Hiker Crate :)

Hiker Crate :)

by Hiker Crate
A premier monthly subscription for hikers.

Plans as low as

$30.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (21)

Not impressed

Mar 23, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Kassandra F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Seemed to be more of a hiker snack crate. My brother got a lot of food and only one non-food item in each crate. The last crate had a lantern that seemed to be from the dollar store. Not really impressed for the money spent.

Verified Purchase

Broken and unusable items

Sep 23, 2018
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
Eric S.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Received coffee mug that was unusable, inner sleeve was stuck. No response from hiker crate yet. Not getting value, cancelled 6 month subscription wish I didn't do 6 months.

Verified Purchase

The Best of the Bunch

Dec 29, 2016
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Nicholas T.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

First of all, it should be noted that I've been through a lot of different monthly subscription boxes and crates of all sorts of different types. From men's lifestyle products, to socks and ties, to clothing, to beardcare and grooming, etc. The list goes on.
Hiker Crate, however, is in my opinion the cream of the crop. I've never looked forward to a subscription box as much. I'm an avid outdoorsman, hiker, camper, backpacker, and fisherman, and I find myself using everything in its entirety in each months' box, from the snacks to the meals to the outdoor gear. All of it thus far, after four or five months, has been just stellar! The snacks and meals are delicious, high-quality, and properly sourced, and the outdoor gear that I've been gifted have been perfect for my lifestyle and have been of supreme quality. They've been products that I've always wanted to add to my collection of camping and hiking equipment, and thanks to Hiker Crate they've been added to my collection.
There are other outdoor subscription boxes out there (I've got friends subscribed to them), but I can tell you that they're not of the caliber and quantity of wait you get ine ach Hiker Crate. It's no contest, especially for the cost.
I can't wait for next month's Hiker Crate (and each month after that!).
Nick T.

Verified Purchase

Purchase

Dec 04, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Christie M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

It was a gift for my daughter and she absolutely loved it!

Verified Purchase

Damaged items No response

Oct 28, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Jennifer M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Box came with open item spilled all over box. I get this subscription for my husband. I contacted the company twice with no response. Very disappointing. Would not recommend this box. Go with a different company.

Verified Purchase

Quality Outdoor Gear Delivered monthly..

Apr 21, 2017
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Marvin F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

The Hiker Crate is awesome, the new gear every month is quality. Every month we get our box sent to our house like a monthly Christmas Present. The edible snacks are from some of the newest companies on the market. The trail fuel that we get ends up eaten on scout campout an family day hikes. I love getting new food, especially from companies I've never even heard of and if you like the food or any items there is usually discount promo codes from your next order. For the value this box is untouchable to the Weekend hiker or Survivalist/Prepper.
Great stuff.

Verified Purchase

Hiker's Best Friend

May 24, 2017
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Kora G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I am getting back into hiking/backpacking and this box has been a blessing getting all the gear together. It also helps me find news snacks to take with me. All of the meals/snacks have been Gluten Free, I was given a diagnoses of gluten intolerance two years ago and it has been nice to be able eat everything in these boxes with no worries. It is worth the value. Plus, the head lamp in my recent box was just what I needed! I have been through a bunch of boxes and this is one of my favorites.

Verified Purchase

Aug 19, 2017
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Gary P.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

Thank you. I received it today. Can't wait to try these new items. These are the things I'm interested in. Thank again!

Verified Purchase

Sep 22, 2017
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Gary P.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

Outstanding products. I know I will enjoy what I received today. Keep up the good work. Thank you Hike Crate!

Verified Purchase

Oct 24, 2017
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Gary P.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

Just like the last shipment...OUTSTANDING. KEEP up with these fantastic products. I've got many knives, but I really like this Swedish knife. Thank You!

Verified Purchase

Dec 31, 2017
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
Carol J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Good stuff

Verified Purchase

Not what is promises.

Dec 24, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Madison S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

The product description promises at least 2-3 gear items, but my box only came with one and it was a only a head lamp. Not very impressed, since i could have bought better equipment with the $43 i paid for the box.
Shipping was fast though.

Verified Purchase

No Customer Service

Nov 03, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Lynne B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

The products in this crate are ok. My biggest complaint in the lack of customer service. I have contacted Hiker Crate about canceling my subscription several times through email and direct messages on Facebook and Instagram. No one has contacted me to answer any question I have asked regarding my subscription.
I don't recommend this crate.

Verified Purchase

just okay

Dec 03, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Nick W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

As an occasional hiker, products were not of much use.
Wondered why I got two thermos type cups on two different months.

Verified Purchase

Not as I hoped

Apr 20, 2018
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
Morgan B.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I had watched a couple of unboxing videos and was hoping for a box that delivered what those did; some gear I didn't know I need and some tasty foods for on the trail. This was my first box but it was a little disappointing. The oatmeal stuff was pretty good, but I had it at home since I don't have a way to heat water while just hiking, the little coffee bites were decent and the jerky was fine. The gear portion was what was disappointing. I don't know anybody that does outdoor things that would get excited to try a new waterproofing spray. I have a favorite brand of this and it just wasn't the quirky, splurge gear I'd seen on unboxing videos. I'm going to give it another try though.

Verified Purchase

Jul 24, 2018
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
Dana K.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Overall had high expectations for box. The amount spent on box doesn’t show in the contents. Couple protein bars, couple coffee samples, a dried meal and glasses. Wanted to love it and keep it going but wasn’t really worth the price. Sorry guys, if you make improvements I’d come back!

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Apr 23, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Melissa W.
6 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 19 days

Was a little disappointed I got two of the same snacks and two different kinds of patches for tents

Verified Purchase
Hiker Crate said...Apr 23, 2020

Hi Melissa, Sorry for the disappointment. We strive to provide a variety of items. Our featured item was the Camp Repair Kit to fix any tent issues and we also had the tenacious patches for clothing. While those items may have a bit of overlap, we wanted to provide enough for a variety of scenarios. In this month's box we had both chips with two flavors and a energy bar, so maybe we mistakenly added the same flavor. Please reach out to us if that was the case!

Not what was described

Jul 23, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Tiffany F.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I received my box yesterday and to be honest I was really excited to get it. I go hiking every weekend. When I opened it to find a total of 3 products inside I was beyond dissappointed considering the photos and written description.
-Includes 2 to 3 unique and premiere gear items
(I did receive 2 items.. I got a waterproof bag and a microfiber towel)
-You will also get: 3 to 6 healthy snacks
(I received 1 small bag of snack chips)
I don't know.. maybe I just got unlucky. Hope others have better luck with this one.

Verified Purchase
Hiker Crate said...Jul 24, 2020

Hi Tiffany, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the gear we sent. You should have received two bags of nuts and a salmon packet. Not sure how you received snack chips, we did not have any sort of chips in our box this month. We will happily refund you or ship the missing products. Thank you.

Great mix of products

Mar 05, 2018
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
Timothy J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I really liked the Hiker Crate this month, the snacks were good and the "Light My Fire" products were useful and interesting. Unfortunately there was a manufacturing defect in the emergency whistle so it doesn't work at all. Other than that I'm pretty happy with the service and looking forward to the next box.

Verified Purchase

Never received the box......

Feb 09, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
Christine S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I gifted this to a friend and first of all, the fact that they only shipped once a month really messed up the timing for my friends birthday gift. So it was already delayed in the first place. Second.. She never received the first box. We checked 3 times that the address was correct and it was but she never got the package. After contacting the Hiker Crate Team, they asked me if I wanted to receive a refund or ship another box at no extra charge. I asked for another box but I haven't heard an update.... It is now two months past my friend's birthday and she has received nothing. I just emailed the customer service back for a full refund, this just isn't worth the hassle.

Verified Purchase
Hiker Crate said...Feb 12, 2019

Hi Christine, this is Ray reaching out to say we are very sorry about the slow update. We did ship out the original shipment, USPS showed it was delivered, but unfortunately, it went missing. We followed up to confirm the details, however, this landed in the busiest time of the month. As a small business, we just made a process improvement for out of cycle shipments so that this does not ever happen again. We apologize and are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We issued a full refund and understand your frustration.

Meh...

Sep 28, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Kelly G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

This was my first box that I waited a month to get and was disappointed. I thought this would be hiking kit but the 9 oz tumbler is just another container to carry around. It's only practical to carry, not to cook with or anything that I can think of (other than cold soaking...yuck). Hope the next one is better. So far it seems like Hiker Crate is like all of the other outdoor/hiking sub boxes.

Verified Purchase