House Plant Box

by House Plant Box
Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, plant cuttings or seeds.
357 reviews

Plans as low as

$15.00/ month

Buying Options

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
357

Dead Plants; no response

Oct 23, 2020
Diane P.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’d love to give a great review but my experience has been awful. My very first box arrived with a Bird of Paradise and a simple Bamboo plant. Both plants were in soil that was overwatered and they had root rot and fungal gnats. I sent pictures and the company promised to replace the BOP only. I never received a replacement and despite canceling my subscription was charged for a second box. Edit: second box arrived: plants in disastrous condition. Over-watered to the point of rot again! Dracaena Marginata with white mildew covering plant; Palm Areca with black tips. Buyer beware.

Verified Purchase

Beware!!

Apr 27, 2021
Alzbeta S.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just like many other reviewers. They sent me over watered plants and refuse to email me back to solve the problem. I spent $40 on two over waters and lifeless plants. This one is pale white-green rather than a bright green with bright pink as it should be. I can buy a healthy one at Lowe’s for $7. Skip this and go to plant club!! MUCH BETTER SERVICE, much better plants, healthy and a better value. I feel like I was just scammed and very much regret my purchase. BEWARE, don’t waste your money, it’s not satisfaction guaranteed, if they just never respond to you.

Verified Purchase

never arrived

Jul 20, 2021
Emily M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

it never arrived :(

Verified Purchase

first cratejoy box

Jul 16, 2021
Ella T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I never received this box I paid for it the funds were taken from my bank but I never received the box or any information about the shipping of it. I will wait for my next box but if I don't receive it I will cancel
Ella Taylor

Verified Purchase

Hello, customer service? Are you there?

Jun 03, 2021
Colleen S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I'm hoping that this review will get the attention of customer service, as I haven't gotten a response to either of my messages sent via the "Contact the Seller" link. Due to a technical issue, I was charged for TWO gift subscriptions instead of one. I didn't want to double up, so I immediately reached out to cancel the superfluous subscription and get a refund for it. No answer. Messaged again. No answer.
If this is resolved promptly, I would be happy to edit/delete this review.

Verified Purchase

Don’t buy this.

May 27, 2021
Cadence S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This plant was heavily damaged and received with stickers from post office saying they got it already damaged. There was soil everywhere in the box and the plant was severely broken. Don’t buy this box.

Verified Purchase

Never got the order

May 11, 2021
Jc M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gifted this to my mother and she still hasn't got her first shipment!!! When looking at the tracking it literally has been to multiple cities in Florida, Oklahoma (which is where she lives) then Tennessee and back to Florida. What the heck? So disappointed and will cancel and look for another option.

Verified Purchase

Overpriced and over rated.

May 03, 2021
Grace Y.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was so looking forward to my plant. It's a beautiful healthy looking one. BUT it's a tiny English Ivy. Something I could've gotten at Walmart for $3.99. So very disappointed by this subscription :( so not worth $16 I paid for it.

Verified Purchase

Awful !

Apr 29, 2021
Delores L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awful Awful Awful. I gave this as a gift to a friend because she loves plants. Second shipment she received a dead plant and I had to jump through hoops to get a replacement. Currently on the 3rd shipment and she has not yet received her plant and the month is almost over. Never again will I order from them !

Verified Purchase

Dead plant

Apr 22, 2021
Hannah G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

One of the plants my boyfriend received was dead. When I sent in a request they agreed to replace it or give me refund, but after sending photos and following up again that never happened. I am only writing this review in an effort to resolve this issue.

Verified Purchase

Poor quality plant

Mar 23, 2021
Sarah B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My plant is dead and I haven't even had it a week

Verified Purchase

Dead plant

Feb 23, 2021
Amber D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My plant arrived dead. All the stems were broken. Wasn’t packaged for shipping very well at all. I’m attempting many things to save it. It was my first one too so I was pretty disappointed. I’ll give it one more month before I cancel to see if it’s better next time around.

Verified Purchase

frozen and dead

Feb 21, 2021
Ashley K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was super excited about this, but the first month of my subscription they sent a pretty basic plant, snake plant, which i already have a bunch of. Can’t complain too much because it’s still a plant and all plants are awesome, but it was delivered to my mailbox at 6pm and left in freezing temperatures until i was able to get it after work at 9 pm, but the plant had already frozen and died. I guess i should cancel this subscription until the summer months, or it would be nice if you had to sign for the package or something so it’s handed directly to you rather than sit in a mail box in cold climates.

Verified Purchase

Good in theory, bad in practice

Feb 08, 2021
Laretta V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It’s a great idea in theory but bad in practice, and the plants picked out seem like they would be nice. But they’re always dead by the time they arrive. Also the way to open the box is opposite of the air flap so dirt rains down everywhere while you try to get the box open. I’d love to see this work but with the way it is now, it’s not working 😢

Verified Purchase

Arrived out of the plant pot

Feb 28, 2021
Alex B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

THe product arrived out of the box and the plant was destroyed. I would like a refund.

Verified Purchase

I paid 15.00 for a 4.00 plant.

Apr 23, 2021
Jessica G.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first plant from this subscription service. I got an english ivy. A plant you can find anytime at Lowes for 3.99. I am not impressed. To top it all off, shipment was extremely late and the plant was covered in something that looks like tiny dead bugs. It is NOT dirt. I do NOT recommend this subscription service.

Verified Purchase

Plants Always Arrive Dead

Feb 09, 2021
Sarah N.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've received two shipments from House Plant Box. Both have arrived dead and we've been unable to resuscitate them. Customer service did provide a refund for the first, but it took several rounds of emailing (there's no phone number to contact them). Still waiting for a response on the second dead plant (received/reported one week ago). Seems a waste to kill little plants like this!

Verified Purchase

Sad. Angry. Disappointed.

Feb 28, 2021
Jody W.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Nightmare. I ordered 2, 3 month subscriptions, 1 for each of my daughters. I thought this would be a great Valentine’s Day gift. One of my daughters received their plant and this is what she got! Dead. She tried to revive...nope. Got a notice at the same time that my other daughter should be getting her plant too. Nope. Still waiting over a week later, may be two weeks? The daughter that received the dead plant filed a complaint and a new one was shipped. Still waiting. Grrrrrr....
Update: the replacement came after a long time and was just as horrible. My other daughter’s plant FINALLY came ans it was beyond dead. Atrocious. Time to cancel and get a refund.

Verified Purchase

Martian Deal

Feb 28, 2019
Matthew P.
1 Review
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If you subscribe to this service you will get the same three tiny air plants every month. From a business standpoint their platform is brilliant; however, you probably should steer clear of this subscription. You could go to a florist and pick the scraps up off the floor for free (they might even pay you!). You could walk outside your house and clip a tree, bush, or shrub for free. In most cases those options will net you a better result. If you live on Mars, the moon, or in the Sahara Desert then this subscription is a deal!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 01, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not happy with your subscription box! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com> and tell us what was wrong. We look forward to hearing from you.

Terrible service, dead plants

Feb 19, 2019
April D.
1 Review
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If it were possible, I would give this whole subscription service less than a single star. I am so incredibly disappointed with their products & service as a whole. It takes a ridiculous length of time for the plant to arrive and when it does, it is barely alive, dried up, not flourishing, and hardly nourished. I ordered this service as a gift for my Mother and have been so disappointed and upset with the entire experience. Don't waste your money on this like I did!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Feb 20, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not satirized with our subscription box. I’ve gone ahead to refund you for your February subscription box. You should see it shortly. I’m very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

Still waiting.

Apr 24, 2020
Mizpah T.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping

I was immediately charged on the 5th of april, "my shipment has been being prepared to ship" for ages now. I have waited five days for a customer service response (within 48 hours, they say). My renewal is due on the 11th of may, and i am wondering if i need to cancel instead, and contest my payment. Succulents box has been a far better experience. UNHAPPY.

Verified Purchase

Plants Die After One Week

Jan 28, 2020
Jessica B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve had this box for about a year now. Only about 60% of the plants I received were still alive after 1 to 2 weeks. House Plant Shop only replaced one and refunded one. The rest of them were my problem because I sent the photos 3 to 4 weeks after they mailed them to me. My house is full of plants and I take very good care of them.. unfortunately I realized I was wasting money with this subscription. Home Depot is about half the price and every plant I’ve ever bought from them is still alive.

Verified Purchase

Air plants instead of succulents

Jan 26, 2019
Christina O.
3 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The first box I got was a succulent that was healthy, I was very pleased. This month I got a box full of Air plants? Not the sub I signed up for! Sent a message through crate joy to company and no response. Disappointed and I'm for sure cancelling so buyers beware cause you might not get what you sign up for.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 28, 2019

Hi, sorry we didn’t get back to you quickly. Our customer service hours are Monday-Friday (9am-6pm). We saw your email and have arranged the air plant box out to you as soon as possible. Please keep the succulent and your air plants will arrive in roughly 3 days. It seems like the packing slip was mixed up so we truly apologize for the inconvenience.
The House Plant Shop Team

Not winter friendly

Jan 20, 2020
Chelle B.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box was delivered in the middle of a snow storm...and was not packed to survive in such a climate. The majority of it died, but I’m hoping I can nurse it back.

Verified Purchase

Horrible product

Jan 13, 2021
Emily T.
1 Review
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this subscription as a birthday gift for my mother who loves plants and has a green thumb.
The plants in the order arrive in bad condition, damaged and nearly dead.
We tried contacting the seller 3 times by email and never received a response!
What a waste of money!

Verified Purchase