Monthly Subscription Boxes

by Explore Local Box
Explore a new US city’s culture through premium, locally made, artisan products, and food.
68 reviews

Plans as low as

$39.00/ month

Buying Options

Monthly Subscription Boxes reviewsReviews

Write a Review
68

Great Fathers Day Gift

Jul 04, 2020
Greg K.
1 Review
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We gave this to my dad for Father's Day. He loves it. It is nice because it is hard to travel right now and it is nice for him to get mail/something to look forward too. He waited to open the first box until we were there to see it. I thought the items were really nice quality. My mom liked the information about the products and kept reading it while we took the items out of the box

Verified Purchase

Travel at home

Mar 06, 2021
Pollie B.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We got our first box. Austin texas. Loved the information cards. And variety of items. I love to travel so for pandemic great to "travel" across the country and support local businesses
Plus I have stocking stuffers and gifts being delivered monthly.

Verified Purchase

Skip it

May 12, 2020
Jennifer P.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got the Oregon box and it was just so so for me.
I can tell a lot of thought went into the curation but I didn't find it was enough of a value for what I spent.
One thing that I didn't like at all is that they sent me in a separate regular mail envelope a granola bar that wasn't even in the package. It was just crumbling inside a standard white mail envelope

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...May 27, 2020

We are so disappointed you wrote this review without allowing us the opportunity to fix the problem. You emailed us at 9 pm your package was damaged and we immediately wrote back at 8 am that we were sorry it happened and we could send out a replacement bar asap in better packaging with a little something else to help make up for the inconvenience. You wrote back "no need but thank you."
We do not usually send out individual items, but we had a slight delay in receiving all of the granola bars. The folks at LivBars were just great and nextday shipped them, but given the delays in postal delivery during this COVID challenge, we made the decision to ship...

Your Mileage May Vary

Oct 03, 2018
Debbie F.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I was really happy with my box last month until I saw someone's beautiful picture of their box with Mexican chocolate. I got oatcakes instead. Hahahaha! In all seriousness, it's a great box, but maybe more chocolate and less oat. ;-)

Verified Purchase

Great customer service, great product

May 05, 2020
Michael K.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had so many questions about giving this as a wedding present that I must have sent them 10 emails. The responded quickly and answered all my questions and my friends loved their gift.

Verified Purchase

Fun monthly box

Aug 01, 2020
George D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife and I love getting this box in the mail. The items are well thought out. It is fun to look forward to. And I think a great value - the items are high quality and made from small business. I have even purchased more candy and salt directly from the manufacturers after getting in our monthly box

Verified Purchase

Not worth the price

Nov 12, 2017
Amy D.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

It's a good thing I got my first box at a discounted price, I would have been mad if I had paid the full price for what I received. It was 2 small packets of seasonings, 2 cards that I don't have a use for, a lip balm, a kitchen towel, and a small jar of rosemary simple syrup. Not at all worth $35 dollars in my opinion. I am cancelling after this first box.

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Nov 13, 2017

We are very sorry your gift box did not meet your expectations. We want our customers to be happy! The cost of the items in the gift box for New Orleans, if you were to buy them individually, is actually more than the cost of the box. All items are handmade by local artisans in New Orleans and were chosen because they are unique and have a high degree of craftsmanship. Mass produced products are cheaper, but they would not be unique to the city and support the local artisans which is our passion at Explore Local Box. We strive hard to bring our customers locally made products that will give them a good feel for the city.

We Love this box!

Nov 23, 2020
June R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Such a great gift. I love that this company supports small business and the way the box is packed looks so special - it really make a nice present.

Verified Purchase

Very Fun Monthly Escape!

Apr 25, 2020
Victoriascearcy
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box! I was bored at home and decided to try this box because I miss traveling! My first shipment was Boston which is a favorite city of mine. I loved all the sweet treats and the lobster towel. My favorite was reading the little bios about the local companies/artisans who created the items in the box. I will be a long term subscriber! I cannot wait to see what next month brings!

Verified Purchase

Review

Nov 10, 2020
Sabrina E.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a really fun box! I got the Hawaii one. The notes about the small business sellers and facts about the area made it more special!

Verified Purchase

Great experience!

Apr 08, 2020
Carol P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just want to write to say how much I have been enjoying the boxes! I've subscribed for a couple years now and have always looked forward to checking out a new city, but even more so now with real travel on hold. I especially appreciate the info on the makers of the products. Their stories are inspiring. We're looking forward to visiting some of these cities for real in the future.
Thank you.
Carol P.

Verified Purchase

Great

Jul 30, 2020
Molly H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Really great gift! I gave this to my brother and my sister in law and they were very excited. They try to support local business and can’t travel now so I thought it would be perfect but it was better than I expected. Lots of items and a good selection of food verses products. I saw it when I went over to visit and tried some of the popcorn

Verified Purchase

Perfect

Jul 07, 2020
Cat B.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Perfect Mother’s Day gift!!! My mom loved getting things from different states it was perfect for quarantine life right now

Verified Purchase

Love it!!

Dec 08, 2018
Clare J.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I've gotten these boxes for a few months now and have never been disappointed... especially with this month's being from Burlington, VT. My favorite place in the US. So it was as very nice treat.

Verified Purchase

Excellently curated!

Oct 14, 2020
Megan H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love this box! One of my favorite things to do when I travel is check out local small businesses, and especially now that we're living in the Quaran-times, this brings that experience home to me. I've received six boxes so far, and it's definitely going to be a mainstay in my subscription box rotation.

Verified Purchase

Good subscription for U.S. travelers!

Sep 02, 2020
Kristy B.
13 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really do love this box. Exciting to see what "goodies" you will get from the next mystery U.S. city. Unfortunately, I have to stop subscription for now due to cash flow during this crazy time, but hopefully, will be back soon!

Verified Purchase

Explore local box

Apr 10, 2021
Sierra F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love this box!!!

Verified Purchase

Dec 07, 2018
Ashley F.
13 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Very interesting and unique box! The box is a great idea and I love learning about the different cities.

Verified Purchase

Sep 11, 2017
Jessica L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I sent this as a house warming gift and my sister loved it. I like that their is a range of items in the box

Verified Purchase

Can’t wait to see what’s in the box!!!!

Apr 11, 2021
Anita R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is an awesome service!! I have two subscriptions for my adult kids and their families and they cannot wait each month for the new box to arrive. It’s fun to see which state the box comes from. My kids agree this is the best gift they received this past Christmas!!

Verified Purchase

Best Subscription Box

Dec 13, 2020
Anne F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Such a great gift. I love how they support small businesses (SO IMPORTANT). I have given this subscription boxes to quite a few friends for Christmas last year and plan to again this year

Verified Purchase

Mar 13, 2019
Michelle F.
4 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I ordered this for my husband for Valentine's Day. He has gotten two boxes so far and I have been pleased with the products. There has been a variety of products from different places. He looks forward to getting this every month.

Verified Purchase

Explore local

Jun 08, 2020
Saundra P.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first box. Beautiful! I will enjoy this subscription. Can hardly wait for next month.

Verified Purchase

Delicious and nice assortment of goods

Apr 22, 2021
Shirley N.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great stuff and interesting info from each locale.

Verified Purchase

Amazing

Oct 11, 2019
Ben D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love it, it make me happy, thank you... you got me for life😉

Verified Purchase