House Plant Box

by House Plant Box
Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, plant cuttings or seeds.
344 reviews

Plans as low as

$15.00/ month

Buying Options

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
344

Mar 01, 2019
Kathryn A.
1 Review
1 Picture
42 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I started this box in November and have enjoyed it every month. I understand that it can be hard to ship plants and make sure they are safe and sound by the time they are delivered. This month my plant definitely was a little worse for the wear - I’m hoping it will make it, but a lot of the stalks are needing to be cut off because they became very bent. I will continue to subscribe to this box, though I hope this won’t happen too many more times.
I would give it 5 stars if the plants were sent with just a little more info about them - I like the cards, I just wanna know more about them so I take care of them like they deserve!

Verified Purchase

Pony tail palm

Dec 28, 2019
Kathy
1 Review
1 Picture
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love my pony tail palm!! Came in great shape and was actually a larger plant than I expected. Can't wait to receive my next plant.

Verified Purchase

Confusing shipping intervals

May 18, 2021
Jonathan H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I placed the order - for 3 months of packages - on April 30th.
The first one arrived May 13th, So far so good.
But the second (of three, remember) shipped on May 17th, and will arrive on May 24th.
I am a little confused how two out of three packages, packages that are supposed to arrive once a month, are going to arrive within two weeks of each other in Month 1.
So much for purchasing a monthly gift, something to look forward to for months to come.. I guess I should have just gone and bought plants.
The first plants seem great, FWIW.

Verified Purchase

House Plant

May 03, 2021
Terri-anne T.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really like this box. Cute little plant every month.

Verified Purchase

Bird of paradise

Mar 02, 2021
Jennifer P.
9 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received a white bird of paradise which after some research is a hard plant to keep alive but I'll try my best. I was a little disappointed in the packaging as one of the leaves was sticking out of the box ruining the top of the leaf. But the plant seems to be overall healthy. Looking forward to my next box.

Verified Purchase

Thank you 😁

Mar 02, 2021
Dana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Everything looked good so far! Thank you ☺️

Verified Purchase

House Plant Box

Jan 28, 2020
Angela P.
11 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box and I received 3 different small air plants. They are nice and healthy.

Verified Purchase

Love The Plant, Wished For Better Info

Nov 07, 2019
Aaron G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Packed well. Exciting to receive. Lackluster and far too basic info card for the plant.

Verified Purchase

Happy planter!

Apr 04, 2020
Ashley P.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I absolutely love this monthly subscription, and was very happy with the plants I received 2 out of the 3 months I was subscribed. The first month's plant I looked up online and was informed it is a weed. My only real critique is that I wish they had options for subscriptions for cat owners- so the plants I received I knew were safe for my fur babies! Even though I do appreciate how the toxicity was displayed for animals on the card. Easy to find and Identify. I will hopefully be back to getting these monthly once COVID crisis is over and I can again afford it.

Verified Purchase

Little pricey but great for noobs

Jul 06, 2019
Gracie H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Generally a really good box. I've never had a plant come damaged, but sometimes shipping is a little late. I also got the air plant box and really liked it! The regular house plant box came rather late, and wasn't worth all the money. Also, the information cards should be a little more detailed/helpful. Overall, really enjoyed the air plant box and liked the houseplant box but have a couple issues.

Verified Purchase

Club Footed Fern

Dec 23, 2020
Richard C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fantastic plant and planter!!

Verified Purchase

Great quality.

Sep 22, 2020
Sharon E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have loved the plants. The plants are excellent quality. I wish my September box was not the same $3 pothos i see at wal mart. I love the surprise and expect to get something a bit more interesting than what i see at every corner store.

Verified Purchase

Croton

Jun 18, 2020
Katie C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received a lovely Croton plant for my first box. I did only the one month plan. The shipping took a very long time but that is understandable because of the coronavirus. The plant was in good condition and the soil was still moist. I was disappointed that there wasn’t any information on the plant, the name or any care instructions. I’d consider ordering again.

Verified Purchase

March 2020

Apr 03, 2020
Melody B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Well packed, healthy plants

Verified Purchase

March 2020

Apr 03, 2020
Melody B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Well packed, healthy plants

Verified Purchase

Healthy

Sep 05, 2019
Mistee M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My tiny new fern arrived in great shape. Hoping to get other plants that are not so common but satisfied with my first box.

Verified Purchase

Plants

Aug 07, 2019
Tammy F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really like the plants but they take too long to receive.

Verified Purchase

First box a success!

Mar 25, 2019
Nikki R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I received my first box today and the plant is very happy and healthy! I was prepared for a somewhat damaged or dying plant, shipping plants can be tricky sometimes. But it looks perfectly healthy, it is smashed to one side due to the packaging process but that will right itself soon. I do wish there was more information on the card that came with my plant, but that's nothing Google can't fix.

Verified Purchase

Beautiful plant.

Jan 06, 2019
Amy N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall

Received my first plant. Dwarf snake plant. It spent most of the day in my mailbox outside in freezing temps and survived. The only downside is that the same plant sells on their website for $7.95 and I'm paying $12 a month for my subscription.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 07, 2019

Thank you for your honest review. The reason for the difference in price on our website is because shipping is not included. There would be an extra $6 shipping charge when purchasing on our website. I hope you understand.

Questionable value

Jan 05, 2019
Stephanie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The two plants I received were lovely and healthy. That being said, at least one of them was only a 7 dollar plant on the website and if I’m still paying nearly full shipping on top of it I would prefer to choose when exactly I spend my money since it doesn’t save me a whole lot. If you want a surprise in the mail and don’t mind the value not being amazing, it’s nice.

Verified Purchase

It’s okay

Dec 17, 2018
Janel H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

I just (finally) received my first box for houseplants. I thought I’d be getting two small plants. I got one small plant. While it looks healthy, for $12, I could get a much larger plant at the store. Not sure if it’s worth it or not. I love plants and anxiously look forward to next months box. Hoping for more than one small plant or at least a medium sized plant.

Verified Purchase

Dec 14, 2018
Shelby B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

For my first box I received a dracaena "combo" plant -- which I love. Within 3 days of arriving, though, the croton part of the plant had died. The other two parts are still alive, but I'm waiting on my next two plants to see whether this subscription is really worth it.

Verified Purchase

New subscriber

Nov 19, 2018
Deborah M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

Received 2nd box plant and i love it. Trying to retry my hands back growing plants.plant came in one piece.. will be referring friends to you guys. Glad i found you. Looking forward to Decembers plant.😉😁

Verified Purchase

Nov 14, 2018
Courtney N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

The plant that came for October was a medium plant in a terra-cotta pot. I liked this box so far

Verified Purchase

Really liked it!

Nov 14, 2018
Emily G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I got the October Dracena box! I really like this plant box. It came in very good condtion and I really appreciate the information card. The only thing I would like better would be a little more care tips and info on the card, then it would be perfect!

Verified Purchase