House Plant Box
Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, or air plants.

Plans as low as $11.25 / month

Subscriber ReviewsReviews

Write a Review

Either scam or incompetency

by Lisa M., today

Having the same problem as other reviewers. They have taken my money, but no plant. The first month I signed up, the plant was sent right away. The second month, money was taken out of my account on the 11th, but a week later no plant. I contacted them and plant was sent. Third month, money taken and receive email they are sending plants out later in the month. Plant received later. Here we are at the fourth month. Money taken on 11th, it is now the 23rd and no plant, no email, nothing. This is a shame. The plants themselves have been very nice. Packaged nicely, when shipped arrives promptly, have been very satisfied with the plants. I started this subscription to do something nice for myself, but it has turned into something stressful. I do not know if they are trying to scam (by having automatic payment that people often forget about), or just can't get it together regarding the shipping of the plants.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse

Highly disappointed

by Alexandra W., Apr 05, 2019

I purchased this monthly subscription for my mom for Valentine's Day. Shipping info was extremely misleading. I received the box 45 days after ordering...that's over a month!! The plants were almost dead and there were no instructions on how to care for them. We hoped that the second box would be more exciting. NOPE! My mom received the EXACT same plants as the first box...near-dead succulents. Super disappointed in this product and especially for the price. I wouldn't pay $1/month for this! Great idea, poor execution.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Apr 07, 2019
Hello, I’m very sorry you were not satisfied with our service! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please contact us at info@houseplantshop.com? We look forward to hearing form you!

Disappointed - No plants

by Rachel B., Mar 21, 2019

I placed an order on the 7th or 8th of March. Was told my package would ship on the 14th. It's now the 21st and I have no plants, no tracking number, and no idea when or if I will get any plant at all. They have my money though. If they're behind on shipping, don't have enough plants to ship out, or whatever else their reason is, I wouldn't even mind waiting if the company took the time to contact its customers and let us know that there is a delay. At this point I just feel like I got scammed. Since I have no product to review, this review is based solely on the company and the customer service. And, yes, I have contacted the company before posting this, they haven't gotten back to me yet.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Mar 22, 2019
Hello, I’m very sorry you did not receive our message to our subscribers! We had sent out an email saying we would be shipping late this month. If you could please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>, we would be more than happy to help resolve this issue. We look forward to hearing form you!

Martian Deal

by Matthew P., Feb 28, 2019

If you subscribe to this service you will get the same three tiny air plants every month. From a business standpoint their platform is brilliant; however, you probably should steer clear of this subscription. You could go to a florist and pick the scraps up off the floor for free (they might even pay you!). You could walk outside your house and clip a tree, bush, or shrub for free. In most cases those options will net you a better result. If you live on Mars, the moon, or in the Sahara Desert then this subscription is a deal!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Mar 01, 2019
Hello, I’m very sorry you were not happy with your subscription box! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com> and tell us what was wrong. We look forward to hearing from you.

Still waiting....

by Amanda L., Feb 23, 2019

I have not received my Feb box yet. When I look at my account, there is not even a tracking number for this box, however I have been charged. I'm very disappointed. I have been looking forward to receiving my plant :(

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Feb 25, 2019
Hello, I’m very sorry about this! We have been delayed due to the large increase in subscriptions this month. We will be getting more plants in to send out within the week. I’m very sorry for the delay!

Terrible service, dead plants

by April D., Feb 19, 2019

If it were possible, I would give this whole subscription service less than a single star. I am so incredibly disappointed with their products & service as a whole. It takes a ridiculous length of time for the plant to arrive and when it does, it is barely alive, dried up, not flourishing, and hardly nourished. I ordered this service as a gift for my Mother and have been so disappointed and upset with the entire experience. Don't waste your money on this like I did!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Feb 20, 2019
Hello, I’m very sorry you were not satirized with our subscription box. I’ve gone ahead to refund you for your February subscription box. You should see it shortly. I’m very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

Plants in bad shape, customer service no

by Terri O., Feb 16, 2019

Some of the air plants arrived half dead,in serious need of dunking and crunchy! I contacted them through Cratejoy AND replied to a request for rating and nobody bothered to contact me. I requested not sending me the other 5 of a 6 month plan and a refund of my money. I regret getting 6 months or I could be done with them. Awful.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Feb 19, 2019
‘Hello, I’m very sorry you were not satisfied with your subscription order. I’ve refunded you for the rest of the the unshipped boxes. You should see it shortly. I’m very sorry for the inconvenience.'

Frozen!

by Jennifer S., Feb 01, 2019

My first shipment was a plant from Mexico. Not sure why one would think it would survive being shipped from California to New England. All leaves had fallen off and plant was completely frozen. Disappointed, but will give one more try.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Feb 04, 2019
‘Hello, I’m very sorry your plant did not arrive in proper condition! Could you please email us a photo of your plant at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>? It won’t be a problem to send you a replacement for it!'

Air plants instead of succulents

by Christina O., Jan 26, 2019

The first box I got was a succulent that was healthy, I was very pleased. This month I got a box full of Air plants? Not the sub I signed up for! Sent a message through crate joy to company and no response. Disappointed and I'm for sure cancelling so buyers beware cause you might not get what you sign up for.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
House Plant Box said...
Jan 28, 2019
Hi, sorry we didn’t get back to you quickly. Our customer service hours are Monday-Friday (9am-6pm). We saw your email and have arranged the air plant box out to you as soon as possible. Please keep the succulent and your air plants will arrive in roughly 3 days. It seems like the packing slip was mixed up so we truly apologize for the inconvenience. The House Plant Shop Team

No Customer Service & Poor Value

by Krista D., Jan 25, 2019

I can't believe this subscription service has so many high ratings. Customer Service does not respond to email. My husband pre-paid for 3 months of pet-friendly house plants as a gift. Within the span of 6 weeks, I have already received all three packages--a total of 15 air plants (not what was ordered). The insert was improved in the last package. I did not receive one house plant. The value of the air plants I received was $10-15 total and the products were not at all what I wanted. Not sure what to do with them all. Please, cancel my subscription!!

|Report abuse
View Details