House Plant Box

by House Plant Box
Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, plant cuttings or seeds.
375 reviews

Plans as low as

$15.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (375)

Mar 01, 2019
Overall
Kathryn A.
1 Review
1 Picture
43 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I started this box in November and have enjoyed it every month. I understand that it can be hard to ship plants and make sure they are safe and sound by the time they are delivered. This month my plant definitely was a little worse for the wear - I’m hoping it will make it, but a lot of the stalks are needing to be cut off because they became very bent. I will continue to subscribe to this box, though I hope this won’t happen too many more times.
I would give it 5 stars if the plants were sent with just a little more info about them - I like the cards, I just wanna know more about them so I take care of them like they deserve!

Verified Purchase

Pony tail palm

Dec 28, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathy
1 Review
1 Picture
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

Love my pony tail palm!! Came in great shape and was actually a larger plant than I expected. Can't wait to receive my next plant.

Verified Purchase

Nearly Perfect!

Sep 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristin B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

This is my second time with House Plants Subscription. I absolutely love their plants and they’re always well wrapped and healthy when they arrive to me. My only qualm, if I really want to be picky, is shipping takes forever. But well worth the wait for such beautiful plants.

Verified Purchase

Chinese Money Plant

Jun 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Glen G.
1 Review

some black spots on one leaf but otherwise looks OK.

Confusing shipping intervals

May 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jonathan H.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 18 days

I placed the order - for 3 months of packages - on April 30th.
The first one arrived May 13th, So far so good.
But the second (of three, remember) shipped on May 17th, and will arrive on May 24th.
I am a little confused how two out of three packages, packages that are supposed to arrive once a month, are going to arrive within two weeks of each other in Month 1.
So much for purchasing a monthly gift, something to look forward to for months to come.. I guess I should have just gone and bought plants.
The first plants seem great, FWIW.

Verified Purchase

House Plant Box

Jan 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angela P.
16 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

This was my first box and I received 3 different small air plants. They are nice and healthy.

Verified Purchase

Love The Plant, Wished For Better Info

Nov 07, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Aaron G.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Packed well. Exciting to receive. Lackluster and far too basic info card for the plant.

Verified Purchase

House Plant

May 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terri-anne T.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I really like this box. Cute little plant every month.

Verified Purchase

Happy planter!

Apr 04, 2020
Overall
Ashley P.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I absolutely love this monthly subscription, and was very happy with the plants I received 2 out of the 3 months I was subscribed. The first month's plant I looked up online and was informed it is a weed. My only real critique is that I wish they had options for subscriptions for cat owners- so the plants I received I knew were safe for my fur babies! Even though I do appreciate how the toxicity was displayed for animals on the card. Easy to find and Identify. I will hopefully be back to getting these monthly once COVID crisis is over and I can again afford it.

Verified Purchase

Little pricey but great for noobs

Jul 06, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gracie H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Generally a really good box. I've never had a plant come damaged, but sometimes shipping is a little late. I also got the air plant box and really liked it! The regular house plant box came rather late, and wasn't worth all the money. Also, the information cards should be a little more detailed/helpful. Overall, really enjoyed the air plant box and liked the houseplant box but have a couple issues.

Verified Purchase

Bird of paradise

Mar 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer P.
7 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 days

I received a white bird of paradise which after some research is a hard plant to keep alive but I'll try my best. I was a little disappointed in the packaging as one of the leaves was sticking out of the box ruining the top of the leaf. But the plant seems to be overall healthy. Looking forward to my next box.

Verified Purchase

Thank you 😁

Mar 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days

Everything looked good so far! Thank you ☺️

Verified Purchase

Club Footed Fern

Dec 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Richard C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days

Fantastic plant and planter!!

Verified Purchase

Great quality.

Sep 22, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I have loved the plants. The plants are excellent quality. I wish my September box was not the same $3 pothos i see at wal mart. I love the surprise and expect to get something a bit more interesting than what i see at every corner store.

Verified Purchase

Croton

Jun 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I received a lovely Croton plant for my first box. I did only the one month plan. The shipping took a very long time but that is understandable because of the coronavirus. The plant was in good condition and the soil was still moist. I was disappointed that there wasn’t any information on the plant, the name or any care instructions. I’d consider ordering again.

Verified Purchase

March 2020

Apr 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melody B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days

Well packed, healthy plants

Verified Purchase

March 2020

Apr 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melody B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days

Well packed, healthy plants

Verified Purchase

Healthy

Sep 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mistee M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days

My tiny new fern arrived in great shape. Hoping to get other plants that are not so common but satisfied with my first box.

Verified Purchase

Plants

Aug 07, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tammy F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I really like the plants but they take too long to receive.

Verified Purchase

First box a success!

Mar 25, 2019
Overall
Nikki R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

I received my first box today and the plant is very happy and healthy! I was prepared for a somewhat damaged or dying plant, shipping plants can be tricky sometimes. But it looks perfectly healthy, it is smashed to one side due to the packaging process but that will right itself soon. I do wish there was more information on the card that came with my plant, but that's nothing Google can't fix.

Verified Purchase

Beautiful plant.

Jan 06, 2019
Overall
Amy N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days

Received my first plant. Dwarf snake plant. It spent most of the day in my mailbox outside in freezing temps and survived. The only downside is that the same plant sells on their website for $7.95 and I'm paying $12 a month for my subscription.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 07, 2019

Thank you for your honest review. The reason for the difference in price on our website is because shipping is not included. There would be an extra $6 shipping charge when purchasing on our website. I hope you understand.

Questionable value

Jan 05, 2019
Overall
Stephanie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The two plants I received were lovely and healthy. That being said, at least one of them was only a 7 dollar plant on the website and if I’m still paying nearly full shipping on top of it I would prefer to choose when exactly I spend my money since it doesn’t save me a whole lot. If you want a surprise in the mail and don’t mind the value not being amazing, it’s nice.

Verified Purchase

It’s okay

Dec 17, 2018
Overall
Janel H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days

I just (finally) received my first box for houseplants. I thought I’d be getting two small plants. I got one small plant. While it looks healthy, for $12, I could get a much larger plant at the store. Not sure if it’s worth it or not. I love plants and anxiously look forward to next months box. Hoping for more than one small plant or at least a medium sized plant.

Verified Purchase

Dec 14, 2018
Overall
Shelby B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

For my first box I received a dracaena "combo" plant -- which I love. Within 3 days of arriving, though, the croton part of the plant had died. The other two parts are still alive, but I'm waiting on my next two plants to see whether this subscription is really worth it.

Verified Purchase

New subscriber

Nov 19, 2018
Overall
Deborah M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days

Received 2nd box plant and i love it. Trying to retry my hands back growing plants.plant came in one piece.. will be referring friends to you guys. Glad i found you. Looking forward to Decembers plant.😉😁

Verified Purchase