Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, or air plants.

Plans as low as $11.25 / month

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

I’m still not happy.

4 days ago
Addie S.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed last month before I went on vacation and I emailed them to let them know I wouldn’t be home between June 27 and July 6. I asked them if they could make sure it would arrive either before my vacation date and if not after I returned, they emailed me back immediately to let me know it would not be a problem. They were sending the plants out that week and if it was scheduled to arrive after I left they would just set it to the side until my return. I was very happy knowing I could enjoy my vacation without worrying about plants dying on my front porch. When I got home, I let them know I was ready for my plants. I sent 2 emails through Cratejoy and one email I got from other complaints. They have not yet responded to any of them. I have already made my second month payment, $60 for two month subscription and I get nothing from them. I feel like a fool constantly checking my emails and looking through the spam to make sure I’m not missing anything. I am canceling my subscription. I doubt that I can even get in touch with them to even get a refund for the $60. I reviewed this company so much, watching videos and reading other customer reviews. I thought for sure this was a win, I was wrong.

Update: I received one of my boxes that had 2 plants in...

Verified Purchase

Air plants instead of succulents

Jan 26, 2019
Christina O.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The first box I got was a succulent that was healthy, I was very pleased. This month I got a box full of Air plants? Not the sub I signed up for! Sent a message through crate joy to company and no response. Disappointed and I'm for sure cancelling so buyers beware cause you might not get what you sign up for.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 28, 2019

Hi, sorry we didn’t get back to you quickly. Our customer service hours are Monday-Friday (9am-6pm). We saw your email and have arranged the air plant box out to you as soon as possible. Please keep the succulent and your air plants will arrive in roughly 3 days. It seems like the packing slip was mixed up so we truly apologize for the inconvenience.
The House Plant Shop Team

Seller

Terrible service, dead plants

Apr 02, 2019
April D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If it were possible, I would give this whole subscription service less than a single star. I am so incredibly disappointed with their products & service as a whole. It takes a ridiculous length of time for the plant to arrive and when it does, it is barely alive, dried up, not flourishing, and hardly nourished. I ordered this service as a gift for my Mother and have been so disappointed and upset with the entire experience. Don't waste your money on this like I did!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Feb 20, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not satirized with our subscription box. I’ve gone ahead to refund you for your February subscription box. You should see it shortly. I’m very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

Seller

Disappointed - No plants

Mar 21, 2019
Rachel B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I placed an order on the 7th or 8th of March. Was told my package would ship on the 14th. It's now the 21st and I have no plants, no tracking number, and no idea when or if I will get any plant at all. They have my money though. If they're behind on shipping, don't have enough plants to ship out, or whatever else their reason is, I wouldn't even mind waiting if the company took the time to contact its customers and let us know that there is a delay. At this point I just feel like I got scammed. Since I have no product to review, this review is based solely on the company and the customer service. And, yes, I have contacted the company before posting this, they haven't gotten back to me yet.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 22, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you did not receive our message to our subscribers! We had sent out an email saying we would be shipping late this month. If you could please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>, we would be more than happy to help resolve this issue. We look forward to hearing form you!

Seller

Martian Deal

Feb 28, 2019
Matthew P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If you subscribe to this service you will get the same three tiny air plants every month. From a business standpoint their platform is brilliant; however, you probably should steer clear of this subscription. You could go to a florist and pick the scraps up off the floor for free (they might even pay you!). You could walk outside your house and clip a tree, bush, or shrub for free. In most cases those options will net you a better result. If you live on Mars, the moon, or in the Sahara Desert then this subscription is a deal!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 01, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not happy with your subscription box! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com> and tell us what was wrong. We look forward to hearing from you.

Seller

No Customer Service & Poor Value

Jan 26, 2019
Krista D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

I can't believe this subscription service has so many high ratings. Customer Service does not respond to email. My husband pre-paid for 3 months of pet-friendly house plants as a gift. Within the span of 6 weeks, I have already received all three packages--a total of 15 air plants (not what was ordered). The insert was improved in the last package. I did not receive one house plant. The value of the air plants I received was $10-15 total and the products were not at all what I wanted. Not sure what to do with them all. Please, cancel my subscription!!

Highly disappointed

Apr 05, 2019
Alexandra W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I purchased this monthly subscription for my mom for Valentine's Day. Shipping info was extremely misleading. I received the box 45 days after ordering...that's over a month!! The plants were almost dead and there were no instructions on how to care for them. We hoped that the second box would be more exciting. NOPE! My mom received the EXACT same plants as the first box...near-dead succulents. Super disappointed in this product and especially for the price. I wouldn't pay $1/month for this! Great idea, poor execution.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Apr 07, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not satisfied with our service! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please contact us at info@houseplantshop.com? We look forward to hearing form you!

Seller

Still waiting....

Feb 23, 2019
Amanda L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I have not received my Feb box yet. When I look at my account, there is not even a tracking number for this box, however I have been charged. I'm very disappointed. I have been looking forward to receiving my plant :(

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Feb 25, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry about this! We have been delayed due to the large increase in subscriptions this month. We will be getting more plants in to send out within the week. I’m very sorry for the delay!

Seller

Frozen!

Feb 01, 2019
Jennifer S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall

My first shipment was a plant from Mexico. Not sure why one would think it would survive being shipped from California to New England. All leaves had fallen off and plant was completely frozen. Disappointed, but will give one more try.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Feb 04, 2019

‘Hello,

I’m very sorry your plant did not arrive in proper condition! Could you please email us a photo of your plant at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>? It won’t be a problem to send you a replacement for it!'

Seller

Large plant box for 90 dollars

May 27, 2019
Dustin W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I paid 90 dollars for 2hat was supposed to be a large house plant box. I got one air plant that was dead that was more like a 20 dollar plant. I have contacted the seller and awaiting a call or email. Will follow up once someone contacts me.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options