verified Purchase

Review

Nov 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sabrina E.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 24 days

This was a really fun box! I got the Hawaii one. The notes about the small business sellers and facts about the area made it more special!

Verified Purchase

Excellently curated!

Oct 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Love this box! One of my favorite things to do when I travel is check out local small businesses, and especially now that we're living in the Quaran-times, this brings that experience home to me. I've received six boxes so far, and it's definitely going to be a mainstay in my subscription box rotation.

Verified Purchase

Good subscription for U.S. travelers!

Sep 02, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristy B.
13 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

I really do love this box. Exciting to see what "goodies" you will get from the next mystery U.S. city. Unfortunately, I have to stop subscription for now due to cash flow during this crazy time, but hopefully, will be back soon!

Verified Purchase

Perfect

Jul 07, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cat B.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Perfect Mother’s Day gift!!! My mom loved getting things from different states it was perfect for quarantine life right now

Verified Purchase

Love it!!

Dec 08, 2018
Overall
Clare J.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I've gotten these boxes for a few months now and have never been disappointed... especially with this month's being from Burlington, VT. My favorite place in the US. So it was as very nice treat.

Verified Purchase

So much fun

Mar 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chasity F.
9 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I love this subscription!!!

Verified Purchase

Delicious and nice assortment of goods

Apr 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shirley N.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Great stuff and interesting info from each locale.

Verified Purchase

Loved this box!

Mar 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christine D.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

I really enjoyed this box! From the snacks and handmade local goods to the story behind the people who make them and the city, I was really happy with this everything that I received. I’ll be subscribing again!

Verified Purchase

Exploration fun

Dec 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I gave my mom a subscription to this box and she loves it! She was impressed with the presentation and the high quality of products.

Verified Purchase

Best Subscription Box

Dec 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

Such a great gift. I love how they support small businesses (SO IMPORTANT). I have given this subscription boxes to quite a few friends for Christmas last year and plan to again this year

Verified Purchase

Great Gift!

Apr 28, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bailey P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

A really great gift. I gave this to my parents and they call me every month to tell me what they got. The products are high quality and it has really nice packaging. It is a perfect gift! (And I didn’t have to deal with shipping anything. it shipped directly to my parents. Nice and easy!)

Verified Purchase