Freestone Fly Fishing Company

by Freestone Fly Fishing Company
37
Supplying the Best Flies to Anglers All Over the World!

Plans as low as

$37.50/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (37)

Great box!

Mar 13, 2019
Overall
Preston T.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 1 month

I purchased this box to try it out and it's great! I got a bunch of new flies with tips on how and when to use them. I also got some new leader loops, which are a nice addition. Definitely recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

Your Fly Fisher will love it!

Dec 22, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kasey D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I got this subscription for my husband and have renewed it several times. He loves getting his package every month. We also just got a 6 month subscription for our son who we are sure will love it just as much as his dad. Thank you for a unique gift with great quality products. If you are considering this, just do it!! You won't be disappointed!

Verified Purchase

Excellent

Nov 22, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Gift for the husband, been getting for a year and its been awesome

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

Aug 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeni B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I recently ordered the Flyfishing box for my Father's Birthday - and he loved it! From the packaging to the sweet stuff inside he was over the moon and I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for something new and exciting for the fly fisher in their life! I had a great experience too with customer service and Peter went out of his way to help.
Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

A Fun Gift for Fly Fishers!

Jun 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Beth C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I purchased a 6 month subscription for my husband for Christmas as something different that he can enjoy for a little longer than just Christmas Day! I know nothing about fly fishing, he really enjoyed receiving his box in the mail every month! We recently moved, so I reached out to Peter to change the shipping address and he got it switched over for us right away. It’s been a great experience with FreeStone!

Verified Purchase

Excellent Box - My fiance loved it!

Dec 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Haley W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

My experience with Freestone has been amazing. I subscribed to this box for my Fiance for his Christmas gift and he loved receiving it every month. He said that the quality of the flies were great and that he used everything that came in the box each month.
I didn't receive one months box so I reached out to Peter and he happily sent out another box. I highly recommend FreeStone to anyone. What a unique and fun gift!

Verified Purchase
Freestone Fly Fishing Company said...Dec 12, 2019

Hi there Haley,
I'm very sorry the surprise for your gift recipient was ruined, that's the worst. To keep our shipping costs economical, and ultimately offer free shipping across North America, we use a soft envelope vs. a rigid box. I apologize for any disappointment this has caused, but I assure you our flies are top quality, and we do our best to go above and beyond to offer useful bonus items and awesome stickers!
I'd like to offer you a free shipment on top of your prepaid subscription, I hope this helps remedy the situation. Please send us a message and we'll get it set up for you.
All the best,
Peter

New Customer

Feb 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexis C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days

Edit: I made a mistake while ordering (pregnancy brain) and reached out to the company to see if there was anything we could do to change his subscription. They not only fixed it, but sent him one with the right products in it! Huge thank you to Freestone!!!!! I was beyond impressed!!!!!!!
My husband loved this month's ties! He's been fly-fishing for over ten years, and typically makes his own. We've been looking into the company to become a regular customer outside of this little subscription I got him.

Verified Purchase

Can't wait for Christmas morning!

Dec 20, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emmy R.
1 Review

Picked up a gift subscription for hubby, let me just say Peter is awesome to deal with and incredibly prompt with requests/service. I had a peak at what was inside, husband is going to love it! Merry Christmas Peter!

Verified Purchase

Awesome flies, awesome products!

Dec 13, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Duncan L.
1 Review

Just received my first shipment, very pleased with the fly selection and the extra goodies are awesome. I'll definitely keep my subscription going, thank you Freestone!

Verified Purchase

Best gift ever!

Feb 22, 2019
Overall
Mark K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I stumbled upon Freestone whilst looking for a present for my Dad, a fly-fishing aficionado of the most extreme sort. Like many kids of flyfishermen who have everything (in triplicate), I had terrible luck finding presents he would appreciate that I could afford... Well, he's absolutely in love with the diversity and quality of the flies from Freestone and calls me every month when he gets a delivery, happy as a kid! Not to mention the fact that his buddies are envious like kids as well... Great concept, great execution and excellent customer service!

Verified Purchase

Super nice

Feb 22, 2019
Overall
Amy M.
13 Reviews
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I got this for my husband and am really impressed with the quality of the flies and all of the other great materials. This is a well thought out package and excellent for the novice as well expert fly fishing enthusiast.

Verified Purchase

Excellent customer service.

Feb 14, 2019
Overall
Jane R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 days

Extremely pleased with the customer service. They responded immediately to my inquiry and were very helpful. Excited to receive their product!

Verified Purchase

Joyful!

Jan 31, 2019
Overall
Kezi H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

What a joyful package to receive! There are a varied selection of patterns that each come with detailed descriptions and high quality flies that are proven winners. A great gift for anglers new to the sport and those who want to add to their collection. I look forward to seeing what is included each month!

Verified Purchase

I'll be back!

Dec 31, 2018
Overall
Kathleen F.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I subscribed to this box as Christmas gifts for my son and brother. As avid fishermen and collectors of lures, they thought the contents were great. They were impressed with the quality and variety of the lures. I will definitely be activating this subscription again as their birthdays approach.

Verified Purchase

Dec 18, 2018
Overall
Christy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days

This company has great customer service! Peter has been extremely helpful and accommodating. He has responded promptly to all my questions and emails. Thanks Peter!

Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

Oct 22, 2018
Overall
David M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

This subscription was a birthday gift from my wife - I have thoroughly enjoyed every item and look forward to the packages arrival each month. If you have a fisherman in your life, I highly recommend this product!

Verified Purchase

Good gift

Oct 02, 2018
Overall
Whitney R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Got this subscription for my father in law for his birthday. He is really excited to use them and says they will be great for fishing. Also the customer service was beyond excellent. I have had nothing but a good experience here.

Verified Purchase

Outstanding Fly Fishing Subscription

Aug 15, 2018
Overall
Debra D.
10 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 21 days

I ordered this subscription for my husband. Let me just say, if you are thinking of the perfect gift for the fly fishing lover in your life... This is it! Each fly is made exceptionally well, with a colored, detailed description of all 12 flies. A tips and tricks sheet was provided, and was a welcome surprise. Also included was a free subscription to Trout Unlimited, a great TROUT sticker, a tapered leader, as well as information on the person who made the flies. Ours happened to be a gentleman named Douglas, who is an Army combat veteran. Thank you for the high quality flies, as well as your service to our country, Douglas. Well done, Freestone Fly Fishing Company! A+++

Verified Purchase

Husband loves it!

Mar 17, 2018
Overall
Claudia T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I bought this as a birthday gift for my husband, he has received two boxes, he is extremely excited and has caught several fish with his flies.

Verified Purchase

Best customer service around!!

Jul 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kelly K.
1 Review

I had ordered subscriptions for my boyfriends birthday and due to covid and the boarder shut down there was a delay in shipping. But they have amazing customer service!! I got quick replies and they did everything possible to help! He loves the products! Over all a great company :)

Oct 17, 2018
Overall
Marjorie L.
1 Review

I received the subscription as a Father's Day gift. The flies, accessories and detailed information on each of the flies has been outstanding. I have caught a number of fish already. Customer service has been excellent.

Awesome

Oct 02, 2018
Overall
Jordan B.
1 Review

I have been a subscriber of the Bug Box since the company started. I have recived a box every month since then (I have lost count). I am always satisfied with the flies and other products as well. The flies are chosen based on the tiers experience and knowledge of what will fish well when you receive it. These flies can be fished over and over and of course you will see some wear, but they aren’t destroyed after a few hard strikes.
I am so pleased and impressed with this product that I will continue to subscribe even though I have a new baby and will have limited time to go out. I know that I will have a stockpile of awesome flies to use when I can and I will continue to support a small, local, Canadian company.

Oct 02, 2018
Overall
Hannah K.
1 Review

I look forward to getting my flies every month, and am so excited when I see that blue envelope in the mailbox! The flies are high quality, and the gentleman who own Freestone are great genuine guys! I would highly recommend this for your fly subscription box!

LOVED getting my Bug Box!

Sep 19, 2018
Overall
Archer L.
1 Review

Signed up for my first Bug Box last month (with a sweet entry-level discount!), and it was fantastic. I will definitely be renewing my subscription next month. Good stuff Freestone!

Nothing beats Freestone Flies!

Sep 12, 2018
Overall
Geoff J.
1 Review

Absolutely nothing better than high quality flies showing up at your door every month! 2 months into my subscription and i am always excited for a new month! Flies are incredible quality and the bonus items make this subscription a steal of a deal! MUST HAVE for any avid fly fisherman!!