Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, or air plants.

Plans as low as $11.25 / month

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awful plant

Sep 08, 2019
Heather D.
1 Review
2 Pictures
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I recieved my first plant which was a cotton candy fern. It was packaged fine and watered but the majority of the plant was brown. I tried to take off as much of the dead parts as I could as ferns are pretty hardly but not even sure this one will survive. I reached out to the seller who got back to me pretty quickly and requested pictures. After sending a few photos, I got another email that read "that does not look good" and I recieved half of the cost back. Honestly, I wouldn't even take that plant if it were free. It's too late to cancel before my next plant, so hoping this is a one time bad experience.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Sep 11, 2019

Hello,

I'm very sorry. We would be more than happy to make this right. Would you prefer to receive a replacement plant? We look forward to hearing from you!

Seller

Not super impressed

Nov 02, 2019
Renea H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I hope the next ones better. I got an aloe plant and they packed it in such a small box the ends were all broken and brown :( I dont wanna pay 10 dollars for a plant I have to save!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Nov 05, 2019

Hi! I'm very sorry to hear your plant did not arrive in proper condition. We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please contact us with a photo of what you received? We look forward to hearing from you!

Seller

Disappointment

Oct 28, 2019
Jenny K.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Well I thought since it was the end of October I was getting the next November plant.
Nope they just gave me a damaged October plant, probably one of the last ones left. Very unhappy. I also didn’t get the option of pet safe or air plant.

Verified Purchase

I’m still not happy.

Jul 19, 2019
Addie S.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed last month before I went on vacation and I emailed them to let them know I wouldn’t be home between June 27 and July 6. I asked them if they could make sure it would arrive either before my vacation date and if not after I returned, they emailed me back immediately to let me know it would not be a problem. They were sending the plants out that week and if it was scheduled to arrive after I left they would just set it to the side until my return. I was very happy knowing I could enjoy my vacation without worrying about plants dying on my front porch. When I got home, I let them know I was ready for my plants. I sent 2 emails through Cratejoy and one email I got from other complaints. They have not yet responded to any of them. I have already made my second month payment, $60 for two month subscription and I get nothing from them. I feel like a fool constantly checking my emails and looking through the spam to make sure I’m not missing anything. I am canceling my subscription. I doubt that I can even get in touch with them to even get a refund for the $60. I reviewed this company so much, watching videos and reading other customer reviews. I thought for sure this was a win, I was wrong.

Update: I received one of my boxes that had 2 plants in...

Verified Purchase

Air plants instead of succulents

Jan 26, 2019
Christina O.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The first box I got was a succulent that was healthy, I was very pleased. This month I got a box full of Air plants? Not the sub I signed up for! Sent a message through crate joy to company and no response. Disappointed and I'm for sure cancelling so buyers beware cause you might not get what you sign up for.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 28, 2019

Hi, sorry we didn’t get back to you quickly. Our customer service hours are Monday-Friday (9am-6pm). We saw your email and have arranged the air plant box out to you as soon as possible. Please keep the succulent and your air plants will arrive in roughly 3 days. It seems like the packing slip was mixed up so we truly apologize for the inconvenience.
The House Plant Shop Team

Seller

Terrible service, dead plants

Apr 02, 2019
April D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If it were possible, I would give this whole subscription service less than a single star. I am so incredibly disappointed with their products & service as a whole. It takes a ridiculous length of time for the plant to arrive and when it does, it is barely alive, dried up, not flourishing, and hardly nourished. I ordered this service as a gift for my Mother and have been so disappointed and upset with the entire experience. Don't waste your money on this like I did!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Feb 20, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not satirized with our subscription box. I’ve gone ahead to refund you for your February subscription box. You should see it shortly. I’m very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

Seller

Disappointed - No plants

Mar 21, 2019
Rachel B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I placed an order on the 7th or 8th of March. Was told my package would ship on the 14th. It's now the 21st and I have no plants, no tracking number, and no idea when or if I will get any plant at all. They have my money though. If they're behind on shipping, don't have enough plants to ship out, or whatever else their reason is, I wouldn't even mind waiting if the company took the time to contact its customers and let us know that there is a delay. At this point I just feel like I got scammed. Since I have no product to review, this review is based solely on the company and the customer service. And, yes, I have contacted the company before posting this, they haven't gotten back to me yet.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 22, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you did not receive our message to our subscribers! We had sent out an email saying we would be shipping late this month. If you could please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>, we would be more than happy to help resolve this issue. We look forward to hearing form you!

Seller

Martian Deal

Feb 28, 2019
Matthew P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If you subscribe to this service you will get the same three tiny air plants every month. From a business standpoint their platform is brilliant; however, you probably should steer clear of this subscription. You could go to a florist and pick the scraps up off the floor for free (they might even pay you!). You could walk outside your house and clip a tree, bush, or shrub for free. In most cases those options will net you a better result. If you live on Mars, the moon, or in the Sahara Desert then this subscription is a deal!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 01, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not happy with your subscription box! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com> and tell us what was wrong. We look forward to hearing from you.

Seller

house plant

Jan 24, 2019
Teresa S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

was not a hit. was rotten and had froze.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 24, 2019

Hi Teresa,
Sorry to hear that you plant came in damaged. We try our best to ship the highest quality plants quickly to your home so they don’t have damaged. Sometimes these things do happen as it is a live plant. We have a policy in place for these situations and are happy to send you a replacement for free or refund you for the damaged plant. Please email our customer service team at www.houseplantshop.com

Seller

Charging without delivery????!!!!!

Jan 11, 2019
Becky H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

Subscribed in mid-December. Did not expecting the first plant at Christmas at all, but sure didn’t expect to get charged for a second plant before we ever received our first. How many charges do they take before they actually send you a plant? Seems that your money is much more important than receiving what you’re paying for!!!

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 14, 2019

I'm very sorry the first box took a bit longer than expected to arrive! It looks like it was delivered to you yesterday according to the tracking number I emailed you. Please let me know if you can't find it. Your January box is expected to ship out next week.

Seller

Highly disappointed

Apr 05, 2019
Alexandra W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I purchased this monthly subscription for my mom for Valentine's Day. Shipping info was extremely misleading. I received the box 45 days after ordering...that's over a month!! The plants were almost dead and there were no instructions on how to care for them. We hoped that the second box would be more exciting. NOPE! My mom received the EXACT same plants as the first box...near-dead succulents. Super disappointed in this product and especially for the price. I wouldn't pay $1/month for this! Great idea, poor execution.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Apr 07, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not satisfied with our service! We would be more than happy to make this right. Could you please contact us at info@houseplantshop.com? We look forward to hearing form you!

Seller

Still waiting....

Feb 23, 2019
Amanda L.
1 Review